Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apologetics Thread!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Wicknight wrote: »
    Various theories I've heard put forward is that they were pobably telling the truth because of various reasons, such as why would they lie, why would they be prepared to die if they were lying, why did the Romans not present the body etc etc
    [/I]

Why would they lie? Humans lie, especially excusable (in their minds) if they think it is for a greater good.

why would they be prepared to die if they were lying? Unfortunately, we can see from the likes of Wacco and other suicide cults people can become brainwashed enough to die for their beliefs.

'why did the Romans not present the body' Jesus may not have died from the crucifixion. Not everyone died from it, and Jesus would have had enough followers to take him down before he died. If he did die from the crucifixion* it is possible there were enough people with self interest to propel the myth of the resurrection (and stole his body/bribing the guards?!?). This is entirely plausible to my mind - a lot more so than a resurrection.

* should this be spelt cruci-fiction?;)

Now my question - why is the genealogy of christ different in the different gospels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭chozometroid

smcgiff wrote: »
    No. ; )
    Now my question - why is the genealogy of christ different in the different gospels?
    Some include names others don't, but it's still the same lineage. I'll give more detail if it actually matters to you.

No. ; )

Some include names others don't, but it's still the same lineage. I'll give more detail if it actually matters to you.

The ones I had in mind were two gospels that gave different names as his forebears. I've not read it in a long time, but it'd be hard, I imagine, to reconcile his lineage with different names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

No, it shouldn't.

I would advise you to read the charter and keep your snide jokes to yourself if you want to stay around. Next time you try out your crappy "comedy stylings" you'll get an infraction or the boot.

As for the different genealogies of Jesus presented in Matt and Luke, one explanation could be that they come from two different lineages - one from Joseph (Matt) and the other from Mary (Luke). Another notion is that Joseph had two fathers. Start another thread if you really want this discussed further.

Start another thread if you really want this discussed further.

I thought this was the entire purpose of the thread?!?

My above comment was crude I admit, and for that I apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

You first accuse me of misunderstanding the difference between a source and a witness (you may actually want to read what I said before needlessly correcting me)

You said;
    Fanny wrote:
    ... I wonder what you feel would constitute an independent source for the resurrection? Do you expect to find an account of the resurrection that corroborates the story but the author then goes on their merry way unchanged?

A source does not mean a witness (necessarily) but your language assumes the source 'witnessed' the event. I made no such claim.

Also, I am arguing for any independent sources which state a resurrection (was thought) to have occurred. I am not even looking for proof of the resurrection, I am looking for any source which states people even thought it happened. i.e > Someone in a bar in Jerusalem could hear the story of Jesus walking around the place and write it on a napkin, this would constitute a source proving that many people 'thought' a resurrection happened but not proof of the resurrection itself.

Cicero wrote about Caesars birth which we accept because of many other independent writers writing the same thing. I doubt Cicero 'witnessed' the birth of Caesar.
    and then you go on to accuse me of wilfully confusing matters.

My apologies, maybe it wasn't deliberate.
    You have tried this crap before with me - jumping to conclusions and making accusations about my motives without having the foggiest notion of what you're on about.

And you are using this to sidestep my argument which you have been thoroughly beaten on. You confused 'witness' and source in a historical sense and then you accuse me of manufacturing the criteria for historical accuracy which I showed you is all historians criteria for historical accuracy.

Your the second person on this thread to ask me questions and when answers are given all that is heard is silence.
    I can't be bothered to debate with you further.

And you are sidestepping the issue when your argument is shown to be extremely nieve and false.

Can I also state that you have been nothing but rude to me, sometimes deserved and sometimes not, but rude to me nonetheless.

Once a difficult question or statement is made you always go quiet, get angry and leave the discussion.

I am not attacking your Christian beliefs, I was answering a question about historical accuracy and I believe I answered it very well.

As for the different genealogies of Jesus presented in Matt and Luke, one explanation could be that they come from two different lineages - one from Joseph (Matt) and the other from Mary (Luke). Another notion is that Joseph had two fathers. Start another thread if you really want this discussed further.

From a little research - It looks as if this has caused a lot of trouble for those a lot greater than I, including Popes.

And with that I'll leave ye to the debates on the validity of christianity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Soul Winner

monosharp wrote: »
    I really hope you are not trying to argue that the sources giving us our information on the Roman Republic during the time of Julius Caesar are as equally suspect as the Bible.

Heavens forbid. My point was that I feel the Gospels can be regarded as much (if not more) a historical narrative as the histories of Julius Caesar. I don't need to put down secular historical accounts in order to hold the Gospel accounts in high regard. It is only folks who have a bias against the possibility of miracles who have a problem with the Gospels being historically accurate, a frame of reference some people are so caught up in that they are incapable of seeing any other view as being right except theirs. The thing with Christianity is this and Fanny alluded to it earlier. Assuming a resurrection, bodily appearances and ascension all happened and all eyewitness to those events become believers, they automatically by virtue of their conversion become suspect and not a valid witness Unless a witness can be found who didn't become a believer but can vouch for what the converted have witnessed only then will you consider what those who have been converted as a result of what they were converted to. Don't you see the problem Christianity has here?

But be that as it may we are talking about the Gospel accounts being regarded as historical narratives of what the historical Jesus actually said and did. When you apply the tests you linked below they come out looking pretty good. Multiple attestation, the inclusion of embarrassing elements, the unembellished nature of Christ after the resurrection, i.e. they seen Him as a normal man and not as a blazing fire eyed white haired God like one would expect a Jewish person would expect to see of their Messiah. They are many more good examples which point to the Gospel writers as authentic re-tellers of a story, who in some cases are simply trying to get the gist of what Jesus said and did to an audience that was already converted.

And then there's the fact of their names Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. With the exception of John you would think that fraudsters would have picked more prominent names than Matthew, Mark and Luke. Like the Gnostic Gospels in the 2nd century did. Peter and Thomas etc.. It's little things like this that tip the scale in favour of them being genuine acounts rather than contrived.

Then there's the issue of so called contradiction in the accounts. The majority of historians will tell you that they would find it very suspect if there weren't any contradictions considering that each person is suppose to be telling the story from their own perspective or with the intension of teaching a particular principle about life without getting bogged down in the details that some of the other reporters get bogged down in, because what the latter in this wants to get across requires the detail unlike the former.

You go on about Caesar being validated by other sources. One of the two you mention lived centuries after the events he describes and yet there is no problem at all with his account being regarded as historical. And don't translate that into I don't think it is historical, I do, I would just like to see the Gospels get treated with the same kind of treatment. That was my point before you contrived your argument out of thin air to the contrary.

Good piece here on why the New Testament documents stand up pretty well when put to the tests of historicity that are described in the links you provided. http://www.leaderu.com/orgs/probe/docs/bib-docu.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Historical_method
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Source_criticism[/quote]

The Gospels pass with flying colors all these test. The problem for Christianity is that all the witnesses became believers. Only staunch non believers who are anti miracle will not accept it. Romans soldiers, Jewish leaders, Skeptics, ordinary folk and Enemies like Saul of Tarsus and heck even family members came to a faith in Jesus as the Son of God. Could you ever imagine actually believing that your brother truly was the Son of God? Well James did and there is no record that he ever followed Jesus before the so called resurrection. He was martyred for this belief even Josephus records that. So how can you explain hostile James’s conversion in the absence of any supernatural happenings? The New Testament states that Jesus appeared unto James, that would make a believer out of anyone I think.

Why is the existence of Caesar absolutely certain ?

I never said it wasn’t certain.

http://www.leaderu.com/orgs/probe/docs/bib-docu.html- We have multiple documents, written by multiple sources during Caesars lifetime and many more afterwards. Those sources are in turn supported by other sources. i.e > We know Cicero was real because there were multiple sources written about him. All these varying sources, from very important individuals all support and agree on some fundamental facts about an individual named Gaius Julius Caesar.
    We have accounts of Caesar from external non-Roman sources including the enemies of Rome.

