Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Casuals: Saturday 7th XGC

• 30-10-2009 10:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭

So yea SFIV casuals are back... Decided to open this because the Lan and Gealcon are over n we should get back into our little routine, I do miss playing you guys :P

Anyone up for it?

Plus maybe someone could record a few games or so? Could be fun talking over the videos n stitch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Yep I'm up for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

7th sounds good to me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I'm all about recording stuff these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Hopefully should be able to make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

sounds good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭FoamyMushroom

Feckin deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭animaX

I should be there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Leprekaun

ooh! I never knew you worked in the porn industry :D

Unfortunately, I have something that Saturday so I can't come down. Shame really, I would've liked to have seen how I compare against the Tekken people with my Jin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Leprekaun wrote: »
    ooh! I never knew you worked in the porn industry :D

:confused: wait what are we doing this Saturday? If I turn up and retr0's dressed as Sakura I swear to god.... :p

For some SFIV casuals, yeah I should be able to make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Should be up for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

doubtful I can come, but i shall see. perhaps next week on 14th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Should be there for this. I've missed quite alot recently. Hoping to remedy this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Leprekaun

By the way, for anyone who has Tekken 6, could you bring your copy down? I'll be bringing mine down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

I might make it down for this yep.

Ry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

What or where exactly is XGC?

Newaglish wrote: »
    What or where exactly is XGC?

It's on Liffey St, right beside Pravda.

Let us know if this isn't helpful :)

It'd be great to see more new blood.

Kirby wrote: »
    Should be there for this. I've missed quite alot recently. Hoping to remedy this :)

I'm quite interested in seeing how the new (perhaps improved) Doomguile does against your 'Sim!

should we have a competition, no money/stats/seeding, just for fun?
    sometimes casuals lose their way and you just end up playing endless matches-no fun.

Placebo wrote: »
    sometimes casuals lose their way and you just end up playing endless matches-no fun.

I wouldn't mind a just for fun tourney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I ditched my girlfriend for Lanparty and Gaelcon and then a week later ditched her for a weekend away with the lads.

If I ditch her for SF this weekend I may end up castrated. Won't be there this time.

Next week for sure though.

I ditched my girlfriend for Lanparty and Gaelcon and then a week later ditched her for a weekend away with the lads.

If I ditch her for SF this weekend I may end up castrated. Won't be there this time.

Next week for sure though.

For gods sake chopper, priorities.

Keeping my balls is high up on my priority list!

Now if she decides to come to Dublin this weekend, I may get in for an hour or two.

why dont u bring her, family fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

I'll bring tekken 6.

Anyone interested in giving me a copy of SF4? my disc has a lovely crack going right through the disc and comes up unplayable every 4-5 games :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Xinkai wrote: »
    Anyone interested in giving me a copy of SF4? my disc has a lovely crack going right through the disc and comes up unplayable every 4-5 games :(

Contact Capcom about it, they may ask you to send it to them. Same happened to me with my Call of Duty2 disc a few years back for the Xbox 360. Activision got me to sent it to them and they sent me a new one back. :) Better then spending money on another copy so worth a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭animaX

Xinkai wrote: »

Can you get a copy off someone and install it to your xbox hard-drive? Maybe the damaged disk will still be able to verify

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

I might call into this although I think I'm going to T4BB also that day.

What's the story anyway, how does this work? What time are people there at? Do you have to pay money to enter/play/etc.? Will I need to bring a PS3 controller?

And most importantly, will there be people playing Tekken 6? :D

Cheers!

Newaglish wrote: »
    I might call into this although I think I'm going to T4BB also that day.

What's the story anyway, how does this work? What time are people there at? Do you have to pay money to enter/play/etc.? Will I need to bring a PS3 controller?

And most importantly, will there be people playing Tekken 6? :D

Cheers!

People generally show between 2 or 3.

You can rent a pad but I advise bringing your own.

I THINK it's 2.50 an hour for a machine, it nearly always ends up I pay 5 euro for the 4 hours.

Personally I won't be playing T6, not because I hate it or anything, but because I'm doing this experiment where I don't play a game ever then enter a tournament or whatever in it. Worked really well in SF so far but my old skewl Tekken skills were always weaker than my SF so it mightn't pan out so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

Are you guys playing Tekken 6 on 360s or PS3s? If it's the latter I can't bring my own pad, I sold my PS3 after a month. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭ayjayirl

Yeh, should be up for it...... Myself and Doom are playing a gig later that night in the Sugar club on Leeson St. if ye wants to head along afterwards....

tourneys are usually more fun and I am sure the DoomCam will be floating around

ayjayirl wrote: »
    DoomCam

LOL. I need a label gun, stat

I wouldn't mind a just for fun tourney.

