Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern to be next president?

• 10-10-2009 10:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭

Just reading through the late late thread about bertie and this talk of him becoming the next president of Ireland. You might look at such comments and laugh. But the sad truth is that some of the twats of citizens in this country would vote him in without giving it a second thought.

If lisbon can get passed so easily sure why would we not vote bertie as the next president and even if he doesnt get elected the first time, we'll have another election, cos thats the kind of country we are.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

Quite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

manlad wrote: »
    If lisbon can get passed so easily sure why would we not vote bertie as the next president

Bitter much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

He doesn't deserve the position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

FunkZ wrote: »
    Bitter much?

its not being bitter but think about it, there was an absolute no vote the first time but they still had another election and when they got the yes vote there was nothing more said. How can so many people change their minds. Most of the population voted without thinking just assuming it was the right thing to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

The most shocking thing is there's people who believe if Bertie was still in power that the country would still be booming, they forget that it was his policies that led to the economy relying solely on the purchase of houses to stay afloat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

put him in jail or make him the president of the country?

wtf like the guy is as bent as a unail

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Look, with his bad memory he's lucky to remember where he lives - never mind get him to remember another address for a president house!

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    The most shocking thing is there's people who believe if Bertie was still in power that the country would still be booming, they forget that it was his policies that led to the economy relying solely on the purchase of houses to stay afloat.

i fully agree. Brian Cowen may not be the right man for the job but people have to remember he was left with the scraps of a country thrown from the table of corruption by bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

did you hear the applause for him on late late show?.....the man is a hero ......all is forgiven......how can anyone knock bertie....he lives in a small apartment, wears an anorak and has no money remember?.....he only signed charlies cheques, he didnt actually know what was going on.....forget george forman ...i want the new teflon frying pan by bertie.....nothing will ever stick....:pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'd vote for Bertie

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Michael D for President!

Though I think there is some age limit of when you can be elected.
    Must go look this up

jerseyeire wrote: »
    I'd vote for Bertie

you'd probably pick a 3 legged horse in the grand national

I'd vote for Bertie

For what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I am not an activist by any means but if that man runs for president I will take to the streets to campaign against him.

Who would join me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

dlofnep wrote: »
    For what?

for the guillotine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

It's the people who'd vote for Bertie that got us in the mess in the first place. Unfortunately these people have not learned their lesson and have him on some sort of pedestal. I'm genuinely afraid that if he is in the next presidential election he will be elected:(

amdublin wrote: »
    I am not an activist by any means but if that man runs for president I will take to the streets to campaign against him.

Who would join me?

I'll help ya hold the banner

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

I'd vote for Bertie

Are you gone in the head, perchance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Futurism

manlad wrote: »
    its not being bitter but think about it, there was an absolute no vote the first time but they still had another election and when they got the yes vote there was nothing more said. How can so many people change their minds. Most of the population voted without thinking just assuming it was the right thing to do

Kind of like the first time then yeah?

Futurism wrote: »
    Kind of like the first time then yeah?

Ur completely correct......The same mistake was made twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

The last presidential election nobody ran so Mary Mcaleese won by default.
    Who's out there to run against him?

mikemac wrote: »
    Michael D for President!

Must go look this up

Michael D. would make a great President. On the other hand, the presidency could be scrapped as, like the Seanad, it has no purpose in a modern democratic republic.

Just as Seanad Éireann is an Irish version of the British House of Lords, which was insisted upon by the British in December 1921, the position of President is the modern name for the Governor-General, who was the representative of the British monarch in Ireland.

They serve no purpose today; the marginal function of the President signing legislation could be done by a newly constituted Council of State.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Ye can't actually think Enda Kenny would have done a better job?

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Yeah, sure we can - he could hardly have done worse than bringing down the economy and saddling future Irish generations with a mountain of crushing debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

mikemac wrote: »
    Michael D for President!

Must go look this up

We can't have anyone older than Douglas Hyde, it wouldn't be right......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I hope he dies. He's a pox on this nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    I hope he dies.

He will, he's not immortal.
    Probably not anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

The-Rigger wrote: »
    He will, he's not immortal.
    Probably not anyhow.

You'd never know, after president, pope, and who knows there could be an opening for God at that stage....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭jiggawigga

Old snaggletooth himself was on the Late Late last night. Tubridy should have nailed him Cowen style. He came across alright, made a few jokes, was pretty honest considering his background and he got a big clap at the end.

Bertie for President... FAIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    I hope he dies. He's a pox on this nation.

Indeed. He's the ultimate snake. I wish he would just go away and emigrate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Ireland doesn't need a president nor can it afford one.

No, Enda Kenny would have been equally as worthless and gutless. It doesn't mean that Bertie is worthy of presidency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

What is the point in having a President? All the Áras is is an old folks home for past Taoisigh and failed politicians like Mary McAleese.

I mean I suppose we're lucky that we actually get to elect our President unlike most other republics in Europe where the parliament actually elects them, but our President has no role other than to go on trade missions and attend ceremonies at home and talk the biggest amount of sh*te possible.

No one running for President in 2011 can actually campaign on anything other than "I'd be better than him/her", because they have no power, they can't promise anything because they can't do anything.

