Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards/ cycling -The Ultimate Fred Froum

• 25-10-2009 8:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭

Yes or No?
    theres alot of $h*t being waffled by clueless wannabe's & never will be's

Is Boards a Fred only Forum 69 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No (but im a useless cyclist)
    37% 26 votes
    No, Im fairly clued in on whats going on in cycling and Not just whats on Lances Twitter account
    28% 20 votes
    Unsure of meaning of term fred and am a recreational cyclist/ commuter
    33% 23 votes

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Well I'm fücking sorry but with comments as welcoming as that people like me will never amount to anything else.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,232 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

psycholist wrote: »
    Yes or No?

What about pedant's?

aposter3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Yes or No?

damn right what the hell else would i do with my time !

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭psycholist

seem like our full time boys are getting the same raw deal ,
    pendant? hmmmm, akin to the carlsberg adds , option c seems to be the better choice in that situation :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

It's a grand forum, but just like any there'll be a load of in depth threads that discuss really interesting stuff and there'll be a load of threads asking for help to buy the best €400 MTB. It's the exact same in the Motors forum.

That being said, if you ignore the "fred" threads, you can find a savage amount of information. The thread that jumps to mind most easily is the "what length should my cranks be?" thread - that could have been a short and sarcastic thread but instead it linked to and discussed a load of stuff I've never come across.

The forum's what you make of it, but starting a thread after 40-something posts calling everyone clueless wannabe's and never will be's (sic) just makes you look like a bit of an ass tbh...

-Chris- wrote: »
    It's a grand forum, but just like any there'll be a load of in depth threads that discuss really interesting stuff and there'll be a load of threads asking for help to buy the best €400 MTB. It's the exact same in the Motors forum.

That being said, if you ignore the "fred" threads, you can find a savage amount of information. The thread that jumps to mind most easily is the "what length should my cranks be?" thread - that could have been a short and sarcastic thread but instead it linked to and discussed a load of stuff I've never come across.

The forum's what you make of it, but starting a thread after 40-something posts calling everyone clueless wannabe's and never will be's (sic) just makes you look like a bit of an ass tbh...

True, there are.That said ive noticed an overly critical theme running through alot of the forum and knocking of people who are involved in the passtime/sport at whatever level eg knocking fixie kids, racers, commuters whoever. People are regularly put down and Im looking to find out who is dishing it out and whether they have a bog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

And what benchmarks would you use to decide who has a bog and how much of a bog they have?

And what would you do next? Are you planning a cull, or a mutiny or a "bog prerequisite"?

That said ive noticed an overly critical theme running through alot of the forum and knocking of people who are involved in the passtime/sport at whatever level eg knocking fixie kids, racers, commuters whoever. People are regularly put down and Im looking to find out who is dishing it out and whether they have a bog.

I wouldn't want to get in the way of your righteous mission, but think perhaps you have misunderstood.

Many of the most frequent posters ride fixies, race, and commute. So most of the put downs are tongue-in-cheek self-deprecation directed towards our largely ridiculous hobby.

Don't take things so seriously.

no particular benchmark,just getting a bit peeved seeing all slating on the forum. asking is all, (actually meant to put a question mark in the title) sorry for the typos, english isnt my 1st language as well, seems the grammar police are after me too :P meant to pose this as a question infering some arent as knowledgeable, thought id throw it up seeing as some lad I feel is a fred who hasnt a bog is freely dishing out put downs, im just questioning it.

No cull or mutiny planned , just looking to find out whether anyone else has noticed it amoung others and whether all the boardsies are freds or not
    i know they all arent but just having a laugh myself, its tough mission :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

True, there are.That said ive noticed an overly critical theme running through alot of the forum and knocking of people who are involved in the passtime/sport at whatever level eg knocking fixie kids, racers, commuters whoever. People are regularly put down and Im looking to find out who is dishing it out and whether they have a bog.

Maybe it's a case of fools and misinformation not being tolerated.

Excuse my ignorance, but what's a "bog" in the context of this discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Lumen wrote: »

How long have you been in this country? Do you not know what "haven't a bog" means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

@Lumen: And another thing... where is the chicken gone?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Lumen wrote: »

It's like a blog but without the l. I'm just finished my dinner, so I'm a fed fred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Passtime?

I'm far too euro to vote on this thread.

Raam wrote: »
    How long have you been in this country? Do you not know what "haven't a bog" means?

Ah, a clue. I've got it. Or not :)
    Raam wrote: »
    @Lumen: And another thing... where is the chicken gone?

Boards subscription lapsed so the chicken left me. Fickle buggers those chickens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

OP - can you describe what you would like the forum to be like, and how it fails to live up to this expectation?

By internet standards I think it's remarkably civil and information-rich around here, and it's generally pretty good natured too. Sure there's the occasional flame war - but those are more entertaining that the fuck-you-homo-noob stuff that most internet flaming is composed of. If you think there's poor info being propagated here feel free to post your own correction to it - that's how this whole forum shtick works you see.

If you start inflammatory threads like this you're more likely to have people judge you than judge the forum as a whole. Bare that in mind.

dirk it may help on my crusade to rid boards of freds if you would impart some of your euro knowledge ! :D
    the real Q lads ;) is knocking irish international cyclists ok if you do not have any racing exp or any understanding of racing at any level

or if your a fred :D

Sure, we may not all be the greatest cyclists in the country, but I think the majority of people on here know a hell of a lot about the sport, practical maintenance of bikes, training advice. Seeing people compete in Marmottes, top their club leagues or succeed in other challenges, big and small, surely means this forum is the best possible cycling forum boards could ask for.

Excuse me if I sound a little biased, but I've met a lot of great people through the cycling forum and it's made getting into cycling a lot easier than it probably would have been. Heck, I couldn't even change a tyre when I started cycling.

dirk it may help on my crusade to rid boards of freds if you would impart some of your euro knowledge ! :D
    the real Q lads ;) is knocking irish international cyclists ok if you do not have any racing exp or any understanding of racing at any level

or if your a fred :D

But it's not a professional cycling forum.

I don't think Steven Gerrard complains that the soccer forum is populated by armchair critics and not Alan Hansen and co.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    But it's not a professional cycling forum.

I don't think Steven Gerrard complains that the soccer forum is populated by armchair critics and not Alan Hansen and co.

well put , but
    will questioning their critques not raise the level on the forum ?
    is questioning the pillars of the forums not condoned?

well put , but
    will questioning their critques not raise the level on the forum ?
    is questioning the pillars of the forums not condoned?

Please, do question, but be specific and not having a swipe at the entire forum.

I admit I know nothing about professional cycling, except that Contador is great. However, much like football, if people weren't swapping opinions of who is great or why spurs couldn't win against stoke, then it means no one is interested. And if no one is interested, there are no fans...the sport dies.

I think you need, as a professional (I am guessing) not to take things personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

The answer then is yes.

We all have right to an opinion, and its validity is in no way related to racing pedigree. Its validity stands apart. A genuinely good point is a good point even if it comes from a fat bastard who has never turned a pedal, and bullshit is bullshit even if Eddy Mercks is the one spreading it.

If you're looking for a forum where palmares have to be submitted before one can post and then a poster can only make points about riders with inferior results, well, good luck with that.

That said, the gist I get from this forum's take about Irish riders, past and present, is one of support, awe and affection. What, in short, is your beef?

the aim wasnt to go knocking people, being unhappy about the misinformation that had been posted prior to me setting up the poll for the craic

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57376030#post57376030

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055719039&page=2

two particular instances
    probably isolate ones
    having said that theres very little positive stuff about these lads who are doing what others cant / didnt have op to / the guts to go do

and the slaggin off young lads pissed me off

they not ground enough to question validity of opinion (never said right to voice one mind you)

Yes, I remember the first one, but I stand by my comment about not taking it to heart.

Professional athletes receive criticism all the time, much of it from much higher levels than internet forums. Personally, I would hate to be on the receiving end of a match of the day "he had a howler" analysis by Lee Dixon, and have to turn up for training (in my lambo) the next day and face my team mates knowing my mistake had been picked out and dissected on national television.

