Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assualt on cyclist on the Belgard Road/Hill

• 09-10-2009 9:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Hi all, I don't expect any further info on this as I think anyone who witnessed this were good enough to stop and help but just throwing this out there to highlight the scum we share our roads with and on the off chance someone knows something.

A cyclist was cycling up the cycle lane on the Belgard Hill around 4:30 yesterday evening when a silver coloured car, 2004 model, possibly a Nissan came from the opposite direction. Some absolutely vile little scumbag ****er in the car threw an egg at the cyclist hitting him in the face. An ambulance was needed to bring the man to hospital, there was alot of blood involved and there were initial fears that his nose was broken or eye was damaged. Luckily when he was examined and cleaned it he 'only', and I use that term loosely, had a cut below his eye and a rather black eye.

Dismemberment is not severe enough for that animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Jens would have caught it in his teeth and kept riding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Jip wrote: »

Do you know if anyone managed to get the reg of the car or person involved. Seem like enough details with the car colour, year, location and time to be able to track him down with CCTV etc and give him an awful beating. Prosecution is too lax for scumbags like these who get away with a slap on the wrists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Apparently one guy who found out what happened when he stopped went after it to get it and said he'd give the reg to the gardai. If that actually happens is another thing altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

I got egged once cycling up Philipsburg Avenue in Marino. It's bloody dangerous and not in the slightest bit funny - what possesses someone to do something like this?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I've had stuff thrown at me out of cars (less so, now that I've given up on the helmet and cut down the hi-viz to a minimum), and it's humiliating and dangerous. It should be regarded as a quite serious offence.

Eggs really hurt as well. I'm not surprised so much damage was done when one hit someone in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

tomasrojo wrote: »
    I've had stuff thrown at me out of cars (less so, now that I've given up on the helmet and cut down the hi-viz to a minimum), and it's humiliating and dangerous. It should be regarded as a quite serious offence.

Eggs really hurt as well. I'm not surprised so much damage was done when one hit someone in the face.

I always wear glasses when cycling (clear lens ATM). Mainly to keep the wind off my eyes, but after reading this i realise glasses have other benefits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭happy_73

It happens sometimes when out running too. Complete scum of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

That is really vile- hopefully someone got the reg. The cyclist needs to make sure they document everything and particularly take photos of the injuries. Honestly the gardaí will take it very seriously if he needed to go to hospital by ambulance, if they catch the perpetrator he will almost certainly get prosecuted for assault, could well be looking at a custodial sentence.

The cyclist should also take a civil case against the perpetrator. Again documenting the injuries is essential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Agree with the above, forgot to mention in my initial post that the gardai did arrive, the ambulance crew called them so there is a report of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭TheJones

Pretty bloody bad but unfortunatley a sign of the times, hope some sort of prosecution arises from the subsequent incident report but seriously doubt anything will come of it! Poor bast*rd but I suppose we have to remember it could have been any one of us:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

happened to me before , some bloke chucked a banana skin out at me , thought he was being smart , but i caught up with him at a busy T junction and put my foot through his window

cycling shoes are great for that , the little w**ker didnt know what to do

i dont suggest voilence at all , but this same p***k who used to beep at me while i was cycling

Karmas a bitch aint it :)

Bloody hell Acoustic, a tad Chuck Norris don't you think? Can't say I blame you but had he accelerated off with your foot in the window you may be minus a limb or two!

Also and not defending the dirt ball but had he realised at the time you may have been liable for criminal damage aslo in breaking that window with your foot, after all its only your word against his as to whether the skin was simply litter or a malicous prank!

However all that said, everyone on this forum has probably reacted in similar ways myself included so kudos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭morninwood

Jip wrote: »

Second that.

Worst are cigarettes being flicked out of cars and ending up in your face. Had some nasty surprises with that.

TheJones wrote: »
    Bloody hell Acoustic, a tad Chuck Norris don't you think? Can't say I blame you but had he accelerated off with your foot in the window you may be minus a limb or two!

Also and not defending the dirt ball but had he realised at the time you may have been liable for criminal damage aslo in breaking that window with your foot, after all its only your word against his as to whether the skin was simply litter or a malicous prank!

