Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you feel about AIB spending YOUR tax money to promote itself on TV?

• 11-10-2009 3:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭

As we all know, AIB if left to its own devices should of went bust a couple of months ago.

But now, with the company being propped up with taxpayers money, they now insult us even further by spending it on TV advertisements telling us how great they are.

So how angry do you feel, when you see one of their TV advertisments?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Eh, marketing is quite important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Not happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I don't feel angry at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Eh, marketing is quite important.

Indeed.

And nothing does us all better than the collective hate of some random woman from Terenure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

meh, my account with them is overdrawn and I'm unemployed.... I'd like to see them make a feel good ad about that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I wish they'd spent my tax money on killing that bitch from Terenure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Awwwww :o you're like a little America. Its precious.

At least its Marketing and not a multimillion dollar adspot that says "Hi guys thanks for your bailout money we're going to spend it good".

I cant remember which CEO that was. ****ing tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Placid_Casual

So angry! How dare those bastards spend money on running a business.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

so would you rather they didn't try to drum up interest in their business and just used tax payers money to run it forever instead

god some people just need something to moan about

Need to spend money to make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I can't believe in this day and age some people still don't understand how banks work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭jos28

I get angry when I think of my taxes going to AIB who have somwhere between €40 million to €100 million's worth of paintings adorning their office walls. Sell them and bail yourselves out :mad:

jos28 wrote: »
    I get angry when I think of my taxes going to AIB who have somwhere between €40 million to €100 million's worth of paintings adorning their office walls. Sell them and bail yourselves out :mad:
    Paintings can be investments you know. And you kind of made the point yourself, if they need to they can auction the paintings to get their money back, or actually make money on the sale of the paintings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Despite all my rage I am still just a rat in a cage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

jos28 wrote: »
    Quite obviously you do not understand how banks work, those paintings are ASSETS used as security for loans from the ecb, other banks etc.
    They CANNOT sell them as a bank without security is going to fail badly.

Its not just there so the CEO feels his offices are stylish.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Quite obviously you do not understand how banks work, those paintings are ASSETS used as security for loans from the ecb, other banks etc.
    They CANNOT sell them as a bank without security is going to fail badly.

Its not just there so the CEO feels his offices are stylish.

oh course they can, its not like they live in the real world or anything:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭hello932

That bitch will die in Terenure! :)Hate that ad so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

I m shocked!! Shocked and appalled. And dont get me started an them gangsters on the dole spending MY tax money on food and the like. All quite shocking really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

God it's a real slow sunday eh?...........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Huggles wrote: »
    I can't believe in this day and age some people still don't understand how banks work.

Yeah it's ridiculous, and then these people are put in charge of the bloody things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Gator

What proof do you have that it was goverment money and not revenue?

The lads in charge know exactly how they work, things coming to light in the last year are down to basic greed.
    Yeah it's ridiculous, and then these people are put in charge of the bloody things!

The lads in charge know exactly how they work, things coming to light in the last year are down to basic greed.

Greed which was fueled by the banks willingness to grant loans to high-risk individuals

Agreed but its a bit ridiculous starting a thread about a companies marketing practice no?
    Greed which was fueled by the banks willingness to grant loans to high-risk individuals

Agreed but its a bit ridiculous starting a thread about a companies marketing practice no?

Definitely!

It should have been about Mary Harney's €750,000 air travel expenses which she managed to rack up in just 2 years :P

Jesus

I've come to the conclusion in the last week though that there is no point ranting anymore. Ireland will still have gob****es that are pro FF. Might as well be pissing in the wind.
    Definitely!

It should have been about Mary Harney's €750,000 air travel expenses which she managed to rack up in just 2 years :P

Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

In case you've been living in a cave on Mars for the last few years, I'll update you.

The banks don't work. That's the problem.

I'm more pised off with the fcking cnts who are giving them our money in the first place. :mad::mad::mad:

And the Irish people just take it like the bitches that they are.

Imagine what the reaction would be in France....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Has everybody been asleep for the last year? Has everyone just woken up now, read a tabloid and thought to themselves that somehow the banks have been "given" "your money"?

Not one cent of taxpayer's money has been given to the banks. It is, in fact, the opposite , with the banks now paying the exchequer huge amounts of money every year (which is being used to pay our ridiculous social welfare and public sector pay levels).

The recapitalisation and now NAMA are all funded via bonds issued by NTMA. It has nothing (well, very little) to do with our taxes/budget deficit. The purpose of this is to get hard assets on the books of our banks as they are temporarily paralysed by the collapse of the property market and thus, get credit flowing through our economy again.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Once upon a time, a woman was picking up firewood. She came upon a poisonous snake frozen in the snow. She took the snake home and nursed it back to health. One day the snake bit her on the cheek. As she lay dying, she asked the snake, "Why have you done this to me?" And the snake answered, "Look, bitch, you knew I was a snake."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Overheal wrote: »
    Paintings can be investments you know. And you kind of made the point yourself, if they need to they can auction the paintings to get their money back, or actually make money on the sale of the paintings.

Generally an investment is something that you sell at some point, making a profit or return on your investment.

I've also heard that AIB own art worth an absolute fortune - WHY were they government so quick to dole out taxpayers' money instead of first telling AIB to sell assets such as their art collection first??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

From what I've heard the art collection is largely owned by the pension fund, and as such, it is not an asset.

How much tax-payers money has been "doled out" to the banks ? Is there something other than the temporary state guarantee of deposits in place ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

eth0_ wrote: »
    Generally an investment is something that you sell at some point, making a profit or return on your investment.

I've also heard that AIB own art worth an absolute fortune - WHY were they government so quick to dole out taxpayers' money instead of first telling AIB to sell assets such as their art collection first??

Was their art collection worth €3.5 billion?

Look, the bank bailouts leave a bitter taste in everyone's mouth. But if there are alternative solutions or different ways to manage the crisis, lets hear them Rather than silly uninformed sniping about art collections and advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

the horrible truth is nobody cares. we are a society utterly immune to getting ***ed over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

While I'm angry about them being bailed out, it's obvious that the bailout money will be used for them to operate as a business, including marketing.

So I'm angry overall, but don't have the energy to dissipate it into micro-amounts of anger every time that I see an AIB advert, leaflet or shopfront.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Them baxterds should rot in hell,rabble rabble.... bank bailouts... rabble rabble........ government are thick.....rabble rabble...... NAMA!!!! Where is my bailout FFS!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭amovingstatue

Mask wrote: »
    Them baxterds should rot in hell,rabble rabble.... bank bailouts... rabble rabble........ government are thick.....rabble rabble...... NAMA!!!! Where is my bailout FFS!!!!

you're not important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

If they want to make a profit and get some customers back, spending our money on marketing / advertising is actually quite important as it will make more than they spend if done even half right.

Marketing is a key part for a company to make money, giving AIB all that money without them marketing to regain customers would be idiotic OP, no offense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

drkpower wrote: »
    Was their art collection worth €3.5 billion?

Look, the bank bailouts leave a bitter taste in everyone's mouth. But if there are alternative solutions or different ways to manage the crisis, lets hear them Rather than silly uninformed sniping about art collections and advertising.

All of the banks should have been put into examinership as would have happened with any other business. The government didn't want to do this as the examiner would not have been either a bank or government employee and would have been obliged to disclose all wrongdoing by both the government and the boards of the banks.

Had they been put into examinership the share value would have been zero and the executives of both banks would have been removed. They would not have been able to hide, with government help, their actions.

Instead taxpayer's money was used to keep the banks afloat and the cosy little cartel of professional "directors" in place.

Had they been put into examinership the state could have bought the banks for €1 as happened with Baring's. Then they could have installed their own board ensuring any capital invested by the taxpayer went to providing credit rather than bolstering the balance sheet of corrupt institutions.

I can assure you any bank board would be far more scared of a commercial examiner than any government lackey like the financial regulator. The banks were kept afloat by the government so their mates's deeds wouldn't come to light. It's organised crime between Leinster House and their buddies and they are using public funds to pervert the course of justice and defy investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

you're not important

Intersting point:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

All of the banks should have been put into examinership as would have happened with any other business. The government didn't want to do this as the examiner would not have been either a bank or government employee and would have been obliged to disclose all wrongdoing by both the government and the boards of the banks.

