Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurling All-Star team announced

• 15-10-2009 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭

No major surprises here:

The GAA Hurling Vodafone All-Stars for 2009:

Goalkeeper:

1. PJ Ryan (Kilkenny) first award

Full-Backs:

2. Ollie Canning (Galway) fourth award ('01, '03, '05)
    3. Padraig Maher (Tipperary) first award
    4. Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny) first award (07, '08)

Half-Backs:

5. Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny) seventh award in-a-row ('03, '04, '05, '06, '07, '08)
    6. Michael 'Brick' Walsh (Waterford) second award ('07)
    7. Conor O'Mahony (Tipperary) second award ('08)

Midfield:

8. Michael Rice (Kilkenny) first award
    9. Alan McCrabbe (Dublin) first award

Half-Forwards:

10. Lar Corbett (Tipperary) first award
    11. Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny) ninth award ('00, '02, '03, '04, '05, '06, '07, '08)
    12. Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny) second award ('08)

Full-Forwards:

13. Noel McGrath (Tipperary) first award
    14. Joe Canning (Galway) second award ('08)
    15. John Mullane (Waterford) second award ('03)

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/1015/allstar.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

14/15 of the team I had picked myself, but quite how Joe Canning deserved an all star is beyond me, can we expect another 10 years or so of this :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Premier what did I tell you!!

Absolutely delighted for Joe :p:D Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

It was a straight knockout between Canning and Kelly to be fair, even though I would've gone with Kelly myself.

What confuses me is that with the inclusion of Ryan at no1, they're showing the committee obviously hold performances in AI finals in very high regard, yet they omit Kelly even though he scored 0-13 in that same match!

Daysha wrote: »
    It was a straight knockout between Canning and Kelly to be fair, even though I would've gone with Kelly myself.

What confuses me is that with the inclusion of Ryan at no1, they're showing the committee obviously hold performances in AI finals in very high regard, yet they omit Kelly even though he scored 0-13 in that same match!
    The way I think it is that the higher up the match(semis or final AI) the more of a chance you've got because as well as playing well against 'the best' your going to be rememberd too. If a team went out very early people are more likely to forget about the player who carried them through unless there was alot of talk about that player anyway. Im sure hype has a lot to do with it.
    And the all stars are picked by journelists and that aren't they? So they're more likely just going to pick big names.
    Well thats my understanding of it anyway.. Dunno if it how they goa bout it.
    And all in all I don't see much wrong with that team, there was stiff compeptition for the forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

14/15 of the team I had picked myself, but quite how Joe Canning deserved an all star is beyond me, can we expect another 10 years or so of this :rolleyes:

Top scorer in the championship and the only forward to really put it up to Kilkenny this year. He will win an All-Star for the next ten years and he'll probably deserve every single one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Top scorer in the championship and the only forward to really put it up to Kilkenny this year. He will win an All-Star for the next ten years and he'll probably deserve every single one.

:D:D one of the funniest things I've read in along time are you for real, yeah Eoin Kelly and Lar Corbett didnt put it up to them at all sure.

Joe scored 1-1 from play against KK in what was not a knockout game and he scored the 1-1 in the first 15 mins marking a full back making he's debut at FB in championship hurling and was very ordinary for the rest of the year, dont get me wrong the guy is an imense talent and superb hurler, but this year in inter-county senior hurling he was clearly injured and below par.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I wonder did they take club and U-21 performances into account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

:D:D one of the funniest things I've read in along time are you for real, yeah Eoin Kelly and Lar Corbett didnt put it up to them at all sure.

Joe scored 1-1 from play against KK in what was not a knockout game and he scored the 1-1 in the first 15 mins marking a full back making he's debut at FB in championship hurling and was very ordinary for the rest of the year, dont get me wrong the guy is an imense talent and superb hurler, but this year in inter-county senior hurling he was clearly injured and below par.

