Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Justin wields the axe ....at last!

• 30-10-2009 1:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭

Good to see someone trying to sort out this mess of a Limerick hurling team. Andrew o Shaughnessy, Niall Moran, Steve Lucey , D O Brien all dropped from the panel.
    Discipline definitely being hinted at as the problem. Good riddance, only if someone could do the same to the Clare management team!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

buck65 wrote: »
    Good to see someone trying to sort out this mess of a Limerick hurling team. Andrew o Shaughnessy, Niall Moran, Steve Lucey , D O Brien all dropped from the panel.
    Discipline definitely being hinted at as the problem. Good riddance, only if someone could do the same to the Clare management team!!

12 droped in total, does anyone know who the others are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Mark o riordain and donie ryan are 2 others that i can see in the papers.

Imo, justin must have had a good reason to drop Niall moran as i thought he was one of our best forwards this year.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Stephen Lucey, Mark O' Riordan, Niall Moran, Andrew O' Shaughnessy, Donie Ryan, Mike O' Brien.. Those are the only ones the Examiner mentioned. I suppose they're probably the biggest names. Wonder did Breen get through :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

deise_girl wrote: »
    Stephen Lucey, Mark O' Riordan, Niall Moran, Andrew O' Shaughnessy, Donie Ryan, Mike O' Brien.. Those are the only ones the Examiner mentioned. I suppose they're probably the biggest names. Wonder did Breen get through :P
    Hopefully not! The guy isn't good enough. I hope Pat Tobin was not dropped, probably our best scoring forward on his day. As bad and all as Lucey had been at full back, he was still the best we had in that position? Who would you stick in full back now? There are no standout candidates. You wouldn't be rushing to put JP Healy or that Lynch fella from Na Piarsaigh in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

What type of things were these players doing?.dont mention names.

Is lot this down to drink?

What do Limerick people make of Justin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Hopefully this might motivate a few of the players that were dropped to do their utmost to get back in the green and white. Shaughs has been terrible recently but he has not been alone in that regard.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Isn't one of them in the army?? O' Shaughnessy I think? If hes not disiplined Limerick have a serious perdicament.

Justin seems to want to start from scratch, bring in a load of new young fellas. How long is Justins agreement with Limerick for, this is a long term job he's doing, it will be mucked if hes only there for another year.

Also Breen... How old is he? Fairness he got that (bad) goal against us and wasn't he the first to get the point against Tipperary?? Think he got something against Laois too. One thing though he has alot of chances but doesn't get the scores, and that is not good at all for a forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭merlin39

What type of things were these players doing?.dont mention names.

Is lot this down to drink?

What do Limerick people make of Justin?

Drinking has a lot to do with it. Then you have commited players seeing this and the party goers getting a place on the starting 15 rather than them. It doesnt do much for moral etc..

Justin has a year left, give him that time. I dont rate him myself, a few odd decisions last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

about time lets start a new team some bad results may follow but hopefully it builds experience and we can have a team to be proud of, this county has been a shambles for the last 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,864 ✭✭✭Cake Man

I think that's mad dropping Steven Lucey, I rate him as a very good full back. OK, bad performance v Tipp in the AI semi's but other then that he's been fairly consistent for ye. Same with Niall Moran, think he's decent enough, hand injury this year didn't help his cause.
    Is Brian Murray getting the axe too? With all due respect, he's fairly dodgy IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭shockframe

i dont agree with dropping lucey at all if its based on hurling matters.tipp game aside he was one of our better players last year.if its for other reasons well lucey and others can only have themselves to blame.shaughs has been living on reputation for a long time aswell.

mark foley is gone aswell i think.

i dont rate justin mccarthy that highly but he is in charge for another year.its about time someone in limerick brought an end to the drinking culture that has plagued us for so long.this is a big step as far as im concerned.i could live with us not being good enough on the field of play but some of the stories about players over the years leaves a lot to be desired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Tipp will have great fun in the Munster semi-final next year. ;)

Cake Man wrote: »
    I think that's mad dropping Steven Lucey, I rate him as a very good full back. OK, bad performance v Tipp in the AI semi's but other then that he's been fairly consistent for ye. Same with Niall Moran, think he's decent enough, hand injury this year didn't help his cause.
    Is Brian Murray getting the axe too? With all due respect, he's fairly dodgy IMO.
    Not sure if Brian Murray was dropped, i hope so as i do not rate him at all. Stops the hard shots and lets the easy ones trickle past him. Effin's Nicky Quaid (son of Tommy) is a far better keeper. He should be Limerick's No 1. He's been playing midfield for the u-21s of late, but he is a top class goalkeeper. A right chip off the old block. I think dropping Stephen Lucey may have been a mistake. I wouldn't be his biggest fan but he is as good as whats there and was probably one of Limerick's better players this year. Tipp aside he was reasonably solid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

About fecking time...........

McCarthy makes major Limerick changes

Manager Justin McCarthy has omitted several established stars from his Limerick senior hurling panel.

Stephen Lucey, Mark O'Riordan, Niall Moran, Andrew O'Shaughnessy and veterans Donie Ryan and Mike O'Brien are all out with 12 of this year's panel dropped in all.

McCarthy told The Examiner: 'I am sure that many teams will be making changes and we are no different in Limerick. The time has come to bring in some new blood and give them a go at inter-county level. The mind-set to survive at this level has to be right and we have to change that.

'It's our job to exact the best from the players and I was very happy to see that many of our young lads are looking forward to getting back hurling. Places are up for grabs and lads will have to prove to us that they are willing to make the necessary sacrifices that are required to survive at this level.'

The remaining members of Limerick's panel will play a trial match this evening, while there will be trials over the next few weeks when 50 players are expected to be considered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I say Lucey and O'Riordan decided to commit their time to the footballers instead, which is great news :)

I think this is the shake up limerick hurling needs.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

about time lets start a new team some bad results may follow but hopefully it builds experience and we can have a team to be proud of, this county has been a shambles for the last 10 years

Three AI under 21 titles in a row from 00-02 and then they took a wrecking ball to that squad - thats partially the reason why it was a shambles.

remember reading somewhere a few years back about Timmy Houlihan, the quote was in regards his preparation for games etc something along the lines if the rest of the Limerick squad had the same attitude to preparation that Houlihan had, Limerick hurling would be in a much better state.

Haven't much of an interest in Limerick club hurling, but nice to see Nicky Quaid doing well. Heard he was some keeper alrite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Threads merged, no need for two threads on the same topic

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Ollie Moran had a fair go off McCarthy in todays examiner

FORMER Limerick hurler Ollie Moran has blasted Justin McCarthy’s decision to cut 12 players from the 2009 panel describing the development as ‘shameful’.

Veterans Stephen Lucey, Donie Ryan, Mike O’Brien, Mark O’Riordan, Andrew O’Shaughnessy and Niall Moran are amongst those culled in a move which has created shockwaves in the county.

Meanwhile it emerged last night that a number of players are considering their future involvement while Damien Reale has pulled out of the panel

McCarthy claimed that: "To be successful in any walk of life one has to be very disciplined and of course there are always side attractions. There will always be people who will put you on the wrong track, always guys that will try and break the system and try things on. We weren’t fooled by people who may have stepped out of line in the past year. It didn’t have a huge effect but going forward I will not tolerate that — we have to have a better code of discipline, players have to be honest to themselves, their fellow players and the management,"

However Moran, whose brother Niall is amongst those cut, has slammed the move.

"I’m seething and shocked at the insinuation in there that those guys lacked commitment. Anyway who knows Limerick hurling knows this at least, ask any previous trainer or manager — all the guys named are totally committed, both to their club and county. Stephen Lucey, a doctor, look at the sacrifices he made last year to play both hurling and football, and all the time he was doing extra courses at the weekend in medicine.

"Andrew O’Shaughnessy, Donie Ryan, Mike O’Brien, non-drinkers the three of them, dedicated to hurling all their lives. Mark O’Riordan and Niall (Ollie’s younger brother) — those guys hardly take a drink, they live for hurling.

