Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motivate me to get thin

• 01-11-2009 7:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭

So, I'm struggling to motivate myself to get thin.

I'm 32, male, 5ft 10 and I weigh 18 stone/252 lbs approximately. I know a healthy weight for me would be between 11 and 12 stone.

Anyway a few years ago I got fed up of how I looked and joined a gym. I was super nervous about it but managed to get off to a good start and lost 3 1/2 stone in about 6 months. I was the same weight then when I started as I am now. For some reason I started slacking off with the gym and started to be less strict with my food intake. And slowly, the weight crept back on.

Cut to summer last year and I'm back to the weight I was. I join weight watchers, all full of intentions, lose about 2 stone within about 4-6 months and then again, slack off and stop going to the gym and guess what? I'm back to the weight I was - 18 stone.

A while back a mate who's big into fitness and everything gave me a programme and a eating regime. I stuck at the eating regime for about a week but after that I couldn't stick it a day longer. I had to cut out all carbs, and he had me eating protein (beef, or chicken breast for breakfast), more protein with salad for lunch. And same for dinner. I was allowed no sauces, dairy. In fact the nicest thing I could add were cashew nuts, some olive oil, spices and stuff like ginger and garlic. Really super clean diet.

Anyway I couldn't stick to that and I'm back to square one. I don't like being this size but I seem to be stuck in a vicious circle of eating, not going to the gym, sticking at something for a while, then back to the start.

I know I have a bit of an emotional attachment to food and use it to make myself feel better. But then I eat more, and put on weight, which then makes me feel bad about myself, so I eat more to make myself happy etc. It's stupid, but that's the way it is.

But anyway, I'm not here for counselling. I'm here to get some motivation. I'm sure someone else has been in the same boat as me. Struggled to make themselves go to the gym and eat properly. What was your secret to finally getting yourself off your ass and into the gym and to getting thin.

Being this weight is really affecting my confidence and self-esteem and it's probably not healthy either, so I've a bundle of reasons for getting fit, but seemingly even more reasons to skip out on doing it.

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Seillejet

I always find team sports very condusive to keeping fit and not putting on weight. Physical activity of a sport you enjoy which means that people are relying on you to turn up and not slack off and put off going is a recommendation I would make. You can always supplement with the gym.

You cant get around diet either. Maybe have a cheat day as opposed to sticking to cuting out carbs all together. Everything in moderation and all that.

Best of luck with your goals but we cant motivate you, you have to motivate yourself OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Hey I know how you feel! It sounds like the diet your friend put you on was too severe tbh. I've done weight watchers as well a few times - lost loads of weight and put it back on. I stop and start the gym all the time.

More recently I've started cycling to work three or four times a week which was a big deal at first but after three weeks I got into it. I make sure I go for a walk for at least a half an hour a day. I've been doing a program with weights in the gym for the last three weeks which only takes 40 - 50 mins. When I started off the cycling, I really didn't think I'd keep it up, but one of the girls in work said to me if you get past the three week mark you'll be ok. And she was right! So thats what I'm doing with the gym now. I reckon if you keep anything up for three weeks it will become easier and more like a habit after.

Tomorrow I'm going to re-organise my diet, I've fruit ready instead of biscuits. And I'm going to cut down my portion sizes. I'll keep it up for three weeks and I'm hoping I'll be in the habit then. I've started a fitness log here on boards and I'll see does that help.

I also have an aim to be wearing a dress size less by Christmas so I have to be on track. I intend taking a break one day a week at the weekend though! Weight Watchers is great but its constant and I get really obsessed with what I weigh. So this time I'm just going to use my clothes to measure how I'm getting on. Already with the cycling and weights I look better in my clothes, which in itself is motivating me to keep going.

So I would say - smaller portion sizes
    - no crap food during the week
    - half an hour or more exercise everyday (try and work it ito your daily routine)
    - drink loads of water
    - Set a realistic aim but not too extreme - like 1 stone by Christmas

I know how you feel with the self-esteem as well, but if you keep this up for three weeks and see what happens that will be an achievement in itself and should give you a bit of a boost!

