Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you're not doing anything this evening...

• 26-10-2009 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭

Hanley will coming out to CrossFit Ireland tonight and we'll be tackling that lovely workout, "Fran". 21 Thrusters, then 21 Pull Ups, 15 Thrusters, 15 Pull Ups, 9 Thrusters, 9 Pull Ups.

We'll be training at 6pm and 7pm tonight if anyone fancies coming out to try their hand at this beast. Even if don't think you'd be up to a full Fran, we can scale the weight of the Thrusters, the reps, and we've bands to assist pull ups as well.

Hope ya can make it,
    Col

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Hanley will coming out to CrossFit Ireland tonight and we'll be tackling that lovely workout, "Fran". 21 Thrusters, then 21 Pull Ups, 15 Thrusters, 15 Pull Ups, 9 Thrusters, 9 Pull Ups.

We'll be training at 6pm and 7pm tonight if anyone fancies coming out to try their hand at this beast. Even if don't think you'd be up to a full Fran, we can scale the weight of the Thrusters, the reps, and we've bands to assist pull ups as well.

Hope ya can make it,
    Col

Guys, you should really try and come along to this, if for no other reason than to see me collapsed and curled up crying afterwards!! It should be good craic too!!

I'm really looking forward to this. I've never done a CF workout as part of a group when I've had a reasonable conditioning level and could push myself (I was a whole 10kg fatter at the invitational, so it doesn't count) so I hope I'll get an extra boost today and finally go sub-4!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Can't make it, but good luck with it lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

when you die can i have your squat?

also good luck lad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Im really gonna try make it out to this , Id love to see whats going on, im actually heading out to a kettle bell seminar on nov 1st so i could tie in some crossfit aswell!

This is a long shot but if anyones heading from the dundrum shopping centre area would you be able to give me a lift :P, id really like to head up and put some faces to names!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

I wanna see videos. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

Cardio I will give you a lift no bother, send me on your number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

please video it please!!

it was videod, and it was awesome :P ,im absolutly dead, big thanks for gabgab for the lift, much appreciated :P

Great way to spend the bank holiday. Big thanks to all the lads in CFI!!!

I was pretty gutted with my time - 4.12. Happy with the performance tho. I didn't move for 25-30 minutes afterwards so I don't think I could really have pushed any harder.

I got thru all the thrusters unbroken this time, but I think they killed my pull ups. Seriously raging that I just can't get thru more of the pull ups consistently. My forearms gave out AGAIN today. Vom. Pretty sure the last reps of my 9 pull ups were ugly andn ot worth counting too, but c'est la vie!!

Met Cardio as well today, he pushed hard thru the workout and stubbornly, but admireably, refused to scale his pull ups. So props for that dude!!

And guys, don't believe a word Colm says. About anything!!!

P1000478.jpg

i had been lying on the floor and not talking for about 20 minutes before that photo was taken btw :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

James cheated. he's on roids, he cheated, he had a lighter bar, he cheated, he started before Will said go, he cheated, his pull ups didn't count, he cheated.

:D:D:D:D

Time for me was 4:36 - then I did my usual thing of running out the door for a good few minutes. I get ridiculous claustrophobia after intense workouts and need to be outside. Tis crazy.

Weirdly, this Fran didn't feel as bad as in July when I got 5:19. My legs seized up on the 15s back then, and I literally wanted to cut my arms off after the pain was so intense. This time it felt a good deal better. 21 on the Thrusters, pull ups were awful tho, 3 sets for the first one. I then decided that I'd do 3 sets of 5 with 5 breaths in between. Ditto on the pull ups. Tom said one or two were serious chin reaching so I'll have a look and see on that.

For me, I think I developed a bit of mental strength/tenacity on this. I just put the head down and decided what had to be done, had to be done. I'd deal with the discomfort later. Thing with Fran is, you don't have anything specific that hurts, just a general sense of doom. Then afterwards, it catches up with you.

Cardio, nice to meet you. And Fran is a harsh aul mistress to cut your teeth into and you equipped yourself pretty well.

Fair play to James for the 4:12. It always changes the game when you workout with people and you've a coach there with you. I'd advise everyone to at least try a workout in a group setting, just to see the difference it makes. We'll try and have a fun open day soon enough for people to come out and play with us.

Oh, and I look awesomely serious in that photo there :D

Thanks again to James and Cardio for coming out, and everyone who worked out/shouted at me.

Good work lads. :D Very nice times.

Hanley: You look very lean compared to how I remember you looking. I remember you saying you were changing diet and exercise patterns to shift some fat. Looks like it worked anyway. Fair play.

Khannie wrote: »
    Hanley: You look very lean compared to how I remember you looking. I remember you saying you were changing diet and exercise patterns to shift some fat. Looks like it worked anyway. Fair play.

Cheers dude!! I've gone from 110kg w/ a 41 inch waist at my heaviest, down to 96.8kg this morning with a 35 inch waist!! Reckon I'll just keep going and see where it takes me until I start to become weak...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Hanley wrote: »
    Cheers dude!! I've gone from 110kg w/ a 41 inch waist at my heaviest, down to 96.8kg this morning with a 35 inch waist!! Reckon I'll just keep going and see where it takes me until I start to become weak...

