Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GameTrailers defends their Uncharted 2 review

• 10-10-2009 5:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭inFamouxe

GameTrailers, one of the most popular video game websites, recently reviewed and gave Uncharted 2: Among Thieves a 9.3 score out of 10. Apparently, that didn’t sit well with a few people. Shane Satterfield, Editor-in-Chief of GameTrailers, decided to defend his review of the Playstation 3 exclusive game in the latest Invisible Walls podcast. Here is his statement regarding the controversial review:
    As far as people’s criticisms of the review are concern, what I saw the most was people were upset that I dinged it so much for it not being original. And that’s the comment I saw the most on message boards and our comments. And the truth of the matter is it’s not original. It doesn’t really do anything that hasn’t been done in other games.
    And people say: ‘oh well, you compared it to Gears of War, why did Gears of War get a higher score?’ Gears of War 2 was released a year ago. The original Gears of War was released way before that. So the expectations change over time. You can’t just create a ‘me too’ game where you grab all the best features from all the games that are over a year old and expect to get the same score a year later for those same features.
    Now, honestly, there was nothing original in Uncharted 2. To be perfectly honest with you, the 9.3 that game got is about as high a score as a game like that is ever going to get on GameTrailers and that’s the bottom line.
    When we review games, we put an extremely high emphasis on originality. Why do you think Super Mario Galaxy scored so high? It’s because it did tons of things that no game had ever done before. It’s platforming upside down in that game. I was platforming around round levels in that game. There’s nothing like that in Uncharted 2.
    And again, I’ve said it a million times, the game is freaking incredible. The last line in the review says: ‘go buy the game. If you have a PS3, go freaking buy it.’ What more can I say? But at the same time I cannot sleight the other games that did go above and beyond and did take a risk.
    And that’s what Uncharted 2 doesn’t do. There are no risks associated with that game at all. They played it completely safe. They took things that they knew were accepted and people loved and build it into one game. And that’s fine, there’s nothing wrong with that. But you can’t expect a score of a 9.8 or a 9.5 and higher if you’re doing something like that.
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves will be released on October 13th exclusively for the Playstation 3

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,386 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

What were people expecting? If a game gets 9.3 then it's because the reviewer thinks it's brilliant despite any nit picky faults. If I was the reviewer by response would be to just tell the moaning 10 years olds to shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

He shouldn't have even legitimised the complaints with a response.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Is it better than Halo 3 is what I want to know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

tman wrote: »
    Isnt everything :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

Jaysus, what is it with people? People were getting their knickers in a twist over 0.2-0.7%? If they love the game so much you'd think they'd be playing the MP demo instead of giving out about something so trivial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

The thing is, it's not the score. They gave Halo 3- 9.8, which is fine in itself (I'd give it 8, but that's not the point). The point is, they were happy to ignore the fact that halo 3 was not that much different from the previous games and essentially offered nothing new. But Uncharted 2 was marked down for these things and Halo 3 wasn't.
    Their reviews are inconsistent. The reviewer is a fan of Halo 3. It's not that the PS3 sucks, it's that he favours Halo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭inFamouxe

In every game genre has similarities on it, so why are they pointing out that the reason why they gave it 9.3 is because there's nothing original on it! GT are bunch of bollocks! they think they know everything but not! and another thing why would i watch their reviews if i like the game i will buy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Hmm, well in all fairness the gameplay IS almost identical to Uncharted Drake's Fortune. But adding the multiplayer and co-op was a good step IMO.

Also, IGN editors have their individual say on the game:

http://ie.ps3.ign.com/articles/103/1033775p1.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Liamario wrote: »
    The thing is, it's not the score. They gave Halo 3- 9.8, which is fine in itself (I'd give it 8, but that's not the point). The point is, they were happy to ignore the fact that halo 3 was not that much different from the previous games and essentially offered nothing new. But Uncharted 2 was marked down for these things and Halo 3 wasn't.
    Their reviews are inconsistent. The reviewer is a fan of Halo 3. It's not that the PS3 sucks, it's that he favours Halo

Heh, my comment earlier was a bit of a Eurogamer in joke, I didn't realise that Gametrailers wanked all over the very average Halo 3 as well.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,386 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I think there's a big problem with the reviews of entries in big games series being handed for review to fanboys of the series. MGS4 is a good case, it's really panders to the MGS fanboy but anyone else who isn't blind to the series faults will see it's absolute nonsense, the same with Halo 3. It's celebrated for it's forge and multiplayer modes when they aren't original at all and enough about the single player campaign. However a fan of the series will lap it up and give a biased review. I'd rather see system like EGM used to use or old school (circa 1993-1995) were there was second opinion reviews were sometimes the reviewers completely disagreed with each other. It's getting silly how unprofessional the gaming press is becoming, although I'm sure the crappy wages they get also doesn't help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Rev. Kitchen

Why people get offended by an opinion on something they had absolutly no imput into making i cant understand. Fair enough if Naughty dog where upset by a bad review after spending months making a game.

