Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm not opening the door.

• 31-10-2009 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭

Stop ringing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Good call. The only time I'll be opening the door is when I step outside to go to a party and get absolutely sh*t faced.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You should take the batteries (if you can) out of your doorbell, and put a towel in the letter box.

I did:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I'm getting rid of all my out of date "classic" bars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Would they take "Triggers"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I'm handing out all my recyclable refuse to save on bin charges

Give them some cigarettes if their parents are there.

You'll get a bad reputation and they'll never call around to your house anymore..... ever even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Harpic

I just answer the door with my Michael Myers mask on,just staring at the kids with my head to one side and with the Halloween music on in the background:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Go old skool and give them apples and monkey nuts
    They won't be back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 goldilocks77

Caved in and brought stuff this afternoon. Have to say it was fun! Missed the home-made outfits though...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

mikemac wrote: »
    Go old skool and give them apples and monkey nuts
    They won't be back without eggs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Harpic wrote: »
    I just answer the door with my Michael Myers mask on,just staring at the kids with my head to one side and with the Halloween music on in the background:eek:

Wrong again Flanders...you wanna scare the piss out of them??

Do it properly.

Go all Saw on them and mix the sweets with used syringes.

"I want to play a game............. preferably chess"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

We have two jack-o-lanterns in the window, if you can't beat em...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

CyberGhost wrote: »
    Stop ringing.

but, it could be the virgin mary:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I'm opening the door and giving out sweets because I remember being young once and don't hold some bizarre grudge against children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Stop ringing.
    TV Licence inspector??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I've been too hungover to go out today so no sweets for the kids so cant open the door. Have retreated to the kitchen till the rain comes....

TV Licence inspector??

Fcuk me that'd be the scariest costume I'll have seen this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

My brother just opened the door, and when he went inside to get little Bountys, I heard one of them say "I hope someone gives us sweets".
    So either everyone has gone down the monkeynuts route, or too many people are reading this thread.

Also, wineapples; who the hell gets pleasure from eating those things????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

I haven't had anyone ring my doorbell. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Went all out the last two years - spent all day cutting up the pumpkin, covering front door in fake webs, bought a ton of mini chocolate bars and the first year I got zero kids and last year got three [who all came together and as such got all the chocolate from me for fear I'd eat it all myself again like the last year] so this year haven't bothered and of course doorbell has been ringing non stop for the past hour :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Stop ringing.

knock.knock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Back to Pleshet I say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Harpic wrote: »

I read that as Kevin Myres...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

Stop ringing.

Mean sod. Hope you get egged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Have had 3 different callers - all under the age of 12, they said thanks for the sweets I gave them and off they went.

Every time someone calls, I have promised myself some sweets as well :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

My first time giving kids stuff on halloween, was great how happy they were.

Do you reckon kids would like some leftover pizza?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 IsMise

Conscience got the better of me today so got some sweets and tayto’s for them earlier. Have only had one group of 3 so far, one of them told me he didn’t want the tayto’s – doesn’t like Cheese and Onion apparently…..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Feck that. I've got a ****load of old lidl crisps gone out of date that should keep em happy.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Harpic

:pbought loads of sweets but only had just 2 young girls call...
    where are all the kids that are about during the day?

God,just what I have typed sounds real pervy......:rolleyes:

Anyways,now I am left with loads of sweets for me to scoff all night:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

We were in the supermarket during the week, and bought a few multipack bags of stuff.... I think they were mostly full of cheap 'drumstick' lollies, refresher bars and double dips etc etc

All fairly disgusting stuff; still... the smell of it took me back to my own childhood!

We also bought bags of fun size lion bars & kit kats but they're for us!

Anyway, as I despise all kids, (probably cos most of them in my area are cheeky, bold little cnuts) the missus is answering the door tonight. But it looks like all the bold kids have decided to feck off to the nearest bonfire!

But to those who want to scare them away, answer your door with your mickey hanging out and you'll never have anyone knocking again*

* Except maybe the Gardai :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I'm opening the door and giving out sweets because I remember being young once and don't hold some bizarre grudge against children.

Fair play to ya!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Stop ringing.

you are now forever listed in their "narky" category. Whenever there is a knick knack or some sort of prank going down, your house will be chosen.

Enjoy ;).

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I don't have a grudge against children, I just hate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭DigiJem

Gave them enough sweets to have them wired all night - and little glow in the dark skeletons.

IsMise wrote: »
    Conscience got the better of me today so got some sweets and tayto’s for them earlier. Have only had one group of 3 so far, one of them told me he didn’t want the tayto’s – doesn’t like Cheese and Onion apparently…..

Talk about picky. I'll take 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I always thought those who never opened the door to kids were miserable baxtards as a child. Sometimes i would p1ss on there doorstep just to annoy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I just woke up so think i missed most of the little feckers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 IsMise

That_Guy wrote: »
    Talk about picky. I'll take 'em.

Too late I've eaten the rest, feel a bit ill now :) Although I could see why he was getting picky he had the biggest bucket of sweets I had ever seen, he must have been on the road all day.

He has probably thrown any monkey nuts or apples he got over the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

My housemate keeps answering the door to say he has nothing to give them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Cadiz wrote: »
    Mean sod. Hope you get egged.

That's a terrible thing to wish to somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

vinylmesh wrote: »
    you are now forever listed in their "narky" category. Whenever there is a knick knack or some sort of prank going down, your house will be chosen.

Enjoy ;).

I rent, so really the landlord's problem.

Honestly, I'd have gladly opened the door I just forgot to buy all the candy and stuff, now conscience is bothering me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jenny2hat

No ones calling :(
    All those decorations for nothing :mad:
    Ungrateful cnuts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

lalalala I cant hear you lalalalal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I made the rookie mistake if saying "help yourselves!" when a gang of 10 year old boys called round to the house.

Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Piste wrote: »
    I made the rookie mistake if saying "help yourselves!" when a gang of 10 year old boys called round to the house.

Never again.
    You should never say this to any man,10 year old or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Super Freak

Very quiet here tonight, Normally we get loads.

I reckon they are all staying at home to watch the X-Factor:eek:

Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Seonad

Archeron wrote: »

Also, wineapples; who the hell gets pleasure from eating those things????

A what?