Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John and Edward!

• 19-10-2009 1:16pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭

I think this pair are like Marmite, you either love them or hate them.
    I love them, their Britney spears routine on Saturday had me in tears laughing, they're a pair of chancers, fair play to them.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Can't stand them, can't believe they're still there, they haven't a note between them... yerman who went last night was robbed imho.. cocky little feckers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Tilly Tally

I don't think the producers or whoever styles them is helping - they really made them look stupid on Saturday night!! Well more stupid than they actually are. Louis always has one gimmicky group - look at Same difference two years ago when they were on roller skates and turned into Disney characters!! But people obviously want them to stay in and are voting for them - they won't win but others will be knocked out before them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

xzanti wrote: »
    cocky little feckers..
    I don't think the producers or whoever styles them is helping - they really made them look stupid on Saturday night!! .

I think you're both taking them too seriously. They're funny, bit of a break from other boring acts who cry every week and have no personalities!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

Louis always has one gimmicky group - look at Same difference two years ago when they were on roller skates and turned into Disney characters!! But people obviously want them to stay in and are voting for them - they won't win but others will be knocked out before them.

Louis did not mentor Same Difference. He actually gave out about them every single week. However IMO Same Difference could actually sing well. John and Edaward cannot. However I find them very funny and look forward to seeing the preform each week!! they wont win they ahve about another 2 weeks I reckon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think you're both taking them too seriously. They're funny, bit of a break from other boring acts who cry every week and have no personalities!

They'll be crying one day, in stereo.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

dont follow x factor at all but youtube there performance sweet jesus how they make it even past auditions never mind final?

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

They're just this year's Chico, methinks.

I caught up and watched the Britney "homage" on YouTube today... well, I was entertained and boy, it made me laugh. Especially the speaking part.
    If that's what they were going for, fair enough :) , but they don't have the singing ability to match their ambition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

dont follow x factor at all but youtube there performance sweet jesus how they make it even past auditions never mind final?

They were little sh1ts in bootcamp; they sang over other people, laid on the waterworks, and worked the Irish angle big time. But I had a feeling they'd still get through, because they got so much airtime throughout the auditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 phillipa

I think they are so entertaining. I always really enjoy their performance. I know they are not great singers but they definitely deserve 10 out of 10 for the entertainment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

An embarrassment to the Irish nation, last Saturday was possibly the most cringeworthy thing I've ever seen on tv .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

They should be summoned to the Supreme Court to answer charges of crimes against music and several counts of assault and battery on my eardrums....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

They're unreal so they are! Ledgends the pair of them. Just imagine what they'll be like when they're older? They're ondly 18 ffs!
    They're at a major disadvantage in that although X-Factor's beamed into Irish Homes via TV3 & UTV, we, the Irish Viewers can't vote for them.
    I'd wager a huge-chunk of the viewing population over here would vote for John & Edward while they're over there for any no. of reasons.
    To stick it to the Brits for one.
    They're both from Lucan & seem down to earth (although the show is like the popstars it creates: manyufacturd).
    I'd love it if they went & won the bloody thing just to spite Simon Cowell!
    Remember in the Auditions when Cheryl Cole asked (one of?) them where they see themselves in 10 years' time?
    And the answer?
    I see myself as being older!
    Classic & the type of humour they don't tolerate over there.
    Cheeky & cocky. But fcuking LEDGENDS!
    Go Team John & Edward!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Am I the only person who can see they were planted in the show as a publicity stunt? Louis knows they can't sing, he knows they're not going to get far, but the fact that everyone is talking about them and how unbelievable they got through is precisely how they're still there, when everyone is sick of them then WOW, they're "voted" off..

Love the show but it's as fake as my Rolex.

ShaneU wrote: »
    An embarrassment to the Irish nation, last Saturday was possibly the most cringeworthy thing I've ever seen on tv .