Oh so very true. Can't believe at that inclusin. Actually delighted for Maher, really thought he was brilliant throughout the season. Congrats to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

I would have Shefflin full forward myself, his best performance coming from there. Eddie Brennan should be on that team too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Thrilled for Alan McCrabbe. He richly deserves his award.

Agree with some posters here about Joe Canning. I dont think he should have got an All-Star this year. He just didnt appear comfortable for some reason injury maybe but he was not near his best and got this award on reputation. I think Shefflin at F/F is a better choice this year and I would have Eddie Brennan in team also. On the basis of how they appear to pick the team I would have Eoin Kelly instead of John Mullane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

De-lighted for McCrabbe :D.
    Definitely deserved one this year.

As for Joe Canning, I think he's a legend and all but really, I don't get how he got one :confused: . Besides the aul free-taking, I didn't think he played as well as eoin kelly, for example.

Alas, no Limerick hurlers, what gone wrong with the world!!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Tommy Walsh 7th all star this lad is on way to 11-12 by looks of it

Shefflin might be first man make 10 mark too.

Only matter time now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

I really thought Joe Canning wouldn't get one.

I really thought they'd recognise the fact that there were too many better forwards than him this year.

I really should have known better.

I'd say Shefflin will make 10.. He has the media, wont be too hard.

Wheres all the Galwayers when ya need them. How do they feel about Joe C getting one? I think he does deserve it but the way people are talking im wondering..
    It's good for rateings to have him on tv anyway ;)

EDIT: I have found comfort in a Galway website :) I knew I was right lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

Think it's an absolute joke Canning got an all-star!! :mad:

If some other hurler gave the performances that Canning did this year in senior championship they would not have been given a sniff of a nomination not to mind an all star!!!

ggrrr!! *shakes fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

So there you have it. One of the outstanding forwards of his generation, beloved by the media, but who had a quiet enough year by his standards where most of his scores came from placed balls. A few have said he didn't deserve an award. Henry Shefflin anyone?

JC was well entitled to it; see his performances in the club (his complete dismantling of Ballyhale in particular) and U-21 (albeit 1 game) campaigns.

John Mullane was the really lucky one - did nothing in his final 2 games of the c'ship - Eoin Kelly (Tipp) more entitled me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Shannonsider

JC was well entitled to it; see his performances in the club (his complete dismantling of Ballyhale in particular) and U-21 (albeit 1 game) campaigns.

John Mullane was the really lucky one - did nothing in his final 2 games of the c'ship - Eoin Kelly (Tipp) more entitled me thinks.[/quote]

Canning got his all star from his performance against Clare in the U21 championship. If you can't get an all star from one savage performance, then why did PJ Ryan get one??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭danlen

personally i do think that kelly deserved one more than canning. we all know that canning is an unbelievable hurler and prob will win several of these all-stars down the road but this year? really?

its a fact that the u-21 game with clare won him that award. no matter how good he was in that game it shouldnt be enough to win an all-star

danlen wrote: »
    personally i do think that kelly deserved one more than canning. we all know that canning is an unbelievable hurler and prob will win several of these all-stars down the road but this year? really?

its a fact that the u-21 game with clare won him that award. no matter how good he was in that game it shouldnt be enough to win an all-star

Ok, explain why PJ Ryan got an award???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Cause he basicly won the all ireland for kilkenny!;)

pj ryan conceded less goals than clinton hennessy. he conceded less goals than brendan cummins. and kept more clean sheets than brendan cummins.

oh and he was the first goalkeeper in 16 years to win the man of the match award in the AL final.

and without him* kilkenny probably wouldnt be champions right now

(*and benny dunne!)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Because he was the best goalkeeper in the country this year?

My point being why the witch hunt because Canning got an All Star for one savage performance when Ryan only had to make a couple of saves. He doesn't have much to do with the defence in front of him.

What about the howler in the semi final when he mis judged a high ball and it went into the back of the net. Cummins wouldn't let that happen. Canning carries an entire set of forwards (bar Hayes).

