Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airport scanner shows 'naked' images

• 13-10-2009 10:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1013/aviation.html
    An X-ray machine which produces 'naked' images of passengers was introduced at Manchester Airport, enabling staff to instantly spot any hidden weapons or explosives.

The full body scanner, being trialled at Manchester Airport, will also show up any breast enlargements, false limbs, piercings, and a clear outline of passengers' private parts.

Some travellers might not want to be scanned because of the graphic nature of the images, airport bosses admit.

AdvertisementThey can refuse to undergo the virtual strip search at Terminal 2, opting for the traditional 'pat down' search instead.

But the black and white image will only be seen by one officer in a remote location before it is deleted, Sarah Barrett, head of customer experience at the airport, said.

'Most of our customers do not like the traditional 'pat down' search, they find it too intrusive, but they still want to be kept safe.

'This scanner completely takes away the hassle of needing to undress. The images are not erotic or pornographic and they cannot be stored or captured in anyway,' she said.

The scanner, made by the firm RapiScan Systems, makes the check-in process much quicker for passengers, who will not have to remove their coats, shoes or belts.

Frequent flyers do not need to worry about radiation from the low-level X-ray, Ms Barrett said, a dental X-ray transmits 20,000 times more radiation.

'Passengers can go through this machine 5,000 times a year each without worrying, it is super safe and the amount of radiation transmitted is tiny,' Ms Barrett said.

The scanners, which cost £80,000 (€86,000) each, were also trialled at Heathrow Airport in 2004. The UK's Department for Transport will decide whether to install them permanently at the end of the trial, which is expected to last for a year.

Electromagnetic waves are beamed on to passengers while they stand in a booth, and a virtual three-dimensional 'naked' image is created from the reflected energy.

Security officials in the US have pioneered their use at New York and Los Angeles airports, and they are gradually being rolled out in other airports in the UK.

Personally i wouldn't mind because i have a massive dong and would love to show it off.

Seriously speaking though, i think i would prefer a pat down search. any amount of radiation i don't care how small is not good for you also of course people could copy images ,sure look at the cameras on mobile phones now even if they had a memory stick!

This new security filled world is impacting us more than the terrorists their trying to protect people from. How long until we're "safe" with no personal freedoms and everything and everyone being watched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Well it's the only way anyone's ever going to see me naked :( I've no problems with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Group buy? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

So am is there a more compact version available for sale?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They should have Jordan on stand by to demonstrate the machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

brummytom wrote: »
    Well it's the only way anyone's ever going to see me naked :( I've no problems with it
    Not necessarily brummytom. There is an easier way to let people see you in your fully naked form.

Step 1: Take all your clothes off
    Step 2: Go outside and walk towards your local metropolis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I tried that before; does wearing the tag still count as naked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

ew, would not be ok with perfect strangers seeing me all nakey!ffs they're not doctors, it's not alright for them to look at passengers in the nip all day!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Pighead wrote: »
    Not necessarily brummytom. There is an easier way to let people see you in your fully naked form.

Step 1: Take all your clothes off
    Step 2: Go outside and walk towards your local metropolis.

Dont do it Tom its a trap. People tend to throw garbage at fellow humans in the nude. People like Pighead, They lure you out into a comfort zone by posting the above on Boards then BAM they are the first with the garbage in hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

ew, would not be ok with perfect strangers seeing me all nakey!ffs they're not doctors, it's not alright for them to look at passengers in the nip all day!:mad:

Don't they all have lovely bottoms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

brummytom wrote: »
    I tried that before; does wearing the tag still count as naked?
    Only if the tag reads "Ignore the tag"

Apart from when he was born, Pighead has never ever been in a room with more than one person whilst naked. Have always wanted it to happen but it just never has. And it's not even a sexual thing, it's more about dancing. Just think it would be cool to be in a room with multiple people dancing and watching everybody's jiggly bits jiggle.