Jeez... not one to throw praise about, but fook me thats some going. Fair play man!

Here's my Fran;

Still processing atm. Props to Cardio for videoing!

Here's my Fran;

as i am watching this i just happen to have a heart rate monitor on and its feckin going up over 100bpm just watching!!

Jesus. That's nice work. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

what weight do you use for the thrusters??

45Kg

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Here's my Fran;

Well done. Your pull ups let you down.

If you could get the kipping going like Colm you could knock a lot more off it. Looks like you are wasting way too much energy doing something half way between a kip and a proper pull up.

Fair play to Colm and the rest too. I'm wrecked after watching ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

45Kg

is that a standard or how do you taylor it for individuals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

bubbleking wrote: »
    is that a standard or how do you taylor it for individuals?

That would be the standard for that workout for that day, i think fran is normally 45kgs though , but it also depends on the individual if you able to lift that then try it if not go lighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

Ah it was a good evening and lots of craic, fair play to James who was plenty of craic and put in a cracking performance.

Do you reckon if you broke up the pullups instead of going to failure you could of gone much quicker?

I dont know if I got Colm's bolting for the door on video but I hope so,

That's the standard (or rx'd) weight used by us in Ireland. The technical rx'd weight in the states is 95lbs, because of the weights of their plates over there. For us, it makes more sense to go to 45Kg (99lbs). 42.5Kg just doesn't sit right with me.

For people who can't do the entire workout as rx'd (pronounced 'as prescribed') we have a number of options.

Scale the reps - so instead of doing 21-15-9, do 15-12-9 or 12-9-6 or some other descending combination. Sometimes people can blast through the thrusters, but not the pull ups, so you might end up doing 15-12-9 on the thrusters, but only 9-6-3 on the pull ups.

Scale the weight - this is the option Cardio picked yesterday. He did the workout at the same rep scheme, but did it at 30Kg.

Scale the pull ups - For our girls, Marianne and Eve used jumping pull ups on the rings, whereas Louise did the green band. We've a number of bands, each offering varying degrees of resistance.

Change the movement - If someone is injured, or can't do the movement to a decent enough level to get the effect of a workout, we can change it. Derrick has a quad injury at the moment, so instead of thrusters (a front squat into a push press), he did push presses. Still a good out of breath metabolic hit, if not the same as Fran.

Using any or a combo of the above techniques, we can have everyone take part in the workout, regardless of their level/ability.

Hope this helps,
    Colm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Hey Colm,

Do you ever think Crossfit Level 1 certs will ever be carried out in Ireland?

Everytime a Euopean one gets listed it's sold out in no time!

I'll suppose I'll fly to the States if necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Zamboni wrote: »
    Hey Colm,

There was one held up the north not so long ago if I'm not mistaken.

BossArky wrote: »
    Well done. Your pull ups let you down.

If you could get the kipping going like Colm you could knock a lot more off it. Looks like you are wasting way too much energy doing something half way between a kip and a proper pull up.

Fair play to Colm and the rest too. I'm wrecked after watching ye!

Yah man, no doubt about that in my mind. Total wreck the head job because my left shoulder just won't cooperate and allow me to kip. I'm working on active shoulders to see if it'll help.
    gabgab wrote: »
    Ah it was a good evening and lots of craic, fair play to James who was plenty of craic and put in a cracking performance.

Do you reckon if you broke up the pullups instead of going to failure you could of gone much quicker?

I dont know if I got Colm's bolting for the door on video but I hope so,

Thanks man, I'd a lot of fun.

I'd say if I broke some of the pull ups, and second round of thrusters I'd have gotten thru quicker alright. What's the point in sandbagging tho?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thebiggestjim

Nice work on the Fran, havent tried it yet but will when a little lighter.

Anyone ever try the Ass Wupp'n?

(7 x pullups, 7 x thrusters, 7 x burpees) x 5

Zamboni wrote: »
    Hey Colm,

We might see about hosting a cert sometime next year, haven't really decided yet.

The Ass Whoop workout is fun alright.

We might see about hosting a cert sometime next year, haven't really decided yet.

The Ass Whoop workout is fun alright.

How would you compare the Ass Wupp'n to the Fran? My buddy reckons the Fran is a lot worse.

Fran is definitely worse. It seems that the higher the power output during a workout, the worse you feel after. For the ass whoop, 7 of everything is survivable, if sucky. The 21s on Fran take their toll on you, which starts to catch up on you during the 15s, which is when you have to push through. When you're at the 9s, you can see the end, even if still feels far away!

Sure try a scaled down Fran and see how you get on.

Ya Ill try the scaled down fran in a few weeks. just have to finish off some heavier lifting im concentrating on right now. Im finding the tougher crossfit workouts as much a mental battle as a physical battle. Crossfit really improves your mental strength also.

It's ALL in your fcuking head. Every last rep.

I'm convinced that's why I die so badly after workouts. Like the lads will tell you, I got up from under the pull up bar and lay down again, didn't move for 20 minutes. Just rolled around on the floor. Took 45 mins before I felt even remotely ok. 100% sure this happened because I was able to push my body so hard and just fight thru.

The second you stop it really hits you. Hard!!!

come on man even a scaled down one might only take you 10mins - you can't spare 10mins to give it a crack?