Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miriam O'Callaghan

• 09-10-2009 8:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭

I think Miriam o'Callaghan is not suited to political television. In fact, I think she is more out of place in political television than Pat Kenny was on the Late Late!

She doesn't seem to be able think on her feet and all her questions seem rehearsed or read from a cue card. She doesn't seem to know much about politics or to be that interested in it. I never seen her corner any politician in fact I think half of them must be counting their lucky stars she's interviewing them.

I feel strongly about this. I'd love to watch more PrimeTimes as I think it's a superb program but I can't deal with MOC. She useless at chairing debates and usually looses all control or allows speakers to not answer questions and goes off on tangents.

I wish RTE would put someone more capable in what is a very important role.
    Someone whose passionate about politics, reads a lot and is just smart. Remember Oliva O'Leary, Brian Farrell, John Bowman and Pat Cox. All superb.

David McCullogh looks like he'd be much more capable than MOC. Or out of all the journalists, political scientists there must be someone better than MOC.

What thinks ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Her brother is a FF man, draw your own conclusions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

i like her and before someone says it i am not FF. i think she has an arrogence like brien dobsons. i also think she is good looking and i have a lot of respect for her journey in life.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miriam_O'Callaghan

although all things been said i do have a problem and am not afraid to say i am totally envious of the saleries these people are on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

i like her and before someone says it i am not FF. i think she has an arrogence like brien dobsons. i also think she is good looking and i have a lot of respect for her journey in life.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miriam_O'Callaghan

although all things been said i do have a problem and am not afraid to say i am totally envious of the saleries these people are on.

Those salaries are a joke. And they wonder why the country is in a mess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

i thought she owned the production company that makes primetime, how does she draw a salary as well ?

anyway i'd get rid of her, gerry ryan, gay byrne,joe duffy and marion finucan, they are all a waste of money and cant present programmes

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

...Really? All of them?!! I think they can present in fairness, for the most part, it's not that hard to do. Whether they're to your taste or not is a completely different issue. Perhaps it's the over inflated salaries you're more annoyed at. If they were on a salary on a par with the average hard working man it wouldn't seem so bad. They've all just been paid too much and now everyone resents them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Is Gaybo still on TV or radio? He used to be pretty capable in the Late Late role years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Diarmuid wrote: »
    Is Gaybo still on TV or radio? He used to be pretty capable in the Late Late role years ago.

He's on Lyric now isnt he. They should give the LSS back to him.. And never let that Clint Velour back through the front door of RTE EVER again. I would employ a security guard just to keep the b*st*rd out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

i thought she owned the production company that makes primetime, how does she draw a salary as well ?

anyway i'd get rid of her, gerry ryan, gay byrne,joe duffy and marion finucan, they are all a waste of money and cant present programmes

finucane is indeed awfull , kevin myers gave an apt description of her style recently , a chain smoking fish wife squawking across the garden fence to her neighbour or words to that effect , the woman seems to believe that merely disagreing with what her guest says constitutes good journalism

adopts marian voice , well i didnt know that monday came after tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

I think Miriam o'Callaghan is not suited to political television. In fact, I think she is more out of place in political television than Pat Kenny was on the Late Late!

I don't think she is suited to television or radio. She seems to be talentless when she is interviewing "I'll have to hold you there!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

irish_bob wrote: »
    finucane is indeed awfull , kevin myers gave an apt description of her style recently , a chain smoking fish wife squawking across the garden fence to her neighbour or words to that effect , the woman seems to believe that merely disagreing with what her guest says constitutes good journalism

adopts marian voice , well i didnt know that monday came after tuesday

All these presenters argue: "Look at the ratings we get"

The reason why they get the ratings is all the work everyone else on the program (from editors to researchers does).

If you swapped in a transition year student they'd get the same ratings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Like who??

Some midatlantic voiced person who's accent you can't understand,who pronounces "Cork" as "Ko-erk" and "will" as "wi-ull" .

Some Bimbo who doesn't know what frikken county Mullingar is in without Googling it!!

Get off the stage.:mad:

meh, ok i was prob OT anyway

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Like who??

Some midatlantic voiced person who's accent you can't understand,who pronounces "Cork" as "Ko-erk" and "will" as "wi-ull" .

Some Bimbo who doesn't know what frikken county Mullingar is in without Googling it!!

Get off the stage.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

She's not great...totally lost it with the Michael O'Leary and Ganley debate.

While i'm here may i just say how much Gerry Ryan annoy's me? Gerry Ryan annoy's the **** out of me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I've always thought she seems more interested in trying to act sexy... which is a bit weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

gurramok wrote: »
    Who is her brother? She seems to be a bit cold and clinical I think, no feeling. Easy on the eye tho!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

AARRRGH wrote: »
    I've always thought she seems more interested in trying to act sexy... which is a bit weird.

Not weird at all. That's one of the reasons I watch Prime Time!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Miriam is lovely. She has a cute wee smile and a wonderful divilish wink that tells everybody from Martin McGuinness to Gregory Campbell: I'm on to you lads.

She is a million times better than that horridly anglocentric article Marian Finucane who is incapable of running a show without obsessing about what is happening in Britain. Extraordinarily backward. I thought she retired 10 years ago. I see today she was paid almost €500,000 by RTÉ for her pathetically Sunday Independent/Hello/British following column last year.

Leave Miriam alone. She's grand and has the nicest smile on Irish television. Bless her. Finucane is a dinosaur who is completely intellectually incapable of looking to France, Germany or any other EU country aside from Britain for her recurrent analogies. Depressingly close-minded.

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Miriam is lovely. She has a cute wee smile and a wonderful divilish wink that tells everybody from Martin McGuinness to Gregory Campbell: I'm on to you lads.

She is a million times better than that horridly anglocentric article Marian Finucane who is incapable of running a show without obsessing about what is happening in Britain. Extraordinarily backward. I thought she retired 10 years ago. I see today she was paid almost €500,000 by RTÉ for her pathetically Sunday Independent/Hello/British following column last year.

Leave Miriam alone. She's grand and has the nicest smile on Irish television. Bless her. Finucane is a dinosaur who is completely intellectually incapable of looking to France, Germany or any other EU country aside from Britain for her recurrent analogies. Depressingly close-minded.

"Someone has a cru-hush, someone has a cru-hush"!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Not a bad pair o hooters either in fairness.....

Still annoys the fcuk out of me though with her uber D4 ocksent.

Seees herself as a bit of a rock chick...remember the time she wanted to present the show in a zippy leather jacket......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Rebelheart wrote: »

Cute wee smile:eek:

Rictus like grin on my 19" Panasonic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Someone whose passionate about politics, reads a lot and is just smart. Remember Oliva O'Leary, Brian Farrell, John Bowman and Pat Cox. All superb.

Neither Miriam or Mark Little are much use on Prime Time. I rarely watch it now and anytime I do they seem to be having embarrassing technical snafus. The Maire Hoctor interview was probably the most cringe- inducing.

Miriam and Mark are about as hard-hitting as candy-floss and any politician who bothers to go to the studio can expect an easy ride. They can't credibly question any politician on matters of competence when they don't seem to possess it themselves.

Sean O'Rourke seems to be the only presenter that seems capable of putting hard questions although Pat Kenny seems to be coming back into it now with his new show.

If RTE screened an old Today Tonight with Brian Farrell or Olivia O'Leary grilling the politicians of the mid-eighties then it would be easy to see how softly today's politicians are handled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

i think she should be on sky channel 907 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

I can't name one RTE presenter that is any good at interviewing. Mark Little seems to the best of a bad lot. Some have their own agendas as in the case of MOC (FF) & Brian Dobson (former FF Press Secretary). I don't watch RTE News anymore as it is so biased towards FF.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

I can't name one RTE presenter that is any good at interviewing. Mark Little seems to the best of a bad lot. Some have their own agendas as in the case of MOC (FF) & Brian Dobson (former FF Press Secretary). I don't watch RTE News anymore as it is so biased towards FF.

Bryan Dobson former FF Press Secretary ? Surely not !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

benj wrote: »
    LOL at that one !! Milf's you'd like to do??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

gcgirl wrote: »
    LOL at that one !! Milf's you'd like to do??

the list is endless :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

What do her looks or her "journey in life" have to do with her skill at chairing the debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Sweet Jesus.

Trying to picture her, I had O'Callahgan mixed up with Finucane in my head which made all the "sexy" comments seriously disturbing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Sweet Jesus.

Trying to picture her, I had O'Callahgan mixed up with Finucane in my head which made all the "sexy" comments seriously disturbing!

Very funny!

Sweet Jesus.

They don't even have a Sky channel for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

gurramok wrote: »
    ...and remind me who her husband is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

She doesn't seem to be able think on her feet and all her questions seem rehearsed or read from a cue card. She doesn't seem to know much about politics or to be that interested in it. I never seen her corner any politician in fact I think half of them must be counting their lucky stars she's interviewing them.

I feel strongly about this. I'd love to watch more PrimeTimes as I think it's a superb program but I can't deal with MOC. She useless at chairing debates and usually looses all control or allows speakers to not answer questions and goes off on tangents.

David McCullogh looks like he'd be much more capable than MOC. Or out of all the journalists, political scientists there must be someone better than MOC.

What thinks ye?

Not suitable for tv full stop
    face pulled and irritating voice

hopefully she will continue to be over exposed and end up like Carrie Crowley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Diarmuid wrote: »
    he comes back whenever the investments turn out to be a cock up !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

benj wrote: »

This a mother and baby channel or something, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Gen-uine -ly?!..........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭DeBrugha

I've lost all respect for her the way she attacked Martin McGuinness, the RTE employs stupid people to discuss things they aren't big on. Like that Ryan Tubridy, when he interviewed people like Gerry Adams etc, they were just too smart for him.

And during the presidential election he asked some of the most pointless questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

She is pretty crap compared to the other guy on Prime Time. I do think she is intentionally soft on people with certain political backgrounds.

Although maybe it is just anyone not in Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What thinks ye?

I agree. I just don't get what others do with her. Very robotic and staged, and no charisma whatsoever. To think she was being touted for the Late Late.

Though, TUBRIDY?:eek: