Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling all CoD2 & 4 PC Gamers! Let's frag eachother!

• 22-10-2009 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭

If you're a PC gamer, please answer the above survey.

I'd like to organise some CoD2 & 4 wars between us (I have a clan server in France where I can switch between CoD2 & 4).

Would love to have some 5v5 S&D wars. We'll be using Promod for CoD4 and PAM for CoD2.

So who's in? First war to happen as soon as I know who has what. We'll discuss availability afterwards.

Which PC CoD Game do you own? 33 votes

CoD4 Only
    0%
    CoD2 Only
    81%
    the_sycoLord NikonAuversTomCoHerculeIgsTerThe guygino85Grim..Longshanks.OisintarrantHogzyrobby^5allen175AdriaticSRFC90cherryghostRabidDogdonmeisterBlack_Knight 27 votes
    Both CoD2 & 4
    18%
    ian25Mr. CooL ICEwitnessmenowPogMoThoindeath1234567MrSparkle 6 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

Not sure I could get enough to make a team, but we have a Dublin based server that could be loaned out possibly. Also in lieu of waiting for a new game to come along, MW2 spit, why not go back to even older games. ET is still a great game and would be loads of fun to play again, even BF42 or MOH etc. Embrace whats not new and shiny, theres still loads of fun to be had.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

CoD2 Only
    i have a rarely used promod server that yee can use, ill even rename it boards promod if ya want :P

what i meant to say was, boards promod public, while steffano can handle the private wars that can originate from mates meeting on the public one :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

i have a rarely used promod server that yee can use, ill even rename it boards promod if ya want :P
    UK or IRL server? Sounds good! We'll have a better ping than my server in France...

Not sure I could get enough to make a team, but we have a Dublin based server that could be loaned out possibly. Also in lieu of waiting for a new game to come along, MW2 spit, why not go back to even older games. ET is still a great game and would be loads of fun to play again, even BF42 or MOH etc. Embrace whats not new and shiny, theres still loads of fun to be had.
    By all means, feel free to organise it! I only have CoD2 & 4 so I can't help with ET (what's that anyway?), BF42 or MoH... :o

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

CoD2 Only
    tis a multiplay one i got on discount. i have a teamspeak server too if yee are interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I wouldn't mind giving COD2 a go tbh. Really enjoyed it on console (for shame :P) so will pick it up on steam over the next week or so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Might be interested in this.

Will have to download a CoD4 iso, my disc is scratched to fvck lol :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

CoD2 Only
    Yeah this sounds good lads, I only got CoD4 though.

Also agree with fairy, think its time we got stuck into some of the older more better games :D

ET = Wolfenstein : Enemy Territory im guessing, great game espcially for competition, though not alot of irish play it, at least not together.

Be good to get a few irish squads going for the games, rare to find an all irish group of players gaming together these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭allen175

CoD2 Only
    i will be up for that! i only have cod4, not mad on promod though, but i will play for the laugh!

what about the irish e-sports server 78.137.160.11:28930 (BOYCOTT CoD:MW2 Irish E-Sports PROMOD)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭screw2loose

IgsTer wrote: »
    ET = Wolfenstein : Enemy Territory im guessing, great game espcially for competition, though not alot of irish play it, at least not together.

I was a keen player of ET a few years ago. was playing with a clan called COBRA. played both 2.5 and 2.6.

The game is extremely enjoyable and very competitve!!

few of you guys would probably love it if you enjoy playing MW1

What type of game play was used for COD2 matches? Was it TDM, CTF, SD etc?

AFAIC there's only really S&D for such wars. So to reiterate, I'm organising S&D wars for CoD4 (Promod) and CoD2 (PAM Mod). ;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Was gonna say im up for this but S&D sucks, its CS wanna be.
    Not mad on COD 2 either but its half decent, its hitboxes are absolutely massive, you dont even have to hit the guy directly to kill him.
    Long live COD 1 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cdb

Dcully wrote: »
    Was gonna say im up for this but S&D sucks, its CS wanna be.
    Not mad on COD 2 either but its half decent, its hitboxes are absolutely massive, you dont even have to hit the guy directly to kill him.
    Long live COD 1 :)
    Still playing CoD UO at lunchtimes in work nearly 5 years on.
    Generally get 5 on 5 in Carentan - rifles only. In terms of fun nothing comes close to it :D

CoD2 Only
    i couldnt imagine anything thats not s&d anymore :pac:

Same here! :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

cdb wrote: »
    Still playing CoD UO at lunchtimes in work nearly 5 years on.
    Generally get 5 on 5 in Carentan - rifles only. In terms of fun nothing comes close to it :D

I must agree :)

COD4 Sabotage is a great mode when played correctly.

Aye I love playing Sab in COD4 but dont like the waiting around sometimes in SD. Prob comes from playing the BF series of games.

You don't have to wait if you don't die! :pac: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

CoD2 Only
    sab ftw hate s&d

You don't have to wait if you don't die! :pac: :p

At my age dying is part and parcel of my game.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Both CoD2 & 4
    After being away from CoD2 for a few years I'm back and playing on the ACR servers. They're running their own mod and the games get hectic with often 54 germans playing at once but it is tremendous fun.

Old but gold

Right fellas, I guess we'll start with CoD4 then!

How does Tuesday @ 20:00 sound? Can we get 10 players for a 5v5 S&D war over 2 maps?

Can't play before 9.30/10ish most weeknights :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Both CoD2 & 4
    Im up for this, currently only have Cod 2, If i can pick up cod4 on the uber cheap i might

CoD2 Only
    i cant play at that time either, sorry

For these who can't play at these times, could you please give me your availability? ;)

CoD2 Only
    weekdays after 10pm, weekends nearly any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I miss Carentan :(

Berkut wrote: »
    I miss Carentan :(
    Best map ever! :D

I agree. The re-hash of it for COD4 was ok, just wasn't the same.

Yea I can play pretty much any weeknight after 10pm

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    I agree. The re-hash of it for COD4 was ok, just wasn't the same.
    Chinatown's alright I guess... It's no Carentan though! :D

Used to love Dawnville in CoD1 as well! Hateful in CoD2 though... Go figure! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

I take it ye have all seen the ep of Band of Brothers where they take carentan. I get such a geek thrill when I spot all the bits from the map like the chicken coop.
    Even the far left window at the end of the street is slightly open like in the map.

I take it ye have all seen the ep of Band of Brothers where they take carentan. I get such a geek thrill when I spot all the bits from the map like the chicken coop.
    Even the far left window at the end of the street is slightly open like in the map.
    I'm slightly ashamed to admit I had that very same geek thrill when I saw it in BoB! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Chinatown's alright I guess... It's no Carentan though! :D

Used to love Dawnville in CoD1 as well! Hateful in CoD2 though... Go figure! :rolleyes:

arrggghh...Dawnville as well :(

rushes out to buy COD again..

Both CoD2 & 4
    Is there any word on when you'd be playing this week?

I can buy a cd key for cod4 for €10 on ebay, i might just chance that.

CoD2 Only
    Available from 10pm monday and tuesday, every other night I should be grand anytime after six

Right, so, what about 10PM Tuesday night?

Who's up for that?

CoD2 Only
    i should be good to go for that

CoD2 Only
    Hopefully will be there for that yeah, should be anyhow at the moment.

CoD2 Only
    ping is really bogging me down tho :(

I reckon Tuesday would be good for me.

ping is really bogging me down tho :(
    That's what you get for living in the middle of nowhere! :p

Both CoD2 & 4
    I bought my cd key off the ebay.

Quick question, what should i have installed for tonight? Like what version of the game should i have (1.7 is it?) , do i need to download the mod before hand?

CoD2 Only
    yep 1.7. afaik 1.6 covers the previous versions and 1.7 is a seperate one.

no need to download mods, it'll download itself when you get into a server

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

id be game I have noth COD2 and 4. And its refreshing to see a thead in these forums that doesent mention that other COD game in its title...

" Tell us about your COD XXX reading your manual while being on the bog thread" ......... cause its coming just wait for it.

Right fellas,

We're playing tonight @ 22:00.

Please download TeamSpeak if you don't already have it and connect to Kinetic's TS server: 84.203.243.161

Tonight we're going to play CoD4. I'll find us a war on mIRC (unless there's 8+ of us in which case we play between ourselves). It will be Search & Destroy with ProMod.

Please use our new boards tag in-game (e.g. "boards.wolf").

I hope I see you all tonight! :D

I'll have to see if my Cod4 disc still works :o

And why use TS, it's so bad :p I can provide a mumble server if you guys would prefer to use that.