We should follow France and the US and scrap our current system of government and introduce an executive Presidency. Otherwise scrap it because its a waste of money that could better spent elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

junkyard wrote: »
    Ireland doesn't need a president nor can it afford one.
    Ireland can't afford to have a government either, it's far too expensive a luxury.:eek:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Ireland can't afford to have a government either, it's far too expensive a luxury.:eek:

If Martin Mansergh and Mary Coughlan are the best advertisement we have for democracy then dictatorship is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

I think this is all part of a Bertie testing the water, dipping his toe in so to speak because he would love to be president.

He would have loved to have been involved high up in Europe but when he dipped his toe in that water the EU came back with...

"Ha ha ha, great Joke Ireland... very funny..... Oh wait you were serious? somebody that tainted with corruption and deceit? emm... Geen bedankt, No merci, Nein Danke, No gracias..."

What ever about what Bertie wants, I think it would be pure insanity for Fianna FAIL to let him run and they would be hammered at the Presidential Election polls.

I would love him to run because I think he would be humiliated.

Just for the record, Bartholomew Ahern is the individual who appointed Eoghan Harris, yes that ranting unstable lunatic (apologies for the tautology), to Seanad Éireann as a "thank you" for Harris backing Ahern on the Late Late. Talk about blatent.

Now, that Harris individual is creaming things up by over €100,000 per year while ordinary PAYE workers struggle. For that he does, well, just what every other senator in the hangover from English rule that is Seanad Éireann does: nothing.

Bartholomew Ahern has given the two fingers to Irish people so often it defies belief that anybody could support the wretch. Unthinking idiots.

Profiler wrote: »
    I think this is all part of a Bertie testing the water, dipping his toe in so to speak because he would love to be president.

He would have loved to have been involved high up in Europe but when he dipped his toe in that water the EU came back with...

"Ha ha ha, great Joke Ireland... very funny..... Oh wait you were serious? somebody that tainted with corruption and deceit? emm... Geen bedankt, No merci, Nein Danke, No gracias..."

What ever about what Bertie wants, I think it would be pure insanity for Fianna FAIL to let him run and they would be hammered at the Presidential Election polls.

I'd believe his humiliation when I see. Firstly, he's too brazen to even comtemplate being embarrassed about anything. His record bears this out.

Secondly, just think about how people still speak of Charlie Haughey. If you bear in mind that Charlie can do no wrong in some peoples eyes would it surprise anyone greatly to see Bertie Ahern get elected as President. They're both cut from the same cloth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

orourkeda wrote: »
    If Martin Mansergh and Mary Coughlan are the best advertisement we have for democracy then dictatorship is the way to go.

We'll have to get the right dictator, or he'll screw us as well.

We could advertise the position, laying out the guidelines, and hope for the best.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    We'll have to get the right dictator, or he'll screw us as well.

We could advertise the position, laying out the guidelines, and hope for the best.

Michael O'Leary for dictator :D

"Ein Volk, ein Reich, ein Führer, ein euro for a seat to Berlin"

I know, we could send them all out to preside and govern Rockall and with a bit of luck global warming will really happen and drown the f*ckers!!:)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

JPA wrote: »
    The last presidential election nobody ran so Mary Mcaleese won by default.
    Who's out there to run against him?

I heard George Hook during the week on Newstalk say that if Bertie runs for President he (Hook) will run against him. I'd certainly vote for Hook over Bertie. I'd vote for almost anybody over Bertie.

quickbeam wrote: »
    I heard George Hook during the week on Newstalk say that if Bertie runs for President he (Hook) will run against him. I'd certainly vote for Hook over Bertie. I'd vote for almost anybody over Bertie.

Hook :mad: hmmm do I vote for one attention seeking fud or the other attention seeking fud :rolleyes:

Vote No: 1 Dustin The Turkey :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Profiler wrote: »

I toally agree.

In some ways I hope that he goes for it and either some scandal surfaces or he just gets wiped out. However he does seem to be testing the waters and is too cute to go if he doesnt have a very strong chance of getting elected.

Did you see the interview last night? His eyes were shifting all over the place when he was being quizzed on some of the many issues that he should be taken to task over. It was only when the presidency was mentioned that he brightened up.

There were so many issues that he could still have been nailed on, like him supporting Ray Burke despite all the corruption, he seemingly said in the book that he regrets sacking him, like appointing Celia Larkin to the board of the National Consumer Agency. I think Tubridy did a decent enough job in the interview, he was always likely to tone it down a bit after the criticism he got over the Cowan interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Fairly sure we had a poll about this a while ago and it was a resounding no from the boards electorate :)

This book is only to test the water to see how many "sheep" still support him. It it being sold as fact or fiction?

junkyard wrote: »
    This book is only to test the water to see how many "sheep" still support him. It it being sold as fact or fiction?

It was ghost written by Hans Christian Anderson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

im in easons the bollix is downstairs,i wanna punch him but what would happen! bar being a folk hero of course :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

ronano wrote: »
    im in easons the bollix is downstairs,i wanna punch him but what would happen! bar being a folk hero of course :D
    He's got away with worse.

ronano wrote: »

You'll be a legend around here for starters and i'll defend you for free so go for it!!!