Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Mc Cartney - The O2 - Dec 20th -- All discussion, no ticket advertising

• 22-10-2009 7:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 42

Just announced The O2 Dec 20th .The last time he played in the RDS was a night I won't forget.Can't wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

oldsmiley wrote: »
    Just announced The O2 Dec 20th .The last time he played in the RDS was a night I won't forget.Can't wait

any pricing news yet ? missed the RDS so hopefully will get to this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭StillBallygowan

The concert dates:
    December 2 - Hamburg Color Line Arena
    December 3 - Berlin O2 World
    December 9 - Arnhem Gelredome
    December 10 - Paris Bercy
    December 16 - Cologne Koln Arena
    December 20 - Dublin The O2
    December 22 - London The O2 Arena

Ticket prices according to Ticketmaster.co.uk

£55.00 - £125.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Gus Ivey

Who cares what the prices are !!!!!! I'll take a mortgage out to see this legend !

This is the best news ive heard in a long time ! I CANY F**KING WAIT FOR THIS !!!

This could be his last ever time playing in this country , this should not be missed. I still would have rathered if he hung on , and played Slane but what can ye do !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Ridiculously excited

*phones friend in O2 to see can she hook me up with presales-tickets....*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

Saw him in the RDS and Liverpool in 03. Paid 75 Euro for the priviledge of standing in a field watching the only person I would ever consider to be a living legend singing some of the greatest songs ever written then and would happily pay twice as much to see him this time. If theres anybody debating whether to go or not, all I will say is that it will be in all likelyhood the last time he will tour so dust off the credit cards and get on your phones on Monday morning (but leave a ticket for me please!) My only gripe with seeing him in 03 was that he had an autocue (honest!) and his stage banter was word for word exactly the same on each night, which was slightly disappointing. But then again he is a Beatle, he can do what he wants! As long as he leaves Hey Jude alone this time (sings it without the crappy crowd participation bit in the middle) its all good.

Tickets for the concert go on sale on Wednesday, October 28th at 9am and are priced between €86.25 and €156.25

Hey Jude
    Let it Be
    Back in the USSR
    Helter Skelter
    Drive my car
    Baaaaaaaaaaaand on the run

priced between €86.25 and €156.25

Any idea what the difference is between the cheaper and dearer tickets ??

Hopefuly the standing ones are cheaper ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

oh my god this has made my day!!! id pay anything to see him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 tenacious_dee

Anyboy know how to go about getting the presale tickets that are available from Monday.... so giddy about getting tickets for this! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

Anyboy know how to go about getting the presale tickets that are available from Monday.... so giddy about getting tickets for this! :D

For starters, you have to be an O2 customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 tenacious_dee

JJ wrote: »

:eek: damn meteor! Why couldn't meteor have an arena..! Will have to hold out for Wed so!

JJ wrote: »

Failing that kidnap befriend a small child person who has an O2 phone and register at https://blueroom.o2online.ie/The-O2/Priority-Tickets.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Gus Ivey wrote: »

Hopefuly the standing ones are cheaper ;)

99% it's all seater. Actually make that 99.9%! I'm going for the dearest myself, not every day one gets the chance to witness Macca live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

It's €86.25 standing. Seats are €91.25, €126.25 and €156.25. Ground floor standing eliminates the first twenty rows of seats, so I'm guessing the expensive price will be between Rows 21 and 31, inclusive, with the price dropping the further back they are.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

4 x standing for me, cannot wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Fago123

It's €86.25 standing. Seats are €91.25, €126.25 and €156.25. Ground floor standing eliminates the first twenty rows of seats, so I'm guessing the expensive price will be between Rows 21 and 31, inclusive, with the price dropping the further back they are.

Might go for a seated one myself, where did you find this info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Got to get to this one, probably the last to see maybe the biggest influence ever on popular music.

Anyone know how the O2 priority scheme works ? Have they sent out the codes already or if you registered now, would you get a code sent out before the pre-sale starts?

I don't have an O2 phone - might need to get a friend to help out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Qprmeath

Skidmark - Pm sent

Qprmeath wrote: »
    Skidmark - Pm sent

Cheers, Qprmeath.

Much appreciated.

So excited for this, Macca's the one artist I've been dying to see. Pressure to get tickets will be immense though- the O2 only holds 14500, and this is one night only on an 8 night tour!

immense though- the O2 only holds 14500, and this is one night only on an 8 night tour!

I wish he held out for Slane!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Brilliant news. I am def going to try get tickets, but I wish he was playing Croker. 13,000 O2 Tickets are going to sell out in minutes:(

I'm not denying he's a huge draw, but Slane would be way too ambitious for McCartney, as would Croke Park, even if it was fully seated. His RDS show wasn't sold out in 2003. Aiken had to put extra tiered seats on the pitch just to fill up the gaps, and there was still loads of space on the grass.
    I'm much happier about an indoor show.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Hey lads, I have a question about the O2 blueroom. I'm not an O2 customer, but my sister is and she got the priority code thing for me. Will I need any other info apart from this code when booking tickets on Monday? Also, does having a code mean I will definitely be in for getting tickets, or do they give out more priority codes than priority tickets?

