Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lands preserved sign

• 01-11-2009 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭

First off I'm not anti-hunting or trolling and I have used the search function.

Where can I get lands perserved /no shooting/hunting signs or even a template for them? Also do the signs have any legal standing?
    One of the neighbours has been shooting pheasants in my fields behind my house this morning. I have temporary signs up as of half an hour ago but I'd rather get proper looking ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Why don't you want anyone on your land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭johnner1

Why don't you want anyone on your land?
    he might not like the neighbour taking things for granted .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

rliston wrote: »

Where can I get lands perserved /no shooting/hunting signs or even a template for them? Also do the signs have any legal standing?
    One of the neighbours has been shooting pheasants in my fields behind my house this morning. I have temporary signs up as of half an hour ago but I'd rather get proper looking ones.

There is an add on the Irish Shooting digest every month for signs that you are requesting, cannot remember name will post it when I get Novembers magazine next week.
    Why he wants or does not want anyone on his land is of no concern but his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Here is a link for a co that make signs.
    http://www.irishsigns.com

Signs will have to be poster where they can clearly be seen. It may be worth your while to run a lands preserved notice in your local paper too. The reason I say that is a few years back our club prosecuted a few lads and the first thing the judge asked was had we placed an advert in the local paper.

homerhop wrote: »
    Here is a link for a co that make signs.
    http://www.irishsigns.com

Signs will have to be poster where they can clearly be seen. It may be worth your while to run a lands preserved notice in your local paper too. The reason I say that is a few years back our club prosecuted a few lads and the first thing the judge asked was had we placed an advert in the local paper.
    Should not have to. Put up signs no trespassing private lands. If someone enters your land with a gun call gardai tell them you have an Armed Trespasser more serious than trespassing. Why should you have to go to the expense of paying for an add. It is your land.

Your right he shouldnt have to, I am just speaking from personal experience and what happened when we went to court with a trespassing case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

The shooter is obviously a muppet. Few unwritten rules as well as few written ones about this :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Do you own the field behind your house OP?, it's not clear from your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭rliston

yes I own the land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭lordarpad

yes I own the land

I am with the armed trespassing thing. That kind of thing needs to be discouraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

He's your neighbor, why don't you go and talk to him?

Armed trespass? you guys are advocating charging a neighbor with armed trespass, without any real knowledge of the story.
    Maybe he has sporting rights to the land??????no?
    Shoot first ask questions later seems to be the motto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

yes I own the land

If it's your land, then (more than likely) he shouldn't be shooting it without your permission.
    That being said, I think that in some cases (and I think it's a hangover from the old landlord/tenant days) the owner of the land doesn't actually own the rights to shoot on it.
    If he's a neighbour, perhaps a quiet word or phone call is the way to go. You probably don't want to fall out with him over it.
    Also, maybe he didn't realise that he was doing anything wrong. He may have had permission from a previous owner or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭emanresu

The original post says "... in my fields ....". That's clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 .243 express

As Bunnyshooter said ,,,A Muppet..The Land will be there after him.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

we had a fellow shooting behind my house this morning
    some lads would come into your back garden if they thought there was a bird in there,we have about 40 acres and never stop anyone from shooting on it but you'd think some people would have a bit of cop on, I personaly never shoot in a field that borders a house shot gun or other wise, :mad:

As Bunnyshooter said ,,,A Muppet..The Land will be there after him.....
    Just as it was there before him but as of now he states he is the owner of the land and is entitled to say if he does or does not want people shooting on it.
    If we all took that approach there would be no club lands, we could roam at ease shooting where ever we wanted to.

If every landowner in the country decided to put up no shooting signs then we'ld be in a right state now wouldn't we? And here on this thread there are shooters encouraging a landowner to put up not just no shooting signs but no trespassing aswell, just to get the shooter in question to be done for armed trespass and possibly have his gun confiscated and possibly licences revoked...I just can't believe what I'm reading.

I know there are a lot of clowns out there who go where they shouldn't go, but at the end of the day its easier to ask for forgiveness rather than permission. If the landowner has a problem with his neighbour than he sjould be a man and call down to him and say it besides hiding in his field behind a few signs.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

If every landowner in the country decided to put up no shooting signs then we'ld be in a right state now wouldn't we? And here on this thread there are shooters encouraging a landowner to put up not just no shooting signs but no trespassing aswell, just to get the shooter in question to be done for armed trespass and possibly have his gun confiscated and possibly licences revoked...I just can't believe what I'm reading.