And I agree, even though we can analyze their writings and find that they talk of Caesar in glowing terms even though to many of the so called “barbarians” he wasn’t such a magnanimous figure. I mean how can the Romans who used Christians as human torches to light the gardens of Nero at night have the brass neck to call anyone barbaric? My point is that even though bias is present towards a certain view it does nothing to discredit the account as a whole. I only ask for the same treatment for the New Testament documents, they deserve that much at least.

- We have documents written by Caesar himself which also agree with the documents written by others.

If you ask me this fact does more to discredit those historians than it does to support their version of the events. You’ll find nothing like this in the New Testament.

- We have Caesars name inscribed all over Roman archeological artifacts.

There is also plenty of archeological evidence which supports the New Testament.

- Jesus for one. During his lifetime he did nothing of any importance to anyone besides his own followers. Christianity for its first few hundred years was one minority cult among many with barely a mention in any writings of the time, besides of course the religions own documents.

And that proves that the events described therein are not accurate?

- All the eyewitnesses in the gospels to the resurrection, they were of no historical importance to anyone in any way besides religious and within the religion itself.

Again what does that prove? Nothing!

- What we know about Caesar we know because of his importance in Roman politics, the writings of other important Roman politicians, the writings of his enemies, archaeological evidence both Roman and external etc.

You see what happens when you get an idea into your head that someone (ME) is arguing something (Caesar did not exist) which they are not arguing?

- For example we know relatively little about Pontius Pilate but still his existence is more credible than Jesus as his existence is supported by a few different sources. Details of his life however are scant to say the least.

Your problem is that you see the New Testament writings as one book written by a collaboration of biased individuals who are only out to prove one thing – that Jesus was the Son of God. It’s not. It is a collection of books and letters written by different individuals in different places at different times, probably at a time when they weren’t sure if any of the others were alive or not. And yet you find within their pages an attention to detail in some of the lesser important elements of their accounts which precludes that they were just making it all up just to save face. Then you have the so called contradictions which rules out collaboration. If they all sat down together and were just a bunch of idiots making it all up then there would be no contradictions at all, which like I said earlier would raise the red flag to the majority of historians worth their salt analyzing their accounts today.

The following principles are cited from two Scandinavian textbooks on source criticism, Olden-Jørgensen (1998) and Thurén (1997) written by historians:

Human sources may be relics (e.g. a fingerprint) or narratives (e.g. a statement or a letter). Relics are more credible sources than narrratives.

We have more relics then we can count for Caesar.

So if early Christians had spent more time sculpting statues of Jesus and inscribing ‘Jesus was the Son of God’ all over the place then Christianity would more credible? That’s like saying in 2000 years from now figurines of Hitler would be more valuable than Mein Kampf. And ye guys have the audacity to call our reasoning illogical.

A given source may be forged or corrupted; strong indications of the originality of the source increases its reliability.

Let the bloody thing speak for itself before disparaging it. My Lord they way you go on it sound like you’re terrified to find out something that just doesn’t gel with how you see and want reality to be. Surely that method is not a good basis to proceed either? Treat everything as suspect until it can absolutely be proven 100% to be accurate? There is no such monster be it in religious or secular texts. Like I said let the documents speak for themselves. If they are really suspect they will be found out soon enough.

The closer a source is to the event which it purports to describe, the more one can trust it to give an accurate description of what really happened

The writings supporting Caesar were written during his lifetime and afterwards.
    The writings supporting Jesus were written well after his lifetime.

Chart.jpg

Given this chart and your own criteria the NT wins hands down.

A primary source is more reliable than a secondary source, that is more reliable than a tertiary source and so on.

We have multiple accounts of Caesar written by people who knew him. (who in turn had multiple accounts written by people who knew them)
    Your eyewitness accounts were not written by the eyewitnesses.

Name the ones that were not eyewitness and tell us how you concluded that they were not in fact eyewitnesses.

If a number of independent sources contain the same message, the credibility of the message is strongly increased.

We have multiple sources for Caesar.
    We have one (two, Josephus ?) source for Jesus.

We also have Tacitus, Pliny, Josephus and other extra biblical sources which agree that a Jesus who was viewed as the Christ existed, and as already stated earlier the New Testament texts themselves were written by different writers which although biased in relation to what they believed about Jesus are still evidence that Jesus existed. I’m just wanting a level playing field here. I don’t want people to believe everything in the New Testament because it has be shown that it is most likely true given the evidence both biblical and no biblical that the Jesus of the New Testament actually lived.

The tendency of a source is its motivation for providing some kind of bias. Tendencies should be minimized or supplemented with opposite motivations.

OK then give us an example of what you mean in the histories of Julius Caesar. Give us an example of something which say, discredits Caesar as being the rightful ruler of Rome written in the annals of the Roman Empire. And then explain why the absence of it in these writings is good reason to regard those histories as unreliable sources? Because that is exactly what the New Testament has to put up with when it comes to Jesus. My point is that you won’t find written down in the history of the Roman empire any derogatory slurs (on the part of the history writer) against Caesar, so why should you expect to find them in other historical accounts of other people whom the writer thought worthy of writing about? That doesn’t prove Jesus was the Son of God but it sure doesn’t mean that the writings are bogus either.

We have multiple accounts of Caesar by political allies, political enemies, military allies, military enemies. We have accounts of Caesar from within and outside the Roman Empire, all during his lifetime.

Look you said it yourself earlier:

“For example we know relatively little about Pontius Pilate but still his existence is more credible than Jesus as his existence is supported by a few different sources. Details of his life however are scant to say the least.”

And:

“All the eyewitnesses in the gospels to the resurrection, they were of no historical importance to anyone in any way besides religious and within the religion itself.”

You even admit that Christianity didn’t start to flourish until centuries after its inception, so why would any historian back then dare to write anything on a positive note about an apocalyptic rabble rousing upstart Jew called Jesus who the Romans themselves crucified as a criminal when they were primarily employed to write about Emperors and such like?

The gospels are religiously biased.

Well you know what they say? When in Rome do as the Romans do.

Upon his death in AD 14, Augustus was declared a god by the Senate, to be worshipped by the Romans.” More here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Augustus

If it can be demonstrated that the witness (or source) has no direct interest in creating bias, the credibility of the message is increased.”

As with Caesar we have multiple sources with no direct interest.

Yes but what if you were left with just the Roman version of the life of Caesar? Would you throw that out as unhistorical? I think not. Hence the hypocritical double standard when it comes to the New Testament documents.

Not so with Jesus. (except possibly Josephus)

Non Biblical sources for on Jesus:

JEWISH SOURCES ON JESUS

Flavius Josephus, Antiquties of the Jews
    written about 94 A.D.

He (Annas the Younger) convened a judicial session of the Sanhedrin and brought before it the brother of Jesus the so-called Christ -- James by name -- and some others, whom he charged with breaking the law and handed over to be stoned to death. - Antiquities 20.200

Now, there was about this time Jesus, a wise man for he was a doer of wonderful works, a teacher of such men as receive the truth with pleasure. He drew over to him both many of the Jews, and many of the Gentiles. And when Pilate, at the suggestion of principal men among us, had condemned him to the cross, those that loved him at the first did not forsake him. And the tribe of Christians, so named for him, are not extinct to this day.- Antiquities 18.63-64 (Greek)

Epitome from Church History of Agapius
    (Arabic)

At this time there was a wise man who was called Jesus. And his conduct was good and he was known to be virtuous. And many from among the Jews and other nations became his disciples. Pilate condemned him to be crucified and to die. And those who had become his disciples did not abandon his discipleship. They reported that he had appeared to them three days after his crucifixion and that he was alive. Accordingly he was perhaps the Messiah concerning who the prophets have recounted wonders.

