Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Parents should need a licence :(

• 15-10-2009 6:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

How disgusting is the following? :(

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1220625/Man-forced-year-old-girl-smoke-cigarettes-jailed-18-months.html
    A drug addict turned a girl of three into a chain smoker and even filmed her begging: 'Can I have another one?'

Cruel Graeme Conroy, 31, handed the crying toddler cigarette after cigarette before videoing her, a court was told.

In a series of shocking images he laughs and jokes as she repeatedly inhales the nicotine for his enjoyment.

At one point during the sickening clip someone in the background is heard joking: 'She'll smoke it all herself'.

By the time he had finished filming the girl had smoked a total of five cigarettes, the court heard.

Conroy was only stopped when a horrified parent who was shown the footage called the police.

Tonight, he was starting an 18 month prison sentence after pleading guilty to child neglect.
    The sickening footage was taken on February 24 this year after Conroy visited the girl's home in the Wardley area of Gateshead, Tyne and Wear.

Before lighting up again he ordered another child, a 14 year old girl, to film the 'appalling' images on her mobile phone 'as a joke'.

He is then seen handing the cigarette to the toddler before laughing and joking as she takes drag after drag.

The distressing film has not been released to protect the girl's identity.

The teenage girl who filmed the footage later told police that when she arrived at the house Conroy boasted of how the toddler had already smoked two.

'He said: 'Watch this',' the girl said. 'She, like, had a tab. I was told to video it so I did.

'She had another one, then finished that one and said 'can I have another one'. He said 'aye'.

'I stopped recording. He was like, it was dead funny.

'He said finish it and she put it out in the ashtray. Then she said: 'Can I have another one'.

'He (Conroy) said 'you've had enough' and she started crying so he gave her one.

'She was inhaling it and everything. It looked like she had smoked before, she was inhaling and she knew what to do.'

The girl added: 'Graeme didn't tell her what to do, she just knew what to do.'

Conroy, a drug addict, even bragged that he had given the girl cannabis, but tests on the girl's hair ruled it out.

Tony Glover, prosecuting, told Newcastle Crown Court: 'The essence of the offence is that he encouraged this child to smoke.

'He admitted giving a child a cigarette. He said he knew it was wrong and knew he shouldn't have done it.'

Although tests showed the girl's chest was clear, she had a low wheezing, the court was told.

A medical report also confirmed that there was further evidence the girl had been forced to smoke cigarettes.

Jane Foley, mitigating, said: 'His behaviour was irresponsible and he clearly didn't give sufficient thought to what he was doing, believing it to be a bit of a joke.

'Clearly it's not funny. To anyone hearing the circumstances of the offence they would be appalled to hear that a three-year-old girl was permitted to smoke this cigarette.'

Judge David Wood said Conroy, of Blyth Terrace, Ashington, Northumberland, had shown a complete 'disregard' for the girl's safety.

'You evidently thought it would be funny if she was allowed to smoke cigarettes and you could take a video of what was going on,' he said.

'I expect you realise now this was not funny at all. This sort of conduct could be very damaging to a child's health and could have all sorts of effects upon her future health.

'You have completely disregarded her safety and endangered her.'

Amanda Sandford, from Action on Smoking and Health, said: 'It beggars belief that an adult could do that to a child. This is a form of child abuse and it's quite right that this person has been jailed

'The child would be at huge risk of being poisoned by the toxins in cigarettes and smoking so many at such an age could do irreparable damage to the respiratory system, not least because the child's lungs are still developing.

'We know from passive smoking that children are particularly vulnerable to damage, but a child smoking them itself at that level would also be at risk of passing out because carbon monoxide is the main gas being inhaled.'

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

My parents never buy me cigarettes :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Well hopefully while he's locked up he'll be somebodies bitch and be forced to "smoke" something else ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I reckon they did it just to get their names in the Daily Mail...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

be funny if he dies of lung cancer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Theres times Iv been out and about and watched in personal disgust the way some "parents" treat their kids. On one occasion recently a I was walking towards a young family..Mother, Father, a boy who Id say was probably 5 years old and a toddler..anyway the young lad was jumping around,like a 5 year old would do, and falls over hurting himself...anyway he breaks out in tears...but instead of rushing over to help and comfort his son, the father rushes over, grabs the child by the scruff of the neck and screams at him!

Now..id be one to mind my own business, but on this occasion I was sorely tempted to have a word...
    I just couldnt fathom treating my kids any way other than showing total love and care towards them...and when I see someone basically manhandeling theirs it just cuts me up totally...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Voltex wrote: »
    Theres times Iv been out and about and watched in personal disgust the way some "parents" treat their kids. On one occasion recently a I was walking towards a young family..Mother, Father, a boy who Id say was probably 5 years old and a toddler..anyway the young lad was jumping around,like a 5 year old would do, and falls over hurting himself...anyway he breaks out in tears...but instead of rushing over to help and comfort his son, the father rushes over, grabs the child by the scruff of the neck and screams at him!

Now..id be one to mind my own business, but on this occasion I was sorely tempted to have a word...
    I just couldnt fathom treating my kids any way other than showing total love and care towards them...and when I see someone basically manhandeling theirs it just cuts me up totally...

Ah ffs Voltex you shouldn't be posting on boards without asking me first *grabs by scruff of neck*

mukki wrote: »
    be funny if he dies of lung cancer :D

yeh it'd be f*cking hilarious wouldn't it.

That's made me want to cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

While on very rare occasionas parents can be dispicible to their children, the power to stop people from having children is too great for any human to use fairly/responsibly. Inevitably something like the stolen generation in australia would happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Lets just bring back the third reich and I'd happily march the piece of **** to the gas chambers myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

That is just sick, it's equal to giving alcohol to a dog.

He should be castrated for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

just found out a girl i went to school with, who is very young and going out with the biggest t*at i have ever come across is knocked up.

she has the brain capacity of a turnip.

why are these people having kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

You can't deny a dog a bit of booze.

As for castrating the jaykie? Cripes... what next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Im actually at a loss for words, and believe me thats rare..

If its true, I hope that prick suffers big time and in prison.

/and gets the hole ridden off him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Disgusting. There really should be more power for the state to take kids like this out of their parents' care.

Dogs love beer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

just found out a girl i went to school with, who is very young and going out with the biggest t*at i have ever come across is knocked up.

she has the brain capacity of a turnip.

why are these people having kids?

I know a girl who'd make that girl look like a genius who's on her sixth child - she treats them all like sh**e so that they too can go on to have many stupid children by many fathers and treat them like sh**e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

baby smoking is terrible. as if underage smoking wasn't bad enough already but now this....

this will only lead to more, by the age of 5 the baby will be smoking meoawanna, by 7 E through the nose and at the age of 9 will be hash and needles and of course all those stages will include excessive drinking (not milk).

and as for more kids on the oh-rising , by the age of 12 she'll already have 3 kids, D'ol, social welfare and a council house where her children will also grow up in neglect and the whole process will start over again :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Yea, we should bring out licences for every potential parent in Ireland because of one tosser... the said tosser will make the government bring in rules and regulations covered with red tape, making it impossible for some good law abiding citizens to have children. The right to have children will never be taken away from me. Ever. It is a human right and I will exercise that right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Only in ame- oh wait.

Thats really appaling. My stepmother's brother wonders why I gave him a cross look when he let the toddler fiddle around with his cigarettes. not that he lit her up or anything, but from watching she knew to pluck it up to her mouth. and that girl i saw was only 12 months old. parents gotta be careful what habits they feed their kids.
    Yea, we should bring out licences for every potential parent in Ireland because of one tosser.
    I know another one living out in Rush ^^^. im sure theres a few more

Overheal wrote: »
    Only in ame- oh wait.

Thats really appaling. My stepmother's brother wonders why I gave him a cross look when he let the toddler fiddle around with his cigarettes. not that he lit her up or anything, but from watching she knew to pluck it up to her mouth. and that girl i saw was only 12 months old. parents gotta be careful what habits they feed their kids. I know another one living out in Rush ^^^. im sure theres a few more

Ah there's a few right eejits when it comes to parenting, but you can't punish everybody because of the faults of a few.

Did somebody just equate a dog to a child??? WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ah there's a few right eejits when it comes to parenting, but you can't punish everybody because of the faults of a few.

Did somebody just equate a dog to a child??? WTF?
    how insulting for the dog.

It would never work practically but I always mused the idea of needing a parenting license to receive child benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Ah, if only the Nazis waited a few years before going a bit mad, we could actually discuss solutions openly without sounding crazy. Feckin Jews like, what were they doing wrong.

How about voluntary sterilization in exchange for lifetime subscription to heat, free sky and an assortment of his and her sovereign rings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Exon

I agree, Parents should need a license to avoid years of missery to children.

It should be fairly easy for reputable people to obtain a license but near impossible for people who mistreat their children.

There should also be very strong sentencing guidelines giving the judges for child abuse cases, in a case such as this 10 years wouldn't be too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I think it was Spike Milligan who said that everyone should be sterilised at birth and once married and able to prove theye could be responsible parents they could then have the operation reversed. A bit harsh but not a bad theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

I know I sometimes see things that I think shouldn't happen with kids, but you have to remember that those parents have been with that child all day. He's probably fallen over maybe ten times already and has gone running to mammy and daddy complaining about a cut knee each time. Maybe the father was tired of telling him to stop acting the fool. Or maybe the father had heard some bad news that day, or had been let go from his job.

Parents aren't superhumans, they're like everyone else....they too have bad days when things just get to them.

Although I can't imagine what upset the guy (with the cigarettes) that he felt the need to ruin his child's life too. Tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Miss Sunshine

Yea, we should bring out licences for every potential parent in Ireland because of one tosser... the said tosser will make the government bring in rules and regulations covered with red tape, making it impossible for some good law abiding citizens to have children. The right to have children will never be taken away from me. Ever. It is a human right and I will exercise that right.

I think you might be taking the thread a bit too serious there IamXavier. I highly doubt that the OP realkly means licenses are needed. I agree to some extent. People need licenses to drive cars, degrees to work at most jobs, training to work in retail but knock out a couple of kids and treat them like crap, no experience or qualifications needed, and this is by far the most difficult and important job of them all.

I believe something needs to be done, the damage done in the early stages of childhood lasts a lifetime and the law is to weak, it seems because you gave birth to the child you have a divine right to keep it. At least, mandatory training should be held for all new parents when a child is born, conducting in the hospital. Parents cacn be educated about certain risks and how to help the child to benefit the most in their future. Yeah it'll cost money, but if it gives some children a better quality of life there's not ,uch to whinge about now is there?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I dislike all smokers.

I honestly think they don't know how bad cigarette smoke smells to non-smokers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's a fabricated story in case someone gets their thong in a twist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

It's because of attitudes like yours that there are so many undisciplined, unruly little bollix's running around the place! - A bit of tough love can go a long way.

As for the 'junkie gives cigarettes to a baby' - Scumbag! But lets not also forget the amount of SCUMBAGS you see every day, from all walks of life; smoking in their car, windows closed, with a child strapped in the back seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's because of attitudes like yours that there are so many undisciplined, unruly little bollix's running around the place! - A bit of tough love can go a long way.

Depends on why the kid fell. If he was messing and told to stop, I'm with you. If he was just playing, I'm with him. Not much point in having kids if you're not going to let them play and learn.
    As for the 'junkie gives cigarettes to a baby' - Scumbag! But lets not also forget the amount of SCUMBAGS you see every day, from all walks of life; smoking in their car, windows closed, with a child strapped in the back seat.

They have a mag!!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

He's not the parent (it would have heavily mentioned that in the article) but I would question the actual parents leaving their child with an idiot/drughead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

A fitting punishment for his neglect would be to chain him to a post and attach a rope with a hook, in his ball sack, have that attached to a truck and have it drive off slowly, very fitting punishment IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

coyle wrote: »

i think my heart stopped while watching this.

terrifying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 MickMacca

Lafin me 'ead off at this.

The only area where the government have yet to get their slimey hands, and you lot are crying out for a licence.

:eek: Will you ever learn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

OP has been banned. No search function so i can't see his other posts. I wonder what it was for?

Exon wrote: »
    I agree, Parents should need a license to avoid years of missery to children.

It should be fairly easy for reputable people to obtain a license but near impossible for people who mistreat their children.

There should also be very strong sentencing guidelines giving the judges for child abuse cases, in a case such as this 10 years wouldn't be too much.

A license doesn't guarantee anything though. It doesn't automatically make people good parents. It would only make the process of having children harder.

What about one night stands, condoms bursting, unprotected sex. How do you prevent this? Do you force the mother to have an abortion if she doesn't have a license? It's impossible to implement. If anything increase funding to investigate these crimes, give free education to people and help them out instead of punishing everyone.
    I think you might be taking the thread a bit too serious there IamXavier.

The internets are serious business... :P
    I highly doubt that the OP realkly means licenses are needed. I agree to some extent. People need licenses to drive cars, degrees to work at most jobs, training to work in retail but knock out a couple of kids and treat them like crap, no experience or qualifications needed, and this is by far the most difficult and important job of them all.

It's a basic human right. Unless having children is going to severely harm your country and every who lives in it, people should be free to have children. Education is definately the way forward, providing help to parents and make them understand. Some parents are caught in a cycle, their parents shouted at them and beat them, their parents parents done it to them too. It's conditioning, they think it's actually ok to beat a child or mentally destroy that child. This is where education and counceling would help.
    I believe something needs to be done, the damage done in the early stages of childhood lasts a lifetime and the law is to weak, it seems because you gave birth to the child you have a divine right to keep it. At least, mandatory training should be held for all new parents when a child is born, conducting in the hospital. Parents cacn be educated about certain risks and how to help the child to benefit the most in their future. Yeah it'll cost money, but if it gives some children a better quality of life there's not ,uch to whinge about now is there?

