Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neil Delamere's TV Burp

• 19-10-2009 11:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭

aka The Republic Of Telly

Any predictions for this new comedy show from RTE?

It's very hard to go wrong with the laugh-at-other-programmes format of HH's TV Burp. It appears that that is largely the style that is being aped. In fact, the format has been exported down under (rather than an unofficial knock-off) quite successfully already.

Prediction: It won't be near a "Byrne Ultimatum" level of facepalm, but on the other hand will hardly signal a new innovative and ribtickling era for RTE comedy either. Passable fare, then? As I said, it's hard to go too wrong with the "Burp" programme approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its RTE they'll fcuk it up, will Delamere be allowed to trash/mock RTE output?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭The Prophet

mike65 wrote: »
    will Delamere be allowed to trash/mock RTE output?

In the small, I'd imagine yes.
    But on the broader front, I'd say no.

I'd say that Delamere realises where his bread is buttered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Any predictions for this new comedy show from RTE?

Will not be a patch on the Blizzard of odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

mikom wrote: »

I agree entirely.
    That was vintage stuff - esp the old archive clips from RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Completely agree, that show was one of the best things ever put out by RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Is it RTE policy now to give unfunny Irish comedians a platform in which they can imitate funnier British people? Jason Byrne failed with his Shooting Stars rip-off and now Neil Delamare will most likely fail with a TV Burp rip-off.

What's next? Des Bishop's Screenwipe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

mike65 wrote: »
    Its RTE they'll fcuk it up, will Delamere be allowed to trash/mock RTE output?

Will Delemere ever find a new schtick besides Culchie Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

Is it RTE policy now to give unfunny Irish comedians a platform in which they can imitate funnier British people? Jason Byrne failed with his Shooting Stars rip-off and now Neil Delamare will most likely fail with a TV Burp rip-off.

What's next? Des Bishop's Screenwipe?

One of the best comments I've read today, Mr. Guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Will Delemere ever find a new schtick besides Culchie Gardai?

I'd say he wasnt giving out about them when they were helping to pull his Audi TT out of a truck in Moneygall a few weeks ago.

The promos looked good, but not sure he can carry it off for a whole series. On a positive note for Delamere, he can thank Jason Byrne. It is physically impossible that Delamere's show could be worse than The Byrne Ultimatum, so whatever he does it will be better than this show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

mikom wrote: »

Remember his commentary on lord of the rings porno. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

A comedy type show like this is only as good as the host. And lets be honest about this, Delamere is not all that funny really. Sure he'll make the odd good gag, but he has had lots of time to prep this show and some of the joke's I'm sure will write themselves.

If my memory serves me correct he won a stand up competition on a radio show. Now fair dues for winning it but its not exactly cutting your teeth from a young age in a backstreet comedy club. I don't want to seem too critical because he has done well for himself, but he is just a tad over-rated as a comic. IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

When's this on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Mike Bassett

Next Monday night,It's going to be on instead of that Baz culture clash thingy,that finished up their tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Next Monday night,It's going to be on instead of that Baz culture clash thingy,that finished up their tonight

One turd sandwich eaten...... one more to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

looks crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

going on the trailer it looks the same old useless gags that a 5 year old could write. why not just bring back the blizzard of odd with murphy. i liked that have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭princess_calico

I was at the recording of the show last night and I have to say it was one of the funniest shows I've ever been at! I got free tickets for it through my media studies class and didn't know what to expect but it was bloody brilliant! then again... some of the funniest parts were the bloopers when stuff went wrong!

Delamare is a hilarious guy off camera, especially when he comes out with un-politically correct stuff! I'm looking forward to watching it again tonight! only problem is I'm in college and haven't got RTÉ2 in my apartment! I'll have to wait until it comes out on Youtube or on the RTÉ website! The warm up comedian was brilliant too, it'a a pity they didn't record him!

it was one of the funniest shows I've ever been at! I got free tickets for it through my media studies class and didn't know what to expect but it was bloody brilliant!

