Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question for regular Dublin live cash players?

• 27-10-2009 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

just wondering what would be a reasonable amount i could make in live cash games in dublin ,if i were to play 4,5 days a week for 3 months.

starting out with lets say 1K.
    in terms of my skill level,i dont think im gonna be the best player but i think i can still be a winning palyer if i just play solid TAG poker.
    i know alot of the basics and i think to be winning player live you dont really need much more than that.

realisticly how much could i get if i stick to my plan and have good game selection etc playing PLH or NL ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

I would never have put you and the word TAG together in the same sentence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

I think it was phantomlord who posted a link to a twoplustwo thread where a guy was doing this, check out the bbv Im too lazy to look. Should be right up ur alley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

I think it was phantomlord who posted a link to a twoplustwo thread where a guy was doing this, check out the bbv Im too lazy to look. Should be right up ur alley

well this is not really any help Richie is it with with nearly 100K posts in that thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

I think noel was tryin to make 10K in the fitz by christmas.

Its not as easy to make money as it once was but if you get off to a good start then 10-15k in 3 months wuld be doable imo where the 4/5 days include friday/saturday. I know that i don't play live as often as i once did, but i've seen some unbelievable things the last few times i've been there, including one guy who called off 1k plus on the turn with oesd on a paird board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Gholimoli wrote: »
    well this is not really any help Richie is it with with nearly 100K posts in that thread?

He posted it yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭fatguy

Yeah I believe BCB is trying to turn 300 into 10k by Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

fatguy wrote: »
    Yeah I believe BCB is trying to turn 300 into 10k by Christmas.

he'll have to be disguised as Derron Brown to do it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

I think here your biggest question is game selection Vs bankroll! i mean the Jackpot you could do very well in, but given the game the swings could be too big for a 1k roll, where as the fitz tryin to grind it out with only 5 buy in's would be tricky if u got of to a bad start. Some soft tourny's could build your roll nicely.... fitz tue night game (€50 dc) always have a 1k first place prize... i think u might do better with that... just my 2 cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

5k - 10k I think is doable if you're genuinely a winning player.

But with 1k, your really gonna have to pray very hard for a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

If your doing it purely to make money, grind online imo although i think by a recent post of yours you sound like you really dont want to grind online. Playing live especially for you theres too many distractions and overheads. After rake things like food/drink petrol and general messing with friends that will drag you away on certain nights will eat into your expected profit margin. Not to mention wasting money on tournaments justifying playing them because your waiting on cash tables to fill up. And obv not to mention you could play pretty good over 3 months and just break even like the golfer who said he played great and only shot 71!. But your good enough to make a profit over this time no doubt its only a matter of how much the variance gods will allow.
    (Whoops only noticed this was meant for Dublin live cash players, disregard obv)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

to pluck a figure from the air, i'd say, 5k would be going well.

Mellor wrote: »
    to pluck a figure from the air, i'd say, 5k would be going well.

really ,that sounds a bit low to me,im not saying your wrong ,just that i was thinking that in 3months playing 5 nites ,it would be more than 5k?

why do u say 5K would be doing well?
    is that just for me or any one?
    reason why im asking is that i think i can adopt to what ever style needed to make the most profit as i dont think it's gonna be that complicated to beat live cash in dublin.i could be wrong though and that's what im really trying to figure out.

i have no illutions of making money from poker long term at all really.the mental pressure i really can not handle but im thiking 3 months i may be able to do.

also i cant do it online cuz im a tilt monster online and live while i get tierd sometimes,i dont often tilt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

Its going to be pretty tough starting from €1k, and I would certainly hope you don't mind losing it, cos a 5 buy in downswing is nothing. You will bust the k a good % of the time.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I thought you were fecking off to Iran?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

starting out with lets say 1K.
    If €1k is the case money you really shouldn't be playing live at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