However all that said, everyone on this forum has probably reacted in similar ways myself included so kudos

well he beeped at me and as he was over taking muttered something and flung it right at me , so yeah it was intentional

couldnt give 2 hoots if it was criminal damage , i had witnesses who were behind him and 2 cars actually beeped at me as in to say " well done " when i did it

and one of our regular boardsie's is a police man so i called him with the reg and turns out it was 2 bloke with no insurance :)

Fair enough and don't be under the illusion that I'm taking his side but I hope you can agree its a very dangerous course you take whenever you take things into your own hands, moral highground or not its even odds at most as to whether you'll get away without physical or financial damages.

That said he obviously deserved a hiding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

It's a Friday, someone has reported a serious assault a motorist made on a cyclist and Acoustic reports he put his foot through a motorist's window who threw something at him!*

Cue TimAllen in 3...2...

I will take bets on Tim not considering the guy who was egged and had to be taken to hospital if he does appear...

Regarding how seriously the gardaí will take it, honestly they will take it seriously and follow it up, especially as the cyclist was hospitalised.

*Note: throwing something at someone is legally an assault, even if it does not contact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

yeah I got hit with eggs a couple of times on the canal near Dolphin's barn and on Cork st when out running. Wasn't injured but got a real scare once when hit just below the throat at night and hadn't seen it coming at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Acoustic wrote: »
    well he beeped at me and as he was over taking muttered something and flung it right at me , so yeah it was intentional

couldnt give 2 hoots if it was criminal damage , i had witnesses who were behind him and 2 cars actually beeped at me as in to say " well done " when i did it

and one of our regular boardsie's is a police man so i called him with the reg and turns out it was 2 bloke with no insurance :)

Some going, how did you actually happen to do it, dismount from the bike at the junction and show the window the heel of your shoe, or unclip both shoes and straddling the bike stand on one and kick to the right breaking the window?
    Thankfully I can't say I've ever gotten anything thrown at me while cycling but I have had some heated arguements and always contemplated what I would do if things got out of hand. My prefered option I think would be to try ripping off their wing mirror as I think you risk alot of personal injury in trying to break a window, there's the risk of cutting yourself plus the danger you can get caught with your leg/hand in the window as TheJones indicated.
    Similarly like TheJones I wouldn't advocate violence or bringing the law into your own hands but sometimes in the heat of the moment it's all that can be done.

well the guy has since drove past me im sure and hasnt done anything or said anything

i was just p**sed off at that time and these f**kers seem to get away with it time and time again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

Heh heh, sweet, hope the bastard got nailed for it !!!! :)

A few months back I was ripping downhill on a main road in the p!ssing rain, when a Redneck POS driving the opposite way threw a practically full can of Coke at me. I could see it coming straight for my head and I just managed to sit up in time, so it hit my knee. It was like being hit with a hammer, thankfully I had a neoprene knee wrap on the same knee ( must be a very unlucky knee :rolleyes: ). If it had hit my head or front wheel I'd have been totalled !

I had no chance of getting the reg in the circumstances but I'd have happily killed the bastard if I'd caught him.

Just to add to the list of things thrown, I've had a few cigarette butts thrown at me (one which was caught in the hood of my hoody that I was wearing and burnt a hole in it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Where we used to live in Milltown - myself and the girlfriend both got egged on the main road, about 6 weeks apart from the incidents. I got hit in the chest, was wearing a heavy jacket so no damage. Herself in the leg - it was just getting dark and for some little pr*ck to throw an egg at a girl walking on her own, well... lets just say if I had've caught the guy his throwing arm mightn't have worked as well next time.

We saw numerous patches where eggs had been thrown, it was obviously a spot where they did it regularly enough, it wasn't a freak coincidence the 2 of us got hit in the same location.

Gardai doing anything about this kind of thing? Don't make me laugh...

unclipped my right foot and slowed down till i was up on his left side and a snap kick ( not full force , just the cleat more or less tapped on the window with excessive force ) my leg didnt go right through lol , it was like a jab with power and i kept going lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

With regard to Tim, does my ignore list mean that I just don't see his posts or has it made him vanish in the real world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

unclipped my right foot and slowed down till i was up on his left side and a snap kick ( not full force , just the cleat more or less tapped on the window with excessive force ) my leg didnt go right through lol , it was like a jab with power and i kept going lol

Awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

There are some places which just seem to inspire road rage.