Had they been put into examinership the share value would have been zero and the executives of both banks would have been removed. They would not have been able to hide, with government help, their actions.

Instead taxpayer's money was used to keep the banks afloat and the cosy little cartel of professional "directors" in place.

Had they been put into examinership the state could have bought the banks for €1 as happened with Baring's. Then they could have installed their own board ensuring any capital invested by the taxpayer went to providing credit rather than bolstering the balance sheet of corrupt institutions.

I can assure you any bank board would be far more scared of a commercial examiner than any government lackey like the financial regulator. The banks were kept afloat by the government so their mates's deeds wouldn't come to light. It's organised crime between Leinster House and their buddies and they are using public funds to pervert the course of justice and defy investigation.

So much detail, so many innacuracies!

First, the State wouldnt have put them into examinership, they would have just nationalised the bank. And that wouldnt have even cost €1, it would have been free!!

Second, even if it was nationalised the debts are still there - they still have to be dealt with.

Third, where do you get the idea that an examiner would have been obliged to disclose all wrongdoing by both the government and the boards of the banks. And what do you mean by "wrongdoing"? Is that a moral, ethical or legal "wrongdoing"?

Fourth, an examiner doesnt perform an investigation into "organised crime", the Gardai do that and they have every oppportunity to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I just want my share of the money back.:(

galwayrush wrote: »
    I just want my share of the money back.:(

how much do you think that is roughly? out of interest..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

Overheal wrote: »
    Awwwww :o you're like a little America. Its precious.

At least its Marketing and not a multimillion dollar adspot that says "Hi guys thanks for your bailout money we're going to spend it good".

I cant remember which CEO that was. ****ing tool.

http://theangryhedgehog.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/aib-trib3.jpg?w=600&h=800

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

how much do you think that is roughly? out of interest..

No idea, i'm just broke, could do with a little help from anywhere.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Once upon a time, a woman was picking up firewood. She came upon a poisonous snake frozen in the snow. She took the snake home and nursed it back to health. One day the snake bit her on the cheek. As she lay dying, she asked the snake, "Why have you done this to me?" And the snake answered, "Look, bitch, you knew I was a snake."

Aww, the Scorpion and the Frog translated into AH. How sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Prefer it with music... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

*Cough*

Much better.

Dr. Bollocko: Closet Trekkie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

drkpower wrote: »
    So much detail, so many innacuracies!

First, the State wouldnt have put them into examinership, they would have just nationalised the bank. And that wouldnt have even cost €1, it would have been free!!

Second, even if it was nationalised the debts are still there - they still have to be dealt with.

Third, where do you get the idea that an examiner would have been obliged to disclose all wrongdoing by both the government and the boards of the banks. And what do you mean by "wrongdoing"? Is that a moral, ethical or legal "wrongdoing"?

Fourth, an examiner doesnt perform an investigation into "organised crime", the Gardai do that and they have every oppportunity to do so.

So much sh1te. So many inaccuracies.

First. The state wouldn't have put them into examinership, their creditors would have. Then it would be up to the courts not Leinster House. Liam Carroll is fcuked because ACC can't be silenced by the Govt.

Second. The debts of these banks is not the responsibility of the Govt. It is the responsibility of the bondholders and shareholders.

Third. The responsibility of an examiner is to his accounting company and to the courts and creditors, not to the voters, the govt. or the ex-shareholders.

Fourth. It is the examiner's obligation to see if there has been any wrongdoing, creative accounting, etc. just like an auditor. The guards will investigate as much as is good for them. Leinster House pays their wages.

Do you think that an examiner appointed to Anglo Irish wouldn't have made a statement by now? It was nationalised to stop the creditors making waves because this way they get paid by the taxpayer instead of recovering 10% at law.

Stop being so naive.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

My quote was actually directly lifted from Natural born killers and not from Star Trek. :P