I tried this a while back and for a while it worked out, but i started to play too loose and sure you know yourself! 1K is fine in my opinion...you really have to be disciplined though...you're gona need a good start..you should really have a game plan and stick to it..its easy enough to be a profit player,i find the hardest thing when playing is to get up and leave the table..decide how much you're gona buy in for each session and dont deviate from the plan..more importantly how much profit will suffice..you should be happy to leave the poker room(whichever one) with minimum profit..i had a big problem here...i'd often buy in for 200 in the fitz play for 2/3 hours eventually find myself sitting at the main table with 500/600 and a bunch of o'l timers who cant fold...

i definately think you should give it a shot..Discipline is the key!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

5starpool wrote: »
    I thought you were fecking off to Iran?
    BBV curse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

rather than just plucking figures out of the air, do some calculations. (then halve whatever you come up with)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

really ,that sounds a bit low to me,im not saying your wrong ,just that i was thinking that in 3months playing 5 nites ,it would be more than 5k?

why do u say 5K would be doing well?
    is that just for me or any one?
    I'm not basing it on you, or anyone in particular. Nor is 5k the max;
    As mentioned above, you only have 5 buy-ins, which is very low. If you start with a bad session you are playing with the case money on the second session. Busto is not impossible. 5k

In the OP you said 4 or 5 nights a week, I went with 4 nights (as some weeks you will only make 3 etc) over 12 weeks. 48 sessions. Even round to to 50.

4 or 5 hours a session. Obviously the 8 hour sessions are common, but the game isn't profitable consistantly at the early hours. Nor is 8 hours 4 or 5 nights a week going t ose you playing your best.

A e20-25 hourly rate is e100 average profit a session. Maybe 20-25 is too low, but last time I was in dublin things were a little dry and I think that few regulars are making much more that e25 an hour.
    This would be 5k. If you plan on playing 5 8 hour sessions consistently then you can increase expect profits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭SpencerJames

You can make money alright but you'll still only have a k in your ac after 3 months. This is of course if your roll is also your life roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

rather than just plucking figures out of the air, do some calculations. (then halve whatever you come up with)

It's Gholi here. Quarter it.

In all seriousness though, move to Australia or Vegas or even London. The idea of playing 1/2 at night for 4/5 days a week as my sole income makes me depressed even thinking about it. Go somewhere with better games that play during the day here you can get a bigger game anytime you feel like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

1k is not enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

set up a thread here to advise us of your progress

no playing hands blind against other tilt monkeys though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Do it!

thanks alot folks for the comments.

im still going to Iran for sure,it just may be a little later than i thought now ,if i decide to do this.

i need to put a bit of money together and seen as i dont have time to wait and get an IT contract ,i was thinkin of doing this.
    obviously im well aware of the fact that i could go busto with 1K.if i decide to do this and i do go busto ,**** it .1K is the max i can afford to lose really.

i have my tickets booked and everything but i may just have to delay things a little.
    i suppose if any one sees me in dublin playing cash then i have decided to go with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭jack90210

When is the most profitable time to play live cash in Dublin?

Are all cash games on at crazy times? Any day/late afternoon games during the week?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 427 ✭✭GKidd

ianmc38 wrote: »
    It's Gholi here. Quarter it.

In all seriousness though, move to Australia or Vegas or even London. The idea of playing 1/2 at night for 4/5 days a week as my sole income makes me depressed even thinking about it. Go somewhere with better games that play during the day here you can get a bigger game anytime you feel like it.

Committing yourself to 3 months on the Dublin live scene with the hopes of making 10k.

Plans to move to Iran.

You are obviously a nutter! :p:p
    Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

jack90210 wrote: »
    When is the most profitable time to play live cash in Dublin?

Are all cash games on at crazy times? Any day/late afternoon games during the week?

Weekends and thursday nights are by far the best. There are games every evening from about 7 in the Fitz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Gholi,

I did something similar roughly 3 years ago, it's something I wouldn't dream of doing again however.

