Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ARMA II: Features of A.C.E. Advanced Combat Environment Mod 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BattlingCheese

the Arma 1 mod was the business, can't wait for this either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭cashville

1st ACE mod was AMAZING,cant wait for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Looks pretty good. Given that I'll likely buy a new pc in the post-christmas cheapness I can see myself playing this a fair bit. Up until now Arma runs too sluggish for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Some unbelievably realistic features. This one caught my eye:
    Sniper rifles
    Activation brings up a scope adjustment dialog. You can click on the corresponding arrows to adjust elevation and windage or enter an adjustment directly into the dialog. The range card button will display a list of appropriate settings for the type of ammunition you are using.

Its featured at the end of this video. The video also shows the ability to rest weapons on walls/cars etc.

This video is just about the added sniper features. The gun sounds stunning.

HuntIR
    High-altitude Unit Navigated Tactical Imaging Round
    After firing the HuntIR, it propels to an average height of 500 meters (for gameplay reasons) and ejects an IR CMOS camera which is attached to a parachute. The camera provides 7 minutes of live video for reconnaissance which is transmitted to a handheld device (HuntIR Monitor).
    You can control the camera of the HuntIR with your keyboard keys:
    ARROW KEYS - Control camera movement
    W,S - Switch available HuntIR cameras
    A,D - Change zoom (0x, 2x, 4x, 8x)
    N - Toggle NVG
    M - Toggle TI
    R - Reset HuntIR camera
    The HuntIR round has an average flight time of 5-10 seconds after firing before the camera is ejected and another 3 seconds before the HuntIR device is ready to transmit data.
    The HuntIR round can only be fired from M203 type grenade launchers.

All very impressive. I wasn't even aware of this.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

whens it out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

yummy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Fair play to the lads putting the time into it...looks sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭c0mpliant

My god thats a good mod. I'm dying for this now

Can't wait for this

Anyone up for running ArmA + ACE mod missions on the server sometime? I'll install the ArmA dedi server if there's an interest.

Dont have arma 1

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Dont have arma 1

€10.49 here, free delivery :D

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    Can't wait for this

Anyone up for running ArmA + ACE mod missions on the server sometime? I'll install the ArmA dedi server if there's an interest.

Pog PLEASE put it up. I've been on it the last 2 days, but it's hard finding a server. It's amazing, can play it maxed out, no crashing etc. The ballistics/sounds/weapons (TONS of them) are all brilliant. Some seriously cool vehicles in it, you always get something useful when you clear a town/side mission. BRILLIANT. My only grief is the movement of your player, bit slow and clunkety.

Dont have arma 1

You really should get it, the ACE mod is class. I'd say the ACE mod on 1 is better than playing 2. But ACE mod on Arma 2 will kickass I'm sure.

please be out for xmas please be out for xmas

good news

tpM informed us that the A.C.E. Mod is coming to ArmA 2! Public Beta release is planned for the week of 7 December!

A.C.E. Mod for ArmA 2, Official Announcement!
    It has been nearly 1 year, since the A.C.E. Advanced Combat Environment , for ArmA 1, was released.

Since that release, we have been constantly working on our Mod, to improve it, expand it, Modand fix the things we could. In the meantime, ArmA 2 has been released for about 6 months, and our attention has been on the mod for ArmA 2, for at least that long.

Today we would like to announce our plans for a Public Release. As with ACE1, we have decided to start with a Public Beta Release, planned for the week of 7 December. We intend to keep updating our Mod on a daily basis in this Public Beta stage.

We do this to get as much feedback and bug reports as possible, as soon as possible, and provide everyone the latest code to test.

Then before the end of the year, we hope to deliver a few promised, finalized features, and fix immediate issues that are found.

oops

Yay, should have a pc again next week, just in time for this. We'll help them beta test by running it on our server ;)

Stupid question do missions have to include this in them or will it overun all missions with new shiny things?

