Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rathfarnam RAMPAGE!!1!!

• 01-11-2009 9:35am
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So some of the regs recently fought in a tournament which we've affectionately named the above.

Jealous of Ropedrink and his videoing ways, I picked up a camera recently and got the whole thing recorded.

I'm going to post the whole thing here. Please note this is a live recording and alcohol was involved so there's several NSFW moments in each video.

They're taking forever to upload, so I will be posting them as I can.

I intend to film nearly everything I can, SF, Tekken or whatever at XGC or wherever from now on. This is a first try so I reckon we could easily improve on the quality. Anyway, without further ado...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Round 2- animaX vs placebo

Round 2- Kiki vs AyJayIrl pt 1

Round 2 kiki vs AyJayIrl pt 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Crowd reaction and chat makes these videos awesome. :D

Couple of questions. Was this planned? or did it just kind of spring up. Secondly, are you in somebody's living room and most importantly, where is it and can I come next time? :p

Round 2- hmuya vs retr0gamer

Kirby wrote: »
    Crowd reaction and chat makes these videos awesome. :D

Couple of questions. Was this planned? or did it just kind of spring up. Secondly, are you in somebody's living room and most importantly, where is it and can I come next time? :p

I'm not going to go into too much detail here but it'll become clear in a later video anyway yes we are in someone's house, I would always welcome some epic GuileSim fights but I'm not going to make any promises because it isn't mine. :)

I definitely want to do MORE stuff like this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Kirby wrote: »
    most importantly, where is it and can I come next time? :p

It's Evo yeh dope :pac:

Second round- A-Trak vs Doctor DooM

Losers 1- A-Trak vs RV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Good vids Doom. Who lives in the nam btw? I hail from there! :)

First round losers- Placebo vs Jim

Losers second round- A-Trak vs Hmuya...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭animaX

Excellent stuff Doom. I love the drunken commentary!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,386 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The Chris Hu impressions never get old.

Second round losers- Kiki vs Placebo

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Good vids Doom. Who lives in the nam btw? I hail from there! :)

Danke. Still not outing him in public :D
    animaX wrote: »
    Excellent stuff Doom. I love the drunken commentary!

Yeah it really adds to it...
    Retr0gamer wrote: »
    The Chris Hu impressions never get old.

...as does this :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Danke. Still not outing him in public :D

That's ok, I was just worried it might have been you! :pac:

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

EPIC HONDA!
    I wish mine was this good :(

Yeah A-Trak will mess you up if you're not on the ball. Always a hard game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭FoamyMushroom

When and where next time? xD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Lads obviously whoever it was wants to keep it private or they would've made a thread in the first place (probably a good plan not opening up your gaff to anyone who happens to view the thread) so I can't see the "when and where" stuff doing anyone any good. I definitely wouldn't post it out in public were it my house anyway.

edit: Also cheers to Doom for taking up the recording mantle, good matches and good banter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Classic stuff lads classic, I love hearing everyone, just makes it more epic. God damn I wish I wasn't sick at the time. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::(

Ideally, the next one would be in a pub so all comers could come along, type of thing.

Back on (A) Track...

Winners Semi- AyJayIrl vs animaX

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,386 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Oh god I forgot I was singing Indestructible and the MvsC2 music.

Wasn't just you... :o

Round 2- hmuya vs retr0gamer

Farzad's and Ryan's commentary = funniest thing ever!

*Edit*: Looking back at Me and Farzad's first fight, did anyone notice that when I finally get a "come on Terry" I didn't drop a round! You guys have been holding me back with all the anti-sagatism ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Farzad's and Ryan's commentary = funniest thing ever!

"Ryu say, no cross up for me"
    Seriously funny shit

*Edit*: Looking back at Me and Farzad's first fight, did anyone notice that when I finally get a "come on Terry" I didn't drop a round! You guys have been holding me back with all the anti-sagatism ;-)

Its because your scum Terry. Whoever cheered you on is also scum, similar to Hitler in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,812 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

How did we go from booing Terry to booing Farzad? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Great vids Doom.

I watched some of these when a couple of mates were in the apartment this morning, they looked at me "Are you ****ing serious". Looking at the vids objectively it is possible one of the nerdiest things I've ever seen :pac:

When I came in, people we're playing Marvel v Capcom and commenting on "infinites" and "deadbody repeats."

That in its self is top tier nerd.

When you add into the mix, that blaring out of the sound-system during this was a techno remix of Super Mario that someone had brought, and not just the title music, a WHOLE album of the stuff, this is without doubt the apex of nerdism.

Even Farz with his fashionable haircut couldn't up the cool.

Jim wrote: »
    Looking at the vids objectively it is possible one of the nerdiest things I've ever seen :pac:

I would have figured that socialising in person is very non-nerdy?! At least thats what I tell myself.
    A-Trak wrote: »
    Even Farz with his fashionable haircut couldn't up the cool.

Haha, brilliant! By the way, that haircut is the reason we were late :pac:

There's nothing non-nerdy about a gathering of nerds.

Semi finals- Doctor DooM vs Retr0gamer

Winners final- Doctor Doom vs AyJayIrl

Losers Semifinal A-Trak vs animaX

Losers Semis- Retr0gamer vs Placebo.

Check out from 3.25 on :D

Losers semi... animaX vs Placebo

(This one... is history, ladies and gentlemen)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Random Ultra wins!

It was Farzads fault for being cheeky with the taunt :) That moment made my night! Plenty of bad language there from me as well.

Indeed. From now on, he will repsect your authority...

Losers final- AyJayIrl vs Placebo

AAAAAAANNNND finally, we have the grand final, and it's a rematch of the Lanparty 3rd strike final... Doctor DooM vs Placebo!

Made a playlist now it's complete, in case anyone wants to share the fun.

http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=4179E52173E69B85

Looking back, I have the following to say:

I think the real star of the night was actually AyJayIrl. Playing on a pad he'd never touched before, managed to get to losers final. Pretty impressive.

Jim's match with farz was awesome fun to watch.

Retr0's ultra on Farz was awesome.

Nearly had a heart attack with Terry dropping the top tier.

Guile's ultra seemed to decide to work for me on the night, which was pleasing.

I think A-Trak is developing a mental block about me :)

Cheers.

Also I think if I can I will record any little tournament I can like this. Let us know and if I am in the country I'll record away merrily to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

that RV guy was ****e :o

Really enjoyed the night. Great fun even if I did get drawn against someone I play a million times a day in the first game *sob*. Anyway I look forward to the next wherever it may be! Commentating is fun too though I fear it may put the players off a little if it's too ridiculous :D

Ry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Great vids. The reactions and general banter are priceless.

If only we could find a pub where we could run it regularly.

Also Ry for commentator at all events :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

RY's commentary for all events for sure.
    I taunted to please the crowd and please the crowd i did.

It was a great night, il host a few in mine but i dont have an LCD. Y'all happy with a 19inch tv? hahah

Videos are priceless. Specially one of me vs retro gamer ;)

Now to beat Doom :p

I think A-Trak is developing a mental block about me :)

Bloody airthrow, knocks my game completely out of kilter:(