Just because there's no sign up, doesn't mean it's not trespass one way or another. And with a gun, it's armed trespass, one way or the other. It's irresponsible to suggest that he shouldn't restrict access to his land to pre-approved people. If a landowner doesn't want shooting on the land, then nobody should shoot on that land, end of story. If I had a two hundred acre back garden with twenty million pheasants in it and some plank thought it was okay to wander in and shoot without my permission, I'd be rightly pissed off.
    I know there are a lot of clowns out there who go where they shouldn't go, but at the end of the day its easier to ask for forgiveness rather than permission. If the landowner has a problem with his neighbour than he sjould be a man and call down to him and say it besides hiding in his field behind a few signs.........

No, sorry, but that doesn't hold for me at all. You either get permission, in advance, or you don't shoot there. In the above example, if the lads had approached me in advance and asked could they do a spot of shooting, I'd have been totally amenable to it, and would have probably gone out with them, but if I found them on my land, shooting away without permission, I'd toss them out on their ear and they wouldn't do it again without receiving a visit from the police. It's just not a reasonable thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 .243 express

Well said deeksofdoom

Not really. It's irresponsible and unacceptable to put a landowner in the position where they could be liable for your injury. It's also unacceptable to shoot on land when nobody knows you're there, as it's dangerous. In all, it's just not acceptable to risk all this when all it takes to avoid it is to get permission. If the issue is that, if you asked you wouldn't get pemission, then it's still trespass and you still deserve to get done for that.

I just can't believe what I'm reading.

Ditto, We have shooters coming on encouraging others to go shoot where they want and take the feck it if i get caught so be it approach.
    A bit of common decency to drive into a yard and ask would you mind if i go across the fields there for a shot is not rocket science.

Not really. It's irresponsible and unacceptable to put a landowner in the position where they could be liable for your injury. It's also unacceptable to shoot on land when nobody knows you're there, as it's dangerous. In all, it's just not acceptable to risk all this when all it takes to avoid it is to get permission. If the issue is that, if you asked you wouldn't get pemission, then it's still trespass and you still deserve to get done for that.

If I was to go around and ask every landowner or try and find every landowner on a Sunday morning for permission to shoot on their land then I'ld get no shooting done.

And if I was to worry about injury the way that you do I'ld probably stay in bed. Shooting is a dangerous activity and its something that should never be taken for granted, but its what I do and I'll do it as safely as possible.

I'm quite happy to be a member of a gun club and operate within the boundaries of that club and its preserves. As a member of a gun club I also have insurance so if I have an accident I'm covered and its not the farmer who is liable, hopefully I won't need to claim. And if I want to shoot out side the club I'll get permission off the landowner or operate within the rules of the club land that I'm on.

If I was to go around and ask every landowner or try and find every landowner on a Sunday morning for permission to shoot on their land then I'ld get no shooting done.

And if I was to worry about injury the way that you do I'ld probably stay in bed. Shooting is a dangerous activity and its something that should never be taken for granted, but its what I do and I'll do it as safely as possible.

I'm quite happy to be a member of a gun club and operate within the boundaries of that club and its preserves. As a member of a gun club I also have insurance so if I have an accident I'm covered and its not the farmer who is liable, hopefully I won't need to claim. And if I want to shoot out side the club I'll get permission off the landowner or operate within the rules of the club land that I'm on.

Or you could just stick your head in in advance, so you don't wander onto land you've no permission to be on, and your insurance will not pay out if you are breaking the law at the time, by trespassing with a firearm. Also, how I worry about injury is that I get insurance, then act within the law so that I'm covered at all times. Fairly simple really, no need to stay in bed at all. You're trying to defend the indefensible. Have a bit of common courtesy and speak to the landowners before you use their land. It's not yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Is there not a law about discharging a gun within x kilometers of a house?

kmick wrote: »
    Is there not a law about discharging a gun within x kilometers of a house?

As far as I know, guidance, not law, states that you shouldn't discharge a firearm within sixty feet of a public road or private property you don't have permission to shoot on. So that's a bit less than 0.02 kilometres. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

And they wonder why we kicked them off the land week after week :mad:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

First off I'm not anti-hunting

If you're not anti hunting why would you want to stop someone, especially a neighbour, from enjoying a traditional country pursuit?

