Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Braces?

• 20-10-2009 9:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭

Was just having a chat with a (girl) mate about braces, she said she didn't think it would make a lad look any worse; but I said that I'd be less likely to find a girl with braces attractive than if she didn't have them.

As always, I turn to the good people of AH for your opinions.
    Do braces make people look less attractive?

Do braces make someone less appealing to you? 234 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    27%
    DocVolvagiaRabiesSteoobNewaglishKieramegadodgeRameydeco05ieLirangemetaobliviapow wowPeyton ManningOisinjmJeebusLeoGillyFreudianSlippersDozen Wicked WordsrannerapWindSock 64 votes
    A hole's a hole and I couldn't care less
    58%
    SpunjRuu_OldChad ghostalKoldStandard ToasterKilOitKingp35elleLia_liacashbackkirvingDiageio_Manorourkeda[Deleted User]Lariannechupacabrabiko#Smokey#cythonthorbarry 138 votes
    I noticed you have braces. I have braces too.
    13%
    seanybikerTar.AldarionchopperbyrnestrobeAzureustolosencRavage1616smashBlazerFearDarkThe guypatrickcjunior_apolloSea SharpdonmeisterLukker-QuazzieCoriolanusJoey the lipsG_R 32 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

No, I know a few girls with braces and there's one I see every Monday evening and I still think they're beautiful. Happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Braces are disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

No
    Leftyflip wrote: »
    Happy?

Nope, I'm an amazingly grumpy person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 hellojello

Just think how beautiful and straight their teeth will be after!!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

No
    phasers wrote: »
    Braces are disgusting

especially if the one you're talking to with braces has his/her breakfast stuck in those train tracks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

hellojello wrote: »
    Just think how beautiful and straight their teeth will be after!!

Not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

No, I'm not put off by them. Kissing them is abit metallic though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

jumpguy wrote: »
    No, I'm not put off by them. Kissing them is abit metallic though...

some hints.

http://www.how-to-kiss.net/blog/kissing-with-braces/

happy kissing!

No
    I should point out I've got braces.. (and have done for 26 fuckin months :mad:).. now I'm not a good-lookin lad but if I didn't have these retarded pieces of metal ripping my mouth to shreds at least I'd look human.

I'd rather have wonky teeth :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I don't really care either way. I'd be more concerned about the person than the braces. Kissing can be a bit metallic tasting alright, but apart from that, they don't bother me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I wear braces. They make me feel like a geek.
    Being honest, I do feel less attractive because of them.

I wouldn't be put off someone of the opposite sex because they had braces though... If you like someone, you like all of them.
    And it's quite shallow to stop liking someone because they have them... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

tom your 16 every thing you wear down to your boxer to how your hair styles a that age....

at 28 and 30s people to a degree give up aring and just enjoy them selves tho it doesnt really mattter because come 2012 21 of the 12 ule be dead along with every one else

so it compleyely pointless worrying about it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Depends on the girl but sometimes it can a bit of a turn on. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

As long as they're kept clean, ie no food, then no problems with them.
    The worst is when the person decides to get the clear ones but they get all stained and gross looking.

They definitely are worth it though, I'd do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

No
    i have them too:(i hate them,they steal all your self confidence!if your thinking about getting them dont do it!people still ask me out though i think you just hate them more if you have them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

Having braces doesn't look great, but it's better than having busted teeth!

Seriously, having decent teeth is well worth the hassle of braces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Lisa needs braces............

No
    dental plan!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

No
    magick wrote: »
    Lisa needs braces............

dental plan!!

No
    tom your 16 every thing you wear down to your boxer to how your hair styles a that age....

I really don't care what boxers I wear, no-one's going to see them :P
    Asda George ones at the moment :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Pinky Pixie

It depends on how hot they are in the first place! If they are kinda hot with the braces when they get them take them off they will be smokin. So invest sometime in them now and you could be bagging a future model:p!

Sure the ones they have no you wouldn't even notice them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I had brace when I was younger. For two years the only thing that was attracted to me was magnets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I dated two girls(not at the same time) that wore braces. Most of the time I didn't notice them and when I did they looked cute on them.

I've been seeing my orthodontist for six years, had my train-tracks on for about four and a half. GRRRR! :mad:

My teeth are straight now though... FINALLY!

No
    I've been seeing my orthodontist for six years, had my train-tracks on for about four and a half. GRRRR! :mad:

pics or GTFO :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

brummytom wrote: »
    Was just having a chat with a (girl) mate about braces, she said she didn't think it would make a lad look any worse; but I said that I'd be less likely to find a girl with braces attractive than if she didn't have them.

As always, I turn to the good people of AH for your opinions.
    Do braces make people look less attractive?

Would you find someone less attractive if they wore braces to keep their trousers up? I wear those kind of braces on occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

theres nothing wrong with braces to fix crooked teeth when the braces come off the teeth are going to look great id rather wear braces for a few years then have crooked teeth

No

Only been seeing mine since a few months before I had them on - so maybe 2 and a half years now; having all the x-rays and cast rubbish.