But anyway 9.3 is a brilliant score.

Why people get offended by an opinion on something they had absolutly no imput into making i cant understand. Fair enough if Naughty dog where upset by a bad review after spending months making a game.

But anyway 9.3 is a brilliant score.

Again, it's not the score. 9.3 is a great score and nobody can argue otherwise. His opinion by itself is fine, but the issues arise when he doesn't apply the same points at other games.

The other games were reviewed by some one else though. If anything the bile should be directed at those people.

I suppose you're right RG. They really need to get rid of the scoring system completely. At the very least make their scoring out of 5 or 10. That way people will be forced to read the review rather than check the score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

I suppose you're right RG. They really need to get rid of the scoring system completely. At the very least make their scoring out of 5 or 10. That way people will be forced to read the review rather than check the score.

When I was getting around to putting shoryuken online, the first complaint I had from people was there was no scoring system in place. So I let the scoring system go in out of 5. Frankly I'd rather not do that, and work it from A-F like a school system. That way, IMO, people's minds would change aspect from seeing the system on a case-by-case basis rather then this current "well you gave Halo 10/10, why not this??" BS.

What I should have explained more is that when I say rate the games out of 5 or 10, it means that in the case of GT Halo 3 would get a 9 (even though it deserves an 8) and uncharted 2 would get a 9. This way there would be messing around with 0.5 of a difference in scores and then the text of the review would be more relevant.

Mayhem, may I ask what you would have done with the GT review scores. Would you head down the territory of 1up and start giving A- & B+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I prefer 1up's system it prevents console wars to a degree.

"ZOMG... you gave Halo 4 9.3 but give KILLZONE 3 9.2!! MS moneyhatted your review!!"

The best way to do it in my opinion is to make any scoring as vague as possible thus making the writers opinion the thing that counts. It all comes down to different opinions in the end

Arguing about an X/100 scale is just ridiculous. Whats the difference between a 9.3 game and one that gets 9.4? They way I see them in my head is must buy, buy, maybe and nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

What I should have explained more is that when I say rate the games out of 5 or 10, it means that in the case of GT Halo 3 would get a 9 (even though it deserves an 8) and uncharted 2 would get a 9. This way there would be messing around with 0.5 of a difference in scores and then the text of the review would be more relevant.

Mayhem, may I ask what you would have done with the GT review scores. Would you head down the territory of 1up and start giving A- & B+

I much prefer the 1up system. You need scores to have a headline to run with and to get your review on the back of the game box, but I think people react more rationally to A, B etc. Anything C and above is worth checking out, D is worth seeing a demo of and below that shouldn't be touched. That's how I see it, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,726 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Read the IGN thing. I din'tlike this nearly as much as most people so slightly concerned that it seems to be the same game again.

I must have been one of the few who actually welcomed the arrival of the youknowwhats to keep the thing from getting stale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

tman wrote: »

Who cares which game is better? Play whatever you enjoy,but whats the point in comparing Uncharted 2 to a game from a completely different genre on a completely different console that was released 2 years(I think) earlier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭Vyse

I had vaguley heard about this. I thought gametrailers had gave the game an 8/10 so wasn't overly suprised that there would some small bit of an outburst (still ridiculous but remember the reaction to eurogamers MGS4 8/10 review).

However a 9.3:mad: I cannot even comprehend how somebody would argue over this. This is total fanboyism through and through, pathetic to the point of ridiculous. There is no argument here and no defending of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭macpac26

I really dont see what the big deal is. Review scores only really matter to fanboys these days. I dont buy games based purely on game reviews i always try the game out first before i buy. Its worked for me since the NES days.

Most times though the site is usually trying to get attention in the press and generate hits. GTs series of comparison videos has stirred similar attention.

Point is, if your arguing over whether a game is a 9.3 or a 9.8 you need your head tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

You're actually surprised by this? Even after the farce that occurred when the reviews for Killzone 2 started coming in?

It just shows how bad things have gotten when review sites feel the need to defend their scores due to the usual fanboy drivel. It does, unfortunately, seem to be a problem that has affected PS3 titles the most so it's really no wonder people regard PS3 fanboys as the worst.

Leprachaun wrote: »
    Who cares which game is better? Play whatever you enjoy,but whats the point in comparing Uncharted 2 to a game from a completely different genre on a completely different console that was released 2 years(I think) earlier?

You missed the joke?