Giving birth to a child gives you the initial right to keep it, afterwards your actions decide if you are going to keep this child. Not everyone can provide the best for their kids, but they can give them an infinate amount of unconditional love, which is worth more, in my opinion, than any material good.

I think it is ok for a child to be slaped with an open hand, on the back side. Most of us got it when we were kids, did it really do us any harm? A 20 stone body builder slaping a 2 year old child with full force is wrong.

A slap should be timed right, so the child will be conditioned to do the right thing. A child does not always understand or respect a talk, or other forms of punishment. A slap will remind him/her more than anything else. Being grounded, taking the TV or computer away, no sweets or any other punishment isn't effective.

Idealy the way you should raise your child is to positively reinforce any good actions with some sort of reward. If they are good, tell them, if they do something good, reward them with sweets, if they are continuously good then reward them with a day out. By far the most effective method of conditioning. Problem is, no child is perfect, nor is any parent no matter what you may think. Children still need a little slap in order to keep them in line. Note how I said slap, and not beating. I don't agree with shouting at children either, this makes the situation so much worse.

Parenting is not an easy job, it never will be, but we as a society are becoming too conservative, rules for everything, licenses for everything. I always thing of how people lived hundreds of years ago, how few rules and regulations they had compared to us. Too many rules and laws is not a good thing.

vinylmesh wrote: »
    OP has been banned. No search function so i can't see his other posts. I wonder what it was for?

You can always check the banlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Was there not a casse in Holland where the Judge banned a woman from having any more kids?

I dont think you have grasped the full meaning of love and care.
    I have no problems disciplining my children...but never in an un-controlled manner. I let my children BE children...they run..play..make noise and I have to say Im gratfeul for that everyday of my life. I let them learn through experience.

I know we as Parents suffer from the stresses of daily life...but we also have to remeber that kids..are the single most innocent members of our community...and need to be treated as such..regardless of everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I think this guy may very well have got himself a slot on the next series of the worlds dumbest criminals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Miss Sunshine

Idealy the way you should raise your child is to positively reinforce any good actions with some sort of reward. If they are good, tell them, if they do something good, reward them with sweets, if they are continuously good then reward them with a day out. By far the most effective method of conditioning. Problem is, no child is perfect, nor is any parent no matter what you may think. Children still need a little slap in order to keep them in line. Note how I said slap, and not beating. I don't agree with shouting at children either, this makes the situation so much worse.

You are absolutely right and I couldn't agree more. However, the debate here is that some parents don't know how to raise children and do more harm than good. I'm an avid news reader and the amount of horrible stories regarding child abuse and neglect is horrific.

Education is the way forward but if education wasn't a priority for the parents when they were younger it's not going to be now that they are parents. What I"m trying to say is they are not going to actively seek out evening classes that cost a couple of hundred euro each when they think they're doing a great job without it. This is why I suggested that parenting classes should be free and mandatory in hospital. Obviously it's not going to fix all problems and help everyone but if it helps a few it starts to break the cycle.

You are absolutely right and I couldn't agree more. However, the debate here is that some parents don't know how to raise children and do more harm than good. I'm an avid news reader and the amount of horrible stories regarding child abuse and neglect is horrific.

Education is the way forward but if education wasn't a priority for the parents when they were younger it's not going to be now that they are parents. What I"m trying to say is they are not going to actively seek out evening classes that cost a couple of hundred euro each when they think they're doing a great job without it. This is why I suggested that parenting classes should be free and mandatory in hospital. Obviously it's not going to fix all problems and help everyone but if it helps a few it starts to break the cycle.

Yea, if mandatory classes were given out, and regular checkups from the department of family and social afairs to the homes of suspected child abuse, or something, could work... Definately some sort of education though. It's really the only way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

Looks like Broken Britain is even more uncivilized than Ireland. I did not think such a thing was possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

"Equal to"?

(Baby cancer > drunken dog) by a good margin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭MetalDawg

Ironically, a pack of cigarettes will be what his ass is now worth in jail.

.......no, Bubba! NOOOOOOOO!!!!!

*screams*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

MetalDawg wrote: »
    Ironically, a pack of cigarettes will be what his ass is now worth in jail.

.......no, Bubba! NOOOOOOOO!!!!!

*screams*

Fantastic.