Missions need to support it, but they won't be long coming, bet there'll be a Domination immediately

ah cool

speaking of which

panthera domination :D

http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?t=91219

ah cool

speaking of which

panthera domination :D

http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?t=91219

On the server now

Yay, pity I've no pc :mad:

Yoma updater details:
    http://forums.bistudio.com/showpost.php?p=1507639&postcount=23

Yay, pity I've no pc :mad:

Yoma updater details:
    http://forums.bistudio.com/showpost.php?p=1507639&postcount=23

excellent only 1gb :)

would recommend these installer instructions. Seems the easier

http://dev-heaven.net/wiki/six-arma-updater/Quickstart

would recommend these installer instructions. Seems the easier

http://dev-heaven.net/wiki/six-arma-updater/Quickstart

addonsync downloaded them, Arma 2 launcher found it and added it to my start up.

doesnt get handier than that :)

downloading.weeee!

lol that works too

using the addon sync,just meant i was getting it+happy :)

There's an ACE version of Waldo 2 out.

http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=6389

cashville wrote: »
    There's an ACE version of Waldo 2 out.

Fixed: Calling the bomber more than one time in the "lasertarget sidemission" does not work sometimes.

fookin knew it :D

dont call it more then once then :)

just gonna get you to do it , easier :D

I'm downloadin' it now, 1022mb.

I didn't play Arma 1 for very long, just played the campaign and was left disappointed so I never played with ACE 1.

I'm lookin' forward to this. Addon Sync seems to make light work of any addons. Handy little yoke.

5/6 a side football

PM me for a game

Thread

kenon wrote: »
    I'm downloadin' it now, 1022mb.

I didn't play Arma 1 for very long, just played the campaign and was left disappointed so I never played with ACE 1.

I'm lookin' forward to this. Addon Sync seems to make light work of any addons. Handy little yoke.

ACE 1 was unreal, I still play it. You should give it a run some evening, but hopefully this one will be super-fantastic so we'll never have to...

Suppose Ye need this on the server, but I got a fookin tree to sort.

I'll try get it on later

Suppose Ye need this on the server, but I got a fookin tree to sort.

I'll try get it on later

Leave it later in week, when you getting your PSU ?

Sent old one to Holland, cost me 38 quid to post (2.7KG) but Corsair not got it yet :mad:

Anyone have any problems running this? Few missions out we could try if everyone happy enough its not melting their pc.

Sent old one to Holland, cost me 38 quid to post (2.7KG) but Corsair not got it yet :mad:

I have a TAGAN in the garage if your stuck, 550watt.

Was one of the PSUs i got for the Aw9 board :D

I played a simple single mission there. It sounded immense. I never played with sound mods but ACE 2 seems to of changed every sound. The backpack feature is cool. I didn't really utilise any of the other features.

5/6 a side football

PM me for a game

Thread

Stupid question and im afraid to ask on the arma2 forum, how do the flares work in the air?

Was playin last night for a small bit,it's very cool. Think you press the left shift key for flares. Was in the first one anyway.

cashville wrote: »
    Was playin last night for a small bit,it's very cool. Think you press the left shift key for flares. Was in the first one anyway.

Choppers now have a crosshairs for Hydras, dunno if i like that.

In fairness i rarely ever hit **** with them but when i did i was :D now with a crosshair i think it cheapens it.

Seems odd for a mod that makes things harder to make it so much easier for a cheap kill.

Latest version is on the server but its not running yet, link some missions and I'll get them on there. Might have a go tonight with dmans pc, itching to try it

theres a load inside one of the folders that you downloaded possibly the ACE one. ACE/MPMISSIONS deffo seen a domination or some sort.

waldo here

By any chance You know the startup parameter to add to the server shortcut? BI is getting hammered, cant find shít

"E:\Bohemia Interactive\ArmA 2\ArmA2Server.exe" -port=2303 -name=default -config=default\server.cfg -cfg=default\Arma2.cfg -profiles=default -mod=@CBA;@ACE;@ACEX

took about 20 mniutes for the page to load with this, some dude has ti working with this.

Cheers, done. I've still got Sahrani and Pantera mods running as well, not sure how thats gonna work. Have a go and let me kno. There's an Ace SEALZ Dominaton on there also