My point being why the witch hunt because Canning got an All Star for one savage performance when Ryan only had to make a couple of saves. He doesn't have much to do with the defence in front of him.

What about the howler in the semi final when he mis judged a high ball and it went into the back of the net. Cummins wouldn't let that happen. Canning carries an entire set of forwards (bar Hayes).

You must have missed the all ireland final.

Also you're conveniently over looking the excellent save from Eoin Kelly in that same all Ireland semi final.

And if you're going to knock Ryan for the goal conceded to Kelly in the the semi you will surely also remember the one Cummins conceded from way out against limerick. Kind of messes up your " Cummins wouldn't let that happen" nonsense.

Canning scored precisely 2-8 from play in this years championship. 1-4 of that was against Laois in May.

1-0 against KK
    0-1 aginst Clare
    0-0 against Cork and
    0-3 against Waterofrd.

Doesn't look like he's carrying anyone to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭portumna

Has nobody taken into account the fact that JC was top scorer in the championship this year. Considering he played less games than most of the closest to him in the list i find that an amazing feat and it is for that reason he won and deserved his All Star. Granted his performances weren't as good as he can produce he was still a class act.

Shannonsider glad to see another Portumna supporter in Leixlip!

Fair points.. maybe i'm being a bit hard on PJ Ryan. Deserved his All Star based on one game and the Eoin Kelly save from the semi. No other keeper stands out remotely near this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

PJ Ryan was outstanding this year made three best saves all season

I think Joe will be worried not to be put down after he collects his all star....
    I think he did well, for some games he wasnt up in the full forward infact against Cork wasnt he moved right out to mid field, to try win ball? And with dead ball he is definitly the man to watch, people are overlooking that I think. Dead ball skills CAN win a game for you; and its worth anything to have someone that can take frees from th halfway line, sidelines, good peneltys and do well from play. Joe would start for any county im sure.

Oh and I thought only senior league and championship were brought into consideration?? I hear people saying under 21 and club but they don't count do they??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

deise_girl wrote: »
    I think Joe will be worried not to be put down after he collects his all star....
    I think he did well, for some games he wasnt up in the full forward infact against Cork wasnt he moved right out to mid field, to try win ball? And with dead ball he is definitly the man to watch, people are overlooking that I think. Dead ball skills CAN win a game for you; and its worth anything to have someone that can take frees from th halfway line, sidelines, good peneltys and do well from play. Joe would start for any county im sure.

Oh and I thought only senior league and championship were brought into consideration?? I hear people saying under 21 and club but they don't count do they??

Nope, people are trying to think of reasons why Cannings inclusion is merited. If we are talking about U21 players then Darach Honan should be in the team

that is the sort of attitude that cost james mcgarry so many all-stars. in fact a kk keeper hasnt got an all star since '93. ryan didnt concede a single goal in '08 and missed out so he definately deserves this one.
    Canning carries an entire set of forwards (bar Hayes).

Think thats extremely harsh. healy had a very good year (second top scorer from play in championship!). hayes had a good year. and i think aonghas callinan must have been very close to an all-star. look at what joe scored from play and tell me he's carrying them forwards

I had a 2/3 chance being happy with who got young hurler :)
    Ollie needent have opened the thing for senior Hurler, it was obvious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

Your post is muck!! put it up to kk for half an hour is all he did after that jj delaney had him well shackled.. What about lar corbett and eoin kelly putting it up to kk??
    its a disgrace that he got one!! Just goes to show reputation is a major factor in these awards.. Eoin kelly was superb in the ai final so if we're going to be handing out awards on one or two performances he surely deserved one, probably ahead of mullane too, who had two great games early on but was nowhere to be seen in the last two games when the stakes were raised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

If wer're giving out all stars for savage performances at under 21 level then darach honan should be getting an all star not joe canning, honan scored about 1-5 from play in that math in cluding a point from right out on the wing to either level or win the match (i cant remember exactly).

Joe canning got this award simply on reputation just like john mullane got it as a tribute for being a top hurler for the better part of a decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

put it up to kk for half an hour is all he did after that jj delaney had him well shackled.. What about lar corbett and eoin kelly putting it up to kk??
    Just goes to show reputation is a major factor in these awards..

Reputation is very valuable when these awards are handed out. But it devalues them really. I would say Joe would say himself he was a little suprised to get one. Agree that lad from Clare is just as entitled to one as Canning on this years performances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 wackjob

think eddie brennan is the most under rated player for years, had some vital interventions this year at crunch times. For some reason seems to get over looked. Must not have the glam factor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Premier what did I tell you!!

Absolutely delighted for Joe :p:D Fair play to him.
    Do you know how much did Joe pay the All Star selection committee Déise Girl? Because genuinely, that is the only way he could have got a place on the side. Eoin Kelly was the popular selection for 14, and deserved it. I'd even put Martin Comerford in ahead of Canning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

LeoB wrote: »
    Reputation is very valuable when these awards are handed out. But it devalues them really. I would say Joe would say himself he was a little suprised to get one. Agree that lad from Clare is just as entitled to one as Canning on this years performances

What lad from Clare?

Surely not Darach Honan who didn't even play a minute of senior hurling? Let alone any club activities. Granted he was very good at U-21 level (as was Canning).

grenache wrote: »
    Do you know how much did Joe pay the All Star selection committee Déise Girl? Because genuinely, that is the only way he could have got a place on the side. Eoin Kelly was the popular selection for 14, and deserved it. I'd even put Martin Comerford in ahead of Canning.
    I would of been more hesitant of giving it to Kelly. His injury was affecting his play for alot of the Munster games. But I suppose same does kinda go for Canning. I dunno but I just think Joe deserved it more. I suppose just the idea of him only being 20(at the time) and being able to do so much for Galway got it for him. Without him Galway wouldn't have got done as well. I think people are over looking how important a dead ball scorer can be, they could win the game for you. God knows without Eoin Kelly taking our frees we wouldnt be nearly as good. Joe can score the sidelines, peneltys from the half way line. He's amazing at it, then being in the top 10 scorers from play.. I know I'm fully biased talking but I think he did deserve his all star.

To shorten that down, you fancy his pudgy little cheeks :p

I really dont know how to reply to that :o:o But hes not pudgy!!! :P

Ah he is a little ;)

Well hes better off, ermm, sturdy for hurling. :D

ha, i dont think it would be his hurling capabilities that you'd be interested in ;):D

Again i just don't know how an innocent 14yr old can reply to that!!:o
    Fairness he isnt hard on the eye :)

Again i just don't know how an innocent 14yr old can reply to that!!:o
    Fairness he isnt hard on the eye :)
    ah the story of teenage crushes. This week joe canning, next week shayne ward, the week after seamus callanan. You and soccy should start up a fan club on bebo! :D

Oi, dont be bringing me into convos! And its a certain adare senior hurler now, duh! :)

anyways, back on topic, deise_girl, joe canning did not deserve that all-star over eoin kelly. Get that into your little head ;) (although i cant say much :P).

Too bad reputation was a factor :rolleyes:

Yeh I must say no at Shayne Ward.. Though the X Factor this year. Soccy keep your mouth closed :P And as great as this Adare player is, hes not the greatest :D Lismore players are better looking :)

And I really think he did deserve it :) Im actually not gonna budge from that desicsion! oh Bwt Soccy can you see pics on boards with your phone?? coz theres something i want to pm ya :P

Oi, dont be bringing me into convos! And its a certain adare senior hurler now, duh! :)
    Oh yes, forgot you've moved onto stalking Declan Hannon now :p

Yup she is!! I hope your aware of all her actions :P Disgarceful what she'd be getting up to :P *Awaits Soccy to blab about me!!*

I'm far too nice, so I'll keep my mouth shut :cool:.