Think when i come to review it this week ill give it a 60% just for the laugh :D

Anyone see a review from the edge yet i havent seen one i wonder are they holding off as it is a great game and it will kill them to say it.

EDGE:

As good as Gunstar Heroes

6/10

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    EDGE:

As good as Gunstar Heroes

6/10

Had a go of the above game.

Admittedly its very old but hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

What they should do is have at the end of a review buy it, rent it or avoid it. In the end, with reviews all you want is to hear/see what features a game has and how they play out and if it's worth getting. It's like if you ask a mate about a game, they odn't give you a score (well unless they're really nerdy). They'll just tell you if it's worth buying or not.

The Edge are doing a review but it wont come out untill the next issue out on the 27th of Oct ?? :rolleyes:

noodler wrote: »
    Had a go of the above game.

Admittedly its very old but hated it.

I'm disappointed. Gunstar Heroes is one of the greatest games ever made.

Its not better then Legend of Dragoon.

VOLCANO! HARPOON!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I can understand and accept a game gets a higher mark for originality or trying something new...but one must rate how good the game is overall. Maybe there should be a separate margin for originality as well.

To get an almost perfect score, you're gonna have to be a fantastic game that also changes the industry, or how people after you make games.

Since when is 9.3 a bad score?! :D He hit the nail on the head - his ending quote is "if you own a PS3, you have to own this game". There's no higher praise then that...(maybe "this is the best game ever made" LOL)

Its not better then Legend of Dragoon.

VOLCANO! HARPOON!

You can **** right off! :)

I'll give it another go.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I always love the way Retr0 derails review threads by bringing up the Gunstar Heroes review :pac: Fanboi! :D

But indeed anyone who gives a **** about a game they like getting a fantastic but not fantastic enough review is giving the whole gaming community a bad name. Why the hell should someone have to defend giving something a 93% review, which to any sane person is a fairly obvious suggestion of greatness. A score is simply one person trying to conjure up a number to express their usually complex opinion on something. It means little to nothing, a mere guideline. People who get outraged about it (probably without having even played the damn thing or reading the review makes it that bit worse) deserves a swift kick up somewhere painful.

I bring it up a lot but I have a big soft spot for the game since it was the one I played the most in the 16 bit era that wasn't street fighter 2 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,560 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Game Review site are businesses and while i sure they would like to keep their journalistic integrity they are face with customers who may stop coming to their site because a game got less than they would like
    while i dislike the /100 or the /5 using a /10 with only whole numbers is for the best if a score is needed at all

i never trust a 100% game but i will trust if a reviewer gives a 10 i still read the article and look on other site but my mind is made up before the game ever come out

as that may be i still think the negatives given for uncharted are untrue or overemphasized

All i can say is WOW what a game, just took a break for a spot of lunch after the first hour and 45 mins.

Very similar to the first one but a lot slicker. Only problem is the cover when you press O to get into cover at a corner but he decides to roll out into full view getting you caught is a pain but it happens a lot less than the first one.

Damn thought they would have fixed that cover issue :/

They have made it a lot better and it may be down to me pressing up and left instead of just up to get into cover on a corner.

Still brilliant game heading back for 2 more hours before the missus wakes up after the night shift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

No. Go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

I thought it wasnt out til firday?

€39.50 on amazon.co.uk today! I'll be ordering tonight me thinks.

• Wheres it been sold!!!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭GothPunk

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Wheres it been sold!!!!?
    I think he has a review copy (one if the perks of running a games website).

GothPunk wrote: »
    I think he has a review copy (one if the perks of running a games website).

I think its a VG+ copy. They posted last week for import customers as the time it takes to deliver wouldn't break the street release date. There was a big message on their site about how they were taking location into account for shipping dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Kanye-Finish-YO-INSERT-GAME-HERE-IM-REALLY-HAPPY-FOR-YOU-AND-IMMA-LET-YOU-FINISH-BUT-GUNSTAR-HEROES.jpg

Its out in the US today, i just ordered from VG+ glad it arrived today. 3& 1/2 hours in now still brilliant.

Buddy AI is very good they tend to just stay out of your way rather than try to help. means you arent always trying to go and help them.

Im stuck on a bit not too hard but after 3 or 4 hours gaming the brain is not working properly anymore had to take a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭inFamouxe

Its out in the US today, i just ordered from VG+ glad it arrived today. 3& 1/2 hours in now still brilliant.

Buddy AI is very good they tend to just stay out of your way rather than try to help. means you arent always trying to go and help them.

Im stuck on a bit not too hard but after 3 or 4 hours gaming the brain is not working properly anymore had to take a break.

Arghhh! stop all of this! i can't take it anymore im so fecking jealous like i said earlier... :( lol