Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fortune tellers...

• 12-10-2009 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

My fiances mother went to see a fortune teller yesterday, he proceeded to tell her that there was going to be the death of a child in the family..

He mentioned the letter "S" and the number "8". Now our kid is 8 (last saturday) and his first name begins with "s"

On hearing this, naturally i felt ill.. now the same fortune teller claimed a few months back my fiances kid was going to be a doctor or a vet when he grows up so the ambiguity is rather obvious.

Now i dont give much credance to fortune tellers, but as you can imagine the news isnt welcome, considering the child does have some medical issues.

What do you think? Do you believe fortune tellers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

what a load of horse ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

snyper wrote: »
    Do you believe fortune tellers?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's the biggest load of shíte ever.
    Cold reading and getting lucky is all it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I believe fortune telling is deceiptful claptrap. That's a very general and nasty prediction there, not surprised you'd be disturbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Davao8000

No - absolutely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

what a load of horse ****e.
    No.
    SV wrote: »
    It's the biggest load of shíte ever.
    Cold reading and getting lucky is all it is.

Trust me im fully of the same opinion, but its just the circumstances, moreover the type of "news" its unnerving :/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

A load of shysters and money-robbing,eye-washing bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭smithy1981

Its a load of tripe. My mother went to one years ago and was told i'd be in a serious car crash within a year. My mother spent the next 12 months worried ****less over nothing. It's a horrible thing to do to someone. Charlatans the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Trust me im fully of the same opinion, but its just the circumstances, moreover the type of "news" its unnerving :/
    I wouldn't worry too much..

They play on these things. Unless you know how the chat went they could have mentioned the death of a child in the family and tried to gauge their response to certain names or letters and went from there..

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I'm more than a tad surprised that you buy into that crap snyper.
    Not only that, but why the hell did you allow the woman to even tell you sh!t like that.
    If someone I knew told me they went and got their fortune told I believe I'd start laughing at them.
    A fool and his money, easily parted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

What a horrible thing to say to someone,,

That is NOT very nice or professional of him

Tell the Mrs not to be wasting her money on that Sh!te anymore..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Spoofing bullsh1tters of the lowest type. They have no more psychic abilities than what I have, and any time they're ever tested under controlled conditions they never do any better than you'd expect by pure chance. Anybody who's foolish enough to go to one of them deserves no sympathy. If there wasn't gullible fools willing to pay them for this 'service' they wouldn't be around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I think a good fortune teller would know that I am not going to see them.

If they were truly 'fortune tellers' they would have the lotto numbers every week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I was a non-believer until last month when I went to a fortune teller for the first time.
    She told me a lot of money was coming my way.
    I walked out really excited.... then I got hit by a Securicor van.

Beruthiel wrote: »
    I'm more than a tad surprised that you buy into that crap snyper.
    Not only that, but why the hell did you allow the woman to even tell you sh!t like that.
    If someone I knew told me they went and got their fortune told I believe I'd start laughing at them.
    A fool and his money, easily parted.

I dont B, but as i said its the nature of it. I know how these guys work.. Keith Barry can read you your fortune, but as he said himself, he has no special powers its just being able to manipulate conversations etc.

The fortune teller is a guy, you'd be suprised the amount of people that go to them, as you said a fool and their money are easily parted.

Personally, as i said to my fiance, i dont think her mother should have told her that news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Personally, as i said to my fiance, i dont think her mother should have told her that news.

You should throw the fortune teller into the river. Bet she won't see that one coming. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

I went to a 'reputable' fortune teller when i was 15 who told me i had no friends!! I had quite a large group of friends!! What a b!tch!!

They prey on the vunerable so they'll come back...don't believe a word of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I would avoid these preying scammers at all costs. The fact that the guy from Irish Psychics live is one of the richest people in the country makes me sick. I weep for us as a nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Even the Oracle in the Matrix didn't know Neo was the one!

You should throw the fortune teller into the river. Bet she won't see that one coming. ;)

..i believe the fiance predicted "a head in the face" for him

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I have an image, it's unclear, it'a piece of thread and the word closed. Seriously, the last time I posted on mediums I was told to grow up, I see fortune tellers in the same light. I would love for one of them to say something specific, even if it was something small.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

jerseyeire wrote: »
    I would love for one of them to say something specific, even if it was something small.

Pi?

My friend went to a fortune teller when she broke up with her boyfriend a few months ago. She told her that her boyfriend would come back to her and with full commitment ie. an engagement ring. My friend did not move on and held on to every hope that her man would be back as a result of this, foolish I know. She then went to the same woman again who told her a different story all together! That she had to move on, that this wasn't the man for her, that she would meet get back with an ex and live happily ever after. (The only other ex she has just got married, lives in England and his wife is due a baby in march :rolleyes:) When she questioned the previous reading the teller started to turn the story around and backtrack.