But that is in my fantasy world where I am a professional footballer married to Cheryl Cole.

in mine cheryl would be one of three triplets and bigomy would be legal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

well i hate all other people on bikes when i am cycling so i dont care... :)

maybe i hate(love that word!) people who label others.

you lot... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

I love cycling
    I love my bike(s)
    But im not sure what a fred is
    I know its refered to in Kimages book, but other than that....

Maybe that makes me a fred............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

OP. Get over yourself. So what if some fred doesn't support a certain athlete.
    Any athlete that takes criticism from an unknown poster on an internet forum seriously has issues IMHO.
    The person in the threads you referenced has an agenda/opinion on certain riders.
    If you disagree say why and call him out on it. Don't come on and moan. Its like telling tales in the schoolyard.

Jake Gyllenhall, the posterboy for Freds:

0306_jake_gyllenhaal_inf.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

I was up the mountains a few weeks ago and two cyclists passed me going down the other way, after I gave 'the nod' Im sure I heard one say "alri fred"
    they didnt know me, and my name isnt fred, but for some mad reason...[thinks] ahh was probably because I had my winter bike..with mudguards :eek:
    although if they foundout lance used mudguards in off season Im sure they would be sold out :rolleyes:

anywho they were dip****s. takes all sorts of narrow impressionable minds I suppose.

Only Fred's use mudguards and wear black shoes/socks.

Lance is to Fred like Jordan is to trash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

For those unsure of the definition Fred
    Vaguely remember el tonto posting this before?

@Dirk. Thanks for the photo. That is all I aspire to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

Cake anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Single Malt

sy wrote: »
    For those unsure of the definition Fred
    Vaguely remember el tonto posting this before?
    So the term "Fred" derives from the green eyed monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Only Fred's use mudguards and wear black shoes/socks.

damn that was me cycling into work this morning (and ronhills and a 15 year old pace racing fleece

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

ROK ON wrote: »
    OP. Get over yourself. So what if some fred doesn't support a certain athlete.
    Any athlete that takes criticism from an unknown poster on an internet forum seriously has issues IMHO.
    The person in the threads you referenced has an agenda/opinion on certain riders.
    If you disagree say why and call him out on it. Don't come on and moan. Its like telling tales in the schoolyard.

rock on, so what if ive an issue with freds opinions of irish cyclists. i've called him out on it and im puttintg it out there are numerous wafflers on this forum. Ive a right to moan,just as you do to challange my criticism.

Re: "Get over yourself"... im telling teacher

I preferred Mockler's polls tbh. At least all the options made sense.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

rock on, so what if ive an issue with freds opinions of irish cyclists. i've called him out on it and im puttintg it out there are numerous wafflers on this forum. Ive a right to moan,just as you do to challange my criticism.

You haven't managed to assert anyone is a fred as of yet, and basically insulted the entire forum, so you'll have to excuse ROK_ON if he doesn't particularly appreciate it. Frankly i agree with his sentiment. Ranting and Raving is that -> way

On?

You haven't managed to assert anyone is a fred as of yet, and basically insulted the entire forum, so you'll have to excuse ROK_ON if he doesn't particularly appreciate it. Frankly i agree with his sentiment. Ranting and Raving is that -> way

On?

these flaming antics are quite childish really , all im saying if your a fred dont go knocking lads who you clearly have no knowledge of , who try their best . if your a bit peeved that ive used the term fred if you feel i have branded you with this term and are upset by it then stop i reccommend you stop whinging &talking ****e, take yourself off the internet and go ride your bike,
    not bang on about other people outside your little niche, as you clearly have no understanding of whats going on outside it.

something i intend on doing now

Agreed, but the appropriate modus on these forums, is to call him out on that. You did that, move on. What do you want, a medal.

Of course we are all freds, that is just the 80/20 rule, and can be applied to any sport or pasttime. There are few elite athletes and many many ethusiastic nerds. Dont have a problem with that at all. I know my place in the cycling food chain, that doesnt mean I cant enjoy being on my bike. (Or waffling about it on bike internet forums.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

it's funny, i have worked with pro cyclists and pro cycling officials and I have never felt as much arrogance towards the cycling 'audience', us recreational/not elite roadies. If anything they are interrested in what we think of them as pros and role models.

tbh OP you are not doing yourself any favours at all. If you think all we talk about is worthless sh!te talk, you can ignore us, but don't be dissing amateurs, the public and the fans ... that's just not on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭parko202

I wouldn't have a knowledge of pro cycling in ireland or worldwide really for that matter and as such I wouldn't make comments because I would have no idea but, for someone who follows the sport, surely they are entitled to their own opinion?

It is the same as saying ronan o gara had a bad world cup which people are entitled to do even if they aren't playing at the same level. There are a large number of people who present TV programs who will analyse players who have never competed at that level but are still fine to do so.

I really doubt any professional would be upset by what people are saying on internet forums to be honest.

Any time I have posed a question on this forum I have been given a lot of advice and have found it really useful even though it is clear that my bike knowledge is minimal.

these flaming antics are quite childish really , all im saying if your a fred dont go knocking lads who you clearly have no knowledge of , who try their best . if your a bit peeved that ive used the term fred if you feel i have branded you with this term and are upset by it then stop i reccommend you stop whinging &talking ****e, take yourself off the internet and go ride your bike,
    not bang on about other people outside your little niche, as you clearly have no understanding of whats going on outside it.

something i intend on doing now

I have no axe to grind with the An Post team and riders, and clearly very many on this forum have no axe (or no interest in them). However one or two posters have an issue with this team. As several other posters pointed out, regardless of their level of ability, these posters have a right to that opinion. You have exercised your right to reply. That is called debate, and it is welcomes here. I would like to see the two threads you linked actually extend a bit further. It would be a great help in educating me as to what the strengths/weaknesses/successes/failures of this team are. It may provide an insight into the future/relevance of this team, as in what us freds should be looking for. Some of the best threads on this forum, are from the more knowledgeable racing fans going through the strengths/weaknesses of riders/teams in different teams.

Opinions are just that, opinions. What I do feel a bit weird about is seeing members of that team respons to criticism, in that (and this is a personal belief) I think no elite athlete should stoop so low as to wanting to respond to a fan/armchair critic. There is a place for sportspeople to respond to criticism, and it is not on an internet forum. Just my tuppence worth, FWIW.

ive no problem with freds nerds or people who like to ride their bike . However ive an issue with this slamming people over the internet lark, especially if its being done by a joker (im not on the kelly team btw)
    id be nice if there was some discussion rather than just flaming going on

parko202 wrote: »
    opinion?

It is the same as saying ronan o gara had a bad world cup which people are entitled to do even if they aren't playing at the same level. There are a large number of people who present TV programs who will analyse players who have never competed at that level but are still fine to do so.

Absolutely, and I think most sports fans would be incredulous if ROG actually came on a fans forum to respond to criticism.

ROK ON wrote: »
    Absolutely, and I think most sports fans would be incredulous if ROG actually came on a fans forum to respond to criticism.

fair enough , however im also an armchair critic.
    do i not post regulary enough to throw up my on on what i think is an idiotic one

I don't think there is flaming as such. There are a few people here who know a bit about the sport and everyone else is happy for the knowledge to be shared so we can understand the pro scene a little better. I don't think it has turned into the soccer forum just yet (nothing against soccer, but it's problems are well documented)

You pointed out two threads, one of which I remember as a bunch of young irish cyclists were criticized for their performances.

Two threads.

Out of how many?

The only consistent "flaming" is anti-Lance, but I think he can take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

ive no problem with freds nerds or people who like to ride their bike . However ive an issue with this slamming people over the internet lark, especially if its being done by a joker (im not on the kelly team btw)
    id be nice if there was some discussion rather than just flaming going on

Could you point out where you believe someone was flamed rather than the poster expressing their opinion on their perfomance/ability?
    do i not post regulary enough to throw up my on on what i think is an idiotic one
    Huh?

No one stops anyone from countering a point, though its usefull if you have something to counter it with, i've been in plenty of debates(boards.ie in general, though i suspect most of my posts on here come from place of ignorance rather than experience too ;)) ) on here where i haven't a breeze of the subject matter. Welcome to the Internet.