Babylonian Talmud

On the eve of Passover Yeshua was hanged. For forty days before the execution a herald went forth and cried, "He is going to be stoned because he has practiced sorcery and enticed Israel to apostasy. Anyone who can say anything in his favor, let him come forward and plead on his behalf." But since nothing was brought forward in his favor he was hanged on the eve of Passover. - Sanhedrin 43a

ROMAN (PAGAN) SOURCES ON JESUS

Gaius Suetonius, Lives of the Twelve Caesars
    written about 100-125 A.D.

He expelled the Jews from Rome, on account of riots in which they were constantly indulging, at the instigation of Chrestus. - Claudius 25.4

Punishment was inflicted on the Christians, a body of people addicted to a novel and mischievous superstition. - Nero 16.2

Cornelius Tacitus, Annals
    written in the 2nd century A.D.

But neither the aid of men, nor the emperor's bounty, nor propitiatory offerings to the gods, could remove the grim suspicion that the fire had been started by Nero's order. To put an end to this rumor, he shifted the charge on to others, and inflicted the most cruel tortures upon a group of people detested for their abominations, and popularly known as "Christians". Their name came from one Christus, who was put to death in the principate of Tiberius by the Procurator Pontius Pilate. Though checked for a time, the destructive superstition broke out again, not in Judaea only, where its mischief began, but even in Rome, where every abominable and shameful iniquity, from all the world, pours in and finds a welcome. - Annals 15.44

Mara bar Serapion, Letter to Son Serapion

What advantage did the Athenians gain from putting Socrates to death? Famine and plague came upon them as a judgment for their crime. What advantage did the men of Samos gain from burning Pythagoras? In a moment their land was covered with sand. What advantage did the Jews gain from executing their wise king? It was just after that their kingdom was abolished. God justly avenged these three wise men: the Jews, ruined and driven from their land, live in complete dispersion. But Socrates did not die for good; he lived on in the teaching of Plato. Pythagoras did not die for good; he lived on in the statue of Hera. Nor did the wise king die for good; he lived on in the teaching which he had given.

Pliny the Younger, Letters to Trajan

It is my rule, Sire, to refer to you in matters where I am uncertain. For who can better direct my hesitation or instruct my ignorance? I was never present at any trial of Christians; therefore I do not know what are the customary penalties or investigations, and what limits are observed. I have hesitated a great deal on the question whether there should be any distinction of ages; whether the weak should have the same treatment as the most robust; whether those who recant should be pardoned, or whether a man who has ever been a Christian should gain nothing by ceasing to be such; whether the name itself, even if innocent of crime, should be punished, or only the crimes attaching to that name.
    Meanwhile, this is the course that I have adopted in the case of those brought before me as Christians. I ask them if they are Christians. If they admit it I repeat the question a second and a third time, threatening capital punishment; if they persist I sentence them to death ...
    All who denied that they were or had been Christians I considered should be discharged, because they called upon the gods at my dictation and did reverence, with incense and wine, to your image ... and especially because they cursed Christ, a thing which, it is said, genuine Christians cannot be induced to do. Others named by the informer first said they were Christians and then denied it, declaring that they had been but were no longer, some having recanted three years or more before and one or two as long ago as twenty years. They all worshipped your image and the statues of the gods and cursed Christ. But they declared that the sum of their guilt or error had amounted only to this, that on an appointed day they had been accustomed to meet before daybreak, and to recite a hymn antiphonally to Christ, as to a god, and to bind themselves by an oath, not for the commission of any crime but to abstain from theft, robbery, adultery and breach of faith and not to deny a deposit when it was claimed. After the conclusion of this ceremony it was their custom to depart and meet again to take food: but it was ordinary and harmless food, and they had ceased this practice after my edict in which, in accordance with your orders, I had forbidden secret societies. I though it more necessary, therefore, to find out what truth there was in this by applying torture to two maidservants, who were called deaconesses. But I found nothing but a depraved and extravagant superstition, and I therefore postponed my examination and had recourse to you for consultation. - Letters 10.96

ibid., Trajan's Reply

The method you have pursued, my dear Pliny, in sifting the cases of those denounced to you as Christians is extremely proper. It is not possible to lay down any general rule which can be applied as the fixed standard in all cases of this nature. No search should be made for these people; when they are denounced and found guilty they must be punished; with the restriction, however, that when the party denies himself to be a Christian, and shall give proof that he is not, that is by adoring our gods, he shall be pardoned on the ground of repentance, even though he may have formerly incurred suspicion. Information without the accuser's name subscribed must not be admitted in evidence against anyone, as it is introducing a very dangerous precedent, and by no means agreeable to the spirit of the age. - Letters 10.97

We may add the following principles:
    Knowledge of source criticism cannot substitute subject knowledge:
    "Because each source teaches you more and more about your subject, you will be able to judge with ever-increasing precision the usefulness and value of any prospective source. In other words, the more you know about the subject, the more precisely you can identify what you must still find out". (Bazerman, 1995, p. 304).

Yes that is all great but where does the jump to “The New Testament documents are unreliable” come from?

The reliability of a given source is relative to the questions put to it.
    "The empirical case study showed that most people find it difficult to assess questions of cognitive authority and media credibility in a general sense, for example, by comparing the overall credibility of newspapers and the Internet. Thus these assessments tend to be situationally sensitive. Newspapers, television and the Internet were frequently used as sources of orienting information, but their credibility varied depending on the actual topic at hand" (Savolainen, 2007).

Yes but you will still pick up a newspaper and read what it has to say and you will still watch the news on TV and listen to what its says and weigh everything up after that in your mind. I say that the New Testament documents deserves at least the same level of courtesy. What we have though is a world which will willy nilly accept as reliable historical documents the earliest extant copies of which dating hundreds of years after the events they describe as reliable because the events and sayings therein just don’t make any claim to total commitment to the subject of those writings on the part of the reader, whereas to believe the events described in the New Testament as historical facts would mean you’d be insane to choose otherwise.

Anyway I don’t get much time to post these days because I’m so darn busy in work, so as soon as I can I will pop back I will. Thanks to all for your contributions to this thread.

I thought this was the entire purpose of the thread?!?

My above comment was crude I admit, and for that I apologise.

Fair enough.

Apologies all around. What I should have said something like - why don't you start a new thread if you want the issue discussed further.

My apologies, maybe it wasn't deliberate.

Maybe!

You misunderstood my post, so there was no slight of hand on my part that was either deliberate or accidental on my part. That you steal away your apology after giving it leads me to suspect that you are incapable of posting of any length of time without putting your foot in it.
    Your the second person on this thread to ask me questions and when answers are given all that is heard is silence.

What's the problem? Are we supposed to reply every time you volunteer an answer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Heavens forbid. My point was that I feel the Gospels can be regarded as much (if not more) a historical narrative as the histories of Julius Caesar.

And your point is nonsense which would have every credible historian on the floor laughing as it should have any average person with the slightest knowledge of European history.
    I don't need to put down secular historical accounts in order to hold the Gospel accounts in high regard.

For yourself and people of the religion, no you don't, because religious people will believe almost anything thats in their religious texts or their not religious in the first place.

For any credibility of historical accuracy then yes you do need other sources.
    It is only folks who have a bias against the possibility of miracles who have a problem with the Gospels being historically accurate,

It is only for anyone who is not Christian who knows anything about historical accuracy that the historical accuracy of the Gospels are a problem.
    The thing with Christianity is this and Fanny alluded to it earlier. Assuming a resurrection, bodily appearances and ascension all happened and all eyewitness to those events become believers, they automatically by virtue of their conversion become suspect and not a valid witness

And you are equally as wrong as she was.

1. I never asked for eyewitnesses for the resurrection, I asked for sources for the resurrection. Please go learn what a source is in terms of history.