It was hilarious, anyone that doesnt like it lacks a sense of humour i think. It was like Dustin at Eurovision, i love the way us Irish are messers, dont take ourselves too seriously!
    They're unreal so they are! Ledgends the pair of them. Just imagine what they'll be like when they're older? They're ondly 18 ffs!
    They're at a major disadvantage in that although X-Factor's beamed into Irish Homes via TV3 & UTV, we, the Irish Viewers can't vote for them.
    I'd wager a huge-chunk of the viewing population over here would vote for John & Edward while they're over there for any no. of reasons.
    To stick it to the Brits for one.
    They're both from Lucan & seem down to earth (although the show is like the popstars it creates: manyufacturd).
    I'd love it if they went & won the bloody thing just to spite Simon Cowell!
    Remember in the Auditions when Cheryl Cole asked (one of?) them where they see themselves in 10 years' time?
    And the answer?
    I see myself as being older!
    Go Team John & Edward!

Totally agree, i'm delighted they're from Dublin. They're like our version of Terrence and Phillip off southpark LOL
    Dave147 wrote: »
    Am I the only person who can see they were planted in the show as a publicity stunt? Louis knows they can't sing, he knows they're not going to get far, but the fact that everyone is talking about them and how unbelievable they got through is precisely how they're still there, when everyone is sick of them then WOW, they're "voted" off..

Love the show but it's as fake as my Rolex.

I think Louis is a big messer, he loves a laugh and thats why he put them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

Totally agree, i'm delighted they're from Dublin. They're like our version of Terrence and Phillip off southpark LOL

Ha Ha....that's them in a nutshell! Great comparison!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I hate them at first but i have since changed my opinion they cant sing but are entertaining and funny :o

Go Team John & Edward!

Why not?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Kat24

I dont hate them but I dont love them either. I thought is was sour grapes of Cheryl at the end of the sunday show when she said John & Edward should be voted out instead of Rikki, considering she said yes to them in the original auditions to go to bootcamp. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

They're *****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Dudess wrote: »
    They're *****.

They are 5 stars?

Surely not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Julesie

I hated them to begin with. But since the live shows where it is clear that they are as shocked as anyone that they are still around, I've seen them in a whole new light.

They are pure entertainment. Two 18 year old chancers from Lucan dressed in matching red PVC suits taking the piss out of Britney Spears, what's not to like. The fact is (besides Olly's performance which was quite good) they were the only entertaining act on last Saturday.

To be a success you either need to be highly charismatic or an outstanding singer or a strong mix of the two. The last two celebrity cameos (Robbie and Whitney), back in their glory days represented either end of that spectrum. John and Edward are clearly towards the Robbie end of the scale but the fact is none of the other 'dull as ditch water' contestants are close enough to the Whitney end to afford being completely lacking performance value.

Julesie wrote: »
    They are pure entertainment. Two 18 year old chancers from Lucan dressed in matching red PVC suits taking the piss out of Britney Spears, what's not to like. .

Exactly, i dont know how anyone didnt laugh at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'm starting to like them more ever week but their hair is ridiculously ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭loglogbarkbark

I heard they are going to sing my lovely horse..... ooohhh i'm so excited i hope they get a shetland pony on stage.

NO WAY, where did you hear that??
    I dont think the english would appreciate that as much as we would to be honest, whoops.
    would be brilliant if they did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭loglogbarkbark

someone at college said it..... i choose to take this as fact,it sounds wonderful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭Rondolfus

ShaneU wrote: »
    An embarrassment to the Irish nation.

Who have we been embarrassed in front of? The British public who watch X-Factor? Also since when have these 17 year old twins come to represent the entire Irish nation??

Did Robbie Williams embarrass the WHOLE British nation when he appeared on stage wacked off his head on drugs. No he just made a fool of himself. Afterall he's not the best singer in the world either is he? In fact the twins arrogance pales in comparison to the his.People have become so obssessed with the cult of celebrity that some believe mediocre celebs like Williams have a divine right to be arrogant idiots, but "normal" people shouldn't take such liberties.