The opening day of the pheasant season is something that is eagerly anticipated each year by hunters, most of whom are rural based - just like you. I can understand a farmer not wanting hoardes of strangers crossing their land, but a neighbour? I know lots of farmers around our area who don't shoot, but they wouldn't prevent others, especially locals, from doing so.

supposen I came shooting deer in some of your areas with out asking permission what would you think then
    just because its a bird doesn't make it any different or that your using a shotgun
    usually you only have to ask once and not ever time you go shooting
    we all know that there are responcible shooters out there and then there are a**holes with guns
    seems to me the OP was just lookin for a bit of common courtesy and that you keep a reasonable distance from houses

4gun wrote: »
    just because its a bird doesn't make it any different or that your using a shotgun

Oh yes it does make a difference, using a high powered rifle around farmland where there is livestock is a lot different to using a shotgun.

It doesn't make any difference to whether you need permission, and used right, there's no difference in safety.

We got permission a few years ago from a farmer who would not let lads shoot his land for years, on the grounds that lads kept away from near his yard. Annual meeting before the season and everyone was told we have the shooting of X farm lands but stay away from near the yard. As always you get one and went up one sunday morning, fired off a shot at the back of the sheds. End result, said farmer was in the shed just getting ready to inject a horse. Horse got spooked and stuck said farmer to the wall ending up with broken and bruised ribs. We lost the adjoining lands the following year because of that one incident.

so you think you have to right to roam the country side just because you are using a shotgun, shoot over peoples houses and have the decency to even let them know about it

what do you think would happen if you had some old guy who's been terrorised by some recent robberies to his property and he sees you crouching behind a hedge not far from his yard and he also happens to be a firearms owner.... better you that me in that senario
    when all it might have taken was a five minute chat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Fallow

As far as i know, you can not get prosecuted for trasspass.
    It was done away with when the landlords of england were put out.
    19 years ago, i was thrown off land as i was hunting it for rabbits with a lurcher. the farmer took the reg number of my car and said he would phone the gaurds.
    The local cop payed me a visit and said the farmer in quetion complained of me trasspassing with a dog, but explained he could not prosacute me for trasspassing for just hunting rabbits.
    He said the farmer was worried about his sheep, but my dog was steady with stock.
    Nothing came of it.

so you think you have to right to roam the country side just because you are using a shotgun, shoot over peoples houses and have the decency to even let them know about it

what do you think would happen if you had some old guy who's been terrorised by some recent robberies to his property and he sees you crouching behind a hedge not far from his yard and he also happens to be a firearms owner.... better you that me in that senario
    when all it might have taken was a five minute chat...

I think your imagination is running riot with you, judging by your last post you haven't a bulls notion about game shooting.

And who in his right mind would be shooting over houses and hiding in ditches.... cop on a small bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

Ye're too soft lads - why waste time messing about with the gardai and solicitors - direct action is what's called for with these armed trespassing scum - a few well placed punji stake traps - faeces smeared on top Viet Cong style.
    You could go all out John J Rambo and have the aul trip wire activated swinging log with sharp bits sticking out of it - that will surely keep the bastard out.
    When you have him then go after his pets, wife and children..................and so on.

Get a grip lads :rolleyes:

thelurcher wrote: »
    Ye're too soft lads - why waste time messing about with the gardai and solicitors - direct action is what's called for with these armed trespassing scum - a few well placed punji stake traps - faeces smeared on top Viet Cong style.
    You could go all out John J Rambo and have the aul trip wire activated swinging log with sharp bits sticking out of it - that will surely keep the bastard out.
    When you have him then go after his pets, wife and children..................and so on.

Get a grip lads :rolleyes:

you got to move with the times there Lurcher, with the eastern bloc all gone land mines are the way to go!!!!!

I think your imagination is running riot with you, judging by your last post you haven't a bulls notion about game shooting.

And who in his right mind would be shooting over houses and hiding in ditches.... cop on a small bit.
    Oh no .. every year its'the same ****e van loads of morans with shotguns let loose for the day One fellow at the back of my house out with 3 dogs...3 dogs!!!!
    do you honestly he was about sport ...no he was out to shoot as many as he could so he could brag all about it to his mates down the pub later
    other chaps going into fields leaving gates open
    and I've seen lads who know that they don't have permission to duck down an try and hide if you deny all that happens then you don't have a bulls notion about game shooting
    we now know what category of shooter you fall in to

If you're not anti hunting why would you want to stop someone, especially a neighbour, from enjoying a traditional country pursuit?

The opening day of the pheasant season is something that is eagerly anticipated each year by hunters, most of whom are rural based - just like you. I can understand a farmer not wanting hoardes of strangers crossing their land, but a neighbour? I know lots of farmers around our area who don't shoot, but they wouldn't prevent others, especially locals, from doing so.