I had 1k to play poker with case money set aside. (not alot mind you)

My general rule was to enter the casino with 3x 100bb buyins, no buying in for 200bbs just because there was a monster stack at the table.

What will ultimately decide success or failure will be your ability to A. Run good and B. get up and leave the tables when things are not going well.

Anytime I started a bad session and things felt stagnant or games were bad, I would up and leave immediately I would have gone busto otherwise.

If I lost a buyin I would go take 10 and run the hand over and over again and if, upon reflection, I realised that I had misplayed the hand at any point. That would be enough to send me home, unless the games were really juicy and in the back of my mind I was mentally prepared to take the loss on the chin and continue with my A game, I was always honest with myself in this respect and you would often see me leaving the Fitz before 2. am either with small loss or small profit (in the building stages)

In the early building stages it's important to bank profit while it's there, a bad beat is always lurking around the corner and if you are as tilty as you say, it can and will affect you playing live but perhaps not to the same degree as online.

Stay away from the SE NL game and stick to the Fitz and jackpot PLH games.

Just remember that if you start you have 1k worth of chips and the goal is to win more chips....forget about the money involved. (I probably don't need to tell you this but when it's your case roll, it gets harder and harder to do so and ultimately it may affect your decision making process)

I would actually advise playing 4 nights, from my experience Sunday-Tuesday the games are (or at least were) bad.

I think the toughest task you will have is playing weak tight low variance nitty poker, while this style will only be required until you have cushioned your roll nicely, it will take tremendous discipline, especially if you are used to playing LAG.

I would love to give you an idea of how much I made but I honestly cannot remember for the life of me, it was quite decent as I had no job and I had rent, tax car insurance and all the standard life rake to pay and I came out with a nice bit of profit, I won't lie though because i have no idea of what the figure was, what I can remember is after roughly 3-4 months I was sick to death of it to be perfectly honest.

Personally I would rather make 10 x 100 eur deposits online and try 10 seperate spin ups than playing live. (within reason of course, you will have to play micro stakes at the start)

If you do decide to go ahead with this.....May the poker Gods be with you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭pistolpeter

If u plan to play live cash you should go to any festivals that are on in that period, plenty of action around those games even if the rake is slightly higher it has to be worth it.

Thanks alot Samba,TBH im not used to playing LAG at all.
    the truth is ,im simply not used to playing.
    it's been a good few years since i have played regular poker in any shape or forum .
    last time i played cash was IO and that was for 5 hours maybe and before that i really cant remember the last time.

i have played a couple of tournys here and there for the craic but over the last few years ,i have played maybe 15 sessions of poker both cash and tourny.

i have played a few times online but deffo around the same number and that is in the last 3 years at least.

so i dont think shaping my self to a particular style that i think is gonna be profitable is going to be hard at all.not cuz i think im anything special,but becuase i thik it does not take anything special to beat live cash games.

TBH the idea of having to play poker for money actually depresses me.
    the staying up at nights and the life style that goes with it,it's just not for me ,and that's why i would certainly not try this nor want to try it for long.

the truth is ,i need to get some money together with in a few months,i would much rather get a normal job and do it,and im fairly quilified in my owen field TBH but ,at the moment that just aint happening and i have no plans of staying around here till it does.

my plans of going home are still there,infact im actively looking after a few things that im going to be doing ,once i go home...but when i really think about it ,it just makes things alot easier ,if i get a bit of money together befor i go.

i know 1K is not enough ,im not really trying to prove anything.i was just wondering is it worth it even if i run good and get off to a good start.

i mean if im looking at 5K everything going well,then it's really not worth my time and i wouldn't do it at all,but if i could be looking at 10K or more ,well for me at the mo it would sort of be the only option of making that much money in that amount of time ,and i would deffo think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

but becuase i thik it does not take anything special to beat live cash games.