The twins are just two kids having a good time. I respect them becuase they don't care what some fickle idiot like Cowell thinks. Cowell a man who revels in slating the likes of the twins but actually gave Robbie Williams a standing ovation for his shambles of a perforance!!

They may not be able to sing, but at least they are not unoriginal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

i hope they win just to mix it up with simon cowell, how'll the x factor get another christmas no1 with them? or if they do even better!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 clarc

I have never been a huge fan of the Xfactor and the manufactured music it produces, and in a way would not care less if it went in fact know I wish it would go simply based on the fact the way this two kids have been treated. I am referring to the facebook group We hate John and Edward where there are over 140,000 members, please it is worth taking a look at for the disgusting vile comments being made. The comments make reference to them being gay, incest, wishing they catch aids, would love to butcher their family and make them watch, among other violent threats. There is no doubt that these kids are being bullied and disturbing that people feel they are entitled to say would they like about them as they have free speech. No matter how thick skin they appear the content of this site will cause them a great deal of pain. I always believed that producers picked the contestants and the twins were picked for marketing, they were made to appear in such a way so as to generate a talking point.
    I would be concerned for these boys nobody deserves what has happened to them afterall it is only a stupid tv show. I really cannot describe how bad the hate site is. Does anyone think that this could go legal because if I was there parents I think I would be getting legal advise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 SheenaD

love them there great

clarc wrote: »
    The comments make reference to them being gay, incest, wishing they catch aids, would love to butcher their family and make them watch, among other violent threats.

Obviously teenagers or kids, sounds very immature, anyone with a bit of cop on wouldnt be writing stuff like that.
    Scary that there's a 140,000 of the muppets

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=143794072445&v=photos&so=30#/group.php?gid=143794072445&v=wall

Here is a link to the site it is worth having a look at the wall and the discussion, unfortunately alot of these are adults who should no better

clarc wrote: »
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=143794072445&v=photos&so=30#/group.php?gid=143794072445&v=wall

Here is a link to the site it is worth having a look at the wall and the discussion, unfortunately alot of these are adults who should no better

If enough people report it, it'll be taken down i'd say!

I reported it to abuse@facebook.com , some days ago they took down some of the content but people are continuing the abuse. Please would appreciate if others would also report this site, it is horrible imagine you were does kids reading all this stuff. It is horrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭laura93

They are unbelievably annoying.
    In the auditions I laughed at their severe lack of talent, but now it's just irritating that they are taking talented people's places because people think they're "funny".
    And for those of you who say people who don't find them funny lack a sense of humour - I watch the X Factor to see talented people sing, not to see these two gob****es making fools of themselves. The auditions are funny, but once it gets to the live finals, I expect that the final 12 are actually people that can sing, not make people laugh throughout their performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

I think they are BRILLANT. When they did the little speaking part last week I nearly fell off my seat laughing!

Anyway since when did someone need to sing in order to be a singer?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Words like Fingernails Pilers and pulling come to mind when the twins come up! (but also i'm not a fan of xfactor)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

i love them and i love the fact the english are getting so worked up about them its hilarious!!!!anythign to annoy simon cowell and the english population in my opinion its funny!!!!lolol

flynnser19 wrote: »
    i love them and i love the fact the english are getting so worked up about them its hilarious!!!!anythign to annoy simon cowell and the english population in my opinion its funny!!!!lolol

Believe me, the English population also wants to piss off Simon Cowell, in the same way that they'd vote for a one-legged drunken blind man on celebrity come dancing, to piss off those judges:pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 mrets

i was a bit disappointed with their performance last night, granted they were the underdogs with showband category, but i think they peaked with the backstreet boys song, and everything from now on isnt going to be good enough.....they wont win!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭travnett

I really thing these people on the ¨´We hate john and edward group¨ need to get a grip on their life´s. Come on there is way more bad things happening in the world and all these can concentrate on is 2 contestants on a reality tv show Pathetic. Most of the members of the group are over 18 with a majority been 25+ you would like to think that they have more interesting things to be talking about but seemely not. I wreckon the majority of them are jealous of these 2 cause they are getting to live their dream and have fun at the same time.