Bullsh*t!

And, (apparently) a good fortune teller doesn't give grave news

Aidric wrote: »
    I would avoid these preying scammers at all costs. The fact that the guy from Irish Psychics live is one of the richest people in the country makes me sick. I weep for us as a nation.

It's hardly surprising Irish Psychics do so well when you consider this Knock apparition nonsense. Alot of gullible people out there who are easy prey for psychics, fortune tellers and other assorted peddlers of spooferology.

EDIT: though I'm quite surprised that any 'fortune teller' would give somebody this sort of grave news, I thought they weren't supposed to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

My fiances mother went to see a fortune teller yesterday, he proceeded to tell her that there was going to be the death of a child in the family..

He mentioned the letter "S" and the number "8". Now our kid is 8 (last saturday) and his first name begins with "s"

On hearing this, naturally i felt ill.. now the same fortune teller claimed a few months back my fiances kid was going to be a doctor or a vet when he grows up so the ambiguity is rather obvious.

Now i dont give much credance to fortune tellers, but as you can imagine the news isnt welcome, considering the child does have some medical issues.

Ok for someone who's dealth with alot of fortune tellers/ taot card readers etc and is friends with some ... that guy is/was a dick!

Two things:

1) Whether you believe in these guys or not there are people out there in this game that are full of crap.

2) Even for those that do believe, its a case of them interpurating (I can never spell that) the info they get. Imagine someone looking at an ink blot pic and telling you they can definitely say what its a pic of.

Nothing is set in stone.

Interestingly though I'm carrying out a survey (in my sig) and so far 52% of people who've taken it have been to a fortune teller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Nope. He kept it vague becuase it was a guess and he knew if he got it right that it could keep playing on your mothers mind. So she'd return for more information (and of course, money for the privilage).

So it's all a load of horse**** a.k.a business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I wouldn't worry about it, load of boll0x.

He was just being very general and it you've constructed your story to suit this.

Think about it, he picked the letter S - I have at least two family members who begin with the letter S and I'm fairly certain if I wanted to I could conjur up something factual to do with the letter 8 and them.

To put your mind at ease Snyper, read your horoscope. You'll find it means something to you, interesting. Now read another starsign, that too is familar right? And another, and another...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Load of crap but what disgusts me here is the fortune teller making such a claim. I know people who like to go to psychics even if they know how ridiculous the idea is. I also know that cold reading and ambiguousness is how they do their "readings". With that in mind fortune tellers should be there to entertain. They should never predict deaths or other horrible things. They should focus on predicting good things and who knows maybe even empower someone into doing something they always wanted to but were too scared.
    They could at least use their lies to make people happy. It wouldn't cost them anything.

i was telling the fiance that the now dubbed "sesame street fortune teller" brought to you by the letter "s" and the number "8" that they feed off ambiguity and a lack of specifics. I think Naos said it best, one will make what relates to them of the vague information given to them

Load of horseshít. I can never understand why people waste their money on that nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Don't believe in any of that tripe. Put it out of your mind, Snyper. If that person really was psychic, they'd have said something like "at 10am on December 12th, little Snyper Jr. will cross the road without looking, you need to stop him".
    All this ambiguity around letters and numbers is solely to make as many "hits" as possible. Bet a fortune teller will never tell you something about the letter Z and the number 1756.

Bit of an aside but my mother went to a faith healer a few years ago when she had back problems and doctors were baffled. The healer did an hour of humming and eventually told my mother that he detected a huge amount of Radon in her system and he felt that she was at a serious risk of cancer if she didn't get it sorted. Of course, the poor woman was terrified until he gave her his card and told her the days he could call out to the house- he was a certified Radon tester :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Why, oh why, do people waste their hard earned money on these charlatans? This one is is a bit odd though, normally they`ll tell you whatever it is they think you want to hear,in the hope that you`ll keep coming back for more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

I know people who go on about God all the time and also use fortune tellers. They seem to latch on to any superstitious nonsense. The little angel charms they carry around really irritate me as it seems to be some carry over from childhood of collecting Smurfs or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Lying conmen preying on people's ignorance and/or desperation. Parasites really.

OP it's horrible that (s)he's put that worry on your family. Never once has one been able to repeat their "gift" under any kind of monitored testing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

