Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATM dispensing E20 notes instead of E10!! Happy days (?)

• 29-10-2009 2:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭

Well I've just come home after spending ages at an ATM machine with a friend.

When I requested 10 euro it gave me 20 euro...and the advice slip recorded that I had taken out 10 euro and my account had been debited by 10.
    So naturally enough we took full advantage of the situation and continued to withdraw as much cash as possible!!:D

I thought this kinda thing only happened in urban legends!!

But the question now is...will the bank come after there money? After all, it wasn't out fault somebody put 20 notes into the 10 euro slot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Happened to a friend,the bank just refunded themselves out of his account when they found out he benifited from this.

Short lived joy Iam afraid;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

You do know all ATMs have cameras looking at you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭not bakunin

thing is....that's someone elses savings.
    I amn't sure how fair it is to knowingly continue to take it....

on the other hand, if the bank does make it up to those that lost out, then good, its about time they were screwed over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

You do know all ATMs have cameras looking at you?

People in the bank will be pissing themselves in the morning. Two eejits dancing for joy throwing money around the place! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭crushproof

Well aware of the camera....but sure might as well take advantage of the situation.

And also well aware it may be a short lived joy but hey, we enjoyed ourselves!
    Not something that happens everyday!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Damn right, stick it to those banks!

You should withdraw as many 20 notes as possible and burn them all on the atm's camera, that would show that pesky bank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

I doubt they can withdraw it without contacting you first. I'd say just play dumba & if they take it out ring them and hurl abuse at them over it.
    So in a recession... wats it like having money in your bank account that you were able to take out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Haha, happens a fair bit, they will take it back!!!! Haha!!!

Signpost wrote: »
    I doubt they can withdraw it without contacting you first. I'd say just play dumba & if they take it out ring them and hurl abuse at them over it.
    So in a recession... wats it like having money in your bank account that you were able to take out?

They will know what time the machine fecked up at,and anybody who took money out during that period of time,knowingly or otherwise will be charged for it.Either way its not your money to be taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

They will know what time the machine fecked up at,and anybody who took money out during that period of time,knowingly or otherwise will be charged for it.Either way its not your money to be taking.

Boo-urns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

It is his money in a way. We bailed out those incompetent bankers. I believe the state owns at least 65% of AIB, 60 % of BOI and all of Anglo Irish. His tax money payed for it, take it back.

Well,if you want to get technical:rolleyes:

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Id say go in at 9am and close your account before they cop there mistake! Then, jokes on them!

Ah ha, good point Pride! I might just kick up quite a fuss if they try to take it back off me. Sure it's not as if I took out millions worth in loans and don't have to pay them back....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Switch bank now so they can't take the money from your account :D

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Where is this ATM ?

An ATM giving out a tenner is a rare sight.

Is it possible to get a 5er out anywhere considering , the way things have gone, I don't feel comfortable taking out a 20.

BTW close that account before they take it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

msg11 wrote: »
    Where is this ATM ?

An ATM giving out a tenner is a rare sight.

Is it possible to get a 5er out anywhere considering , the way things have gone, I don't feel comfortable taking out a 20.

BTW close that account before they take it back.

I requested €50 from an atm before and they gave me 5 tenners :eek: was very weird.

and they won't take the money back, happened near me before and they didn't take the money back, just requested people to come in and say they got too much :pac:

and if you're with a different bank than the atm you used then I really can't see how they could go about taking the money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

THIS THREAD IS POINTLESS WITHOUT A LOCATION :D:D:D

scudzilla wrote: »
    THIS THREAD IS POINTLESS WITHOUT A LOCATION :D:D:D

Ah hahahaha, not a chance :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

crushproof wrote: »

why wouldnt you tell people the location exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ah hahahaha, when your ass gets on rte's website, Ill make it my personal gratitude to post the link.

Overheal wrote: »
    Ah hahahaha, when your ass gets on rte's website, Ill make it my personal gratitude to post the link.

Sound, nice one! 5 minutes of fame! :D

tbh im pretty sure it is highly illegal to knowingly exploit banking errors like this. youd really want to own up to it. Better than the alternative, which quite frankly, may end in jailtime for you. and i know this is AH but im being fairly serious.

The bankers have been doing this for years. It's about time the average joe started..

Mr Banker takes 1 Million bonus for himself. Ah sure no problem.

Mr Customer takes 50 Euro threw banks error. Send in special branch.

The banks have there own set of laws. Not one arrest, and the scandal that has been going on.

Sick of banks running around holding the government at ransom, like there the untouchables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

This is sooo wierd..Was thinking of making a thread earlier about has anyone ever gotten a tenner out of a ATM..And here we are with a similar thread....freaky

msg11 wrote: »
    The bankers have been doing this for years. It's about time the average joe started..

Mr Banker takes 1 Million bonus for himself. Ah sure no problem.

Mr Customer takes 50 Euro threw banks error. Send in special branch.

The banks have there own set of laws. Not one arrest, and the scandal that has been going on.

Sick of banks running around holding the government at ransom, like there the untouchables.
    take that talk here, which as it turns out, is a decent thread.

of course you have to go about proving that the million came out of peoples accounts and not the bank's gross profit. in the case of crushproof here, its going to be verrry straightforward to figure out who did what wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I requested €50 from an atm before and they gave me 5 tenners :eek: was very weird.

and they won't take the money back, happened near me before and they didn't take the money back, just requested people to come in and say they got too much :pac:

and if you're with a different bank than the atm you used then I really can't see how they could go about taking the money back.