2. You don't know that all eyewitnesses to such events become eyewitnesses. I certainly would not become a believer even if I did witness the resurrection, at least not right away.
    Unless a witness can be found who didn't become a believer but can vouch for what the converted have witnessed only then will you consider what those who have been converted as a result of what they were converted to.

Again and this is the third time I have said this, I don't want an eyewitness account of the resurrection, I want a source for the resurrection eyewitness or not.
    Don't you see the problem Christianity has here?

No because you are twisting the requirements to something you claim to be impossible.
    But be that as it may we are talking about the Gospel accounts being regarded as historical narratives of what the historical Jesus actually said and did. When you apply the tests you linked below they come out looking pretty good.

No they most certainly do not.
    Multiple attestation, the inclusion of embarrassing elements, the unembellished nature of Christ after the resurrection, i.e. they seen Him as a normal man and not as a blazing fire eyed white haired God like one would expect a Jewish person would expect to see of their Messiah.

Like Dragonball Z ?
    They are many more good examples which point to the Gospel writers as authentic re-tellers of a story, who in some cases are simply trying to get the gist of what Jesus said and did to an audience that was already converted.

That is not the point at all. If you read Homers Illad or ANY story for that matter you will get the same 'authentic' story telling. That does not factor in its accuracy or non-accuracy.
    And then there's the fact of their names Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. With the exception of John you would think that fraudsters would have picked more prominent names than Matthew, Mark and Luke.

Wow, I wonder how much research I will have to do to debunk that.

Step 1. Google.
    Step 2. Read.
    The Gospel of John (literally, According to John; Greek, Κατὰ Ἰωάννην, Katá Iōánnēn), is the last of the four canonical gospels. This non synoptic gospel is an account of the life and ministry of Jesus of Nazareth. It details the story of Jesus from his Baptism to his Resurrection.
    The Early Christian tradition attributes this gospel to John the Evangelist one of Jesus' disciples. The gospel appears to have been written with an evangelistic purpose, primarily for Greek-speaking Jews who were not believers[1] or to strengthen the faith of Christians.[2] A second purpose was probably to counter criticisms or unorthodox beliefs of Jews, John the Baptist's followers, and those who believed Jesus was only spirit and not flesh.[3]
    A gospel (from Old English, gōd spell "good news") is a writing that describes the life of Jesus. The word is primarily used to refer to the four canonical texts: the Gospel of Matthew, Gospel of Mark, Gospel of Luke and Gospel of John, probably written between AD 65 and 80. [1][2] They appear to have been originally untitled; they were quoted anonymously in the first half of the second century (i.e. 100 - 150) but the names by which they are currently known appear suddenly around the year 180.

We don't know who wrote the gospels.
    Like the Gnostic Gospels in the 2nd century did. Peter and Thomas etc.. It's little things like this that tip the scale in favour of them being genuine acounts rather than contrived.

When did I say they were frauds ?
    Then there's the issue of so called contradiction in the accounts ...

I'm going to stop quoting things that are not relevant to our conversation but for some reason you think are part of my argument.

I never mentioned the contradictions in the gospels.
    You go on about Caesar being validated by other sources. One of the two you mention lived centuries after the events he describes and yet there is no problem at all with his account being regarded as historical.

And who would that be ? I've mentioned a lot more then two.
    And don't translate that into I don't think it is historical, I do, I would just like to see the Gospels get treated with the same kind of treatment.

Then provide the evidence.
    Good piece here on why the New Testament documents stand up pretty well when put to the tests of historicity that are described in the links you provided. http://www.leaderu.com/orgs/probe/docs/bib-docu.html

No, its a piece of how the copies of the bible we have today are likely close to the originals. It has nothing to do with historical accuracy.

Are you confusing historical accuracy with the reliability of the bible to the original sources ?
    The Gospels pass with flying colors all these test.

Thats complete nonsense, they go nowhere near passing them.
    Romans soldiers, Jewish leaders, Skeptics, ordinary folk and Enemies like Saul of Tarsus and heck even family members came to a faith in Jesus as the Son of God.

Hundreds of years later yes.
    Could you ever imagine actually believing that your brother truly was the Son of God? Well James did and there is no record that he ever followed Jesus before the so called resurrection.

I believe some churches consider James to be one of the original 12 disciples, the Catholic Church for one.
    He was martyred for this belief even Josephus records that. So how can you explain hostile James’s conversion in the absence of any supernatural happenings?

And we're back again to 'Its true because its in the Bible and the Bible is true because its the word of God because the Bible is infallible because its the word of God ...."

The book can say whatever it likes, homers Illad can say whatever it likes. It doesn't make it any more true then Lord of the Rings.
    And I agree, even though we can analyze their writings and find that they talk of Caesar in glowing terms even though to many of the so called “barbarians” he wasn’t such a magnanimous figure.

Uh huh. I think you'll find that your talking nonsense here. A 2 minute google and read of historical documents can disprove that.

p.s > You know where the German word 'Kaiser' came from ?
    I mean how can the Romans who used Christians as human torches to light the gardens of Nero at night have the brass neck to call anyone barbaric?

They shouldn't have broken the law. The law is there for a reason.
    My point is that even though bias is present towards a certain view it does nothing to discredit the account as a whole.

Agreed but you cannot accept that account as fact. Caesars Commentarii de bello Gallico is his own personal diary on the wars in Gaul and was written for the sole purpose of propaganda.
    I only ask for the same treatment for the New Testament documents, they deserve that much at least.

They do get the same treatment which is why most of it is NOT deemed historically accurate.
    If you ask me this fact does more to discredit those historians than it does to support their version of the events.

What are you talking about ? I mean Caesar wrote X about Y, someone else living at the same period also wrote X about Y, and someone else, and someone else. This is a core principle for historical accuracy.

i.e > We have many sources which agree on many different things. Those 'things' accuracy goes up while things which aren't mentioned multiple times accuracy do not.
    There is also plenty of archeological evidence which supports the New Testament.

There is a lot of archeological evidence which support THINGS from the New Testament.

We have a historical record which says 4,000,000 Persians fought 7,000 Greeks at a pass thousands of years ago, we have another that says 1,000,000 vs 6,000, another 800,000 vs 5,000 etc.

The accuracy of 'there was a battle' goes up. Multiple sources and the archeological evidence support this. The numbers involved are completely inaccurate and historians can only guess.
    And that proves that the events described therein are not accurate?

No, it proves that we can't know if it is accurate or not. The same way we can't prove Caesars last words were 'Et tu, Brute?'.

You seem to be under the impression that I 'think' if you can't prove their accuracy that I think I have proven their inaccuracy. I think nothing of the sort.
    Again what does that prove? Nothing!

Whats more believable, an account written by a prominent Roman politician about political matters or an account written by a nobody about a religion.

Please think about that before you answer.
    You see what happens when you get an idea into your head that someone (ME) is arguing something (Caesar did not exist) which they are not arguing?

I don't think you are arguing Caesar didn't exist, I think you are trying to argue the evidence for Christ is the same as the evidence for Caesar, which is frankly ridiculous.
    Your problem is that you see the New Testament writings as one book written by a collaboration of biased individuals who are only out to prove one thing – that Jesus was the Son of God.

Nope, thats what you think 'I think'.
    It’s not. It is a collection of books and letters written by different individuals in different places at different times, probably at a time when they weren’t sure if any of the others were alive or not. And yet you find within their pages an attention to detail in some of the lesser important elements of their accounts which precludes that they were just making it all up just to save face.

We seem to have a miscommunication here. I am perfectly aware of everything you just said and I am perfectly aware certain aspects of the New Testament are relatively historically accurate.
    Then you have the so called contradictions which rules out collaboration. If they all sat down together and were just a bunch of idiots making it all up then there would be no contradictions at all, which like I said earlier would raise the red flag to the majority of historians worth their salt analyzing their accounts today.

What exactly do you think I am arguing ? I never said any of the above.
    So if early Christians had spent more time sculpting statues of Jesus and inscribing ‘Jesus was the Son of God’ all over the place then Christianity would more credible? That’s like saying in 2000 years from now figurines of Hitler would be more valuable than Mein Kampf. And ye guys have the audacity to call our reasoning illogical.

Thats actually very funny. Wrong but funny.

2000 years later we will have countless accounts of Hitler from countless sources. If half of the History channels programs survive for instance, Hitlers existence would be absolutely certain.
    Given this chart and your own criteria the NT wins hands down.

Oh goody a chart.

1. 5250+ manuscripts. Which the vast majority are mostly copies of each other unless the Bible is a lot bigger then I remember. i.e > Not multiple accounts of the same thing. Multiple copies.
    2. Date written. 48 - 100 A.D. Oh goody your chart must be from a Christian website, 48 A.D eh ? Wiki says 65 A.D. I'm not even going to argue for the others, Caesars were written during his lifetime. The NT was not written during Christs and probably not during the Apostles lifetimes either.
    3. Date of Earliest portion. Yep you win there.

So no, under historical criteria the NT does not pass. Would you like the link again or would you like me to repeat the criteria here ?
    Name the ones that were not eyewitness and tell us how you concluded that they were not in fact eyewitnesses.

We have no proof of who wrote the Gospels and most eyewitnesses to Jesus' death would likely be dead by the time the Gospels were written.
    We also have Tacitus, Pliny, Josephus and other extra biblical sources which agree that a Jesus who was viewed as the Christ existed

Please show me this evidence ? I've heard Josephus before but not the others.
    My point is that you won’t find written down in the history of the Roman empire any derogatory slurs (on the part of the history writer) against Caesar,

Cicero, Bibulus, Gaius Memmius and Catullas all slandered Caesar as been a homosexual among many other things.

Undesirable accounts of Caesar are readily available, he was not popular with many senators.
    so why should you expect to find them in other historical accounts of other people whom the writer thought worthy of writing about?

Because we do.
    That doesn’t prove Jesus was the Son of God but it sure doesn’t mean that the writings are bogus either.

I never said it meant the writings are bogus. Your misinterpreting what I'm saying.

We are supposed to be arguing about the historical accuracy of the Gospels and why other ancient documents are more accepted using the historical method.

I never suggested they were bogus. They might have a 0% historical accuracy rating and still be true. But we can't 'prove' they are true. We also cannot prove they are false (which is worse)
    Upon his death in AD 14, Augustus was declared a god by the Senate, to be worshipped by the Romans

Your point ?
    Yes but what if you were left with just the Roman version of the life of Caesar? Would you throw that out as unhistorical? I think not. Hence the hypocritical double standard when it comes to the New Testament documents.

By Roman version what do you mean ? If we were left with only Caesars writings about himself with no other writings or archeological proof would we throw it out as unhistorical ?

Of course we would. It would be at the same level as the Bible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

No! I am saying that most beliefs or worldviews other than naturalism open the door to something beyond the physical universe.
    Yes but they should surely, if being consistent, open the door to everything beyond the physical universe. Anything humans can imagine. And we have imagined an awful lot. There are thousands of religions and hundreds of thousands if not millions of claimed supernatural phenomena or happenings, witnessed or otherwise.

What exactly is it about Christianity's specific claims of supernatural happenings that someone coming to this with an open mind but without the preconceived notion that God exists, would find compelling that they wouldn't find in most other stories of supernatural events that believers claim are true?
    So, yes, I guess, that at a purely perfunctory and cursory level, all supernatural claims are plausible - in the same way that natural claims are also plausible. That there is an abundance of supernatural claims - both from within Christianity and outside - doesn't actually mean that they are all false.

Yeah but that isn't it issue is it. :confused:

Christian apologetics are about the idea that Christian faith is rational and reasonable, so I assume this thread is about, rather than about Christians arguing that atheists haven't put forward a good enough reason to stop believing.

The main reply to most of the objections being put forward here is that yes all these things are implausible if you start from a position of non-belief. But isn't that not exactly where we are supposed to be starting from?

If Christian faith is rational and reasonable it should be possible to get from a position of non-belief to a position of belief following a rational argument.

There is no point attacking us for being close minded to the possibilities, everyone is close minded to possibilities until they are presented to arguments not to be.

I'm reminded of the old saying that Christians are atheists with the exception of one god, actual atheists just take it one step further.

So you guys already dismiss 99.999% of supernatural claims as things you see no reason to believe in. Atheists extend this to Christianity, and are then dismissed as being close minded. Yes we are, that is the point.

What is the argument that applies to Christianity that doesn't apply to all other supernatural events (which neither of us believe in) that should take a non-believer and rationally transport them to being a believer.

People have mentioned eye-witnesses a lot, but to me that doesn't make sense. Most supernatural events have eye witnesses. Neither of us believe in them simply because they have eye witnesses. There are far more eye witnesses to the miracles of Jim Jones than to Jesus, I don't believe in Jim Jones and I imagine neither do you (interestingly some of his ex-followers who no longer believe he was sent by God still believe he had magical healing power)

So there has to be more to the argument than simply saying that the resurrection has people claiming to have witnessed it.

There is no point attacking us for being close minded to the possibilities

I haven't attacked you guys over anything - especially about being closed minded. If you happen to think that belief in the supernatural opens all possibilities, and these possibilities are all of equal probability, then bully for you. I don't.
    I'm reminded of the old saying that Christians are atheists with the exception of one god, actual atheists just take it one step further.

If you put any weight on the old saying that we Christians are only a hop-step-and-a-jump away from being atheists that again is just fine. But I fail to see that actually means. I don't bother saying that you are only one god away from being a theist because I believe it would be a childish way of trying to muddy the waters.
    If Christian faith is rational and reasonable it should be possible to get from a position of non-belief to a position of belief following a rational argument.

There are plenty of former non-Christians who would state that they found the arguments for Christianity instrumental in convincing them of the truth claims of Christianity. There are still more who found the arguments presented to be sufficiently rational to help them along the road to faith in Jesus, the resurrection etc.

Again, I fail to see your point. :confused: Your rational arguments, for example, have failed to convince me. So I'm not sure where that leaves you and your criticism of Christianity apparent failure to muster rational arguments.

I haven't attacked you guys over anything - especially about being closed minded.
    Really? That certainly seems to be the main criticism here, from you and others.

Every time it is mentioned that people don't rise from the dead it is countered with the accusation that we are excluding God as a possibility. Which we are, because what is the reason not to? One hasn't been given yet. The suggestion that this is a fault of atheist close mindedness is some what silly, since Christians are almost as close minded to the the supernatural as atheists are, with good case.
    If you happen to think that belief in the supernatural opens all possibilities, and these possibilities are all of equal probability, then bully for you. I don't.

Ok, so what makes your set of supernatural beings and events more probable than any others?

Why should we consider them but not other ones when looking at the rationality of Christianity?
    If you put any weight on the old saying that we Christians are only a hop-step-and-a-jump away from being atheists that again is just fine. But I fail to see that actually means. I don't bother saying that you are only one god away from being a theist because I believe it would be a childish way of trying to muddy the waters.

It means that there is no point saying that we should consider the supernatural in a general way. You guys disregard the infinite set of the supernatural nearly as much as we do.

What Christians on this thread want us to consider is their specific set of the supernatural, but not all the others.

So what is the justification for that? What makes Christian supernatural claims more probable or rational than all others?
    There are plenty of former non-Christians who would state that they found the arguments for Christianity instrumental in convincing them of the truth claims of Christianity. There are still more who found the arguments presented to be sufficiently rational to help them along the road to faith in Jesus, the resurrection etc.