you should go round to his ises and stick up a sign tht says "closed due to unforeseen circumstances". bastid, if you're gonna lie to people and take their moneys, you should at least make it a happy lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Your fiance's mother was very thoughtless to tell you this:rolleyes:. I'd be the type of person to get upset by something like this so I understand how you feel. My son and niece both have 's' initials and are both suffer with weak chests. My son was born in the 8th month of the year and my niece will be 8 soon....there you go. A huge amount of people will be able to fit her 'prophecy' to their lives.
    I've been to quite a few fortune tellers over the years, kept my face blank and not once has anything they've said come true. I know loads of people who go to them and believe everything they've been told and it never comes true..ever! I always store away in my head what they've been told. My friend was told by loads of them that her first pregnancy would be twins...she's just had her first daughter...one baby.
    There's one fortune teller in my town who tells you before she starts that if she sees a death she'll tell you 'cos it won't be an 'honest reading'...pure bollox. I know a girl who was told by this one she'd be following a coffin before the years out-not a word about it..she took a chance on guessing that 'cos a huge number of people will be going to a funeral at some stage throughout a year. Two relatives of mine have great faith in the same one, loads of times they've been to her and she tells them what they want to hear..Nothing has come true yet and it hasn't dawned on them.
    On a light note..a neighbour of mine went to a 'renowned' fortune teller a few years ago...some auld fella in a wheelchair. He told her she had psychic abilities and if she wanted to have powers like his she had to go back to his house at midnight and 'make love to him':D..FFS! Chancer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

if you do decide to believe it then your mind is potentially powerful enough to create the conditions you expect, an 'observer created universe' if you will.
    (there are some chapters in section 3 of robert anton wilsons "quantum psychology" pertaining to illness worth reading up on.a book he recommends is "an anatomy of an illness" by norman cousins.)

your kid will be fine,but don't let some charlatan infect you with negative thinking.

Basically, i was chatting her mother about this and trying to explain that this idea of fortune telling is, in essance a load of bollix, she proceeded to tell me that he said does the letter "s" mean anything and then rambled some more and then mentioned the number 8.

I stopped her at that point and told her that she herself answered it herself then and there as to why these ppl are full of sh1t. I basically said to her that she associated with the name with an "s" andthen the number "8", yet all the ramblings inbetween was ignored because she could associate nothing with it. Essentially if you throw enough sh1t at a wall some of it will stick, and its the method of throwing out the sh1t, without making them look like they are guessing that makes them seem plausable.

Fool and their money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

mikom wrote: »
    I was a non-believer until last month when I went to a fortune teller for the first time.
    She told me a lot of money was coming my way.
    I walked out really excited.... then I got hit by a Securicor van.

Did you hit it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭hideous ape

Gotta agree with everyone else...total waffle!

If fortune telling was real then surely they would do a reading on themselves and then quickly top themselves cause their future would consist of wearing tat, living in a horsebox and spoofing guillible people for a few shiny pennies. If fortune telling was real their would be no fortune tellers on the street, just a lot more millionaires!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Even the Oracle in the Matrix didn't know Neo was the one!

You didn't watch the entire Trilogy !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I had a child minder as a kid who was into this kind of malarkey. In fairness to her, she made it pretty clear to me that while she did believe in what she did, she didn't think it could be anything but very vague.

I don't believe in it myself though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

That's terrible. You'd better start praying that nothing bad happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I have a friend who was really mad into this BS and would give people readings on those stupid angel cards even if it was clear they didn't want it- and it was always a death or accident or something! About a year ago she predicted some rubbish about one friend that a death would be in the family- and lo and behold by pure chance someone died. The girl who's family member died, out of pure grief went to the friends house and started screaming at her like a lunatic- the friend burnt the stupid cards that night! Total back fire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Thing is that when you've been brought up to believe in the holy ghost, miracle zombie jesus and priests who can create flesh bread then fortune tellers isnt that much of a jump.

What kind of a sap wants their fortune told anyway?

I basically said to her that she associated with the name with an "s" andthen the number "8", yet all the ramblings inbetween was ignored because she could associate nothing with it

That's exactly it. I think it was Carl Sagan called it 'remembering the hits and forgetting the misses'. People latch onto the little things that they can vaguely associate with, while all the other waffle is forgotten. And let's be honest, we can all associate with things like the letter S and the number 8 and someone called John and an ill relative and all that other vague crap that can apply to almost anybody.

dvpower wrote: »
    That's terrible. You'd better start praying that nothing bad happens.

...from one blind faith to another

Bambi wrote: »

What kind of a sap wants their fortune told anyway?

You will probably find a member of your very own family has at one point went to a fortune teller at one point or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

This horsesh*t is called cold-reading.

They say something vague which would likely to apply to anyone ('im getting the impression of a John, or James... or something beginning with a J') and watch for a reaction. Usually the victim fills in all the blanks and then the 'medium' flips it around to make it sound like they came up with all the details.

Its just a con, these guys should be locked up for taking advantage of the vulnerable/stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I got ropped into seeing one at a dinner party early on in the year, not my scene at all but I was literally forced into it..
    Anyhow, this mad German bitch insisted that the holiday I had planned was not going to happen and that I should cancel it.. She was adamant it wouldnt happen and that I should get my money back before it was too late. Of course I went and had a lovely holiday (although I was apprehensive about it, thinking the bloody plane was gonna go down or something) - I can imagine some people though would believe it and cancel...