If you do the Fitness Log thing I'll keep an eye on it and try and encourage you if you want! Its great that you're thinking of this now - because it would be easy to say I'll wait until after Christmas - this way you'll be ahead of the posse!

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

OP, while I had different goals to you, over the last few years I have lost 4.5 stone (which is all I needed to lose) and am now at my "ideal" weight.

Your friend, while he has good intentions, should have known that you can't just cut out all crap from your diet and eat super-clean in the matter of a few days. You need to make gradual changes to your diet. For example, the first thing I cut out of my diet was fast food - pizzas, chips burgers, kebabs, Chinese and Indian food. Then sugary drinks - soft drinks, fruit juices etc. Then stuff like white bread, breakfast cereals that come in a box, white pasta, white rice etc.

I knew then I was on the right track with my diet. I felt better and could notice small changes. I decided to take up exercise to speed up the fat loss. I took up jogging all on my own. Just went to a running shop and bought a pair of runners and most mornings before work just went for a 5 minute jog. That's all I could manage at the start. Within a couple of weeks I had doubled that to 10 minutes. Within 4 months I had lost 2 stone and could jog for 20-25 minutes.

I started doing loads of research on nutrition/diet and exercise. I found out the difference between what I thought were healthy foods and actual healthy food. My hunch is that you're in the same boat. I found out I had to start lifting weights and joined a gym. I've been messing about with loads of different weights programs and have recently done more research and now I think I'm on the right track.

The Fitness forum and the Diet & Nutrition forum here on Boards are great sources of information and they really helped me during my battle to shape up (particularly the Stickies).

I now drink nothing but milk, water and protein shakes. I've haven't eaten fast food in I don't know how long. In the last 6 months I drank alcohol 5 times. I have started an excellent weight lifting program called Starting Strength. And last Monday I ran the Dublin City Marathon.

Start small, aim big. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

No-one can motivate you to lose weight. There is no point in coming on here looking for quick answer or a magic motivation formula.

Motivation is about working towards an idealised self image. Imagine 2 lads about to start a FAS course in motor mechanics. One loves cars, spent his childhood tinkering with bikes and lawnmowers and spends his weekends up to his elbows in grease fixing his own car. The other loves music and dreams about being a rock star.

Which of those two will be the more dedicated student?

Obviously for one the course is perfect - it plays to his strengths and interests. He will work hard at learning because for him it's not work. And even the stuff he doesn't enjoy he'll tough out because he can see where it's taking him and he wants to get there. The other guy doesn't see the point and doesn't liek where the course is taking hi - will he work hard at the tough stuff?

Excuse a bit of brutality but I'm not sure that you really want to lose weight. If you did then when you lost all that weight before that would have been enough motivation to keep you going. On one level you do like the idea of being thiner, but deep down there is this "emotional attachment" to food and unless you get that sorted no amount of motivational mantras will sort you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

No-one can motivate you to lose weight. There is no point in coming on here looking for quick answer or a magic motivation formula.

Excuse a bit of brutality but I'm not sure that you really want to lose weight. If you did then when you lost all that weight before that would have been enough motivation to keep you going. On one level you do like the idea of being thiner, but deep down there is this "emotional attachment" to food and unless you get that sorted no amount of motivational mantras will sort you out.

Sorry don't agree with you here. If he didn't want to lose it he wouldn't be posting here in the first place. He's obviously thinking about it and looking for suggestions from others who may have felt like him at some stage who have been successful. Knowing other people have got themselves out of a rut has helped me in the past. He obviously can motivate himself as he has lost the weight twice before - and he needs something to trigger that motivation again.

OP you've done it twice before so at least you know you can do it again...maybe if you go at it at an easier and more manageable pace this time - you'll be able to keep it off long term. I guess thats the aim anyway so I'd just start tomorrow - remember its always the getting back into thats the hardest part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Visual imagery is great for motivation.
    This might seems a bit drastic but bear with me...
    Take a photo of yourself in your jocks. Go to your local print place and get a lifesize cardboard cut out and leave it in your kitchen so that everytime you are preparing food you get a quick reinforcement of why you want to lose weight.

PS: Throw out all the takeaway menus. I know you have 30 of them, in the drawer...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

i have been losing weight recently, not that i was ever that big but i just want to get ripped basically because I'm a narcissist!
    Anyway the diet thing - there's no way around that I'm afraid. You just have to stop using food for pleasure and look at it more like fuel your body needs. I keep my diet clean about 6 days a week, usually on Sundays I'm hungover so I get some disgusting crap e.g. last night I had chips and a battered sausage and carvery lol, was delicious though. But today back to the strict diet. Weights and Cardio are good too, the weights will sculpt your body and as you lose weight you'll begin to look better and better.
    PM me if you want specifics as to what I'm eating now and how to train.

Zamboni wrote: »
    Go to your local print place and get a lifesize cardboard cut out and leave it in your kitchen so that everytime you are preparing food you get a quick reinforcement of why you want to lose weight.

PS: Throw out all the takeaway menus. I know you have 30 of them, in the drawer...

LOL how would you explain that to guests? Imagine bringing a girl home some night and you forgot about the life size cut out of you in your boxer shorts in the kitchen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

With the exception of the age the OPs figures are exactly the same as mine.
    Even down to having lost it a few years previously then put it back on.

I was that exact same weight back in March and currently * Takes out printout from the gym* I am now 203lbs. I still have aways to go but i've most of the work done and as long as i maintain what im at i'll hit my target.

I feel much better then i did 6 months ago. Forget about other peoples plans and methods. You have to adapt them for yourself and tailor it to what you are capable of. I can run 10km now relatively ok(Not in any good time mind you) but if you had told me 6 months ago to do it i would have probably died after the 1km. Then i would have gone home and been depressed that i couldnt do it and etc etc..

Start small. Get a bike and cycle 5km a few times a week. Then push it to 10km. Or do it in the gym. Do your research and see what works for you then push it a little more each week. If you try to do too much all at once then you are just increasing your chance of failing then your confidence takes a knock and you feel like jacking it all in.

It is a two pronged attack in my personal view. If you exercise well but dont have the diet in some sort of order then you are fighting a losing battle. For me personally a major thing was stopping eating in the work resturant every day. I just switched to wraps/sandwichs. Pick one thing now and change it.

Short term goal, Meduim term goals and long term goals. Make some realistic ones for yourself and try to achieve them

One thing that i have to constantly beat into my own head is that you are going to f**k up. You are going to order that pizza every once in a while or eat too much crap. It happens to everyone. Whats important is you just let it be once in a while and get right back on the wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

If I didn't enjoy keeping fit I would motivate myself to lose weight by reminding myself that losing weight reduces the risk of:

* Coronary heart disease
    * Stroke
    * High blood pressure
    * Fatty liver disease
    * Osteoarthritis
    * Gout
    * Diabetes
    * Gallbladder disease
    * Respiratory problems, including sleep apnea
    * Cancer
    * Reproductive and fertility problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭LowOdour

This might sound stupid to alot of people but here is a tip for you.

Since you know you can lose the weight, you should start again and start losing it.
    Your problem seems to be you lose interest/motivation.
    When this occurs....dont worry about losing weight, worry about not gaining anything. Which means, do enough to keep you at your current weight. If you need to eat junk, eat only a little junk. If you were walking 2 miles a day, walk half a mile.
    You might then start to get the motivation back after a few weeks and you will still not have put back on a huge amount of weight.
    i know there are flaws in my theory but i use it and it helps me.

Also, buy a shirt you would like to fit in. A goal is to fit into that shirt and to keep been able to fit in it.

Small steps my friend..

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

You start off great, and it sounds to me like you get bored with the maintenance side once you get where youre going. You see the fitness and weight loss as a means to an end rather than an ongoing lifestyle, which is why you regress to your former patterns as soon as you see the changes.

You need to see any fitness plan or diet as permanent, and something you can, and are happy to, maintain long term. If you see it as suffering just till you get thin then you will never, ever maintain it.

So change your outlook. Do a sport or exercise because you enjoy it, and use it as a hobby. If you hate doing something, change to something else. Find clean foods you eat because they are yummy not just because they are healthy. And every time you crave a food, think about it before you eat it. Do I really want this? How will I feel when Ive eaten it? Never kid yourself youll exercise it off 'later'.

Keep reminding yourself this is a choice you want, and its for life, not just till you get to x lbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 goldilocks77

If you live alone, then you're only shopping for yourself - cut out the fizzy drinks and snacks, if you don't see it in the fridge/cupboard, then you won't want it. Alcohol has a lot of calories too, as do pizzas and other takeaways. I went to WW a few years ago and lost the 1.5 stone I was dragging around. I haven't eaten a chocolate muffin since I saw its WW points value, honestly! Now I do a 30 minute walk, eat apples and drink water (have to force myself to do that, I must admit) when I feel my clothes are tight. At the moment I have a dress I'd like to wear by Christmas. Having a photo of yourself can help, whatever it takes to work for YOU. Good luck, be positive, try not to get stressed about it. Your weight is only a part of you.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭padraig_f

Oryx wrote: »
    So change your outlook. Do a sport or exercise because you enjoy it, and use it as a hobby. If you hate doing something, change to something else.

I was gonna say this. If I was only going to the gym to lose weight, I wouldn't keep it up either. You need to find something you enjoy. My immediate motivation for exercising isn't to lose weight or to be more healthy, these are too distant goals. It's that I work in an office all day and look forward to getting out for a run in the fresh air or going for a swim. And because I enjoy the activity itself, it's easy to keep them up consistently.

So my advice would be to try many different things and find an activity you enjoy. Even if it's not the most efficient way of losing weight, if you keep it up consistently, it will be more beneficial in the long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Agree with some of the above. Find something you enjoy. Find a team, a walking group, running club, five a side, activity or what have you. The biggest benefit to that is that you'll keep coming back and you might switch your diet so that you can improve at doing whatever it is you want to do most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

First the bad news, I still haven't made it back into the gym or started doing exercise. I even had my gym gear with me yesterday but when I finished work I just wanted to go home.

Good news. Since Monday I've been eating quite healthily. I've cut out all the junk and breakfast has been a yoghurt with cereal and a banana. Lunch has been a salad with a chicken breast, although I could probably tweak the salad a bit and cut out the cheese and carbs from it (had a couple of baby potatoes in it yesterday). Dinner has been a chicken breast stir fried in olive oil with a ton of veg (frozen, as I buy the fresh stuff and never use it so it just goes off) and some boiled wholegrain rice with some basmati rice mixed in.

I've then had some diet 7UP and diet coke with my meals but I should probably cut it out too. I also took some sweet chilli sauce with my dinner and added in some spices. I guess I should cut out the sweet chilli sauce but I find that meals can be quite flavourless and dry without some sort of sauce with it. From what I remember the calorie content of the sauce isn't too bad, but I could be wrong.

I've also had tea and a couple of cereal bars with it.

I know it's not perfect and there's definitely room for improvement, but at least it's a start.

My first goal is to lose a stone by christmas. Ambitious, but hopefully not unrealistic.

I'm also not sure if this is a good idea, but I'm thinking about allowing myself one cheat meal per week. I was thinking though I shouldn't do that for the first while but at the same time I know if I feel I'm denying myself stuff, I'll not stick to it.

Activity wise, I've no real interests in sports, except for Formula 1 and wrestling. Neither of which I plan to take up :)

I can't stand soccer or rugby and wouldn't even entertain the though of competiting in them. Because I'm 18 stone I need to take it easy on my joints so my cardio will probably be limited to some brisk walking on the treadmill or the cross trainer machine. I am to do about 20-30 minutes on them. A few months ago I started back at the gym and sort of hurt my knee running and I know it's just because of my weight.

Having something that's maintainable is crucial, and when I lost all the weight a few years ago I was going to the gym at least 3 times a week. I started going more as I got more into it and the weight kept coming off. I think I got down to about 204lbs from 252 and then for some reason started to slack off. My diet then was strict enough. Breakfast was orange juice, a banana and maybe some wheaten bread. Lunch was some sort of salad and dinner was either light bolognese sauce with mince and brown rice. Or a grilled chicken breast with pasta, some grilled veg and some Lloyd Grossman pasta sauce.

I think I used to have a cereal bar with a cup of tea so I had something sweet. I cut out all drink and takeaway's for about 3 months. I also used to treat myself once a week with one of those tesco healthy living chinese meals and a fairly big portion of white rice. Seeing it was processed food, it probably wasn't the healthiest thing to eat but if the thing is too strict, in my own eyes, I won't stick to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

You should try to take baby steps over giant leaps.

You seem to have changed your diet, but can I ask: what would have been a typical days diet before this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

Sounds to me like a crossfit regime might suit you

but can I ask: what would have been a typical days diet before this week?

It would sort of vary from day to day. During the week, breakfast would either be a scone with low low, or cereal and a low fat yoghurt, or nothing at all.

Lunch would usually be something from the canteen at work, either a wrap or sandwich or baguette with chicken, lettuce, a bit of dressing/sauce etc. Or I'd have something hot like a chicken kiev, southern fried chicken fillet and throw on some veg rather than take potatoes with it.

Dinner would maybe be a takeaway (chinese or pizza), or some home cooked burgers and chips, or maybe some sort of stirfry. Or maybe some sort of processed food like a frozen pizza or instant meal.

Throw in diet 7up, diet coke, tea, and in the evenings, a good handful of biscuits, or chocolate, or sweets of some sort.

The weekends can be pretty bad though. A Saturday morning I might have nothing for breakfast, or have a breakfast roll, skip lunch or just eat some choc, then a chinese or pizza for dinner. I almost always have a takeaway on a Sat night. Add in also diet 7up, and chocolate and stuff after the takeway.

Sunday can be bad also, maybe the same diet as Saturday, or skipping breakfast, having a huge Mcdonalds around lunchtime, add in more choc and then dinner in the evening. Either another takeaway or something I've cooked, stir fry with rice, or some instant meal.

It would sort of vary from day to day. During the week, breakfast would either be a scone with low low, or cereal and a low fat yoghurt, or nothing at all.

Lunch would usually be something from the canteen at work, either a wrap or sandwich or baguette with chicken, lettuce, a bit of dressing/sauce etc. Or I'd have something hot like a chicken kiev, southern fried chicken fillet and throw on some veg rather than take potatoes with it.

Dinner would maybe be a takeaway (chinese or pizza), or some home cooked burgers and chips, or maybe some sort of stirfry. Or maybe some sort of processed food like a frozen pizza or instant meal.

Throw in diet 7up, diet coke, tea, and in the evenings, a good handful of biscuits, or chocolate, or sweets of some sort.

The weekends can be pretty bad though. A Saturday morning I might have nothing for breakfast, or have a breakfast roll, skip lunch or just eat some choc, then a chinese or pizza for dinner. I almost always have a takeaway on a Sat night. Add in also diet 7up, and chocolate and stuff after the takeway.

Sunday can be bad also, maybe the same diet as Saturday, or skipping breakfast, having a huge Mcdonalds around lunchtime, add in more choc and then dinner in the evening. Either another takeaway or something I've cooked, stir fry with rice, or some instant meal.

Well I'm sure you can see what you're doing wrong there! You need to cut out ALL the crap. It's not that hard after the first while. Especially when you start to look better and better in the mirror and people start noticing you losing weight, this encourages you to keep going.

I had a bit of a wobble last night in that I ended up getting a Burger King. No real excuse, had skipped dinner to go to see the wrestling at the O2 so by the time it was over at 10.30pm, I was famished.

I was grand earlier in the day though. Apple, banana and yoghurt for breakfast, chicken breast and small salad for lunch, then the Burger king late at night.

I did a bit of walking yesterday too. Walked from my place to the Luas which is about 10-15 minutes. Then walked from the Luas stop at St Stephens Green to the O2 which was about a 30 minute walk. Then walked back from the O2 to St Stephen's green after it was over.

Been doing ok eating wise today, although I did have a wholegrain baguette with cheese, ham, tomato, lettuce and wholegrain mustard. I should probably have had something else but I didn't really fancy a salad again. Dinner was ok too, although I did have a protein bar and a granola bar with my tea. Also had some diet drinks today too.

Also walked from the basement car park up to my apartment on the 4th floor, which is 5 floors in total.

And maybe I'm just imagining things, but I'd swear my face is thinner already!

Well done, sounds great! You WILL have some wobbles but more wobbles means more wobbly bits - don't worry too much about the odd slip-up! Keep up the good work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭cheekay

Sounds like you're getting bored of having salad every day. why not try making a homemade soup or wholemeal wraps/pitas with tuna/chicken. if you vary it you wont get bored as easily. you seem to be doing really well so far.good job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

I'm 32, male, 5ft 10 and I weigh 18 stone/252 lbs approximately. I know a healthy weight for me would be between 11 and 12 stone.

Anyway a few years ago I got fed up of how I looked and joined a gym. I was super nervous about it but managed to get off to a good start and lost 3 1/2 stone in about 6 months. I was the same weight then when I started as I am now. For some reason I started slacking off with the gym and started to be less strict with my food intake. And slowly, the weight crept back on.

Cut to summer last year and I'm back to the weight I was. I join weight watchers, all full of intentions, lose about 2 stone within about 4-6 months and then again, slack off and stop going to the gym and guess what? I'm back to the weight I was - 18 stone.

A while back a mate who's big into fitness and everything gave me a programme and a eating regime. I stuck at the eating regime for about a week but after that I couldn't stick it a day longer. I had to cut out all carbs, and he had me eating protein (beef, or chicken breast for breakfast), more protein with salad for lunch. And same for dinner. I was allowed no sauces, dairy. In fact the nicest thing I could add were cashew nuts, some olive oil, spices and stuff like ginger and garlic. Really super clean diet.

Anyway I couldn't stick to that and I'm back to square one. I don't like being this size but I seem to be stuck in a vicious circle of eating, not going to the gym, sticking at something for a while, then back to the start.

I know I have a bit of an emotional attachment to food and use it to make myself feel better. But then I eat more, and put on weight, which then makes me feel bad about myself, so I eat more to make myself happy etc. It's stupid, but that's the way it is.

But anyway, I'm not here for counselling. I'm here to get some motivation. I'm sure someone else has been in the same boat as me. Struggled to make themselves go to the gym and eat properly. What was your secret to finally getting yourself off your ass and into the gym and to getting thin.

Being this weight is really affecting my confidence and self-esteem and it's probably not healthy either, so I've a bundle of reasons for getting fit, but seemingly even more reasons to skip out on doing it.

thanks.

i dont know how to motivate you, i just knew I HAD TO WORK OUT my family has a history of cholestrol/diabetes etc etc, so i got into working out, boxing and then i got into body building, what motivated me was compliments from my family, friends, and the stares from the ladies, and thats what keeps me going, if i didnt have those i would probably be a fat couch potato

so its really simple, you need 2 things a good diet and a workout plan, if you get those 2 things going and stick to them, it will pay off, 18 stone isnt that much its only 234 pounds (i think lol, i always use pounds or KGs never use stone), and TRUST me, if you work hard enough, you will be RIPPED, yes ripped, possibly like vin diesel this time next year

get a diet started with alot of protien, good carbs (brown rice brown pasta), and ALOT OF veggies

then eat atleast 6 times a day, lets put it this way your 234 pounds you need to eat alot more than me to keep that weight (i.e if you even eat as much as i do, you will drop that weight like a bomb, and i eat alot... around 3500 cals to be exact)

and then incorporate a weight lifting and cardio schedule, if you any need help just PM me with regards to diet and/or working out, (its free obviously LOL), but i cant really motivate you....

just think of it this way, you probably look over 40 now, and you will look 25 when your jacked like vin diesel in a year or 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭CSC

I have enjoyed reading this thread.

Since the start of the summer I stopped going to the gym in the evenings and have put on too much extra weight. I am starting to go again tomorrow morning, not really looking forward to it but I know I will see the benefits of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I am 6 ft 1 and at my heaviest I weighed 15 stone 2.
    The spark for me was during the time that the Matrix Reloaded was in the cinemas (June 2003), and the reports that Keanu Reeves maintained his body fat at 7% during filming. I'd never heard the concept of body fat before!

I was sitting in one of those couches whereby you sink into the seat. I said to myself, "Try and pull yourself out of the chair without using your hands". It was a struggle, but I got out and realised that this was not for me. I had always been athletic growing up playing football, GAA and doing cross country at school. Then college came and following the introduction of alcohol I slowly gained weight over the 4 years bringing me up to 15.2 stone.

I watched a programme on TV which really hit home. It described how the human body is really just a biological machine. An engineered machine. It stated how we share 99% of our DNA with the chimpanzee which subsists mainly on fruit, vegetables, nuts and some meat. We have colour vision to see fruits on trees and branches, we have grasping fingers to pick the fruit. We walk upright to walk, run and hunt. This was it. It was all about the diet. If you focus your diet based around water,eggs, fruits (the more the better), lean meats, fresh fish and lot's of vegetables you will begin to lose excess body fat guaranteed. You will feel like crap for a few weeks but this is just your body cleansing itself. The human body has not had time to adapt to new foods like Grains, vegetable oils etc The power of focus is incredible. If you believe that your body is a machine and you fuel that machine with the appropriate fuel then that machine will perform at it's peak. How's that for motivation! Eat when you're hungry, Eat til your full. Now I know that you must have everything in moderation (there's no point in downing 20 oranges in a night!), but if you revolve your diet around that core group and work out at something you enjoy then you will feel better, sleep better and enjoy life more.

From my own personal experience, I went from 15.2 stone all the way down to 11 stone and 6% body fat. I have however maintained 12 stone for the past 2 years which I am happy with. I also still drink alcohol but in moderation and am looking to quit completely. (It's all empty calories anyway)
    Nobodies perfect but the principles if adhered to really work. I eat according to this and walk pretty much everywhere (at least 7 miles per day)

PM me if you want more info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Harpic

Join WeightWatchers.

I have lost a stone since October with a bit more exercise.
    It motivates me.
    A lot done more to do......
    I had a bit of a wobble last night in that I ended up getting a Burger King. No real excuse, had skipped dinner to go to see the wrestling at the O2 so by the time it was over at 10.30pm, I was famished.

I was grand earlier in the day though. Apple, banana and yoghurt for breakfast, chicken breast and small salad for lunch, then the Burger king late at night.

I did a bit of walking yesterday too. Walked from my place to the Luas which is about 10-15 minutes. Then walked from the Luas stop at St Stephens Green to the O2 which was about a 30 minute walk. Then walked back from the O2 to St Stephen's green after it was over.

Been doing ok eating wise today, although I did have a wholegrain baguette with cheese, ham, tomato, lettuce and wholegrain mustard. I should probably have had something else but I didn't really fancy a salad again. Dinner was ok too, although I did have a protein bar and a granola bar with my tea. Also had some diet drinks today too.

Also walked from the basement car park up to my apartment on the 4th floor, which is 5 floors in total.

And maybe I'm just imagining things, but I'd swear my face is thinner already!

So I went back to the gym today and I sort of surprised myself by doing so.

I'd been feeling a bit run down all weekend, like I was getting a cold or a flu or something. I've been taking vitamin C and echinicea (I know that's spelt wrong) to try and shake it off. I had sort of said to myself that I'd start back at the gym today, but I know I've an awful habit of procrastinating about things. It will be like "oh, I've a wee twinge here, or a wee pain there" Or "oh I'm a bit tired, feeling run down, I should rest and skip the gym". All these thoughts usually go through my head. And I will be honest, yesterday I was expecting the same thing to happen today - for me to talk myself out of going.

Then last night I was in contact with someone and I found out some information that made me fly into an absolute total and utter seething rage. I won't say what it was, but it had an incredible side effect. A few seconds later I said "Right, f*** this, I'm going to the gym tomorrow come what may and I'm going to sort myself out once and for all". And it was like a switch had went off in my head.

My gym gear was still packed from not going the other day and when I got up this morning, I didn't even have to think about it. There was nothing to think about. I got up, grabbed my gym gear and went to work. I wasn't mad busy but all I was doing was sitting around wishing I could get to the gym. Finally came to about 4pm so I bolted out and did a reasonably good workout.

I'm quite unfit and overweight so I didn't want to overdo it, but I spent about an hour there and did a mix of cardio and weights.

I was still feeling a bit rundown this morning but I was still 100% committed to going. Normally, any sort of thing would derail me going to the gym. But today I said to myself "ok, if you genuinely come down with something and are completely f****d by 4pm, don't go. Otherwise, you're definitely going". And to be honest, I didn't even want to skip out on going. Anyway I felt better as the day went on and did a workout and am glad I did.

I'll start a thread in the Fitness Logs section about what I did today and what I ate.

It's sort of frustrating as I'm at day 1 and I know I've a long way to go and I sort of wish I could skip ahead and see myself in 2 months as I'm so impatient. But I know that I should see progress within 3-4 weeks so hopefully that will be enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

It's sort of frustrating as I'm at day 1 and I know I've a long way to go and I sort of wish I could skip ahead and see myself in 2 months as I'm so impatient. But I know that I should see progress within 3-4 weeks so hopefully that will be enough.

We all have a day 1 and we all have those feelings of being overwhelmed at the task ahead. But the great thing is, there's only one day 1 - from here on in everything is progress and you'll never have to go right back to the start again.

Well done on making changes, it's the start of the rest of your fitter life :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭John Player

look beautiful if you want to have more sex

I know this shouldn't be my main motivation. But to be honest, it is. I know I should be focusing on how this is going to make me more healthy and feel better and while those are good benefits, the above quote is really why I'm doing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

I know this shouldn't be my main motivation. But to be honest, it is. I know I should be focusing on how this is going to make me more healthy and feel better and while those are good benefits, the above quote is really why I'm doing this.

Nothing wrong with that being your main motivation. Nothing at all. Why should there be? Show me someone who says that working out to look better for the opposite sex isn't a big motivator and I'll show you a liar!

Use whatever you need to do what you need to do. Later, when you see the benefits, the health/fitness factors will come into play a lot stronger too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Nothing wrong with that motivation at all :) Getting fitter and healthier is a brilliant positive-feedback loop - as you get stronger and lose weight your confidence builds and your motivation increases, it's a self-rewarding system.

Regardless of your motivation, do it for you above anyone else, do it to make you happy, to make you feel good, to make you feel a sense of achievement and accomplishment. The hard work you put in now will come back to you ten-fold in rewards :)

So, your goal is to score?? Well, it's a start... Best of luck, enjoy reading your progess reports.

Yeah, I haven't been doing much scoring as is and I know my weight is a factor (for me at least as it's zapped my confidence and self esteem). Plus I generally dislike how I look and want to be able to buy and wear nice clothes.

Jeez, I sound like a woman now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

Jeez, I sound like a woman now!

HEY!! Nothing wrong with that! ;)

Whatever your motivation is the most important thing is that it MOTIVATES you! Don't really matter what the reason is!

Good Luck!!

Cheers, thanks for all the encouragement.

I went to the gym yesterday so that's two days in a row. I still have the workouts that my friend gave. He's kind of gotten into personal training and gave me a load of workouts that will probably last me several months.

I'm taking a break from the gym today, however I should be heading there tomorrow and Friday.

I'm still pretty sore from the gym sessions on Monday and Tuesday. I know this is to be expected when doing weights for the first time in ages. However I'm wondering should I wait until the soreness goes away before doing weights again? Or is it ok to go ahead even though I'm still sore and stiff from Tuesday?

I'm heading to the gym this evening after work with plans to do a full workout, but I'm just wondering if I should skip the weights and do some cardio for the next few days until the soreness subsides.

According to the scales, I'm 4.2 lbs lighter than I was this time last week. I don't know how accurate they are (I weighed myself this morning in the altogether after a shower and last week I was wearing tracksuit bottoms and a tshirt). However I guess I should just act like its true and keep myself motivated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Danye

According to the scales, I'm 4.2 lbs lighter than I was this time last week. I don't know how accurate they are (I weighed myself this morning in the altogether after a shower and last week I was wearing tracksuit bottoms and a tshirt). However I guess I should just act like its true and keep myself motivated.

Congrats on the progress, Keep it up! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 big_poppa

good job mate keep it up and yeah do act like its true you. your doing something right if your weighting yourself after a shower and your alot lighter then before