Ok, so what are those arguments? And how do they apply to Christianity but not any other supernatural belief? Or is it simply that we should only try and apply them to Christianity, but not to any other supernatural belief (which apparently what the eye witness claim is, since we obviously aren't supposed to believe everyone who has ever claimed to see something supernatural)
    Your rational arguments, for example, have failed to convince me.
    That is not, as far as I know, the point of this thread, though I did predict at the very start that this is exactly how this thread would go :pac:

Christian apologetics are supposed to be about the rationality behind Christianity, not the rationality behind not being a Christian. Not being a Christian is the default state (or should be) and there is supposed to be a rational argument to get from there to believing in Christianity.

So can we discuss the rational arguments? Or would you guys like to go back to the far easier task of discussion how atheists have not convinced you to not be Christians?
    So I'm not sure where that leaves you and your criticism of Christianity apparent failure to muster rational arguments.

It leaves me with a lot of unanswered questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭BrianCalgary

'why did the Romans not present the body' Jesus may not have died from the crucifixion. Not everyone died from it, and Jesus would have had enough followers to take him down before he died. If he did die from the crucifixion* it is possible there were enough people with self interest to propel the myth of the resurrection (and stole his body/bribing the guards?!?). This is entirely plausible to my mind - a lot more so than a resurrection.

This is not plausible at all.
    First off where is you documentation showing that not everyone died from crucifixion?

Examinations of what happened to Jesus' body through the scourging, crucifixion and finally the piercing of his heart, he was dead.

The apostles had nothing to gain from their witness of Christ, except for possible death. There were no riches and no power.

The leader of Waco had power over people to gain.

The apostles had nothing to gain from their witness of Christ, except for possible death. There were no riches and no power.

That is a ridiculous statement to make. You have no idea what they may or may not have had to gain from either deluding themselves into believing Jesus had risen, or even actively lying about Jesus rising.

A blanket statement that they had nothing to gain is meaningless and could be applied to anyone claiming to believe in the supernatural while claiming righteousness.

What did Jim Jones have to gain from starting Jones town? He ended up killing himself and everyone else. Using the logic that seems so popular on this forum therefore what he believed in must have been true or at the very least he must have believed it was true.

Except it clearly wasn't because there is documented evidence that he knew he was defrauding people. So why would someone who knew it was all fake still kill themselves. The answer in Jones' case appears to be because he was nuts. And why would hundreds of people, some of which didn't believe in Jones any more, kill themselves on his command. Someone of them believed, some of them didn't but were pressured into it, some of them were equally nuts.

Imagine the story people 2,000 years from now would have about Jonestone if the only record that remained was the writings of true believers? Do you think people would be sitting around saying that Jones must have been a miracle healer since why else would so many people happily die at his command?

That is a ridiculous statement to make. ?

Then why dont you enlighten us and tell us what they had to gain?

You trying to make it analogous to Waco is ludicrous.
    Where did the apostles encourage people to go out and make their own camps and remove themselves from society?
    Where did the apostles encourage people to follow them and cut themselves off from society?

Then why dont you enlighten us and tell us what they had to gain?
    I've no idea, I wasn't there. Neither were you.

We only have a filtered version of events written decades after they happened by the religious followers who came afterwards (lets ask Tom Cruise what he really thinks of L. Ron Hubbard shall we...)

We have no idea what actually happened, why anyone may have lied or conned or been deluded.

Therefore your claim then that they had nothing to gain by lying or being deluded is utterly baseless and frankly ridiculous.
    You trying to make it analogous to Waco is ludicrous.
    Well it was Jonestown actually, and I wasn't making it analogous I was pointing out that humans are not predictable machines who always make predictable judgements. Jim Jones had nothing to gain by killing himself, he still did it without actually believing he was a prophet.
    Where did the apostles encourage people to go out and make their own camps and remove themselves from society?

What does that have to do with anything?

You are (on purpose I would imagine) are utterly missing the point.

Your argument is that they must have believed in Jesus' resurrection because they would have nothing to gain by going along with it if they didn't believe. I'm saying that is nonsense reasoning. Even if we accept the time line as told in the Bible, humans do harmful things to themselves without any apparent gain all the time.

Really? That certainly seems to be the main criticism here, from you and others.

Or just your understanding of it. Again, I've not actually criticised you about your closed minds. Those words never passed my keyboard until you accused me of making such a claim. But I forgive you for making falsehoods.
    Ok, so what makes your set of supernatural beings and events more probable than any others?

Why should we consider them but not other ones when looking at the rationality of Christianity?

Oh please! What do you want me to say? You have been visiting this forum for years now with the intention of typing countless reams of text that are almost entirely in direct opposition to Christianity. Do you expect me to propose something new? If after all the arguments you still think Christianity a load of rot then I'm not sure argument will sway you.

Moving on to the second line, you are free to consider whatever you want in terms of the rationality of Christianity - be it supporting it's apparent rationality or undermining the clams that it is rational. So much so, that if you decide to convert to Judaism tomorrow, I will say "more power to you".

Your initial question would probably require one to compare the claims of each and every religion to Christianity. I'm certainly not the person to undertake such a monumental task, and given that you think all religions are bogus, it seems an entirely pointless endeavour. But , hey, there is nothing stopping you doing the ground work.
    It means that there is no point saying that we should consider the supernatural in a general way. You guys disregard the infinite set of the supernatural nearly as much as we do.

Yes, thank you, I'm aware of what you are trying to get at. Seems as we are in the business of spelling it out again, my response was that your point was pointless. Your atheism is not the yardstick I measure my theism against. Nor should it be. Any attempts to measure theistic beliefs (of whatever hue) by your own (non-)beliefs ignores the historical position that atheism has occupied throughout history, including up to this very day.

That I don't believe many supernatural claims - even from within Christianity - is due, I believe, to the application of rational thought. While I accept other claims by the same process (at least as part of a wider process). If you believe that all supernatural claims are equal - in other words, all are bogus - then so be it. I just happen to believe that not all are.
    What Christians on this thread want us to consider is their specific set of the supernatural, but not all the others.

Not from what I see. (The counter notion seems to be a recent theme with you.) You are free to consider whatever you want and no one is stopping you. However, given that this is the Christianity forum, I suggest we stick to discussing the forum's subject. So, just as the Islamic forum is the best place to discuss Islam and the wrestling forum is the best place to discuss the finer points of men in Lycra underpants hurling each other through tables, here we sometimes manage to discuss Christianity.

That is not, as far as I know, the point of this thread, though I did predict at the very start that this is exactly how this thread would go :pac:

Good for you. We will shortly be sending you out your prize money of USD25,320,000.00 (twenty-five million, three hundred and twenty thousand US dollars), but first I'll need your credit card details and a small deposit (USD100) to activate Major Bayero's bank accounts.
    Christian apologetics are supposed to be about the rationality behind Christianity...

So can we discuss the rational arguments? Or would you guys like to go back to the far easier task of discussion how atheists have not convinced you to not be Christians?

You presumably think your position of atheism is based on rational argument. No? And yet you have undoubtedly failed to win people over by your arguments for atheism - myself being an example. So, if you are putting any weight on the reality that - shock! horror! - not everybody who hears Christian apologetics is convinced, then you should turn the mirror right back on your own beliefs and see what that means for them if anything.

Besides, I've already stated that there are people who have been convinced by argument alone. Though I would say in they are in the minority. Most would use apologetics as a part of the wider journey to faith in Jesus.

Or just your understanding of it. Again, I've not actually criticised you about your closed minds.

Really? What was all this about then

"Furthermore, I think it rather disingenuous to reduce the biblical accounts - and all the background historicity, psychology and whatever else - to consisting of "dubious eyewitness accounts" etc. It seems like nothing more than a biased personal proclamation, rather than a historical claim."

