Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show Thread, Oct 9th

• 09-10-2009 8:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭

Well I kinda guessed that Bertie would be on tonight plugging his book so I wasn't suprised to see that he was on the show tonight.
    And what an interesting Green room that should make, with the Osbournes...
    Ryan Tubridy has revealed the exciting line-up of guests who will join him tonight on The Late Late Show.

Following Taoiseach Brian Cowen's appearance on Tubridy's first Late Late Show in September, former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern will join the presenter on this evening's show.

Also amongst the guests will be former Black Sabbath singer Ozzy Osbourne and his wife, former X-Factor judge Sharon, who will talk about their lives in front and behind the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

Wonder if Robbie Keane will make an apearance with the match tommorrow and the new baby. Long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

I know the Late Late audience would clap for a worm with a tiny hat on but surely he wont get the warm reception he once would have expected? If I were on the late late I would would not be clapping for that ole crook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

Ahh jaysus everyone loves Bertie...bit of bant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

My questions for Bertie:

1. How responsible do you feel for ruining the country? You could have prevented it all.
    2. How believable do you think it is that the Minister for Finance does not have a bank account?
    3. Did you fear that you would lose your Ministry if you did not sign blank cheques for Charlie?

But no doubt his FF buddy wont have the balls to ask this. And if he even broaches the subject he will no doubt "soften" the question by referencing somebody else who asked a similar question. I really despise Bertie at this stage. Did nothing about preventing the current problems, cost us a fortune with his tales at the tribunal. Now pulling 160k pension, while still in office, on top of his 120k a year (plus expenses). As well as his other jobs writing for the NOTW and his book. Greedy b*ll*x. The man should be impeached for criminal negligance/incompetence.

Dont think Sharon Osborne has anything new to tell us does she? I'd say that there will be a footballer on alright, pretty good bet. And one contributor, at least, from the RTE canteen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

some mores Questions

4. How can you write a memoir when you couldn't remember a thing at the tribunal?

5. Do you really think the Public believe you when you say you “won it on a horse”?

6. Could you explain why you think your partner ( the beautician) would be a suitable to be appointed to a state board?
    7. Are you aware of how much disgust there is for you?

How can we get these to Tub's? is he a boardsie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Ryan Tubridy ask Bertie Ahern tough questions? He will more than likely be masturbating behind his desk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

He will more than likely be masturbating behind his desk
    That'll be the both of us so. Sexy bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

my boot will be going through the flatscreen tonight so:mad:

spadder wrote: »
    4. How can you write a memoir when you couldn't remember a thing at the tribunal? 5. Do you really think the Public believe you when you say you “won it on a horse”? 6. Could you explain why you think your partner ( the beautician) would be a suitable to be appointed to a state board? 7. Are you aware of how much disgust there is for you?
    How can we get these to Tub's? is he a boardsie?

He'll probably be in a bookshop or library somewhere, or maybe picking up his refurbished pipe. I would actually gain a lot of respect if he straight asked (not his usual mealy-mouthed questioning) these questions of Bertie. Though he wont want to upset too many of Garrett's FF friends. I'd say he will ask one token hard question, and the rest of it will be all fluff about his grandkids, the book etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭ih8northsiders

bertie ahern is a **** for many reasons but ill never forget the prick at dalymount park supporting sunderland against bohemians!!!!!! a wanker, a complete and utter wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭yknaa

bertie ahern is a **** for many reasons but ill never forget the prick at dalymount park supporting sunderland against bohemians!!!!!! a wanker, a complete and utter wanker.

And his next appearance in Dalymount was for this year's tie v. Galway taggin along with Trap and Marco Tardelli. Bandwagon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I really hope Ryan surprises us again tonight and rips Bertie to pieces like he did with auld Blubbery Lips...

But somehow, all I can see is a very awkward interview tonight where nothing really will be said...

It will be interesting to see how the audience react when he comes out though...

Slight aside here....my neighbour the other day told me that I reminded her of Cecelia Ahern :confused:

Jaysus that's terrible. What did you do on her? did you run over her dog or something;)?

spadder wrote: »
    Jaysus that's terrible. What did you do on her? did you run over her dog or something;)?

I know, right?!!

What makes it weirder was that we were standing outside O Mahoney's, which had Bertie's book on display, and posters advertising his signing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Bertie flogging his book.

Enough reason not to tune in right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Tubridy, Ahern, and a desk.
    Claus von Stauffenberg, where are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭hairymick

Hopefully he won't be doing any sensationalist interviews with murder/suicide victims families.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

There are two reputations on the line here tonight.

Tubridy's, and Aherne's.

One must fall.

If there are any RTE people reading this tonight, ANY, will you IMPRESS on Tubridy that his own reputation is on the line. He can MAKE or BREAK himself tonight.

Whose reputation is more important? Aherne's? Or his own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I really hope Ryan surprises us again tonight and rips Bertie to pieces like he did with auld Blubbery Lips...

He did?

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    He did?

Well he didn't exactly give him an easy ride...

mikom wrote: »
    Tubridy, Ahern, and a desk.
    Claus von Stauffenberg, where are you?

Jaysus, at least wait til Mary Coughlan is in the room. Thats Mary Coughlan Drinker/Politician, not Mary Coughlan Drinker/Singer. Fair chance she might get a sniff of the bomb if it was fertilizer based though.

Have to say I'm really interested to see what Bertie has to say, especially considering what he said during the week:

http://www.ireland.com/home/Ahern_says_country_safe_hands_tenure/maxi/fast/news/irnews/240128
    Former taoiseach Bertie Ahern has said the country was “in safe hands” when he was taoiseach and Charlie McCreevy was minister for finance. Mr Ahern said people were now trying to rewrite history “as if Lehmans never happened or Bear Stearns never happened”.

This from the same man that people talking down the economy "should commit suicide". Those people were right. Tubridy should grab the book out of his hand, show it once to camera and tell people it's on sale, and then ask him some serious questions. This is a real test of his bottle to ask the questions that the people want asked.

Apparently, you can only buy Bertie's book for either Sterling or Dollars, cash of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

I aint a fan of Bertie either, he used the fact that he couldn't keep his marriage together to court sympathy while all the while him and his cronies were in plum jobs doing their best to take the mick out of us taxpayers.

I think that his impact as Taoiseach will always be overstated. Also his departure as Taoiseach is fabled as some kind of political masterstroke, when in fact that he was left with no other option to quit. Given the economy was already in freefall a government led by him could never have the credibility and freedom to tackle it head on. The clouds over his personal finances simply couldn't allow it.

Tubridy won't hit him with anything he won't be able for. Do not expect fireworks. It'll be a nice fluffy interview with general references to his career, the book, his doting family, sport and his love of a pint down in Fagans. He'll probably also mention how confident he is that Brian Cowan can lead us out of the mire whilst keeping a straight face. Next stop the Gaiety!!

I aint a fan of Bertie either, he used the fact that he couldn't keep his marriage together to court sympathy while all the while him and his cronies were in plum jobs doing their best to take the mick out of us taxpayers.

I think that his impact as Taoiseach will always be overstated. Also his departure as Taoiseach is fabled as some kind of political masterstroke, when in fact that he was left with no other option to quit. Given the economy was already in freefall a government led by him could never have the credibility and freedom to tackle it head on. The clouds over his personal finances simply couldn't allow it.

Tubridy won't hit him with anything he won't be able for. Do not expect fireworks. It'll be a nice fluffy interview with general references to his career, the book, his doting family, sport and his love of a pint down in Fagans. He'll probably also mention how confident he is that Brian Cowan can lead us out of the mire whilst keeping a straight face. Next stop the Gaiety!!

He might even turn on the water works again if the going gets tough.
    Keep the kleenex handy Tubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Osbournes? Jeez, freshen it up a little, wasn't Kelly Osbourne on a few weeks ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

Asmodean wrote: »
    That'll be the both of us so. Sexy bastard.

Bertie and Tubs on the screen at the same time... We're in for a treat so.;)

Oh lord, here we go!

Oh, the Osbournes first....

Ozzy's looking surprisingly well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Sharrrrrrronnnnnnnnnn

Who's the "Liverpool lass" who's meant to be on later?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Tubs V Bertie - who'll win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

Who's the "Liverpool lass" who's meant to be on later?

Is it Cilla Black?

JP Liz wrote: »

There's only one way to find out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

JP Liz wrote: »
    Will I add a poll when the interview starts?
    • Tubs
    • Bertie
    • Both lost
    • Both won

robo wrote: »
    Is it Cilla Black?

Cripes...

"Oh bless his cotton socks!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭sound_wave

FFS Tubridy has the prince of darkness on and its possibly the most boring interview yet!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

She may be caked in make up but for 57 years old she's looking good!!

That clip of Ozzy falling back in the chair never fails in making me piss myself :pac:

''Who was President as the time you were there''?

What. The. Fúck.

Did he just ask Ozzy if he was upset about Sharon's cancer? Jaysus...

I'd say Tubbs has never even listened to Ozzy before!

Wow...I never thought I would see an Osbourne wearing a buttoned shirt...

A cake!!! WTF!!

How in the name of crap did Sharon and the dog suffering dehydration get a laugh? :confused:

This is the same audience that will sit through Bertie's interview...

Ooh, they supported Michael Ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

the who?

What is this tripe?

I'm scared :(

That interview was awful disjointed mess. Conversation broken up by videos, singing.... not great.

Say Bertie will be on next, another bit of fluff, dont think he's going to be on during the later serious part of the show, but I could be wrong.

Martika would be turning in her grave, if she were dead. Pretty good performers but they should do a different song.

TJJP wrote: »
    the who?
    No, The Magnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

What a load of c*ck