Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I've just realised I've forgotten the wifes birthday

• 01-11-2009 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭

which is tomorrow. No present bought, no card bought. Worse than that no present from our daughter bought either which makes for double the dose of disappointment / fury / rage and painful vengeance tomorrow morning. Stuck in house baby sitting and can't even sneak out to grab a card etc. I'm in the sh!t :(

/desperately searches for a miracle online service that can be ordered tonight that will be delivered tonight or very early in the morning and is not a hitman. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Order a pizza and put some candles on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Get mate to babysit for half hour, you run out buy a present, land back and enjoy the birthday sex that night.

If that cant be done I suggest you post here: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055726079

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Why not plan something for tomorrow night?

See if any restaurants will take a last minute booking etc, or make her a nice home cooked meal?

She doesn't have to know or be in any way aware you forgot her Birthday. If you act coy all day and pretend you've had this massive plan organised for months, she won't know the difference!

Nip out and get her a gift tomorrow at some stage ... during your lunch break or whenever you have time to spare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Shops will be open tomorrow.

If your that desperate book a holiday online tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭WeWillBeReborn

Put a picture of yourself in an envelope. Give it to her and say something like
    "You are so important to me, nothing else matters to me except you and our daughter. For my birthday, I don't want anything except you by my side. And if our love is as pure as I think it is, you will feel the same. Happy Birthday".

Your daughter can make her something out of stuff you have lying around in the kitchen :)

Might also want to warn your friend you might be staying over for a while in case it doesn't work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Buy her an email iTunes voucher that you can print off. Or any vouchers you can print off, for that matter, on the internet for any large clothes shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Order her a dozen roses online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

thats a monumental f*ck up man, call one of your mates to pick you up a card in a petrol station & tell your wife your taking her out to dinner somewhere fancy at the weekend...maybe you could make a card...write "did I make this card coz i forgot to buy you one?....you'll never know Happy Birthday!!" keep her on her toes! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Stuck in house baby sitting and can't even sneak out to grab a card etc. I'm in the sh!t :(

Eh, how is this a problem? Is it such a big deal to bring the kid with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

jumpguy wrote: »
    Buy her an email iTunes voucher that you can print off. Or any vouchers you can print off, for that matter, on the internet for any large clothes shop.
    Like this - problem solved!

"You are so important to me, nothing else matters to me except you and our daughter. For my birthday, I don't want anything except you by my side. And if our love is as pure as I think it is, you will feel the same. Happy Birthday".

O good jeasus, talk about guilt tripping :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Is there a Tesco near? A 24hr one? Pop the daughter in the car and go shopping for chocolates, flowers, and a digital camera or iPod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Just take her out tomorrow evening for dinner.

In the meantime I suggest doing a Macgyver job on it.

jumpguy wrote: »

Are you for real?

"Here Darling, I went to the trouble of buying you an iTunes voucher, here's the print out..... hope you enjoy it"

Lame :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

You're in the shit man but you're nut sunk yet. You have 4 hours till midnight. Surprise her with champagne now. Then out to get flowers first thing. You're going to have to call in some serious favours to get a baby sitter. Then book a restaurant or book her in for a few sessions at a day spa. Massages and all that crap. Women love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭meesa

Look on the positive side....at least you remembered you have a wife......tell her you think you might have a touch of Alzheimer`s....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

stepbar wrote: »
    Eh, how is this a problem? Is it such a big deal to bring the kid with you?

She's 3 and is in bed and I'm not going to wake her up and bring her out just to get out of something created from my own stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

She's 3 and is in bed and I'm not going to wake her up and bring her out just to get out of something created from my own stupidity.

Shes in the sh1t too!She dident get her a present!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Are you for real?

"Here Darling, I went to the trouble of buying you an iTunes voucher, here's the print out..... hope you enjoy it"

Lame :rolleyes:
    Shweeeeeet...

Better than nothing. :(

She'll get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

OMG OP...your gonna get big time!!

But..try tesco..not the poxy lil ones...but the whopper ones like Clarehall or Maynooth!

The same thing happened to me a few years ago...ended up buying a card for wife and a Filofax outa Clarehall at 11pm...which was bit of a gamble but worked well:cool:..but was a total fluke.

Have to admit now...I havent always got it right. Last Valentines I had my 2 YO son with me when i went to buy the card...he was acting up and causing bit of a scene in the shop...so wasnt paying much attention to what I was doing....I thought id picked up a Valentines card for a Mum ( from the kids)...when i got home and wrote it out and HANDED IT TO HER...it turned out to be a Mass Card for a Dead Mother!!!
    Im still getting it in the neck over that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Tell her real love is blind, sort of squint and grope her breasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Worst husband ever

Dig out all the 2008 calendars and change all phones and electronic devices to one year before, and you should buy yourself an extra day or two.

She'll get over it.

Won't have to ;)

Voltex wrote: »
    ended up buying a card for wife and a Filofax outa Clarehall at 11pm...which was bit of a gamble but worked well:cool:..but was a total fluke.

You're right. It was a freaking gamble. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

This happened to me with an ex. Pretend you don't know it's her birthday. You will need to say "oh I just need to go to the shop and get some bacon*" and then make a mad dash for the nearest shop that is open and buy the most expensive thing, get womany stuff like flowers if possible etc etc, but when you get back, pretend like you STILL don't know it's her birthday, and somehow set it the goods in the bedroom or something at the end of the night, so it looks like you knew all along and it was all part of your plan. Good luck, hope it works, because it certainly didn't work out for me!

*or whatever, I dunno 7up or cheese strings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

Get her a pair of socks & a dildo. If she doesn't like the socks tell her to go fcuk herself.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Tell her you were diagnosed with a terminal illness and were too grief stricken to get a present but it turned out to just be bad gas.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Send her an eCard, then go down on her WITHOUT expecting the same in return.

You're welcome.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Dónal wrote: »
    Dig out all the 2008 calendars and change all phones and electronic devices to one year before, and you should buy yourself an extra day or two.
    Then he'll have forgotten last years birthday too!

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

people, focus! This man is in the ****. If u have a printer, find some sonnet or poetry from them web. Do it up nice in powerpoint with ur own touch and tomorrow date. And place it in a frame in the house, will buy you time to get some kudos gift tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Thought Bubble

Would ya like a wimmins P.O.V???

Given that there's no chance of gift giving at this late point, I'd give her the gift of time . . . as in for the next 24 hours you can do what you want with me (whereever she wants it ;)), be it doing chores you've put off for ages, or cooking her dinner (wouldn't be a bad idea anyways!), or some fun bedroom times for her. Jesus, anything! Foot rubs, back rubs, run her a bath with all her favourite smelly stuffs, with candles and a bottle of wine.

You could also look for those funny printable voucher things, you know,

'This coupon entitles you to one sexy strip tease'

'This coupon entitles you to one candlelight dinner without the kids'

Blah, blah, blah. Ye get the idea. Corny, I know! But funny and you could personalise it.

And it'll keep you in the good books until you get her 'REAL' present, which should be jewellery of some sort :D. And ye may get some action this evening instead of the cold shoulder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Then he'll have forgotten last years birthday too!
    Last year was a leap year so he has a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Cut a piece of cardboard into 12 slips. Write something like this one each one:

Please grant bearer One Back Rub/Foot rub for 30 minutes on presentation of this voucher.

/It's optional to include restrictive, unreadable small-print on the back that voids said vouchers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

Would ya like a wimmins P.O.V???

Given that there's no chance of gift giving at this late point, I'd give her the gift of time . . . as in for the next 24 hours you can do what you want with me (whereever she wants it ;)), be it doing chores you've put off for ages, or cooking her dinner (wouldn't be a bad idea anyways!), or some fun bedroom times for her. Jesus, anything! Foot rubs, back rubs, run her a bath with all her favourite smelly stuffs, with candles and a bottle of wine.

You could also look for those funny printable voucher things, you know,

'This coupon entitles you to one sexy strip tease'

'This coupon entitles you to one candlelight dinner without the kids'

Blah, blah, blah. Ye get the idea. Corny, I know! But funny and you could personalise it.

And it'll keep you in the good books until you get her 'REAL' present, which should be jewellery of some sort :D. And ye may get some action this evening instead of the cold shoulder!

jesus thats good...all I managed was a filofax outta Tescos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Dont know where you living but a lot of the tesco open 24 hours you can slip in and buy your wife a pair of slippers from the daughter. Tell your wife you need to collect hers it was only arriving in tomorrow.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Can someone give me some advice? im bringing the bit on the side out for her birthday (its tommorow)and have to have her home by 12 cos her husbands minding her kid

Any nice quiet spots around Dublin where it would be safe to bang her without getting caught?;)

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Can someone give me some advice? im bringing the bit on the side out for her birthday (its tommorow)and have to have her home by 12 cos her husbands minding her kid

Any nice quiet spots around Dublin where it would be safe to bang her without getting caught?;)

bring her home and bang her there - husband is heading for the dog house already and will be glad of the diversion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Ohhhh you in trouble.

Otherwise find a good offo that delivers and order a nice bottle of vino and chocolates.

If you are in north dublin I know the number of one.

pebbles21 wrote: »

Classy..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭9wetfckx43j5rg

Get on the phone tomorrow morning before's shes up and order a dozen roses to be delivered at lunch time. Then pop out and grab a present and card from the shops (if your in work do it on your lunch hour), something quick like jewelery.

If your at home together tomorrow, act like its a completely normal day. If she questions you about or brings up her birthday act like you forgot and apologize. Then she'll be dead surprised when flowers come and you can appear with the present and she'll be happy you remembered, feel bad about giving out to you and you can use the line "Of course I wouldn't forget your birthday" with her none the wiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

bring her home and bang her there - husband is heading for the dog house already and will be glad of the diversion.

if you want call to mine and i'll bang her aswell,might help to have more time for your diversion

and it'll be a birthday we all can remember

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Thought Bubble

Voltex wrote: »
    jesus thats good...all I managed was a filofax outta Tescos

Yeah, I'm just THAT GOOD. No seriously, time and a bit of imagination can work wonders :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

give her an empty box. Tell her you filled it up with love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

clown bag wrote: »
    give her an empty box. Tell her you filled it up with love.

Or just fill her with love yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

Hope it goes well for you OP. You aren't finished yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Give her a lick out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Cheerilee

sort out babysitter for tomorrow
    book restaurant and or theatre tickets.
    when you tell her happy birthday tomorrow morning tell her to go to the hairdressers coz you are taking her our for her birthday
    I dont get the pretend you haven't forgotten lark
    you havent forgotten .. thats why you are on here..
    birthdays are no big deal what the really big deal here is that you love her so much you don't want to hurt her.. I think thats a big deal and she should feel lucky to have you