Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland 5th Best Country in the World to Live In

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Depends what you like in a country. I'm not too fond of it, but I suppose it's a pretty easy country to live in. If that counts for anything.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

i'd rather live here than Iceland or Canada anyway, but some nice summers wouldn't go astray here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Clever way to subtly brag about Canada

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Waits for anti-Irish 'Ireland is crap' comments............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

In the top 5 and still this crap?
    My god the world must be some ****hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Depends what you like in a country. I'm not too fond of it, but I suppose it's a pretty easy country to live in. If that counts for anything.

Emigrate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Kev_ps3 wrote: »

Is it 'anti-Irish' to overstate the obvious ?

...and for the record it should read 'the state of Ireland is crap at the moment'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Emigrate?

Are you telling me to emigrate or offering an answer for a question I didn't ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

What happened to the other 190 countries if we're 5th best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

There's no way that's Ireland is still 5th. I used to like this country but despise the way it's run, and the way people are reluctant to do anything about it. We'll just vote the same shower of thieves in again and again.

I'd be emigrating if I had the money and didn't have certain ties here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Do you believe Ireland deserve(s/ed) to be in the top 5?

It wouldn't be now. That's all that matters. No point living in the past.
    There's no way that's Ireland is still 5th. I used to like this country but despise the way it's run, and the way people are reluctant to do anything about it. We'll just vote the same shower of thieves in again and again.

The corruption has always been there, even before the corrupt Haughey. Because we are in dire straits now, we are noticing it whereas during the Septic Tiger we turned a blind eye to the blatant trousering of money and rampant cartel like behaviour.

This country has the potential to be a great place to live - but it is run very, very poorly and we are partly to blame for this as we elect the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

liah wrote: »
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20091005/ts_afp/undevelopmentpoverty_20091005115324
    FTA:

It does mention in the article that it's taken data from 2007 and doesn't include the global recession.

You obviously dont. I'm still trying to get money for your ticket home :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    i'd rather live here than Iceland or Canada anyway, but some nice summers wouldn't go astray here!

Because, you know, the entirety of Canada is freezing all year round. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

not at ther moment anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Because, you know, the entirety of Canada is freezing all year round. :rolleyes:
    ooh touchy eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,413 ✭✭✭Archeron

I love Ireland, and I also love the number 5. Win win!!

Kiera wrote: »
    You obviously dont. I'm still trying to get money for your ticket home :P

Dear lord.

Who said that I don't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It must be a great place or all of the Canadians wouldn't have moved to Mullingar. How can you even mention "Ireland" and "crap" in the same sentence?:eek:

Dear lord.

Who said that I don't?
    Remember that time you were stuck in Kerry? Well you said it then :D

No I didn't. I remember making a joke, but I don't ever remember saying that I honestly didn't like Ireland.

So you do like Ireland? Do you love it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Apart from the ridiculous cost of living and horrendous climate I love Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I think the smiley means she's just ripping the piss out of you!!!

Everyone know's Kiera like's watersports:D

So you do like Ireland? Do you love it?

'Course I love it, I wouldn't've lived here for over a year if I didn't. I love the countryside and the people's natural quick wit and good sense of humour, it's a little expensive and it can be dreary with all the rain but it is honestly a lovely place.

Just because someone mentions a flaw doesn't mean they don't appreciate it. Nothing's perfect.

I think the smiley means she's just ripping the piss out of you!!!

Everyone know's Kiera like's watersports:D
    Durty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ireland 5th Best Country in the World to Live In

It does mention in the article that it's taken data from 2007 and doesn't include the global recession.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    phasers wrote: »
    ooh touchy eh
    Dear lord.

Who said that I don't?
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    It must be a great place or all of the Canadians wouldn't have moved to Mullingar. How can you even mention "Ireland" and "crap" in the same sentence?:eek:

A Canadian walked into a pub in ireland, looked around and said, "This must be the arse-end of the world."
    The bartender looked at him and said, "Just passing through then, are we?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Loopy wrote: »
    horrendous climate

Were you actually in Ireland for the last few weeks? (I mean outdoors)

lightening wrote: »
    Were you actually in Ireland for the last few weeks? (I mean outdoors)

Indeed I was.. Your fond of our climate then?
    9/10 months or whatever of pissy showers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I used to like this country but despise the way it's run, and the way people are reluctant to do anything about it. We'll just vote the same shower of thieves in again and again.

The same shower of thieves or a different shower of thieves, what difference does it make?

Indeed I was.. Your fond of our climate then?
    9/10 months or whatever of pissy showers..

Great, driest September since 2002, driest since 1990 in some places. Maybe there is a little dark cloud over your head only raining on you! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Ireland should be number 1. Sure what other country has the craic like we do? Yeah we export it but it's kinda like Guinness or sick people going to Lourdes. Doesn't travel well.

Great, driest September since 2002, driest since 1990 in some places. Maybe there is a little dark cloud over your head only raining on you! :)

Ah come on - the sky is always grey.... I just want some goddamn sun:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

well it sure is best country live in if your a politician here thats for sure

Ah come on - the sky is always grey.... I just want some goddamn sun:)

Are you for real? You musnt have stepped outside the door. It's been a really really sunny September. There was more than 10 hours of sunshine between the 9th and 13th of September every day.

Are you a cloud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Why is Norway so high up the list? Don't they pay stupidly high taxes?

Ok we had a few nice weeks yeh..
    But sorry we have a shit climate.

Why does that offend you?

lafortezza wrote: »

They understand that enjoying life has nothing to do with money. Yes, they have some of the highest taxes in Europe, but with that they get the absolute best in quality of life-- money doesn't buy happiness. I'd willingly spend my money on taxes if it guaranteed me a high quality of life. Wouldn't you?

Edited to add, I should've said "they understand that enjoying life has nothing to do with hoarding money" / "hoarding money doesn't buy happiness." Otherwise the post is fairly contradictory. :pac:

Also, they get what they pay for.. their taxes aren't totally wasted like most other countries. They have brilliant education and health care systems in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

yep, so we should raise taxes so that Ireland is better

Ok we had a few nice weeks yeh..
    But sorry we have a shit climate.

Why does that offend you?

Doesn't offend me. I have been sailing all year, had a ball, out twice a week during the summer and once a week for the Autumn. Most of the rain was at night, plenty of sunshine, plenty of great weather. Lots of BBQ's, lots of sitting outside pubs till late at night... Climate is fine for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Yes but they get what they pay for, it's also a fairly wealthy country, half of allot is still allot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Doesn't offend me. I have been sailing all year, had a ball, out twice a week during the summer and once a week for the Autumn. Most of the rain was at night, plenty of sunshine, plenty of great weather. Lots of BBQ's, lots of sitting outside pubs till late at night... Climate is fine for me!

It's not that it's a bad climate, at least there are no extremes, people just wish we had hot shorts and t-shirt weather for a couple of months a year, and the majority of us didn't really notice that this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Thornography

Id stay here if I could drive my bike to work and college in winter.

If someone doesnt follow me with a canapy and heat lamp soon im off after college!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Ireland is a shít hole (well someone had to say it eventually) ;)

1. Irish weather sucks- 2 weeks of sunshine out of 52 is complete bollix

2. We've got the worst and most corrupt politicians in the EU with the exception of Italy and Berlesconi...but at least he brings out some totty.
    What do we get? Fat Harney and Man Coughlan.:mad:

3. Irish people - Where to being? We are the most selfish pricks on the planet. They knew the country was in the sh1tter at the last election but they were too worried about their comfy lifestyle to give a sh1t and voted FF back into power. Now they're bitching about it? Tough titties I say.
    Go and biacht down at the labour exchange while bankers/developers raise their glasses to the taxpayer.

4. Irish Motorways- Don't let me fúckin laugh..I can rename my Nissan Primera as a Lambo Muircelago...but it's fúckin not one at the end of the day and neither are our dual carriage...lol..i mean Motorways.

5. Irish Health Care---Good fcuk but where to begin? Over to Biggins for this one.

Prove it. Show us your white bits ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

They understand that enjoying life has nothing to do with money. Yes, they have some of the highest taxes in Europe, but with that they get the absolute best in quality of life-- money doesn't buy happiness.

That must be why they have no real drug problem...... ooops, just remembered Oslo is the European capital with the most heroin overdoses.

Here's a little bit more of that greener grass...... http://citynoise.org/article/2310

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Berkut wrote: »
    Ireland is a shít hole (well someone had to say it eventually) ;)

1. Irish weather sucks- 2 weeks of sunshine out of 52 is complete bollix

2. We've got the worst and most corrupt politicians in the EU with the exception of Italy and Berlesconi...but at least he brings out some totty.
    What do we get? Fat Harney and Man Coughlan.:mad:

3. Irish people - Where to being? We are the most selfish pricks on the planet. They knew the country was in the sh1tter at the last election but they were too worried about their comfy lifestyle to give a sh1t and voted FF back into power. Now they're bitching about it? Tough titties I say.
    Go and biacht down at the labour exchange while bankers/developers raise their glasses to the taxpayer.

4. Irish Motorways- Don't let me fúckin laugh..I can rename my Nissan Primera as a Lambo Muircelago...but it's fúckin not one at the end of the day and neither are our dual carriage...lol..i mean Motorways.

5. Irish Health Care---Good fcuk but where to begin? Over to Biggins for this one.

I hate Ireland cos its full of people with chips on their shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

We used to be No. 1 for several years:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

who cares, there are now plenty of 2-3 lane carriageways in ireland in a country that doesn't need em because there is f**k all cars, anyway if you knew anything about motorways and the difference between them and d-c you would know speed limits are higher, no roundabouts on motorways, no traffic lights

try eastern europe, was in slovakia and we drove from budapest to krakow basically up the whole length of slovakia along the main road and they were very narrow, not a motorway in sight until we came to poland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

3. Irish people - Where to being? We are the most selfish pricks on the planet. They knew the country was in the sh1tter at the last election but they were too worried about their comfy lifestyle to give a sh1t and voted FF back into power. Now they're bitching about it?