Freebie-taking media students are always the best barometer for what is top notch entertainment. ;)
    then again... some of the funniest parts were the bloopers when stuff went wrong!

Delamare is a hilarious guy off camera, especially when he comes out with un-politically correct stuff!

Getting some cheap unPC laughs off-camera and from mess-ups is one thing... but surely the real measure is what gets recorded on-camera?

What are the chances that he'll put Harry Hill, Chris Morris, and Jerry Sadowitz out of a job? No excuses, please.

I hope Delamere leaves us proverbially rolling in the aisles. Maybe the road to RTE's comedy Damascus starts here then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TheCandystripes

7/10 so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

watching it now and god is neil is ****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

0.7/10 so far.

FYP

Godawful as expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

4/10 so far.
    FYP

Delivery is way too slow (might get better after a few weeks?)

Harry Hill is a genius who makes it look simple
    they created the newcomer award at edinburgh festival for him

its not the worst, but then again RTE have set that bar very low:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

Poor so far and I don't think he's going to improve with time.

Where do we reckon the studio audience are from? Definitely a crowd of poxy students. UCD my guess.

Tame

elshambo wrote: »
    FYP

Delivery is way too slow (might get better after a few weeks?)
    RUBBISH!!!
    Harry Hill is a genius who makes it look simple
    they created the newcomer award at edinburgh festival for him

its not the worst, but then again RTE have set that bar very low:p

FMP:o
    Yillan wrote: »
    Poor so far and I don't think he's going to improve with time.

Where do we reckon the studio audience are from? Definitely a crowd of poxy students. UCD my guess.

Tame
    ya very tame pretending to be harsh, like yer average young punk band on a major label:D

ballinasloe learner?:( at ballinasloe festival
    that Aussie is talentless and all

its actually getting worse as i type, they had all their good ideas in first minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Jesus, the X Factor skit is painful:(

God that x-factor skit was pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

I'm trying to remember did I laugh at any of that.

I don't think I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Rebel021

That was weak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Completely forgettable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I'm about 10 minutes through and to be honest, it's not hilarious.. but c'mon, it's a far cry from Jason Byrne's and Maeve Higgin's "efforts".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭brennan1979

I was at the recording of the show last night and I have to say it was one of the funniest shows I've ever been at! I got free tickets for it through my media studies class and didn't know what to expect but it was bloody brilliant! then again... some of the funniest parts were the bloopers when stuff went wrong!

Delamare is a hilarious guy off camera, especially when he comes out with un-politically correct stuff! I'm looking forward to watching it again tonight! only problem is I'm in college and haven't got RTÉ2 in my apartment! I'll have to wait until it comes out on Youtube or on the RTÉ website! The warm up comedian was brilliant too, it'a a pity they didn't record him!

What colour is the sky on your planet? That was appalling even by RTE standards. The Blizzard of Odd had a fairly similar rational, to poke fun at current TV. The difference being that the Blizzard of Odd was funny. That was dreadful. The audience would would crack up laughing whenever Delamere said a dirty word and that was about the height of the comedy involved.

Oh great Karl Spain is on now.

I laughed more at the Meerkats drifting off to sleep while standing up on Life on BBC HD earlier than I have to any modern Irish comedian.

Just poped in here to say this wuz very gud!! :):D:)

Not briliant, but VERY GUD all the same! I think Neil Delamere is easily one of the best stand-ups around (not to mention virile & cute in da flesh), and he did well for the first show here. 7.5/10 :)

A bunch of my student pals (always up for a laff and a drink... or ten! LOL!!) and went along to dis and said it gets funnyer! :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac:

Give him a chance (dont judge the show to early) and a few more episodes and he will have settled into a easy 9/10 I'd say. ;):D

Cant wait til next week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Not briliant, but VERY GUD all the same! I think Neil Delamere is easily one of the best stand-ups around (not to mention virile & cute in da flesh), and he did well for the first show here. 7.5/10 :)

A bunch of my student pals (always up for a laff and a drink... or ten! LOL!!) and went along to dis and said it gets funnyer! :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac:

Give him a chance (dont judge the show to early) and a few more episodes and he will have settled into a easy 9/10 I'd say. ;):D

Cant wait til next week!