Unfortunately the lads have never been up for it and any chicks that Pighead has asked have responded negatively and sometimes even with violence. Pighead's last hope is that this sort of thing happens all the time in old people's homes and they're keeping it hush hush so as not to ruin the surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Hey, snakes on a plane!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

Don't worry I expect they'll get counciling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Next thing will be the inflatable auto pilot - what ever you do, don't let the pilot's eat the fish!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Adamisconfused

Now I have to fluff myself up a bit before going on a plane. A man can't even hang free in his own trousers these days without critics observing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

TheZohan wrote: »
    Group buy? :D

Speaking of AH purchases, did you ever get a reply from that woman, about the second-hand pink "clubbing" outfit?

:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Did you see the image of the man they used to accompany the story? It's on yahoo news.

Jaysus! If that doesn't scare people off agreeing to it, nothing will!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Whats the big deal about being seen naked? Sure aren't we all naked anyway... ya know, under our clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I guess this means they'll be looking at kids in the nip aswell.

Wont somebody think of the children?!!! *shakes fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Personally i wouldn't mind because i have a massive dong and would love to show it off.
    Dong Juan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Elessar wrote: »
    I guess this means they'll be looking at kids in the nip aswell.

http://www.cdupload.com/files/13786_ujhro/pedobear_drool.jpg

Are they hiring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Meh, dont see what the big deal is. If you dont want someone seeing you in the nip (they can't see faces btw) then go for the pat down. Anything that speds up airport security is a plus imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

So you'd be ok with it if your one of your friends was working it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

If it came down to going through a machine and avoiding a cavity search :pac: id take going through the X ray every day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

Jesus, they should just bend each of us over and give us a cavity search. :eek:

This is overkill..

They should do the normal check and if a red light appears then the full scan of your body....

X-Rays are bad full stop..

Big Brother at the helm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1013/aviation.html

Seriously speaking though, i think i would prefer a pat down search. any amount of radiation i don't care how small is not good for you also of course people could copy images ,

You're sitting in front of a monitor and typing about being worried about radiation.

You probably have a mobile phone and are typing about being worried about radiation

You probably have a microwave and are typing about being worried about radiation.

We encounter radiation all the time. It's not as bad as people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Meh, dont see what the big deal is. If you dont want someone seeing you in the nip (they can't see faces btw) then go for the pat down. Anything that speds up airport security is a plus imo.

Wait for it... www.airportxraynude.com

There will be some freaks who will want to bate the be-jesus out of their mini-man to this ****... wait, give it a day or two and these images will be on the net some where...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Jesus, they should just bend each of us over and give us a cavity search. :eek:

This is overkill..

They should do the normal check and if a red light appears then the full scan of your body....

X-Rays are bad full stop..

Big Brother at the helm....

Ceramics and plastics don't show up on Metal detectors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Chrsit..if it saves me taking my shoes/belt/jacket etc off I'm all for it..so what if someone sees me "naked"...
    now where do i buy my picture?

Hell if Ryanair implemented this it would go something like this?

Sir..please step this way for you x-ray scan..now would you like to buy a copy of that?

Miss...please step this way for your x-ray scan...I'll take two copies of your pic please :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Seriously speaking though, i think i would prefer a pat down search. any amount of radiation i don't care how small is not good for you

Point taken, but you receive reasonably high doses of radiation when flying anyway.

http://www.sciencedaily.com/videos/2005/0907-flying_and_radiation_risk.htm

I think the figures equated to a chest xray for each transatlantic flight.
    Of course, any flight contributes to your radiation exposure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Jumbo156

As a bloke who gets stopped in every airport because I have 2 steel hips, this sounds like heaven.
    Trying to explain to people who don't speak english that I have 2 steel hips is a pain in the hole.
    Once the rubber glove was nearly coming out...
    Bring these machines in immediately!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Flying Abruptly

spoofilyj wrote: »

So am is there a more compact version available for sale?:D

James Bond has had them for years, came in very useful so they did:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Poses...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭Leixlip_Red

You're sitting in front of a monitor and typing about being worried about radiation.

You probably have a mobile phone and are typing about being worried about radiation

You probably have a microwave and are typing about being worried about radiation.

We encounter radiation all the time. It's not as bad as people think.

