Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How is Barcode Fairview still open???

• 15-10-2009 9:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭

How is Barcode Fairview still open???

If anybody isn’t familiar with this club, its basically a Dublin club that caters for scum between the ages of 15-22. Opened in Fairview Park (no less) it has been the scourge of surrounding areas for years. Every weekend it attracts crowds of the Dublin sub-species from both North and South of the liffey. One who is unfortunate enough to wonder into the club on a Friday/Saturday night would be forgiven for thinking they walked into a convention for the Jeremy Kyle show. Give these “people” cheap booze and you can imagine the results.

Residents in local areas Clontarf and Marino have been campaigning to get the club closed on account of it not having a proper licence but primarily for the fact that the people who attend it cause major disturbances in the surrounding areas.

See link

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/bar-code-may-have-to-be-torn-down-1481305.html

Vomit, public urination, scum copulating in public, and serious assaults are routine.

Tragically a young man was kicked to death outside last Saturday. RIP

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/chased-then-kicked-to-death-1913012.html

Does anybody know this club?? More to the point does anybody know why this club is still open when it was clearly in breach of planning rules?? Even Clontarf police want it closed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

That place is shocking!

Full of 18s that look under 18 who think they're models. The whole place has this real fake vibe to it.

Never ever going there again. Lasted 2 drinks before i got pissed off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Full of kids thinking they're hard men. Hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Estimated lifespan of thread: 2-5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

I went there once, it must have been six or seven years ago. Hated the place and never went back. I can only imagine how bad it is now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

Not to mention the scum bouncers that think it is ok to beat customers up, and yes I am a witness to it.

A company I used to work for had a social day in Westwood and then had drinks there afterwards. When it came to closing time the ultra zealous bouncers physically manhandled everyone back in doors to exit another route. When some colleagues of mine objected to this the bouncers jumped on them and one clearly punched him in the face. We reported this to the Gardai and the head of security. We had sober witnesses too, but as is per usual nothing happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Used to go when I was 18/19 every week but stopped after I got punched by a guy...:eek::eek:

All I was doing was trying to difuse a row between him and my mate,never thought he'd hit s girl!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭APM

haven't been in many years but while Philip Smith is still making profit out of the place it will remain open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Used to go there a few years back when I worked near the place, never had any trouble (don't know what it is like now). But to be quite frank OP most of the pushing to get the place closed was by the LVA because of their prices. So as far as I'm concerned anywhere that bucks the trend of their price fixing and intimidation is to be lauded. As for public order, do you think that area is unique? Go to O'Connell St, Temple bar et al at the same times and you will see the same crap, ask the Garda, the courts and our government to do their jobs properly rather that picking on an individual place because it is obviously in your own back yard, and consider the bigger picture!

Edit: And by the way, people were getting the crap kicked out of them in that area long loonnnggg before Barcode was opened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

I didn't think that it was bad when it first opened. But it has really gone down hill in the past 6yrs. Some of the problems could be got to do with the huge enchasment area. Artane coolock beamount raheny clontarf Marino fairview and many other places. I feel this adds to the tension in the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

APM wrote: »
    Philip Smith

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Barcode will never close. Having realised they could never democratically get rid of "that sort" the government decided to at least contain the problem so as to minimise disturbance to "their sort".

To that end they secretly invested in fitting a warehouse with bar + couches. Make it free in, play shit music and they'll start flooding in from all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Used to work in East Point and ended up in Barcode after work on most Fridays. Never had a problem with the place and always had a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Sounds amazing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

My brother worked in the planning board last summer, and said that they had their final appeal for a club licence rejected well over a year ago. It's registered as a 'sports bar' and I have no idea how it's still open. That said, I used to go there every weekend, and still pop down occasionally due to convenience. What happened last weekend was tragic but generally there's not much serious trouble around there - no worse than any of the main clubs in town, in any case. Still wouldn't shed a tear if it was closed down though.
    That place is shocking!

Full of under 16s that look under 14 who think they're models. T
    FYP. If you don't watch yourself there you'll be on the register before you know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Im actually shocked how bad its reputation is now. I used to go 6 or 7 years ago and it was an alright spot. Had some really good nights there. Its a shame its gone downhill so badly :o

Apparently the guy who killed that lad last weekend walked into the police station with his dad to hand himself in.

brummytom wrote: »
    Sounds amazing
    It's good fun up to the age of 19. After that it just makes you feel old.
    anniehoo wrote: »

Apparently the guy who killed that lad last weekend walked into the police station with his dad to hand himself in.

Fair play to him. What he did was terrible but it was most likely a mistake, and I can't help but feel sorry for him as well. Whatever you do in a row, you don't stamp someone's head when they're down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Was there several times and never had trouble

My mate was clamped there recently though. BURN IT DOWN!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

If they close it down, where are all the scumbags going to go? I like that they have a "place" to go, that keeps them away from my places :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

vinylmesh wrote: »
    Barcode will never close. Having realised they could never democratically get rid of "that sort" the government decided to at least contain the problem so as to minimise disturbance to "their sort".