"To infer now that they were lacking in commitment to Limerick, that they were somehow dishonest, distracted, broke a code of discipline really rankles.

"The way they found out is annoying as well. Fellas who have given years of service to Limerick didn’t even get the courtesy of a phone call. If they were told ‘You’re being dropped, this is why, this is what you need to do to get back’... but they got nothing. Instead text messages were sent to the guys who were being kept on, that’s how it was done. It was shameful. Then again, I’m not surprised, communication wasn’t a strong point with this management."

He could be accused of having a personal agenda here, leaping to the defence of younger brother Niall, but Ollie wants to make clear that he had no personal issue with McCarthy insisting that: "he treated me fairly all year, gave me every chance."

He does, however, take issue with the fact that all the blame for what was a poor season seems to be directed now towards the players. "When Justin was appointed most people hoped he would, at least, improve the skills in Limerick — but I didn’t find more emphasis than what we had with Richie Bennis. If anything, the training went backwards and lacked intensity. If there was any game that should have served as a red flag to us all, it was the tournament match we played in Castletownroche when we were hammered by a young Cork side.

"We were a mile off the pace. I fully expected that the following week training would be upped or we’d get a good bollocking, but there was nothing, not a word. We eventually reached an All-Ireland semi-final but that was by virtue of a soft draw, playing games against teams who were well off the pace themselves. We went into that semi-final and all the cracks that had been papered over all year were exposed and we were blown away.

"To have your manager then come out and say that he could only admire Tipperary, admire their hurling —– that hurt a lot of Limerick people. Three months later, that same manager turns around and dismisses nearly half his panel.

"There’s a book causing a lot of controversy in Limerick, written by a supporter, where he chronicles a litany of catastrophes in Limerick hurling since the 1930s, generation after generation; he talks about 1998, when Eamonn Cregan made a huge mistake in clearing out a lot of experienced players, yet here we are again, doing the same thing. Are the county board going to just stand by and let this happen all over again?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

It's everyones fault except ours...how many more excuses do we need to hear from Limerick players?
    Limerick are a shambles, they have been humiliated repeadedly in big games over the past few years, something had to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

Ollie Moran is just irked because his brother is one of the dropped players.

First things first, Mark Foley and Ollie Moran were not dropped, they were both retiring anyway.

Every player was dropped with good reason. Some of the more surprising ones which were obviously not dropped for ability reasons, were dropped for disciplinary reasons.

Some players made tactical decisions over Justins head, they are now out.

Some players spent training sessions moaning and whining and complaining. They have been dropped for setting a bad influence.

One player in particular decided to treat himself to a night on the town after the Wexford match this year. He was also seen as somewhat of a "smart-arse", he was seen as a disruptive influence.

And some have been dropped because they have been on the panel a long time and are now the wrong side of 30 and haven't made themselves a first team player.

A trial game was played last night, poor turnout. It was intended to be a current panel versus a trial panel.

The Current panel won on a scoreline of 4-19 to 1-16. It was a 12 a side game. The teams lined out as follows; GREEN: Brian Murray, David Lynch, Tom Condon, Stephen Walsh, Denis Moloney, Seamus Hickey, Gavin O'Mahony, Paul Browne, Brian O'Sullivan, James Ryan, James O'Brien, Paudie McNamara.
    WHITE: Barry Hennessy, Jason Hayes, James Mann, Andrew Brennan, Stephen Cahill, Dean Madden, Tommy O'Brien, Anthony Owens, Richie McKeogh, Alan O'Connor, Graeme Mulcahy, Aaron Murphy.

A few Adare, Blackrock and Effin players turned up but did not play due to upcoming club commitments.

Most of the cut players are gone for good, although the door is open for 2 or 3 of them to return provided they show to the management that certain things will change. You could probably guess who those players are.

The county has needed this in recent years, though maybe 4 or 5 a year would have allowed for a better transition than culling 12/13 in one go!

Certain things were tolerated this year, because we got on a nice run. We finally broke a 12 year Thurles hoodoo, didn't concede a goal in 3 consequetive championship games for the first time in our history, won 3 consequetive games for the first time since 1994, the performances weren't great but the results were looking good. And when things seem to be going well the thinking was that we could afford to let certain things go.

Then came the Tipp match, at which point it was apparent that it was wrong to let these things go. The emphasis now is on getting 30 players to show 100% commitment to the cause.

Also, it should be noted that this was not a knee-jerk reaction. The management team left 10/11 weeks for the dust to settle, and then they made the cuts. The management team had good reason to make their cuts, its a pity that some of these players happen to be some of our better players in terms of ability, but so be it.

Stephen Lucey, Mark O'Riordan, Donie Ryan, Andrew O'Shaughnessy, Niall Moran, Donnacha Sheehan, Mike O'Brien, David Bulfin are cut. Mark Foley and Ollie were retiring. And I'm 90% certain that Eoin Foley and Damien Cosgrave have been let go.

Damien Reale has pulled out.

Also, in addition to my previous post.

At half time in the Tipperary game, one player, a sub on the bench that day, took off his boots and refused to come on as a sub in the second half stating "There's no way I'm going out playing in that". He has been cut.

Good insight Jordainius (are you Justin in real life!?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Good man Justin.

Any county who are serious about being in the top 5 or 6 need to have very good discipiline. The important from the clubs point of view is that they give him time and I dont think another year is enough. He should be given 2 or 3 years. Also its important he does not close the door on the lads he dropped. This might be the wake up call some of them need to realise their full potential.

Or will the county board get a letter from them saying how unfairly they were treated;)

im not trying be smart but its bloody impossiable to please Limerick GAA supporters most time.

When it comes to whinging Limerick top the poll all the time

im not trying be smart but its bloody impossiable to please Limerick GAA supporters most time.

That's a bit unfair! Every county has supporters that are impossible to please in fairness.

For some reason, controversy and Limerick hurling sadly seem to go hand in hand. And that is not the fault of the supporters, if there was no board/player/discipline issues then the supporters would be happy.

In the last 10 years, Limerick only ever seem to be in the news for all the wrong reasons! Dual player issues, management issues, alleged drinking issues, disciplinary issues, conflicts, board issues, the list goes on and on...

No fans of any county would be pleased with that!!!

jordainius wrote: »
    That's a bit unfair! Every county has supporters that are impossible to please in fairness.

For some reason, controversy and Limerick hurling sadly seem to go hand in hand. And that is not the fault of the supporters, if there was no board/player/discipline issues then the supporters would be happy.

In the last 10 years, Limerick only ever seem to be in the news for all the wrong reasons! Dual player issues, management issues, alleged drinking issues, disciplinary issues, conflicts, board issues, the list goes on and on...

No fans of any county would be pleased with that!!!

Tbf maybe I was a little but have to say that I think had we say Ryan or Cregan being in charge it would not be as much a issue with Limerick people but because its a outsider in charge especially a Corkman then there seems be more ruffle over the whole thing.

Ye have great manager in charge you need to show him some respect down in Limerick.

My mum is Limerick woman and have always wanted them do well but ye need dose of reality.

Limerick need to prove they are good enough not talk that they are good enough. Hurling needs limerick but drinking and problems in the camp is not whats needed and a bit of cop on by some the players needs to be shown too.

its a bit farcical.apparently the players that were dropped were not told about it and had to read it in the papers.justin mccarthy has never had the greatest man management skills.a lot of rumours going around that all was not well in waterford during his reign but because of the success nobody argued.

but our problems do not begin and end with justin.our county board/players/clubs have got us into this mess.

the same faces are appearing on the county/divisional boards who dont have a clue what it takes to be successful in modern day hurling.

i cannot say ill be happy with hurling in the county until i see some serious work done at underage.i was at an under 21 match on sunday and not one player was able to catch a high ball,too many players could only hit from one side - badly at times it must be said and couldnt pick up the ball.too many players lookin for fights when they are beaten to a ball aswell.