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Hey lads, I have a question about the O2 blueroom. I'm not an O2 customer, but my sister is and she got the priority code thing for me. Will I need any other info apart from this code when booking tickets on Monday? Also, does having a code mean I will definitely be in for getting tickets, or do they give out more priority codes than priority tickets?

Thanks!

You only need a code and having a code doesn't guarantee tickets.

As far as I'm aware there is a 48 hour period you can use the code before the tickets go on general sale. Think the Macca ticket presale starts on Monday at 9am. There are a limited amount of pre sale tickets and they are on a first come first served basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭creativedrinker

im new to this pirioty thing, jus got a o2 sim card, n have it signed up for piroity tickets it but how do i get a code???

You need to send a text saying 'Paul' to 51020 and they will text you back your code.

More details here ...

http://blueroom.o2online.ie/Gig-and-Ticket-Guide/Events/Paul-McCartney.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭ko4jm6y9iwv2lc

Is anyone able to buy presale tickets this morn?

Got two standing. You're only allowed two on the presale. Clearly they expect demand to be huge and don't want a repeat of the AC/DC debacle where they only had a few thousand left 'cos everyone grabbed them before they went on general sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭cassette50

I put in the code I received only to be told "The password you entered is not in our system. Please try again."

Really pissed off, especially as I had to get up early:mad:

I'll try again on Wednesday and hopefully I'll get lucky.

Went for standing myself.

Cant wait :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭ko4jm6y9iwv2lc

I cant even get to the page to enter my password. Did you go in through thicketmaster or O2 website?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Billydog

Just got 2 standing through O2 priority scheme. happy days.

I cant even get to the page to enter my password. Did you go in through thicketmaster or O2 website?

You go through here

http://blueroom.o2online.ie/Gig-and-Ticket-Guide/Events/Paul-McCartney.aspx

Click on "book priority tickets now"

:D got my 2x standing tickets! :D

Got my standing tickets, as expected it went in a flash.

Paul McCartney's website refers to another pre-sale on Tuesday at 9 a.m., 'pre-sale link TBC'. Might be worth keeping an eye on that to see if any more details come up today.

20th December – Dublin, The O2
    Pre-Sale Link: TBC
    Starts: Tuesday, 27th October 9am

http://www.paulmccartney.com/news.php#/1757/2009-10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

got two on the Laser card, 2 on the credit card. Happy days

It's only 8 weeks away i can't believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Glassheart

SkidMark wrote: »
    Got my standing tickets, as expected it went in a flash.

Paul McCartney's website refers to another pre-sale on Tuesday at 9 a.m., 'pre-sale link TBC'. Might be worth keeping an eye on that to see if any more details come up today.

20th December – Dublin, The O2
    Pre-Sale Link: TBC
    Starts: Tuesday, 27th October 9am

http://www.paulmccartney.com/news.php#/1757/2009-10

I got mine too.
    Are the presales all gone for today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

jez just got 2 seated block m happy days :)
    Expensive but feck it, may never see the likes again.
    Happy Christmas to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Got two standing. You're only allowed two on the presale. Clearly they expect demand to be huge and don't want a repeat of the AC/DC debacle where they only had a few thousand left 'cos everyone grabbed them before they went on general sale.
    What are you talking about? The AC/DC, like this pre sale, was limited to 15% of total tickets. It's irrelevant how many are allowed per person.

If you go to the O2 blueroom now it says the priorty tickets are Sold out!

Bluetonic wrote: »
    What are you talking about? The AC/DC, like this pre sale, was limited to 15% of total tickets. It's irrelevant how many are allowed per person.

Well, now that I think of it, AC/DC was only two-per-person too, so my comment is indeed irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

cassette50 wrote: »
    I put in the code I received only to be told "The password you entered is not in our system. Please try again."

Really pissed off, especially as I had to get up early:mad:

I'll try again on Wednesday and hopefully I'll get lucky.

Make sure you enter the code case-sensitive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Picked up 4 standing this morning (two cards)... but can anyone verify does STAND mean standing?! I paid the standing price, but the 'Row' and 'Seats' business is making me paranoid.

Do they have to give specific numbers like this for security reasons?

Section STAND
    Row G5
    Seats 427 - 428

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭creativedrinker

i am gutted!!! had the tickets, was payin n the poxy security on visa cards came up n didnt kno the info cause it was my parents, thought id go back to bed cause im in bits from last ni got up again n all gone:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

I think there must be a big chance of at least the Saturday night being added as well. There's no way he's going to come over here just for one night with the demand that's there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

i am gutted!!! had the tickets, was payin n the poxy security on visa cards came up n didnt kno the info cause it was my parents, thought id go back to bed cause im in bits from last ni got up again n all gone:(

I just hit the button that said I hadn't registered for that, had to enter DOB and all went well.