To that end they secretly invested in fitting a warehouse with bar + couches. Make it free in, play shit music and they'll start flooding in from all over.

I don't even know what this means. Sounds like a weird conspiracy theory where you are suggesting the government secretly own the Barcode?

From the article about the murder it doesn't appear the Barcode had anything to do with it. Some yobs had been causeing trouble in the area and eventually hopped on some guy near the Barcode.

I hadn't realised the place never got planning and it does seem strange that nobody has enforced the ruling about demolishing the building. There must be a further appeals process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i love the place. aint been there in about 5 years, but lived across the road from it and went there a good bit while i lived there.

girls in short skirts,
    slutty girls ar that,
    cheap beer.

cant go wrong. i detect a sense of jealousy from the OP...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭Rondolfus

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Fair play to him. What he did was terrible but it was most likely a mistake, and I can't help but feel sorry for him as well. Whatever you do in a row, you don't stamp someone's head when they're down.

Kicking someone when they're down, or indeed stamping on their head is the mark of a cowardly scum bag. I hope this animal is jailed for a long long time, however, our legal system will probably give him 3 years suspended something stupid like that.

Our legal system is forcing the public to become vigilantes becuase it won't dish out proper justice, and the scum are running wild.

i love the place. aint been there in about 5 years, but lived across the road from it and went there a good bit while i lived there. cant go wrong. i detect a sense of jealousy from the OP...

Good to see you made your judgement on the latest information you had at hand :rolleyes:

Rondolfus wrote: »
    Our legal system is forcing the public to become vigilantes becuase it won't dish out proper justice, and the scum are running wild.
    Do you live in Baghdad or Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭mehmeh12

Kicking someone when they're down, or indeed stamping on their head is the mark of a cowardly scum bag. I hope this animal is jailed for a long long time, however, our legal system will probably give him 3 years suspended something stupid like that.

Define vigilante- what exactly are you suggesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭TheGreenGiant

Was there once and said I would never go back again!! Such a kip and everything that has been said on this thread so far is sooo true of the place! Its a haven for people who just want to go and get really pissed and start fights! If you want a good night out, you can't beat Coopers or Quinns. Always a great vibe in them and at least the people that go there are decent, and go out to have a bit of craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

A friend and myself went there after the Irish match last night while waiting for a dart, were SHOCKED to see that it wasn't open :( All we wanted was a pint and some nice young fresh to have a gander at :( Ended up having to go to that auld fellas pub beside the fairwiew grill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Was there once and said I would never go back again!! Such a kip and everything that has been said on this thread so far is sooo true of the place! Its a haven for people who just want to go and get really pissed and start fights! If you want a good night out, you can't beat Coopers or Quinns. Always a a load of muck savages in them and at least the people that go there are decent, and go out to have a bit of craic!

FYP :P

Good to see you made your judgement on the latest information you had at hand :rolleyes:

as already pointed out, nothing different goes on there to any other place. if things are different know to 5 years ago, its an idea of how society has gone and not barcode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭TheGreenGiant

Couldn't agree more! Something needs to be done to the Justice system as it simply isn't working!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I thought vomiting and copulation were signs of a good night.

Shows what I know

mehmeh12 wrote: »
    Define vigilante- what exactly are you suggesting?

A van + a group of people concerned with degeneracy + some "equipment" = swift justice

Much more preferable to the following equation,

Group of Scum + beer/drugs + no morals = assault/death of innocent person = slap on the wrist = two fingers to the justice system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Couldn't agree more! Something needs to be done to the Justice system as it simply isn't working!

Somewhere in the city the citizen rises

A friend and myself went there after the Irish match last night while waiting for a dart, were SHOCKED to see that it wasn't open :( All we wanted was a pint and some nice young fresh to have a gander at :( Ended up having to go to that auld fellas pub beside the fairwiew grill.

Well since its only open Thursday to Sunday... there really was no need to be SHOCKED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

It's good fun up to the age of 19. After that it just makes you feel old.

Fair play to him ??? are you for real?You feel sorry for him? A KILLER??
    a young man was killed .ONE person from the pack who killed the guy walked into clontarf station with his father ,They are still looking for another attacker.
    It's also been rreported that the guy who was killed ,was killed because his atackers thought he was gay .Now if that is true ,it is truely appalling .
    Killed for being gay !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

reminds me of paparazzi's in dun laoghaire years ago

orourkeda wrote: »
    I thought vomiting and copulation were signs of a good night.