Yeah, it's just getting someone to put their hand up and say "right, lets do it" though. As Placebo brought it up, I nominate him to get the ball rolling on the day :D

Wouldn't mind a few casuals like your NamRam videos, where it's swap every two or three matches.

The way it works at the moment basically you play constantly until someone needs a break before anyone else can hop on. Which is ok, but I liken it to kicking a ball around in a circle, or playing a casual game of footy with goals. When there's goals it's always better.

L31mr0d wrote: »
    Yeah, it's just getting someone to put their hand up and say "right, lets do it" though. As Placebo brought it up, I nominate him to get the ball rolling on the day :D

Wouldn't mind a few casuals like your NamRam videos, where it's swap every two or three matches.

The way it works at the moment basically you play constantly until someone needs a break before anyone else can hop on. Which is ok, but I liken it to kicking a ball around in a circle, or playing a casual game of footy with goals. When there's goals it's always better.

How about we pick a comp, set up the camera for that, and people play other matches but come when called for the tournament to that machine. So we have loads of Casuals and one recorded tourney at the end.

Yeah, sounds good. Having a camera there will probably actually help make it happen. When money isn't on the table, fame, no matter how small, is a good enough prize :D

Are you guys playing Tekken 6 on 360s or PS3s? If it's the latter I can't bring my own pad, I sold my PS3 after a month. :pac:

We're all cool with sharing if the T6 crowd decide PS. Fighting game crowd are extra ordinarily friendly in that sense.

And others. AyJay won't stop touching me.

Twiler, the lads usually have their own fight sticks (most of them anyway) and there's a few PS3 players that go along as well. If it's just the standard PS3 pad you're on about then XGC have them there.

I WILL RUN THE TOURNEY

gamesmaster.jpg

L31mr0d wrote: »
    Yeah, sounds good. Having a camera there will probably actually help make it happen. When money isn't on the table, fame, no matter how small, is a good enough prize :D

The footage of NamRam (awesome by the way) made me the 80'th biggest Irish youtube contributor.

I am hungry for a further e-penis extension, so it's no problem.

Also, I will put my big shouty voice on to make sure people play.

I WILL RUN THE TOURNEY

snapshot20081227170633.jpg

I WILL RUN THE TOURNEY

gamesmaster.jpg

Did you model the hair after his skull cap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

ONE DOES NOT SIMPLY WALK INTO XGC!

Because of all those horrendous scenesters blocking the doorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭FoamyMushroom

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Contact Capcom about it, they may ask you to send it to them. Same happened to me with my Call of Duty2 disc a few years back for the Xbox 360. Activision got me to sent it to them and they sent me a new one back. :) Better then spending money on another copy so worth a try.

Capcom wont do that im on my 2nd SFIV disc and I sent them an e-mail and tried ringin em didnt work so had to buy a new disc plus actvision are only on parnell street so you where bound to get a new COD2 :P

I'd be up for this as its been a while since I was in a lil competition :) and with having a camera there will add to the fun, maybe people trying to show off too lol ;)

Capcom wont do that im on my 2nd SFIV disc and I sent them an e-mail and tried ringin em didnt work so had to buy a new disc plus actvision are only on parnell street so you where bound to get a new COD2 :P

I had to deal with their office in the UK.

ONE DOES NOT SIMPLY WALK INTO XGC!

Because of all those horrendous scenesters blocking the doorway.

JidhzX7gqoik0f5rdKoGC7jMo1_400.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

I WILL COMMENTATE THE TOURNEY!

gibson_john_fox.jpg

Thank you.

Ry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

I'LL SCOUT THIS TOURNAMENT

ChrisHansen.jpg

WHAT TIME WILL WE START AT ?
    riddler.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

WTF IS WITH THE GIANT PICS?

wtf.jpg

Awwwww Chopper aint coming :( I was hoping to steal your converter :pac: I don't suppose anyone else has a PS1/2 to 360 converter they can lend me on the day? :P It'll be my luck as always I'll be drawn against 360 pad players who can't use a PS3 pad. :(

On the bright side I put 200 smackers onto a CC all for online shopping so I'll finally be ordering a stick tomorrow along with converters and so forth. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Good luck lads, hope to see some vids up.

Have a massive session on the beer on Friday evening so am guaranteed to be in bits Saturday morning.

<Insert massive picture here with massive font = I will miss this tourney>
    Am I doing that right?

Dont be like that man. I need one other person to up the cool or the group will once again, be slagged by the 12 year old, chav kids in pink shirts that play Call Of Duty.

tourney scheduled for 2:30
    be there or be at home, hungover [i.e square]