A quote from their homepage on we hate john an edward´posted by the creator of the group a MR. RYAN GAVIN.
    Annoying!!! and very ugly
    and people if you support john and edward then theres a we love john and edward group....im sure they could use the extra members coz they dont have many..stop posting nice stuff on here about them..we are a HATE group!

The last sentence from this ´´We are a HATE group!´´ now surely this is not allowed on facebook I´d be fairly poisitive that it is against their bullying rules. this group needs to be taken down and all the 159,024 members BANNED from facebook for ever! Anyway I´d just like to send my suport out to John and Edward, they are great characters and seem to be having a laugh I know they prob won´t win but at least their annoying Simon Cowel.

Oh and they have 104 photos of John and Edward on their group seems like these people really do like them if their spending so much time uploading photos of them!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Rezident

That was the first time I'd seen them on saturday. So cheesy I can actually see there being a market for it. Fair play to them.

laura93 wrote: »
    In the auditions I laughed at their severe lack of talent, but now it's just irritating that they are taking talented people's places because people think they're "funny".
    And for those of you who say people who don't find them funny lack a sense of humour - I watch the X Factor to see talented people sing, not to see these two gob****es making fools of themselves. The auditions are funny, but once it gets to the live finals, I expect that the final 12 are actually people that can sing, not make people laugh throughout their performance.

I take it you backed Dustin the Turkey for Eurovision too. LOL
    They make people laugh and entertain, thats a talent in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

laura93 wrote: »

The X Factor is about more than simple ability to sing. Remember Chico? He couldn't sing to save his life but because his antics made money for Simon Cowell he stayed in for ages and he entertained people. J&E entertain people too, apparently they got the most votes on the show this weekend. They certainly are better than the horrible Conway sisters who were Ireland's previous contribuation. Those girls were dreadful moaning witches who couldn't entertain at all.
    The Facebook campaign against J&E is dreadful and I too reported it.

kizzyr wrote: »
    The X Factor is about more than simple ability to sing. Remember Chico? He couldn't sing to save his life but because his antics made money for Simon Cowell he stayed in for ages and he entertained people. J&E entertain people too, apparently they got the most votes on the show this weekend. They certainly are better than the horrible Conway sisters who were Ireland's previous contribuation. Those girls were dreadful moaning witches who couldn't entertain at all.
    The Facebook campaign against J&E is dreadful and I too reported it.

I also reported it. They're getting an awful time, its horrible the way they get booed every week too, people are so rude, they're only kids at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Jedward are gods - it's that simple. They have absolutely no shame, sense of humiliation and more importantly - no sob stories! Every week they put on the wildest, strangest show for our entertainment, in two weeks we've had the spoken-word section of Oops! I Did It Again and then we had the wacky inflatable waving tubes with their faces on them - what more do you want?! Singing abilility? Ok fine, but lets face it nobody this year has the x factor whatsoever, it's gonna be another Shayne Ward/Leon Jackson of a year so let's just relish the time we have with these guys, once they're in the bottom two they're clearly goners so enjoy it while we can!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 JudgeBrown

To be honest I hope they get to the final, it is an entertainment show and even though I don't find them entertainging its good to add them into the mix. And it really annoys Simon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

They topped the poll.. kind of absolutely fantastic considering the hateful comments been aimed at them :D

They make me laugh can't wauit untill next week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mrgreen70

cyning - agree, agree:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

I think they are hilarious, and even though i cringe every time they come on i do look forward to seeing them and can't help but laugh.
    They aren't the best singers obviously but i hate the way the crowd boos when they are mentioned, I could be wrong but i don't think they did that to Same Difference and they were dreadful!
    Hope they stay in a while longer.