Marie and Pierre Curie would beg to differ :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Re-Invent the x-ray then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭spudington16

Those fookers brought it on themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

*Me walks through*

Airport Police Radio - *hisss* "That guy has three legs ... over."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I wouldn't mind too much, but I would think someone overly-sensitive or with a serious bodily defect being bothered. Could you imagine going through it and the fellow watching the images just bursts out laughing?

Wait for it... www.airportxraynude.com

There will be some freaks who will want to bate the be-jesus out of their mini-man to this ****... wait, give it a day or two and these images will be on the net some where...

The computers used have no storage or outbound transmission capabilities, so don't worry, that wont be happening.

As I've said before, if you're afraid of this, or anything else, then just request a pat down, it's not mandatory.

jumpguy wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind too much, but I would think someone overly-sensitive or with a serious bodily defect being bothered. Could you imagine going through it and the fellow watching the images just bursts out laughing?

The image is sent to another location- whoever is looking at it never knows who it is. The people working at security never see the images either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Note to self,

Get a semi on before going through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Note to self,

Get a semi on before going through.

What happens if you've got a full one and everyone's like "c'mon, what's the big deal, just go through the scanner"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

WindSock wrote: »

And that bloke would be stopped perfectly well with the current systems.
    The computers used have no storage or outbound transmission capabilities, so don't worry, that wont be happening.

As I've said before, if you're afraid of this, or anything else, then just request a pat down, it's not mandatory.

What do they do if you set off the current metal detectors? They ask you to step aside and ask if they can pat you down.

What happens with this new system if the operator sport something? Someone else asks you to step aside and asks if they can pat you down.

How does this speed things up, looks to me as if it takes much longer to stand in a box whilst a person then looks at you image and decides if they should flag you for more searching or not. Currently you just walk on through the metal detector if you have any metal on you then it goes beep, otherwise you just carry on.

This system is currently on trial for a year, then they plan to get rid of the walk through metal detector systems and it will no longer be an option.

robinph wrote: »
    How does this speed things up, looks to me as if it takes much longer to stand in a box whilst a person then looks at you image and decides if they should flag you for more searching or not. Currently you just walk on through the metal detector if you have any metal on you then it goes beep, otherwise you just carry on.

It speeds things up because you don't have to take off half your clothes going through security and then put them on again. Simply stand in a box, picture taken, green light, and on your way.
    This system is currently on trial for a year, then they plan to get rid of the walk through metal detector systems and it will no longer be an option.

Well when they get rid of the metal detector, if you're still not comfortable with the machine then request a pat down. Simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

vinylmesh wrote: »
    What happens if you've got a full one and everyone's like "c'mon, what's the big deal, just go through the scanner"

Then I'll opt for the "pat down"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It speeds things up because you don't have to take off half your clothes going through security and then put them on again. Simply stand in a box, picture taken, green light, and on your way.
    It takes longer for my bags to make it through their own scanner than it does for me to pop the boots off walk through and put them back on again having already removed any other metal items and put them in my jackets before getting to the queue.

People going through the scanner themselves is not where the hold up is currently, it is the individual scanning of bags that takes the time. Now they are adding the same bottle neck to the scanning of people as well.

http://www.archrights.org.uk/images/rapiscan.jpg

sample pic of what they look like.. given the right girl, enough to fap to.

It takes longer for my bags to make it through their own scanner than it does for me to pop the boots off walk through and put them back on again having already removed any other metal items and put them in my jackets before getting to the queue.

People going through the scanner themselves is not where the hold up is currently, it is the individual scanning of bags that takes the time. Now they are adding the same bottle neck to the scanning of people as well.

You're not factoring in the time it takes afterwards to put back on shoes, belts, jackets etc. which you can only do once they come through the scanner. With the new system you wouldn't have to wait to put them back on as they would never have come off in the first place.

As you can see from the demonstration pictures, scanning a person is lot more straight forward than a bag.

http://airlineworld.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/xray_bag.jpg
    vs.
    http://www.archrights.org.uk/images/rapiscan.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭DigiGal

Where can I get me one of these