the training of teams is absolutely shocking.lots of coaches and managers getting involved in teams because they have a son involved.players getting games because of who they are not because of application or dedication.i know trainers in limerick that manage teams who tell me that things are going great even when they are being hammered.there is not enough honesty about how bad things are.do you think the likes of brian cody,billy morgan,kieran mcgeeney etc would be saying things were going ok if they were losing.

even with adare it took a clareman to win 3 counties.before the sparrow came on board.they were in a relegation battle.

the players attitudes in clubs is a disgrace aswell.players giving out about managers and having a go at other players about commitment when their own record is nothing to be boasting about.giving excuses about playing other sports and drinking before big matches.it happens yes.

hurling was once the top game in limerick and to many people still is but in terms of preparation and standard it is a distant 4th.there needs to be a clearout of the county board and put a huge emphasis on competing at underage level.the trouble is nobody will stand up to the county board and say what needs to be done.

for the limerick posters here just observe how many kids have a sliothair and hurley around the county.

the next few years are looking pretty bleak.

shockframe wrote: »
    its a bit farcical.apparently the players that were dropped were not told about it and had to read it in the papers.justin mccarthy has never had the greatest man management skills.a lot of rumours going around that all was not well in waterford during his reign but because of the success nobody argued.

but our problems do not begin and end with justin.our county board/players/clubs have got us into this mess.

the same faces are appearing on the county/divisional boards who dont have a clue what it takes to be successful in modern day hurling.

i cannot say ill be happy with hurling in the county until i see some serious work done at underage.i was at an under 21 match on sunday and not one player was able to catch a high ball,too many players could only hit from one side - badly at times it must be said and couldnt pick up the ball.too many players lookin for fights when they are beaten to a ball aswell.

the training of teams is absolutely shocking.lots of coaches and managers getting involved in teams because they have a son involved.players getting games because of who they are not because of application or dedication.i know trainers in limerick that manage teams who tell me that things are going great even when they are being hammered.there is not enough honesty about how bad things are.do you think the likes of brian cody,billy morgan,kieran mcgeeney etc would be saying things were going ok if they were losing.

even with adare it took a clareman to win 3 counties.before the sparrow came on board.they were in a relegation battle.
    the players attitudes in clubs is a disgrace aswell.players giving out about managers and having a go at other players about commitment when their own record is nothing to be boasting about.giving excuses about playing other sports and drinking before big matches.it happens yes.

hurling was once the top game in limerick and to many people still is but in terms of preparation and standard it is a distant 4th.there needs to be a clearout of the county board and put a huge emphasis on competing at underage level.the trouble is nobody will stand up to the county board and say what needs to be done.

for the limerick posters here just observe how many kids have a sliothair and hurley around the county.

the next few years are looking pretty bleak.

To be fair, dave keane coached them to two county titles in 01 and 02 before the Sparrow came in. Oops, he's a Cork man :D

I agree with you on your other points, the training methods used in my own club Croagh-Kilfinny are shocking. There is no emphasis on skill drills, its basically, here's a ball lads - go and have a puck around for a half hour and we'll watch you, while having a laugh between ourselves. :rolleyes: And judging from watching the county sides, the setup isn't too dissimilar in the senior clubs. Its depressing at the moment, although i do have high hopes of Adare causing a mini-shock against Newtown, i think Newtown will underestimate Adare. There is a huge gap between them and the other senior clubs in Limerick. The last 3 county finals they won at a canter, whereby the games were practically over at half time. This is the most shocking indictment of Limerick hurling, where you can't have a competitive county final.

Also regarding the drinking culture, its alive and well with some of the panel. One Patrickswell clubman who was on the county panel, i saw three different Saturday nites out drinking in The Cuckoos Nest in the city. The same guy could hardly run, its not hard to see why.

To be fair Adrian, can you blame us? Look at the crap we have to watch year in year out. We're supposed to be a hurling county yet we have 1 All Ireland in 70 years and too many near misses. Not good enough, and i wouldn't blame any Limerick supporter for moaning. Win an All Ireland, then we'll stop moaning.