Whether he is anti shooting or not it is his land and his own buisness why he does not want anyone shooting his land. Some bloody neighbour to have if he thinks he can just trespass on his neighbours land withot asking.

It mentions use of a firearm.
    What about trasspassing say to go ferreting, or hunting rabbits with a lurcher, without a gun?
    In my case, 19 years ago, the guard in quetion, said this would be dismissed at court??

( b ) enters on the land for the purpose of so hunting wild birds or wild animals,

Thanks for the info.
    I will have to look into this matter further.
    Il ring the Guards and then the local ranger and get a low down on it.
    These days, i find just asking on my own for permission, far easier then just walking on the land without asking.
    I think if your on your own, its far better then going in a gang ect..
    Once the farmers see your doing a good job with the bunnys and that your not causing any harm, word gets around and hey presto, you get more rabbit ground. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

Have a read off the following story from the examiner -
    stabbing
    If with 20 previous convictions you can stab 2 men and a woman - nearly killing one - and all you get is an anger management course :D
    What do you think any sane garda will do to some guy out for a shot on the 1st that strays off his permission :confused:

agree with you 100% Fallow.
    I cant understand why people think they have the right to just walk onto any farm and hunt. As you said a bit of common sence to ask, you will be either told work away or no, and it saves aggro later on.Word of mouth is a a great thing esp if it is in praise. From this thread lads dont seem to realise that farmers are always in contact with one and other, and you can bet your life they tell about the cheeky bstd across the fields the other day, keep an eye out for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If every landowner in the country decided to put up no shooting signs then we'ld be in a right state now wouldn't we?
    Why? Because you'd have to ask before you went on their land? The funny thing is... they'd only put them up because you trespassed without asking.
    If the landowner has a problem with his neighbour than he sjould be a man and call down to him and say it besides hiding in his field behind a few signs.........
    To be honest, the neighbour should "man up", and ask for permission to shoot. It shouldn't be the farmers job to run around asking the guys with guns not to trespass.
    If I was to go around and ask every landowner or try and find every landowner on a Sunday morning for permission to shoot on their land then I'd get no shooting done.
    If I had land, and people trespassed on it on a regular basis, shooting what they saw, I'd be calling my local TD to restrict firearm licences being given.

Oh, wait...

Oh no .. every year its'the same ****e van loads of morans with shotguns let loose for the day One fellow at the back of my house out with 3 dogs...3 dogs!!!!

Your a scream!:D:D:D

do you even live in the same country or do you really believe that all game shooters go around in a orderly fashion and take it in turn to course an area

yeah... clear one place move onto the next as fast as you cans shoot as many as you can before some one else get to 'em .... nothing to do with sport more like kill 'em all and he who kills the most wins
    now I will definately say that I personally know that not all game shooters are like that and my commente are directed against those that do ...
    so maybe i've hit a nerve with you .....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

do you even live in the same country or do you really believe that all game shooters go around in a orderly fashion and take it in turn to course an area

yeah... clear one place move onto the next as fast as you cans shoot as many as you can before some one else get to 'em .... nothing to do with sport more like kill 'em all and he who kills the most wins
    now I will definately say that I personally know that not all game shooters are like that and my commente are directed against those that do ...
    so maybe i've hit a nerve with you .....;)

Im shoting over thirty years and never seen these hordes of poachers indiscriminately wiping out game en masse! what part of Somalia do you live in?

Fallow wrote: »
    As far as i know, you can not get prosecuted for trasspass.
    It was done away with when the landlords of england were put out.
    19 years ago, i was thrown off land as i was hunting it for rabbits with a lurcher. the farmer took the reg number of my car and said he would phone the gaurds.
    The local cop payed me a visit and said the farmer in quetion complained of me trasspassing with a dog, but explained he could not prosacute me for trasspassing for just hunting rabbits.
    He said the farmer was worried about his sheep, but my dog was steady with stock.
    Nothing came of it.
    Yes you can get prosecuted for trespass,it is up to the land owner to do so. A gun club as far as i can recollect cannot prosecute a person for trespass on land coverd by their club, it is up to the landdowner.

Yes a club can and yes our club has.

(4) Summary proceedings for an offence under this section may be prosecuted by—
    ( c ) and in the name of the person who at the relevant time is the secretary of a recognised body which at such time is entitled to enjoy sporting rights over the relevant land.