"It seems to me that it's not necessarily the evidence (or lack of) that is the problem. Presumably some people just don't believe that resurrection is possible - no matter what evidence is presented"

if not to suggest that "some people" are closed off to the possibility of a resurrection no matter what evidence is presented?

'Cause where I'm standing Fanny it ain't that some people just don't believe that a resurrection is possible (most of the atheists and sceptics believe anything is possible given a method to achieve it), it is pretty much the lack of evidence and the mound of alternative explanation that don't require the introduction of a supernatural deity, something that you said shouldn't be necessary.
    That I don't believe many supernatural claims - even from within Christianity - is due, I believe, to the application of rational thought. While I accept other claims by the same process (at least as part of a wider process). If you believe that all supernatural claims are equal - in other words, all are bogus - then so be it. I just happen to believe that not all are.

So based on the evidence presented you have decided that some supernatural claims are not plausible and therefore do not believe in them.

You sure it isn't that you are one of these people who just wouldn't believe in supernatural claim X, no matter how much evidence was presented to you?

See where I'm going with that ... :pac:

You sure it isn't that you are one of these people who just wouldn't believe in supernatural claim X, no matter how much evidence was presented to you?

See where I'm going with that ... :pac:
    I see where you're going with that, and you almost have a point.

The problem is that there is a big difference between rejecting every claim in a set of possible claims, and rejecting only a select few.
    You reject every supernatural claim, no matter what it is, because you reject "the supernatural" or the superset of supernatural claims. It is not possible for you to accept a supernatural claim, because they are not even options.
    Fanny however, accepts "the supernatural," meaning she actually has options of claims to choose from, and is actually able to consider them as being possible. Perhaps you both reject a supernatural claim for the same reason. It still is not the same. You are guaranteed to reject it, whilst Fanny is able to decide whether or not it belongs in the category of supernatural claims she considers to be true.

Sure, you have reasons to reject the supernatural, but this is not the point. The point is that your claim of hypocrisy is false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

You reject every supernatural claim, no matter what it is, because you reject "the supernatural" or the superset of supernatural claims. It is not possible for you to accept a supernatural claim, because they are not even options.
    Franny however, accepts "the supernatural," meaning she actually has options of claims to choose from, and is actually able to consider them as being possible.
    It is worth remembering what is actually meant by supernatural. It is something beyond what can be scientifically detected. And as such, I don't know how it can make any sense to “consider them as being possible”. By their nature, they do not lend themselves to such rational assessment. You can do little more than arbitrarily decide which if any of such claims you want to believe in. To some of us it seems reasonable, and it is certainly consistent, to reject them all..... Until there is evidence found for them. At which point they will be downgraded from supernatural to plain old natural.
    Of course it is worth pointing out that according to the view broadly taken by Christians on this thread, the resurrection of Jesus was not a supernatural event. They claim that the evidence supports the view that this historical event did in fact occur and as such, it was a natural event, albeit an extremely rare if not unique one.

BTW, unless Fanny has had some recent gender realignment, I am fairly sure she is a he! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

lugha wrote: »
    BTW, unless Fanny has had some recent gender realignment, I am fairly sure she is a he! ;)

I tell you, men using women's names on the internet, it's not natural!

lugha wrote: »
    Woops.....I really don't know.

Your argument is that they must have believed in Jesus' resurrection because they would have nothing to gain by going along with it if they didn't believe. I'm saying that is nonsense reasoning. Even if we accept the time line as told in the Bible, humans do harmful things to themselves without any apparent gain all the time.

The problem as I see it is this. Unless it can be proven that dead people can rise naturally from the dead then nobody is going to believe the claim that somebody rose supernaturally from the dead. So unless your are open to the possibility that their just might be more to our natural world than mere nature then no amount of evidence will convince otherwise. But a detailed study of the texts points towards the position that - the writers at least - truly believed that Jesus rose supernaturally from the dead i.e. that God raised Him, not that he simply raised naturally from the dead. Now they could all have been deluded due to hallucinations which can be caused by grieving. Or someone could have been rigging everything to make it look like Jesus rose. In any case it remains the case that the disciples themselves actually believed that Jesus raised from the dead. Of this there is very little doubt.

Now if we can be pretty certain that the disciples at least genuinely believed that Jesus rose then the questions is how did they came to hold to this belief in the first place? What are the most common theories which attempt to explain this genuinely held belief on the part of the displaces that Jesus was raised bodily from the dead? Hallucinations? OK let us assume that they merely saw visions of Christ after His death due to the intense grieving period that ensued soon thereafter. If that is the case then why didn’t they see visions that you’d expect a Jew of that time to see? An Old Testament Son of Man vision coming on clouds of glory for instance? Or even a transfigured man just like the mount of transfiguration experienced that they record happening before Jesus’ death? Why are all the post mortem appearances that of an ordinary flesh and blood man if they were really hallucinating? The hallucinating theory begs the question. If they were truly in a state of hallucination then those hallucinations would project an expected glorified image of Christ instead of the ordinary man that is recorded in their accounts. Surely the skeptic will concede that the hallucination theory is shaky given what we know about hallucinations? So what are the other theories which attempt to explain the disciples genuinely held belief that Jesus rose bodily from the grave?

That somebody stole the body which gave rise to the belief that He rose?
    Well if somebody stole the body then the question must be answered: Who?

There are only three interested parties that had any kind of vested interest in doing so. The Jewish Leaders, the Romans and the Disciples themselves. If it was the Disciples themselves then that means that they were liars and not genuine believers in the actually bodily resurrection of Jesus from the grave. Which means that when they wrote their accounts and preached their message they knew all along that they were lying and then willingly died for a lie which they knew by the standard of their own preaching would lead them to condemnation from the God that they went around preaching about. Sound plausible? Not to me.

So could it have been the Jewish Leaders who stole the body which in turn initiated the hallucinations in the Disciples? If it was the Jews then the first thing they would have done was produce the body to stop the preaching of the Disciples that he was risen. Why? Because they (the Disciples) were going around preaching that the man who they (the Jewish Leaders) condemned to death was raised by none other than God Himself meaning that they (the Jewish Leaders) were wrong before God in doing so. So it is untenable that they would have stolen the body and not have produced it. So we are left with the Roman Authorities. Did they steal the body? If they did then they too would have produced the body in order to quell the controversy swelling in their realm. They recognized that these new Christians were no threat to their empire but the Jews which prevailed on the Romans to instigate the crucifixion of Jesus for His blasphemy and treason would have done the same thing to get the Romans to produce the body of Jesus had the Romans actually stolen it, and for the sake of stabilising the Judean province Pilate would have concurred and granted the request. So if none of these three candidates stole the body then where did the body go? Were there any other parties which had vested interests in risking life and limb by stealing the body of Jesus? And if there was who were they? and what was their vested interest?

Another theory is that the women who reported the resurrection simply went to the wrong tomb. The best remedy for this would have been to take them to the right one. Or that Jesus simply resuscitated after pretending to be dead for three days and even though He was hardly able to carry his cross before his crucifixion was able to roll a boulder out of the way three days after it. I would say that resuscitation is not an option and even if He did only resuscitate, he as a mere natural man would hardly have been in any condition to be able to unwrap himself form the grave clothes never mind to move a huge boulder from the entrance to His tomb.

So if the Disciples genuinely believed that Jesus rose bodily from the grave. And their genuine belief wasn’t due to hallucinations and we can’t find a suitable candidate with sufficient motive for stealing the body who would not have produce it in order to show the Disciples that they were deluded about Jesus, then we have a very unusual situation on our hands.

How can we explain the fact that a group of men and women (not just one individual) came to genuinely believe that Jesus was the Son of God and that He rose from the dead?