It takes a BR which 1k is not. Its not as if you couldnt win 10k in 3 months-it happens but much more likely to bust imo.

If you are doing this you should bring an ipod and play in the Jackpot past 2 everynight. Sit there play aces and kings and the rest and hope for a few early holds. Plus if you NEED money poker knows and will punish you with cruel beats of unimaginable proportions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Don't the jackpot and maybe some other players run a 100pl game on certain days? I'd much rather start there, 1k really isn't alot unless you really don't care at all about blowing it in the first week and not being able to play anymore, because you have to accept this could easily happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

I would go into the Fitz 3 nights a week (Thu/Fri/Sat) if I were you and wouldn't necessaryily get there too early either. After 12pm some of the players just hand you the cash. As others have said, you will still need to run good and avoid the bad beats, but the game is certainly beatable. I think its just a guessing game as to how beatable it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭jack90210

TommyGunne wrote: »
    Weekends and thursday nights are by far the best. There are games every evening from about 7 in the Fitz.

I presume when the drunks come in its the best? Does this still happen even in the recession?

Would the games be full of difficult regs at 7? What time on Fridays, would love a bit of after work action for a few hours.

To the OP, your last post made me lick my lips as in... tasty fish. You have only played 15 tournies/cash session ever and you think your going to make 9 grand in the next 3 months playing poker with 10 or less buyins? Do yourself a favour and don't do it but if you insist call me and tell me where you plan on playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

You have only played 15 tournies/cash session ever

nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Sirtoyou

I suggest using a short buyin strategy with this roll.As samba said a weak tight strategy is also probebly optimal starting out and dont increase your buyin amount until you get to 3k.100€ buyins to start.

I presume when the drunks come in its the best? Does this still happen even in the recession?

Would the games be full of difficult regs at 7? What time on Fridays, would love a bit of after work action for a few hours.

To the OP, your last post made me lick my lips as in... tasty fish. You have only played 15 tournies/cash session ever and you think your going to make 9 grand in the next 3 months playing poker with 10 or less buyins? Do yourself a favour and don't do it but if you insist call me and tell me where you plan on playing.

HU for ROLZ?????;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

What stakes can you play in Dublin? This thread is inferring that 1/2PL is about the max?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Hey Gholi i hope you give this a go and hope it works out for you. From my experience of playing with you in the past you are very capable of achieving this , GL

Zab wrote: »
    What stakes can you play in Dublin? This thread is inferring that 1/2PL is about the max?

1/2 is the standard

in practice, most games will have an optional straddle to 5, effectively making it a 2/5 game for 1/2 rake. If you get the right mix of punters (i.e. willing to straddle and sufficient cash on hand) at the table, it can then play fairly big.

The 2/5 PLO games in the Fitz are the biggest regular cash games I'm aware of in Dublin.

What day is that on?

Tight Ted wrote: »
    What day is that on?

whatever day it runs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

What a level. 4 pages? Priceless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭BloodyDeath

not as hard as u think, 15k 3 months. should be ok.
    disapline is worth more than a royal flush 3 hands in a row in this instance no matter the pot size at 1/2 plh.

spend a week in the fitz a week in se a week in atari (really heavy gamblers if the nite is rite nl thou if u like that game)

but yeah its doable, 1k a bit tite but there is a 50/1 game in the fitz in tallaght get u started if u feel a bit uncomfortable at 1/2 with 1k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

game in the fitz in tallaght

does this get decent numbers every night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Conbro wrote: »
    What a level. 4 pages? Priceless

4 pages?? Is that a level :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭BloodyDeath

does this get decent numbers every night?

not sayin decent numbers every nite but if there a good tourney likr the tues 30 game or the fri 50 game whatever(check there listing) u will get a game for sure.

loose and fast the way the game was intended

and the atari is reopening next sun nite under new managment and it will be hosting a 50/1 game too. so there is a choice in the capital state of tallaght!!