Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boycott Coca Cola

• 06-10-2009 9:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/116-01.html:mad:, ive never drank coke anyway, im Pepsi all the way, boycott this shower, coca cola has been caught many times including selling bottled water as spring water:mad:, and what better way to save money than buy Pepsi at 1.58 as opposed to Coke at 1.79.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Cocaine Coma is the way to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Boycott it because it's shite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

What has a drugs bust in Swords got to do with Coca Cola??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

Boycott Coca Cola

no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

82 cent 2l SuperValu coke ftw.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

What makes them workers special?

Plenty of people have seen their jobs outsourced...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

35c Tesco Value Cola FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/116-01.html:mad:, ive never drank coke anyway, im Pepsi all the way, boycott this shower, coca cola has been caught many times including selling bottled water as spring water:mad:, and what better way to save money than buy Pepsi at 1.58 as opposed to Coke at 1.79.

what the hell are you on about?

Give me a summary of the situation god damnit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Lambsbread wrote: »
    What has a drugs bust in Swords got to do with Coca Cola??

I think it was a poor attempt at a pun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭keithg89

na, coke is good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Coke zero, pepsi max, diet coke, FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

A foreign company outsourcing jobs to another foreign country ?

What will they think of next ?

donmeister wrote: »
    35c Tesco Value Cola FTW

At least have some standards :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

Aertel hurts my eyes :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I'm not going to boycott Coke just cos those SIPTU shites say so. Won't be long before the country is crippled by public sector strikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

ah no, dr pepper FTW. What is this coke you speak of?

Also 2l Aldi and Lidl coke ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

I dont gettit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Bob_Harris wrote: »

The poor man's paint-stripper.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

For a champion of Irish products im disapointed in the fact that your drinking either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

wtf has boycotting coca cola got to do with a drugs bust on a DAA employee...???

If anything, boycott the **** ers cos they're STILL on strike!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I shall tell ye a interesting story, over in Newfoundland in Canada you will find no store or shop, pub nor restaurant selling coca cola, why? because they screwed workers there many years ago and the whole place boycotted them:D, time for us Irish to do the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

coca%2Bcola%2Bgun.jpg

Buy Coke........................we know where you live "JONJO"!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I would join the boycott, but I honestly haven`t bought a fizzy drink/coca-cola product in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

I assume the teletext page has been changed with the link becomming obselete, hence the confusion?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I'm not a fan of Coke anyway so yeah go on, I'll boycott it. For the laugh.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I would join the boycott, but I honestly haven`t bought a fizzy drink/coca-cola product in years.
    Not even the glorious Red Lemonade :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

No. The only other worthwhile fizzy drinks are made by TK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I shall tell ye a interesting story, over in Newfoundland in Canada you will find no store or shop, pub nor restaurant selling coca cola, why? because they screwed workers there many years ago and the whole place boycotted them:D, time for us Irish to do the same.

Not going to happen here, people are losing their jobs everywhere.
    And this beep in support of coke workers... Unless your getting your tits out I aint beeping for no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Coca Cola is pure piss anyway.. my nephew goes insane when he drinks it

it's like watching an epileptic shaving under a strobe light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Terry wrote: »
    No. The only other worthwhile fizzy drinks are made by TK.

So is TK max better than pepsi max then??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭blueshark22

coke and pepsi are both muck imo:)

Have they sacked all the workers at the factory? If we all boycott them, won't they all lose their jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭givyjoe81

Oh and why dont we boycott Dell too, and then every other American Multi-National over the coming years that leaves due to our over inflated wages and costs, for christ sake it wont be long before we've boycotted every product and service available to the consumer!

The sole purpose of a company is to make money, not to provide jobs. If it feels it can make more money elsewhere then so be it, Coke owes this country nothing, nor the redundent employees (aside from the obvious payments associated), there were paid well im sure up til the decision was made.

As for the alleged comment from Coca Cola "we dont give two fcuks about the union", fair play to them, unions will have this country crippled shortly if they have their way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Coke from a glass bottle FTW, I used work in a Coca Cola distribution centre and we were allowed have a few bottles of whatever we wanted every day, it was always coke from a glass bottle I went for... its just so damn nice.

But seeing as Im from Tipp Town and the workers in another Coca Cola distriution centre wont have a job for much longer im all for buoycotting the bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Mask wrote: »
    Not going to happen here, people are losing their jobs everywhere.
    And this beep in support of coke workers... Unless your getting your tits out I aint beeping for no one.

I know alot of the lads on that picket line, if you want their tits out; I'm sure they would oblige, but it will blind you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The OP is over in Australia atm.. not botcotting them =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

givyjoe81 wrote: »
    Oh and why dont we boycott Dell too, and then every other American Multi-National over the coming years that leaves due to our over inflated wages and costs, for christ sake it wont be long before we've boycotted every product and service available to the consumer!

We'll have to live on spuds, cabbage and fish, washed down with our own piss.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

Ah fudge, what am i going to put in my Captain Morgans now??:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Not even the glorious Red Lemonade :eek:

Erm..I`ve never even heard of red lemonade! It sounds all wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭DoireNod

Big business wins. Shame really. Bye bye, rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Erm..I`ve never even heard of red lemonade! It sounds all wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

DoireNod wrote: »
    Big business wins. Shame really. Bye bye, rights.
    No one has a right to a job, Coca Cola want to make money, they are not a public company, they go wherever is more competitive.
    Sure they can stay here but expect to pay more.

I won't be boycotting anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I think I'll just rip my teeth out with a pliers instead.

This remonds me of Sabena a bit. The management ca£e up with cost cutting measures and the union went on strike. Without the cost cutting the airline went bust and everyone lost their jobs.

The union then picketted outside the head office demanding their jobs back, they just couldn't get it through their thick heads that a company has to nake money or it goes bankrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭cute_cow

are coca cola not creating jobs in wexford when the new plant is finished??

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/news/over-100-jobs-at-cocacola-1562725.html

Tell ya what, I didn't get contract renewed with a health care company, and received no extra payments or redundancy, boycott them for me :rolleyes::rolleyes:

boycott me arse there are hundreds, if not thousands who have had the same thing happen, you don't hear them peeing and moaning about it, they are dealoing with it like the rest of us. build a bridge....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

Boycott SIPTU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭BlueLepreachaun

Disclaimer: I'm not defending their outsourcing, they are scum.

Now thats out of the way, I can have a nice anti-SIPTU rant.

So, the SIPTU membership, who make what? €35,000-40 000 a year? at best? are having their wages garnished to pay Jack O'Connor €124,000 a year to come up with the following idea....

....they are taking 100 or so jobs...lets boycott the entire company thus putting it out of business and thus putting all of the remaining workers out of jobs.....yeh were I a member of SIPTU I'd resign and not come back until these current crop of dinosaurs who have been in charge what? a decade? are removed and someone paid the average pay of the membership, with a term limit, and some common sense, is hired instead.
    I'm not going to boycott Coke just cos those SIPTU shites say so. Won't be long before the country is crippled by public sector strikes.

The irony of this is in 05 they were handing out leaflets in UCD urging the student body to lift the coke boycott because...I S H I T YOU NOT...it would cost jobs...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    donmeister wrote: »
    35c Tesco Value Cola FTW

pfft, 29c lidl cola:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I don't understand the world's obsession with carbonated drinks.