Scum copulation leads to scum unemployed single mothers leads to your taxes paying for the upkeep of the kid! That kid will then most likely grow up in a high crime area, become part of a "pack" of scumbags who kick to death someone on the ground outside a club like Barcode!!

oisindoyle wrote: »
    Fair play to him ??? are you for real?You feel sorry for him? A KILLER??
    a young man was killed .ONE person from the pack who killed the guy walked into clontarf station with his father ,They are still looking for another attacker.
    It's also been rreported that the guy who was killed ,was killed because his atackers thought he was gay .Now if that is true ,it is truely appalling .
    Killed for being gay !!!
    I'm not congratulating him for killing someone; like I said, I think what he did was appalling. I'm saying he did the right thing by coming forward so that the bereaved family can get some sort of closure sooner. And yes, in a way I feel sorry for him. He might be a thug but I doubt he's a cold-hearted killer and he now has to live with what he did for the rest of his life, which is effectively ruined. Please leave the sensationalism to the tabloids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I never once went in there and I don't ever intend to. Let the scumbags and the kids have their place to go to, otherwise they will be mixing with everyone else and drinking on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

They have arcade games there as well. Ms pacman is the business when your drunk.

That kid will then most likely grow up in a high crime area, become part of a "pack" of scumbags who kick to death someone on the ground outside a club like Barcode!!

Like Annabels, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

stovelid wrote: »
    Like Annabels, really.

yeah there is no chance the person grew up in a middle class area and went to a fee paying school, that would never happen in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Free in
    Cheap Beer
    Drunk+horny+young+scantily cald wimminz

PEOPLE WANNA CLOSE THIS PLACE DOWN???????

:p

Seriously though, I can never understand the whole 'its crap / full of youngsters' attitude.

If you don't fit into the age group the place caters for, don't go.

I went a few times a good few years ago, but haven't been in donkeys, and certainly don't intend on going.

Let the youngsters who want to go, go. End of.

Jaysus, if every place that had a bit of noise outside, or the odd fight got closed, there'd be very few places left open in Dublin.

I doubt he's a cold-hearted killer and he now has to live with what he did for the rest of his life, which is effectively ruined. Please leave the sensationalism to the tabloids.

Any normal person would suffer greatly having to live with something like this for the rest of their life. However, the vast majority of people that do this type of thing are not "normal". I have seen such people, on many occasion, smirking in court, laughing when the details of their crime are read out, and laughing when their pathetic sentence is read out. All with total disregard to the victims family who are watching it all. Then to top it all off they leave court and give the camera's ( and the people of Ireland) the customary two fingers!

I firmly believe these people are a sub-species. Their brains just don't operate in the same manner as normal people. They have no sense of guilt, shame, or remorse. In fact many of them boast about their crimes, and wear their convictions as a badge of pride.

Any normal person would suffer greatly having to live with something like this for the rest of their life. However, the vast majority of people that do this type of thing are not "normal". I have seen such people, on many occasion, smirking in court, laughing when the details of their crime are read out, and laughing when their pathetic sentence is read out. All with total disregard to the victims family who are watching it all. Then to top it all off they leave court and give the camera's ( and the people of Ireland) the customary two fingers!

I firmly believe these people are a sub-species. Their brains just don't operate in the same manner as normal people. They have no sense of guilt, shame, or remorse. In fact many of them boast about their crimes, and wear their convictions as a badge of pride.
    Do you know the killer? Do you know if he he has a history of violence, does he have any previous convictions, or was it just a rush of blood to the head? Please leave your conjecture at the door until further details emerge.

yeah there is no chance the person grew up in a middle class area and went to a fee paying school, that would never happen in ireland

Great argument.:rolleyes: I suppose violent crime is equally prevalent in all areas regardless of upbringing?? I love the way people always resurrect this argument when defending violence almost certain classes. The guys responsible for what happened in Annabel's were scum, no doubt but statistically speaking, being born in certain areas will increase the chances of engaging in violent crime, so lets not blow smoke over the issue.

stovelid wrote: »
    Like Annabels, really.

Its not just this one case. There have been numerous warning signs with Barcode. There serious assaults there nearly every week. Guards have even been assaulted there.There has even been a number of rape reports! Now of course these things happen everywhere, but Barcode has FAR more than its far share of trouble!

Do you know the killer? Do you know if he he has a history of violence, does he have any previous convictions, or was it just a rush of blood to the head? Please leave your conjecture at the door until further details emerge.

It doesn't matter who you are. No rush of blood to the head is an excuse for what he did!:mad:

just to summarise please, can the anti bar code people sum up,, in a few sentances, what is so bad about the place, and what makes it worse than any other large club in ireland?

To quote myself.
    techdiver wrote: »
    Not to mention the scum bouncers that think it is ok to beat customers up, and yes I am a witness to it.

A company I used to work for had a social day in Westwood and then had drinks there afterwards. When it came to closing time the ultra zealous bouncers physically manhandled everyone back in doors to exit another route. When some colleagues of mine objected to this the bouncers jumped on them and one clearly punched him in the face. We reported this to the Gardai and the head of security. We had sober witnesses too, but as is per usual nothing happened.

http://www.accessmylibrary.com/coms2/summary_0286-23166483_ITM

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1031/nolans.html

http://www.rte.ie/news/2001/0517/death.html