If the body was just thrown to dogs or dumped on a Roman thrash heap then what the writers of the New Testament texts say about His burial in their accounts was a lie. And if they were lying about that then they must have been lying about other things too, probably everything, but one only need read the accounts and they will be revealed as simple honest reporters of the events they recount. To me these writers just don’t sound like they were lying, but be that as it may, if they were lying then why would they have included the embarrassing fact that it was women who first reported the empty tomb/resurrection in a culture which viewed women’s testimony as nothing? Or that Jesus referred to Himself as the Son of Man when Gentiles would not know what that phrase meant. If all your doing is lying and trying to convince people that Jesus was the Son of God then why muddy your lie with irrelevant Old Testament phrases like Son of Man? Which to a non Jew (to whom Mark primarily wrote) means that He was just a normal human being. In each account especially Mark’s you have Jesus referring to Himself as Son of Man all the time. Why? Because when he was preaching He was in a Jewish environment where they understood what that phrase meant – The Messiah. But when it came time for Mark to write his Gospel he was simply reiterating what Jesus actually said even though it hurt his story to Gentiles, if all he was out to do was prove that Jesus was the Son of God then why hurt your story like this? It is little insignificant things like these which tip the scale on the side that they were simple reporters of events that they had experienced.

You don’t find this kind of faithful story telling in liars only out show that somebody was the Son of God. If they were just making up a lie then they did not know that their little movement would eventually become the world wide movement that it has become today, so they wouldn’t have known that 2000 years later people would still be scrutinizing their every word to see whether or not they were lying, and yet thousands of people everyday read their accounts and have confessed changed lives because of what they read. These Disciples not only went around preaching this lie but were persecuted for it and eventually tortured and put to death because of it and not only did they die for it but they all died alone for it too, under the most intensive persecution to get them renege on this lie that they had all made up together as a bunch of frauds just so they could serve their pride and go out saying that they stayed faithful to a Jesus who even they knew wasn’t who they preached He was all along.

Is anyone seriously going to turn around and say that that is more plausible position to take? These people had lives, careers, families and friends. Why would they all do this if they knew it was a lie? I can sort of understand why someone would do it if they were simply doing what they believed was their duty for a religion that they have converted to because they believe in the religion for whatever reason. But these disciples claimed that they were eye witnesses to the miracles that Jesus performed in His earthly ministry, that they seen Jesus glorified on the mount of transfiguration before His death then seen Him alive and vital after His death and then seen Him ascend into the sky with the promise to return one day to set this world right. They were either lying about all this or were being honest in their reporting. It is simply one or the other. I think the evidence is strongly in their favor as being honest reporters of the things that they really did see and experience. I’ve yet to hear anything else that explains it better. Hence He must have risen, that’s why we say it is the only plausible explanation left. It explains why the tomb was empty, the post mortem appearances, and the genuinely held belief in Him as the Son of God on the part of the Disciples. No other single explanation can explain all these things together. If you have one then I’m all ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭postcynical

Woops.....I really don't know.

Let's not ask for irrefutable eye-witness evidence...

SW- Bit of a monster you've born here, hope it goes well. Too fast moving a thread for me to keep up with.

Tell me about it, I can only get time at night to post. Have to hit the hey now, wrecked, night night all :D

You reject every supernatural claim, no matter what it is, because you reject "the supernatural" or the superset of supernatural claims.

I certainly do not. That was my point, such an assertion is a straw man, it isn't my position nor do I think it is the position of most of the atheists around these parts.

The definition of supernatural seems some what fluid but to me the supernatural is simply an explanation that requires the alteration or whole sale re-evalutation of the understood laws of nature. It is a reflection of our understanding more than anything, as ultimately anything that exists is natural. If God exists and raised Jesus from the dead then that is as natural an occurrence as an electron rotating around a proton. We term such an explanation supernatural simply because it works outside of what we understand, btu that is just because we don't understand things until we understand them.

Most of the advances in quantum physics over the last 100 years could be termed supernatural from the point of view of someone living 100 years ago. The would have appeared to contradict the way the world is supposed to work (they still do for a lot of people and cause many a headache when trying to get one's head around them).

It would be as silly to day to say that religious supernatural explanations cannot be the reason some observed phenomena is happening simply because they require an extension or alteration of the known laws of physics as it would be for someone 100 years ago to say that about quantum theory. Science is basically that, the continued extension or alteration of the known laws of physics.

So long story short I've no issue with supernatural explanations just because they are supernatural explanations, and I do not reject supernatural explanations just because they require an alteration or extension of the known laws of physics.

If I'm rejecting a supernatural explanation it is because I do not feel there is enough to support such an explanation and probably there is an alternative explanation that doesn't require the bending or breaking of existing rules.

Updating scientific understanding is a necessity in science but it is not something to be taken lightly and certainly not something to be done on a whim.

This was my point about all the other supernatural claims of all the other religions. Christians may believe there is sufficient evidence to include the Christian god as a factor in observed phenomena, so things like the resurrection become and fall into likely plausible natural explanations.

But I haven't been given a reason, nor am I aware of any, to do this that couldn't also be applied to a whole host of other supernatural claims throughout history. And thus my model of "How the World Works" would become awful muddled if I started introducing all these, often very contradictory, concepts into it.

You guys seem happy to just apply this to Christianity and ignore everything else. I'm not that would seem very inconsistent.
    Sure, you have reasons to reject the supernatural, but this is not the point. The point is that your claim of hypocrisy is false.

The claim of hypocrisy comes from the idea that we should only let in supernatural explanations for Christianity, yet for some reason leave out supernatural explanations from other religions.

So far no one has put forward a rational reason, good or otherwise, that we should do this. You guys just seem to do this, yet then say that us atheists have trouble with the resurrection because we are closed to the idea of a supernatural explanation.

Rather than being closed to supernatural explanations for the resurrection if anything the problem is the opposite, I can't just consider the Christian supernatural claims, and if the reasons why these claims should be taken serious apply then why don't they apply to a host of other supernatural claims?

I've no idea, I wasn't there. Neither were you.

We only have a filtered version of events written decades after they happened by the religious followers who came afterwards (lets ask Tom Cruise what he really thinks of L. Ron Hubbard shall we...)

We have no idea what actually happened, why anyone may have lied or conned or been deluded. .

We have loads of idea what happened, we have the historical record. It amazes me how you can say to me 'how do you know you weren't there?' when you will stand up and claim evolution, yet you weren't there? Your double standard is amazing. :confused: And now your comparing Christianity to scirntology, or will you deny that as well?

Therefore your claim then that they had nothing to gain by lying or being deluded is utterly baseless and frankly ridiculous. .
    Why and how?
    Well it was Jonestown actually, and I wasn't making it analogous I was pointing out that humans are not predictable machines who always make predictable judgements. Jim Jones had nothing to gain by killing himself, he still did it without actually believing he was a prophet. .
    Heavens you brought up Jonestownin post #3 and right away compared it to the claims of the apostles. :confused: And then you bring it up again in post #103. :confused:

What does that have to do with anything?.
    Because that's what Jones did and you keep comparing the two.
    You are (on purpose I would imagine) are utterly missing the point. .
    No, its probably because you are so inconsistent and around teh bend that your point is impossible to determine.

No my argument is that they believe in the resurrection because they witnessed the risen Christ.

Stop putting words into my mouth.:mad:

The claim of hypocrisy comes from the idea that we should only let in supernatural explanations for Christianity, yet for some reason leave out supernatural explanations from other religions.

So far no one has put forward a rational reason, good or otherwise, that we should do this. You guys just seem to do this, yet then say that us atheists have trouble with the resurrection because we are closed to the idea of a supernatural explanation.

Rather than being closed to supernatural explanations for the resurrection if anything the problem is the opposite, I can't just consider the Christian supernatural claims, and if the reasons why these claims should be taken serious apply then why don't they apply to a host of other supernatural claims?
    I know of no Christian that denies the supernatural. The soource of teh supernatural is what needs to be explained.