That post made me laugh for all the wrong reasons.

Not briliant, but VERY GUD all the same!

Very good is Charlie Brooker.

This was shite.

Long live the BBC!

Cant wait til next week!

Hi Neil!

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Very good is Charlie Brooker.

This was shite.

Theirs always haters. :mad:

If u dont like it why dont u TRY and MAKE a comedy show! Its toughfer then u think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Boxfresh

I thought the show was alright. Ten times better than Byrne anyway.

Theirs always haters. :mad:

If u dont like it why dont u TRY and MAKE a comedy show! Its toughfer then u think.

Possibly because I'm trying to sell myself as and make a living off of being a "comedian" ?

I'd much prefer if these guys would not TRY to make comedy, because they simply cannot.

Just look at "The Panel". No Dara O'Brien = No funny.

If u dont like it why dont u TRY and MAKE a comedy show!

People who use this argument should be banned from arguing for life.

Hi Neil!

Im NOT NEIL, dough that wudnt be a bad thing considering the roomers of his potency in bed.

While Im here, a big pat on the back 4 the researchers and backroom staff on The Republic Of Telly!They deserve any promised projects they might have been offered, successs of TRoT or not. Thumbs up whoever you are! icon14.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

Middling, may get better. The inserts were awful cack, mind you. That Australian chap was poor.

It didn't offend me to the extent that previous Rte comedy things have done so far this year ("Baz smugly mocks people who are different" and "Jason Byrne makes a complete bollocks of presenting a 'Shooting Stars' rip off" etc) , meaning I actually watched the entire episode.

Harry Hill wont be sh*tting himself, but it isn't the worst thing Rte have ever produced*

(*"Colm and Jim Jim's home run" is, of course, the worst thing Rté have ever produced.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

The difference between this and the blizzard of odd: Colin Murphy.

This was poor, sounded like they were using canned laughter for a lot of the clips. I'll give it another week to see how it goes.

Funny thing is I actually liked Neil Delamare on the panel. And I actually thought The Byrne Ultimatum was pretty good even though I'm not a fan of Jason Byrne.

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Oh great Karl Spain is on now.

Its actually alright, should play a lot more of the music

dont know if id bother following it to its end mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

not funny at all and a blatant rip off of Harry Hill. And he seems to laugh at all his own "jokes" too.

Not quite as bad a Byrne Ultimatum though. :rolleyes:

Orange pilled.

I actually thought The Byrne Ultimatum was pretty good

Same here!! HES A MAD FECKER! LOL! Easily his best tv work since Anonymous! Surely a box set cant be far off????

Xmas maybe? Fingers crossed anywayz.... :):D:) :cool: :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Same here!! HES A MAD FECKER! LOL! Easily his best tv work since Anonymous! Surely a box set cant be far off????

Xmas maybe? Fingers crossed anywayz.... :):D:) :cool: :)

I'd get out of here quickly if I was you.

The best only good thing about it was them having the fine one on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Im NOT NEIL, dough that wudnt be a bad thing considering the roomers of his potency in bed.

While Im here, a big pat on the back 4 the researchers and backroom staff on The Republic Of Telly!They deserve any promised projects they might have been offered, successs of TRoT or not. Thumbs up whoever you are! icon14.gif

Prophet, you are entertaining, I'll give you that.

I really don't know why we can't produce a good politics or media satire show in Ireland, along the lines of Newswipe / Screenwipe. I know that's aiming incredibly high but we have the material. There are very talented and funny writers and performers in this country but we get the same tired and dreadful 'comedians' fronting every programme. That was one of the worst failings of the show. Putting on hilariously bad clips of Irish television and still managing to make it unfunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Sometimes I think RTÉ are trying to make us not watch their programmes.