Mine are all straight (except for one that's just the tinyest bit wonky still)... but if I had to go back, I wouldn't have them on (not that we get a choice here).

5 teeth out, aching mouths every time they're tightened, excruciating pain the day they're put on, taking 10 minutes to clean, getting things stuck in there, making me look more like a retard; cutting the inside of my cheeks

Hate the things

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »
    Seriously, having decent teeth is well worth the hassle of braces.

Nah...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

No
    I have a thing about bad teeth. I wouldnt in a million years date someone with bad teeth so fair play to you lot who have braces(i prob still wouldnt date someone with them). At least you're doing something about your delf.

No
    Only been seeing mine since a few months before I had them on - so maybe 2 and a half years now; having all the x-rays and cast rubbish.

Mine are all straight (except for one that's just the tinyest bit wonky still)... but if I had to go back, I wouldn't have them on (not that we get a choice here).

5 teeth out, aching mouths every time they're tightened, excruciating pain the day they're put on, taking 10 minutes to clean, getting things stuck in there, making me look more like a retard; cutting the inside of my cheeks

Hate the things

i agree,if i could go back i wouldnt have gotten them on:( its mostly because of the gum transplant i was made have to get them,my teeth werent even THAT bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Braces are responsible for the cartoon Braceface.

Bad invention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

Kiera wrote: »
    I have a thing about bad teeth. I wouldnt in a million years date someone with bad teeth so fair play to you lot who have braces(i prob still wouldnt date someone with them). At least you're doing something about your delf.

Each to their own indeed, but I think doing anything to the earthenware wouldn't be very constructive:pac:

pics or GTFO :pac:

I actually don't have a decent photo of me where you can see my braces! I neverrrr smile properly in photos because of them.

I feel your pain, bro!
    Sometimes, I feel like my orthodontist just wants to inflict pain onto me and make me look as stupid as possible!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

I noticed you have braces. I have braces too.
    it doesnt really mattter because come 2012 21 of the 12 ule be dead along with every one else

so it compleyely pointless worrying about it all
    im sure that made him feel so much better

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

No
    don't mean to be cruel but did you see yer one Beth Tweddle (british gymnast) on the bbc one show yesterday?

jayus!! talk about a metal mouth

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44934000/jpg/_44934593_tweddle512.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭QOTSA90

Thats just a bad gum to teeth ratio.. nothin ya can do about that Im afraid. She also looks like shes has her face pulled back and stapled to the back of her head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Braces are merely a temporary measure with obvious long term benefit. Judging someone because they choose to have them for a short period of their life is shallow in the extreme tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

My teeth aren't in any great shape but they aren't crooked enough for me to get braces!

My sister had terrible teeth and has braces now, she's going to have fantastic teeth.

She got luckier IMO.

But to answer the real question, it doesn't bother me if someone from the opposite sex has braces...

wudangclan wrote: »
    God whoever wrote that blog...thanks. Aswell as pointing out the obvious, it just gave the exact same advice for normal kissing. :mad:
    Damo9090 wrote: »
    Depends on the girl but sometimes it can a bit of a turn on. :)
    When I was first replying I was gonna say the same thing, but I don't know why it can be attractive. Maybe I really am a power-nerd. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I had braces for a few years when I was younger. Hated them, cut the shíte out of my mouth, hurt like fúck every time they were adjusted, looked stupid as hell, awkward to eat, no gummies etc. etc.

But I had to do it so it's only right I take pleasure in your pain! :D

I'm still supposed to wear a retainer the odd night, but they sorta got stepped on a year or two back. Woops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭YraggarY

QOTSA90 wrote: »
    Thats just a bad gum to teeth ratio.. nothin ya can do about that Im afraid. She also looks like shes has her face pulled back and stapled to the back of her head.

Like she's wearing an Edgar suit!! :pac:

On topic, I think there's something DAMN sexy about a girl with braces!!
    This being After Hours though, I think I may well have opened myself up for ribbings about underagers or some such. :cool: :pac:

- G

I had braces for a few years when I was younger. Hated them, cut the shíte out of my mouth, hurt like fúck every time they were adjusted, looked stupid as hell, awkward to eat, no gummies etc. etc.

I still eat gummies. I can't eat any other sort of junk food because of allergies, so feck it! My orthodontist can take away my attractiveness , but he'll never take away my Haribo!

I'm still supposed to wear a retainer the odd night, but they sorta got stepped on a year or two back. Woops!

Me too. I have no idea where they are now. Ah well, my teeth don't look to bad considering. :cool:

So...that's not your photo in the avatar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

braces are hot!

Sure it is.

No
    I still eat gummies. I can't eat any other sort of junk food because of allergies, so feck it! My orthodontist can take away my attractiveness , but he'll never take away my Haribo!

I still eat chewing gum, baguettes, toffee... fúck it, they can try and robotify my teeth but they'll never take my snacks

No, the guy in his avatar is the real Harry Potter!

*runs away*