Awful news about Andrew O'Shaughnessy. People will finally start to lay off him now but I feel very sorry for him. He has been a great servant to Limerick, he doesn't owe our county a thing. I wish him the best of luck and am thankful for his contribution thus far.

jordainius wrote: »
    Awful news about Andrew O'Shaughnessy. People will finally start to lay off him now but I feel very sorry for him. He has been a great servant to Limerick, he doesn't owe our county a thing. I wish him the best of luck and am thankful for his contribution thus far.
    Very sad news indeed, i can only presume this was the main reason for his lack of form in the last 18 months. I wish him a speedy recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

grenache wrote: »
    Very sad news indeed, i can only presume this was the main reason for his lack of form in the last 18 months. I wish him a speedy recovery.

I'm afraid it's likely his career is over.

Huge loss. I hope he can face his illness with the same bravery and determination he took the pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

I'm afraid it's likely his career is over.

Huge loss. I hope he can face his illness with the same bravery and determination he took the pitch.
    A terrible shame, Limerick's best forward since Gary Kirby, all the best Shaughs.

Jigga wrote: »
    A terrible shame, Limerick's best forward since Gary Kirby, all the best Shaughs.

And playing in a team that never really worked out how to use him. If he'd been on a decent panel, or a panel with a great tactician as a coach (unlike Bennis), we'd have seen even more from him.

He did have his best year under Bennis to be fair, he is one who deserved to win something at senior level. Poor guy, a class act.

I think that was inspite of Bennis than anything else, we never really managed to get him firing fully from play.

Possibly but he was very good that year, they don't hand out All-Stars to anybody. Limerick have lost our only top class forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭hunter164

What happened him?

hunter164 wrote: »
    What happened him?
    He has been diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis.

Puts all my arguments to shreads.

God I wish Andrew all the best hope god hope he pulls through.

Great player and hurling will be lose without his talent.

Puts all my arguments to shreads.

God I wish Andrew all the best hope god hope he pulls through.

Great player and hurling will be lose without his talent.
    Good man, well said.

Reported this morning that 4 more have walked off the panel.geary,mcnamara,o'grady and hickey.

shockframe wrote: »
    Reported this morning that 4 more have walked off the panel.geary,mcnamara,o'grady and hickey.

This is seriously getting outta hand now..
    I was hoping that Hickey or Dodge wouldn't walk off the panel. Now, Justin has to do something..

We'll swap ye Mike Mac for Justin anyday.
    We'll even throw in Ollie Baker for free.

Brian murray walked off the panel last night according to the radio...

heard that aswell today.this is probably the worst i have seen the senior set up.and thats saying something.

We'll playing Division 2 hurling for 2011 for sure with the squad of young fellas we'll have next year. McCarthy has no choice now but to ask his best players to come back. At the moment we're looking at fielding the bones of our u-21 side with the few seniors that left. Its a joke.

grenache wrote: »
    We'll playing Division 2 hurling for 2011 for sure with the squad of young fellas we'll have next year. McCarthy has no choice now but to ask his best players to come back. At the moment we're looking at fielding the bones of our u-21 side with the few seniors that left. Its a joke.
    Who do the players think they are shafting Justin like this? Hurling in Limerick is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

fully behind justin and his blood the youth policy...why in name of christ would i support a crowd of losers who have won nothing in their carrer and made me ashamed to be from limerick after the semi-final....justin keep up the good work..but i would admit id take hickey nd Gav O'Mahoney back...

Is Gavin O'Mahoney gone too? Fupp them if they don't want to play for Limerick, they should be honoured.

Don't think so :confused:.

Bit harsh on them, eh?
    They were playing Tipp ffs, one of the best teams in the country, they froze on the day.. bet you were one of the people booing them onto the train as well sure, eh? :rolleyes:
    I'm sorry but this type of attitude just pisses me off.
    I liked the idea that Justin had going (even though its preety obvious that Limerick isn't a place with hurlers to burn at the moment) but dropping some of the more experienced ones like Stephen Lucey was a stupid move.
    The only way he'll be able to fix it is to ask for them to come back playing or we'll be even worse off than we were last year.
    Because I seriously dunno how he'll be able to find 15/16 hurlers as good as some of the ones that he dropped and who had left.