You got €50 in 5 notes of ten. That adds up to €50. What's so weird about that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Helix wrote: »
    why wouldnt you tell people the location exactly?

Nico <--- has mental image of a 4am queue full of people all wearing balaclavas ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I worked on atm machines, you won't get away with it, your account will be debited the full amount of what you withdrew :)

The bank will probably send you a letter saying that their machine malfunctioned or something. The bank can tell how much is in the atm by ringing their HQ and getting a reading. When they find out that the machine is in the red, they will look at every transaction, your transactions will stand out a mile. Probably check the camera's and debit your account. I suggest ringing them with an apology :) Unlucky op.

Overheal

I agree fraud is fraud, the way a transaction is quickly pursued as the case here for 100euro(est figure).

The top bankers are getting away with the same, but with largely vast sums of money.

It's a joke, if the bank can dip into this customers account and take the money back which the bank is owed. The same should be done for the bankers.

Sorry for going off topic OP.

Enjoy the money while you can, they will get it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

JAILTIME............. whahaha :D that hilarious...
    What planet you on?

The bank prob wont contact you to take it back, they're sneaky like that

AIB once fecked up and i ended up with an extra 10k in my a/c, sounds far fetched but was a plausable mistake, I moved 10k from one a/c to another the money arrived in the a/c but was never deducted from the orginal a/c, needless to say i said nothing and spent a bit of it with out really noticing (not much). About 2 weeks later it dissapeared from my a/c and they left my current account in debt (dont have an overdraft on it).

Still waiting on the cops to come round and drag me off to jail (this was about 2 yrs ago).

Not sure i would have kept it anyway, an extra 10k in your account is a bit much to pretend not to notice! I spent the whole time checking to see if it was still there, till they took it back.

i was going off that aib case from 2002 or so, the one who flew off to the canaries with millions they werent owed because of some typo.

like the girl who tried to sell me an mp3 player for $4,999 the other day when she totally mis-entered the price matching.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The bank would never get the money back off me, dont put any more money into your account and withdraw all you have in there and never use it again, ive often daydreamed of a similar situation happeing to me but alas it hasnt happened:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Ha ha, they also have your IP address, you should have kept your mouth shut. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

thing is....that's someone elses savings.
    I amn't sure how fair it is to knowingly continue to take it....

yA WHAT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

OP: How much did you take out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

OP'd have no problems from the original error. The bank will just amend his/her account. Subsequent transactions were theft, and could be prosecuted - probably won't, but could. I, for one, wouldn't be so pleased with myself for stealing that I'd be posting it on the internet.

I'm hoping you're a young fella OP cos it sounds like a really childish thing to do :pac:

Anyway! off topic but a few people have mentioned it! The tenner thing, I've noticed alot of atm's offering €10 as a withdrawal option, mostly Ulster Bank and permanent TSB's. It's great actually if you're just going for lunch or something, because the more money I have in my pocket the more money I spend so it's handy not to take out 20 squids if you don't need it!

Ah recession, it has it's perks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

If I was a law breaking type I'd empty that account and move to a new bank. However I know from experience that announcing intent to break the law on boards gets you in a heap of trouble with mods...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

OP, I think you should rob the bank....its the only way to make sure they dont take the money out of your account

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Pretty easy for us to find out how much each customer requested and how much was given out ;) I doubt it'll be long before your account is debited the extra amount, so enjoy it while it lasts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not so easy to pass it off as a mistake when you're making repeat transactions. You've basically just signed up for an involuntary overdraft there. :)

Isn't there a withdrawal limit of 5-600 euro anyway? Hardly worth dumping your bank for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

stovelid wrote: »
    Not so easy to pass it off as a mistake when you're making repeat transactions. You've basically just signed up for an involuntary overdraft there. :)

Isn't there a withdrawal limit of 5-600 euro anyway? Hardly worth dumping your bank for.

Really? So if you were with one bank and another offered you €500 to switch banks you wouldn't bother?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Really? So if you were with one bank and another offered you €500 to switch banks you wouldn't bother?

If I'd fraudulently taken the £500 in a completely traceable and obvious way and the offended party had my address and personal details, well no, I probably wouldn't bother, actually.

Not that I could care less about the bank of course, but I've no doubt they'll probably get their pound of flesh somehow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Don't dump the bank, just ignore them for a while and act real moody till they get the message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Soo...given the bank will (as it seems) take the money out of your account OP,

You ended up taking out more money (from yer own account) than you initially wanted

Did ya spend it all? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Signpost wrote: »
    I'd say just play dumba & if they take it out ring them and hurl abuse at them over it.

How many people do you know of that make multiple withdrawls in a very short period of time. And if asked about it abuse the accuser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭fippy

If they question you about it just say you were playing snap for tenners!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

The bank would never get the money back off me, dont put any more money into your account and withdraw all you have in there and never use it again, ive often daydreamed of a similar situation happeing to me but alas it hasnt happened:(

Because that will work! You are really kidding yourself that you could avoid this money being pursued. They probably already flagged the accounts anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Well I've just come home after spending ages at an ATM machine with a friend.

When I requested 10 euro it gave me 20 euro...and the advice slip recorded that I had taken out 10 euro and my account had been debited by 10.
    So naturally enough we took full advantage of the situation and continued to withdraw as much cash as possible!!:D

I thought this kinda thing only happened in urban legends!!

But the question now is...will the bank come after there money? After all, it wasn't out fault somebody put 20 notes into the 10 euro slot!!

ah sure dont worry about it....NAMA will cover it :pac: