Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

withheld/unknown number

• 14-10-2009 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I have been getting a lot of missed calls on my mobile the past week or two from a withheld/unknown number. To be honest I purposely didn't answer most of the time. I generally don't if a number is blocked. Is there any way of finding out who is calling apart form answering?

It is starting to freak me out a little. I have my suspisions about who it is (a guy who i don't know well at all). I can't change my number. What can or should I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Answer, find out who it is, if it's someone you don't wanna talk to hang up.

Probably not the answer you wanted but it's the simplest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP here. I've not answered about 10 - 15 call in the past two weeks. The fact that they keep ringing is what is freaking me out. Why hide behind a blocked number? Most people who do leave a message but using blocked number and not leaving a message is a bit weird I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

that happened me once. kept missing calls from an unknown number. eventually i answered and it was AIB doing a survey! they always ring from an unknown number. Just answer it, whats the worst that can happen??!!!

Agree with Scarymoon - I keep getting calls from MBNA trying to sell something - it's always from an unknown number & they never leave a message. So it's probably something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭laura l

"private number" can also be someone ringing from a landline that is ex-directory. hth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

A lot of landlines are ex-directory. Saying someone is "hiding behind" an unknown number is a bit extreme unless you know for sure whoever it is has malicious intent. Just answer the phone and find out who it is. For years and years nobody knew who was calling until they answered the phone. But to answer your question there is no way to find out who it is except by answering. Even your provider can't tell you, I know this from experience as I was getting prank calls for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Just answer - whats the worst that can happen? I have to laugh when this topic comes up every time "I cant change my number". Of course you can change your number the only stopping you is your imagination. Justin Timberlake is seeing someone ok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

Just reject the calls. Hit the red button usually used to hang up. The person will soon get fed up when they never get through.

Op again. I am looking for work at the moment so if I change my number potential employers and recruitment agencies (who already have my number) won't have a contact number for me so it's not really an option.

I didn't know ex-directory number don't show up. But I don't know anyone ex-directory.

OP here.

If it is who I think it is calling they obviously know their number is blocked and should have the cop on to know I would think is it weird or am getting freaked out. I'm female by the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

If its freaking you out just answer the phone, could be somebody genuine, a lot of business are ex directory for example recruitment agencies, banks etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Answer it, you have nothing to lose. I was getting them yesterday and it turned out to be vodafone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

It's probably a business trying to contact you - I'd say you're reading too much into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

OP again wrote: »
    Op again. I am looking for work at the moment so if I change my number potential employers and recruitment agencies (who already have my number) won't have a contact number for me so it's not really an option.
    If you've given out your number recently then it's not as if you shouldn't be expecting these calls. It's quite possible that it's an employer or agency trying to contact you. They may be concealing their number if they're calling from a personal/internal number which they don't want to give out.

It may be a little annoying but it's not weird or unusual. Banks make private number calls all the time.

By not answering the phone you're potentially missing out on work. Is that not reason enough to answer? :confused:

I don't see why you wouldn't just answer it, seems a bit strange and over cautious to me. I get calls from private numbers all the time, lots of my friends are. Doesn't bother me.

Anyway, seen as it does bother you so much, is there anyway you could have a male friend, your brother or father answer the phone and suss out who it is. If its someone you don't want to talk to they can say its the wrong number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ridonkulous

Fiend-Foe wrote: »
    Even your provider can't tell you, I know this from experience as I was getting prank calls for a while.

Trust me they can. They could give you any amount of information about the call that they wish. It just so happens that more often then not they could not be bothered.

• I don't mean to be rude, but not answering a phone call from a private number is ridiculous, unless you have a real reason to worry, like a stalker/obsessed ex or nuisance calls in the past. What can possibly happen to you if you answer the phone? Worst case scenario, it's some weirdo, you hang up. You do realise that most recruitment agencies call you from private numbers? And also doctors, dentists etc? I've had 3 this morning, and they were all legit. Why on earth would you assume it was anything sinister?? :confused: Especially if you are looking for work! Would you not expect calls? Recruitment/temp agencies and the like don't usually leave messages - if you don't answer, they just call someone else.

OP again.

Like I said I think I know who it might be and don't want him calling me and he knows this. I don't want to go into detail.

My bank, phone provider etc always leave voice mail and ring my landline anyway.

In my experience recruitment agencies leave messages. I wouldn't risk missing a call from a potential employer but I am getting freaked out.

Trust me they can. They could give you any amount of information about the call that they wish. It just so happens that more often then not they could not be bothered.

Yeah sorry, I should have said won't instead of can't. I meant its no use asking them anyhow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭dubdcugirly

I used to have the same problem myself and again I had a feeling I knew who it was. I answered a few times and they would say nothing, i could just hear them breathing down the phone or else they would push buttons on their phone.

So I stopped answering and it didnt work to be honest, they persistently rang at least twice or three times a day. I was about to change my number when I decided to give it one more go. I answered and as soon as I knew it was the same type of phonecall I handed my phone to my brother, who simply said who is this, leave my sister alone etc etc in not so polite terms and that was the last of it! Unfortunately some people get there kicks out of annoying/freaking you out.

But if an angry voice doesn't scare them - change your number, if you applied for jobs its very easy to send an email to them all with your new number, could even work to your advantage as it'll put you back in their mind :)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

OP again wrote: »

I didn't know ex-directory number don't show up. But I don't know anyone ex-directory.

FGS :rolleyes: You could be missing out on many opportunities here from potential employers. It's probably not someone PURPOSELY blocking their number, they're more than likely just ringing from an ex-directory number. Just answer, you're making a mountain out of a molehill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭martdalto

If you're suspicious that it's this bloke, then get someone else to answer, ask who it is and say they have the wrong number.

If you are currently looking for work and have recently sent CVs to recruitment agencies (and the calls have started since), it's more likely to be them.

They are probably not leaving a message, because if they don't get you they'll just move onto the next number they have??

Answer it, or get someone to answer for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

OP with each post you sound more and more paranoid.

You're handing out CV's left right and centre but not answering your phone when someone calls from a private number?
    That's just crazy!
    I block my office number if I'm calling randomers who I don't want having my number to use whenever they feel like it.
    Tonnes of people block their landline too.

Get over it!
    If a brick is thrown through your window, call the police, if a private number calls, answer it!
    Anything between those two scenarios is up to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Jumbo156

Just to say. When I make a call from work to a mobile, it shows up at the other end as unknown number/number withheld
    the calls you are getting could easily be employment oppurtunities looking to talk to you.
    Just answer it, you don't know that it is the same unknown number ringing you every time.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

I am not sure why but in my company, all outgoing telephone numbers are blocked.

so if you applied for a job in my place, you just missed your interview

just answer the phone and then hang up if you dont like who is on the other end. its hardly rocket science.

but i do hope you havent applied for any office jobs, as about 50% of my calls come from blocked numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

AFAIK all financial institutions are required to block their numbers. If I ring you on a banking matter I have to ensure number is private and if ANYONE other than the account holder answers I cannot say it is X bank just that it is a 'private business matter'

You've probably lost a few jobs there. Why oh why are you so paranoid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

OP again > wrote: »
    OP here.

If it is who I think it is calling they obviously know their number is blocked and should have the cop on to know I would think is it weird or am getting freaked out. I'm female by the way!

Excuse me but why on earth would you get freaked out gettin' a call from such a (non) number? This seems a bit paranoid to be honest. My landline doesn't send caller id and I don't know why. I never requested it but I couldn't be bothered changing it either. For gods sake its not even like what? 10-15 years ago when no-one had caller id.

When you say "I'm female by the way".... Is this some sort of attempt at explaining your technical ineptness or is it an attempt of explaining why a phone call freaks you out easily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Answer the calls - it could be a prospective employer. If it's a weirdo they'll probably say nothing and hang up or do the heavy breathing bit. In which case you note the time of the call in a journal and see if there's a pattern. Tell them to stop and that you will go to the cops if they don't. If they don't stop go to the cops with your record of the weirdo calls.

Blocked numbers CAN be traced but it's rare to trace such calls unless you've a definite idea who it is and you're willing to prosecute them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you're actually concerned, the best thing by far is to ask someone else to answer for you. Someone else can't be intimidated on your phone and all they have to do is ask, "Who is calling please?" to get your answer.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

That's harsh. Constant ringing and no message left is weird. Especially if it goes on for a week or more.

well if you answered the phone in the first place, it wouldnt have gone for a week and you wouldnt have been freaked out.

this is very strange behaviour :confused:

• I know plenty of people that dont answer calls from numbers they don't know. In my case I'd had a nasty split and was concerned it was an ex. After I ignored it for a few days (there was never any message left) I decided that they would probably just give up - they didnt and eventually I just answered it. It was the bank and I was relieved.

I dont think my reaction was overly strange at all. Of course once I knew it was the bank I felt silly but I was (I thought) protecting myself.

But so what if it is? Just hang up. I'm not getting the whole fear thing here. It's only a phone. And I'm someone who has had strange phone calls from weirdos. Surely the possibility of missing out on a job interview is far greater than the possibility of something terrible happening from answering the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I dont think my reaction was overly strange at all. Of course once I knew it was the bank I felt silly but I was (I thought) protecting myself.

Protecting yourself from what, though? An awkward phone call, at worst, as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

That's harsh. Constant ringing and no message left is weird. Especially if it goes on for a week or more.

She cannot know it's one person at all. It might be half a dozen different institutions trying to contact her, loads of companies have their switchboards block numbers.

I know plenty of people that dont answer calls from numbers they don't know. In my case I'd had a nasty split and was concerned it was an ex. After I ignored it for a few days (there was never any message left) I decided that they would probably just give up - they didnt and eventually I just answered it. It was the bank and I was relieved.

Were you handing out CV's with your phone number on them at the time though?

From what the OP said as well, it doesn't seem to be constant calls,
    OP wrote:
    I've not answered about 10 - 15 call in the past two weeks.
    That's not too barely even two a day at the high end of the estimation.

OP needs to get a grip.

(I'm female too by the way).

I'm not female by the way.

What was the relevance of saying that, it's just a phone call. And if you gave out a CV and then the calls started... 1 + 1 = SERIAL KILLER it would seem.

I'm naturally stupidly paranoid, but even for me this is a little OTT!

OP here.

This only happen as soon as the guy who I think it is got my number. And it is usually outside of business hours so unlikely to be about a job. And in my experience if it was a business call a message would be left. If this guy was not in the picture I wouldn't be avoiding calls. I don't think it is unreasonable to try to avoid call from a potential odd ball/weirdo. Like I said I'm not going into details on a forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

OP you have to stop avoiding the calls. A recruitment agency is only going to ring so many times. why do I get the feeling were not getting the whole thing here, i.e. you want to find how to see whos ringing you because your avoiding someone. Fair enough but is there a real reason your avoiding them? Just answer once and if they keep at it threaten them with guards.
    And if it keeps going on after that then actually go to the guards.

• OP OP wrote: »
    OP here.

This only happen as soon as the guy who I think it is got my number. And it is usually outside of business hours so unlikely to be about a job. And in my experience if it was a business call a message would be left. If this guy was not in the picture I wouldn't be avoiding calls. I don't think it is unreasonable to try to avoid call from a potential odd ball/weirdo. Like I said I'm not going into details on a forum.

But has he actually called/stalked you? All I'm getting from your posts is paranoia. I think it is rather extreme to ignore every call from a private number just in case a weirdo decided to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭wolfric

Looks it about time to put a STOP to this charade. EVERYONE'S giving you the same message. You've got their opinion and 3 pages of it. You've got the facts you know the options now DECIDE.

You're options are as follows.
    • Answer it
    • Give it to someone else to answer.
    • Don't answer it and leave it ring off.
    • Call up your provider and block this "uknown number" (if possible)
    What else do you want us to say?

Look you sound like you're in the stage where you're chickening out. Like when you knew you had to jump off a cliff to save your life but you still hesitate. If it helps, Make out a list of each options pros and cons and see what you can deal with. If it's too hard, show the options to a real life friend or relative and get them to deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

God I can't believe the stick this girl is getting. People are being very harsh without knowing the full situation - she has said she doesn't want to post the details about this fella so IMO there must be a lot more to the story. God knows what he is like or what has happened to make her want to avoid him so much!

Having said that if I was me I would get male friend/brother/dad to answer and see how that plays out. If it continues and you genuinely feel harassed call the Guards.

I don't think a mobile phone provider can/will trace call for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭104494431

Credit card companies and banks.

Ulster bank use a +44 number, most other banks use a blocked number, in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭martdalto

104494431 wrote: »
    Credit card companies and banks.

Ulster bank use a +44 number, most other banks use a blocked number, in my experience.

+ Mobile Phone companies

OP, a few years ago someone got my number who I didn't want to have it. A perfectly innocent harmless fella. But I answered once or twice, and if I spoke to him he'd ring back again almost immediately. Absolutely nothing sinister, just not the full shilling.

After a while I had to start avoiding his number, or any other numbers I wasn't sure about. This went on for months. In the end I had to get my husband to answer and say it was a wrong number - even though it obviously wasn't! He then got his UNCLE to ring from another number, straight away.. When my husband answered he said "this is XXX's uncle is this [martdalto]'s number?" Husband said, "No sorry wrong number", that was the end of it.

Have you actually answered ANY of the calls, and discovered that it WAS this fella?

If not, then yes you have a right to be wary, but you are possibly completely over-reacting. It could be anyone.. bank, credit card, mobile phone, business etc. My mobile company if they're ever looking for me rarely ring between 9 and 5! And always from a private number.

Get someone to answer it for you - if it's yer man - say "Sorry wrong number"

If it's someone genuine, they can just pass the phone to you.

• mood wrote: »
    God I can't believe the stick this girl is getting. People are being very harsh without knowing the full situation - she has said she doesn't want to post the details about this fella so IMO there must be a lot more to the story. God knows what he is like or what has happened to make her want to avoid him so much!

She should have posted the story, then. Saying you don't want to give details is fine, but how are people supposed to give advice without any facts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭moviesrme

If TV is anything to go by it could be yourself. Remember the twilight zone episode where the guy answers the phone and its himself. For some reason it scared the bejesus out of me.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

[quote=[Deleted User];62561216]She should have posted the story, then. Saying you don't want to give details is fine, but how are people supposed to give advice without any facts?[/quote]

The OP is just doing some major speculation. She doesn't know who is ringing her. She needs to grow up and answer the phone! It's not that difficult and it's not going to do her any harm :rolleyes:
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

If the OP answers her phone the very next time it rings from a withheld number, and it turns out to ruin her life, I for one will retract any posts where the subtext might read "Grow up", and offer a full apology for not taking her dilemma seriously enough.

Unless you've read 'Cell' by Stephen King... It could happen right? Look the OP never gave us any detail and is being OVERLY paranoid about answering a phone... Unless it's Eagle Eye...You see where I'm going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Is your Bank AIB by the way. If so, they are doing sales calls at the moment which come from private number. I had 15 missed calls at various times with no messages left. I did not avoid the calls, I was just in the gym/shops when they phoned.

I usually make a point of not answering private numbers. Not because I am paranoid, etc, but because it is usally someone selling me something. Way I see it, anyone who I want to have my number has it, if they cant get me, they leave a message and I will get back to them. If I am left a message from someone selling something, I wont get back to them if I am not interested in what they are selling.

OP, I would not think it is a recruitment agency, they would leave a message. Next time they ring, answer, if it is someone you dont want to speak to, just say, cant hear you, must be a bad connection and hang up.

At least then you know if you have a problem or not, and what if anything needs to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭wolfric

already been mentioned but this thread is 2 days old. I'm sure if the op still had issues she'd reply back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

wolfric wrote: »
    already been mentioned but this thread is 2 days old. I'm sure if the op still had issues she'd reply back

Would not be too sure of that. OP said calls were coming in over a number of weeks before she posted on here. She might still have not answered the phone.