Knockmaroon Hill is a great one. Nice and narrow, so drivers have to wait for a few seconds before overtaking you. I've seen a couple of "encounters" there.

Last weekend I was narrowly missed by an asshat in a silver Alfa as I was ascending. I yelled ineffectually. Then a woman in another silver car slowed up alongside and opened her passenger window. I was expecting her to give out about my pace, but she said "well done for cycling up this hill, you're brilliant!" or something similar. I could have hugged her.

For every homicidal maniac there are a hundred patient courteous people and a couple of complete gems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

fenris wrote: »
    With regard to Tim, does my ignore list mean that I just don't see his posts or has it made him vanish in the real world?

No, you'll see that he has posted but not the content of his post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Relating to the OP, if the cyclist in question can't remember the Reg of the offending scumbags, ring the Belgard Inn on that hill, as they have a number of camera's pointing out onto the road. They might not have seen the incident but they should have details of the car going by(that's if they're in operation).

Also had objects thrown at me - a bottle of orange a few weeks ago on the Crumlin Road, and coming up Cork Street, was waiting at the lights, and two little sh1tebags started hurling stones at myself and a cyclist in front. Just kept going though as wasn't in the mood to be off on a chase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Lumen wrote: »
    No, you'll see that he has posted but not the content of his post.

Which is useless to me as I have zero willpower.

"Ah sure Ill just check what the zany little fellow has posted this Friday, cant hurt"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭JMJR

I didn't think this was a common occurrence, else i would have reported when it happened to me. Last Christmas, 11pm no other traffic on Lr Kimmage Rd and an egg was flung from an overtaking car. It raised a bruise on my thigh and I was limping for a week- by the time i realised what exactly had happened they were in the distance. Then the reaction hit- I would have , on pure instinct, put anything through their windscreen if I had the opportunity. I did cycle after them with the intention of getting close enough to throw my D lock at the rear window.
    I was very shaken for a while mostly as it had been a completely unprovoked random attack.
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭umpire bat

Had the remnants of a chipper meal thrown at me by some mulchers in an Audi A4 on a very quiet country road a few years ago. The ditch cant come fast enough fro those types. Loved the Chuck Norris solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭DBCyc

Some scumbag threw a glass bottle at me on King Street last week. Very lucky that it missed. I was fairly p!ssed off but couldn't do much about it, given the number of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I was walking from home back into town after a hard Saturday's work and it had been raining heavily earlier on when this known ape decides to drive straight into a puddle right beside me and soaks me from head to toe. He drove on and all his mates were roaring at me from the car.

Got into town only to find his car parked at the side of the road near where I was going. Luckily I had my New Rock boots on. I calmly smashed off both his wing mirrors and shattered each of his hubcaps :) Nothing came of it because there was no witness!

Needless to say he didn't do it again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭JMJR

all of this seems to indicate another, unrecognised, reason to wear a helmet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

Had a rugby ball thrown at my head in Dolphin's Barn. Quite a good shot, bounced in the middle of the road and hit me right on the helmet. Scumbags scurried over a wall. Think I prefer that to an egg though- yuck. The stink.

When I was living on Crumlin Road a few years ago kids would buy a tray of eggs in the newsagent and walk down the street throwing them at houses/cars/cyclists/dogs. Why any shop assistant would sell a tray of 24 eggs to an 11 year old I'll never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

Lumen wrote: »
    Knockmaroon Hill is a great one. Nice and narrow, so drivers have to wait for a few seconds before overtaking you. I've seen a couple of "encounters" there.

I took the lane descending there once and the guy behind me decided that wasn't good enough and pulled out right across the continuous white line to drive entirely on the wrong side of the road and overtake me at the narrowest part of the hill (right under the bridge) into the blind left hand bend. Idiot.

And of course, bikes can descend faster than cars there, so I was sitting in his wing mirror scowling at him before we got to the bottom of the slope :D

I've never had food thrown at me (touch wood etc.) - just dirty looks, abuse and stones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

TheJones wrote: »
    Yes, I would think the more sensible thing to do is smashing the window with your handlebars, this might be harder on a road bike, my hybrid with straight bars and bar ends would be fine.

I have had scum throw stones at me near croke park. The most amusing was on the vico road I had a load of girls hanging out the window singing "I want to ride my bicycle", while the queen song was blaring in the car the time!

It should be treated as seriously as people throwing a bag of paint on a car windscreen on the motorway. But since its bicycles and eggs I can only expect the gardai to treat it as schoolyard bullying as per usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

unfortunatley scumbags dont have brainz so although it's BAD ENOUGH to throw something like that at a cyclist from behind going in the same direction as him/her, but when you throw something at them coming from the opposite direction then instead of hitting them with the light throwing force whatever the pleintiff can muster out their window, now you are getting it in the face at that speed plus whatever speed
    the car is going, min 20-30mph +cyclist speed in the opposite direction = being hit in the face by a rock kind of feeling...

I see whats to blame here..its the education system again, the guys didnt know their physics! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

me@ucd wrote: »
    you are getting it in the face at that speed plus whatever speed
    the car is going
    I see whats to blame here..its the education system again, the guys didnt know their physics! :pac:

If only they were throwing photonic eggs this wouldn't be an issue. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Yeah, dont ever ever cycle when there is any kind of snow on the ground/cars. I've had an 8inch piece of ice wedged between my saddle and carrier. Very surprised I remained up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭daymobrew

It's sad to read that these assaults aren't limited to my area in Dublin 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 dub56

I have had a few things thrown at me over the years as well as being shot
    in the ass with a pellet gun from a passing car in Newcastle village Co.Dublin but what happened last Sunday morning 4th Oct.was the most frightening experience of all.A few of us meet at Tallaght village on Sunday mornings at 9.30 am for a 3 to 3.5 hour spin.I was cycling up Old Bawn road towards Tallaght to meet them at approx.9.25 when a car coming towards me deliberately swerved across the road and drove straight at me and only veered away at the last moment.I caught a brief sight of the driver laughing as he accelerated away.Two other cyclists were 10-15 metres behind me and witnessed it.None of us got the reg.of the car other than it was a Ford and dark silver or grey.There were at least two in the car.For split second I thought that I was going to die and was almost physically sick.
    These b%&*ards obviously got a great kick out of it and will or have done it to other poor unfortunate cyclists.
    Beware,it's a dangerous world out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

That's disgusting behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Leonard Cohen

Happened to me cycling from the N11 overpass into Bray, the egg skimmed my nose. A few days later I learned of a woman waiting at a bus stop who had an egg thrown at her from a passing car, it hit her in the eye and caused her retina to become detached. She's still got problems with the eye. Keep wearing glasses folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

A driver deliberatly tried to force me off the road the other day - not as serious as your incident dub56 but in the same vein. I came around a roundabout, indicated for my exit and started to move toward it. A guy decided to roll forward from the stop line and, despite my indication and eye contact, refused to stop and practically blocked my exit with his car. I hauled on the anchors when it was obvious we would collide and we both stopped.

I hopped off the bike and went up to the window but he just grinned at me and drove off. I slapped his right rear window as he went off but I got his reg and reported him to the Garda station 100 m away. I spoke to a very helpful young Garda so hopefully he'll get a strongly worded phone call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

concussion wrote: »
    I got his reg and reported him to the Garda station 100 m away. I spoke to a very helpful young Garda so hopefully he'll get a strongly worded phone call.
    More likely, a uniformed Garda will call to his door - this should have even more impact than the phone call, particularly if Mammy or Daddy answer the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,570 ✭✭✭daymobrew

concussion wrote: »
    I got his reg and reported him to the Garda station 100 m away. I spoke to a very helpful young Garda so hopefully he'll get a strongly worded phone call.
    If you make a statement to the Gardai then the driver will be required to come down to the station to make a statement too. THAT will have even more impact that a phone call and will stick in the driver's memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Thanks for that damobrew - I didn't realise that. The Garda said I could make a statement if I wished but I said I'd wait to see what the driver said after a phone call/knock on the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

I got things and people thown at me. I am sure it's a global phenomenon though, seems like scumbags gather in urban areas and reproduce to easily, and the you know about scumbags inbreading ...

I got beeped at in France this week, but people in the country side seems to be more encouraging, I think someone yelled ' Allez Jeannie' at me last tuesday lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I got things and people thown at me.

Who was thrown at you? Seems a bit extreme for knackers to be firing each other out of car windows at passing cyclists.