Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The end of the 00's

• 06-10-2009 12:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭

As we face into the end of another decade what do you think the 00's will be remembered for?

- the madness of the Celtic Tiger

I cant think of anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

the "web 2.0"-ification of everything.

Opal Fruits becoming Starburst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

- Decades of good music remixed beyond recognition and befouled by rap, Hip hop and Pop "Artists"

- The Ipod

- America openly invading other countries for oil

- The death of Mary Harney .. Sooon...soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

AnonoBoy's discovery of stretch pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

The demise of Fianna Fail

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The 2000s?

The 9/11 attacks
    The bully boy tactics of George W Bush's America
    The Great Irish Property Bubble
    The New Irish - our immigrants
    The Economic Collapse and House Price Crash
    Ireland Rugby Glory Days
    Ross O'Carroll Kelly
    Election of Barrack Obama as 44th President of the USA
    Web 2.0 - the rise of Message Boards, Blogs, Facebook and Bebo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It has actually been a really exciting, rich decade... compared to the '90s which I found rather insipid.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Golden age of Kilkenny hurling:)

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Opal Fruits becoming Starburst.

That happened in 1998.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    AnonoBoy's discovery of stretch pants.

And Licourice (sp) Leggings!
    80's neon revival
    TV 'Talent' Shows
    'Reality' TV
    'Inverted' Comma useage through the 'roof'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

I think the Web 2.0 thing has been massive and will continue to be. There is a whole generation of kids growing up with it and it will be second nature to them in the next decade. Lots of innovation to come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

Skinny jeans
    Skinny lattes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

qwytre wrote: »
    what do you think the 00's will be remembered for?

Boobs....... or perhaps surprised eyes looking at boobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Z-list celebrity obsession.
    T'internet everywhere.
    Princess Diana not coming back from the dead for feast on our fleshy goodness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

That happened in 1998.

My god, they finally did it, the animals! Damn you! Damn you all to hell!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

The September 11th attacks that started Americas "War on Terror".

That's what this decade will be mostly remembered for. That and the numerous huge natural disasters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Y2K (hehehehehhehehhohohohohoho)
    Mad cow
    The Euro
    Iraqi "war".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

loalae wrote: »
    Skinny jeans

Again that's the 90's
    As we face into the end of another decade what do you think the 00's will be remembered for?

- the madness of the Celtic Tiger

I cant think of anymore!

People not being able to think because Google is Temporialy Out of Service

or in my view the 00's have been the worst decade of music EVER!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Will there be a new series of Reeling in the Years? If so, anyone know how soon after 09 is over?
    Ruu wrote: »
    Y2K (hehehehehhehehhohohohohoho)

I was clearing out the server room in work about a month ago and found a VHS from telecom eireann called 'Preparing for the Millennium Bug'. Put it to the side to watch at home, but it went walkabout.

Now that i think about it, I don't have a video player anyway :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

the decade when ireland made two decisions on the one treaty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

triple-M wrote: »
    the decade when ireland made two decisions on the one treaty

....twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Again that's the 90's
    Skinny jeans? Promoted by Victoria Beckham and Sex & The City? The 00s surely...?
    in my view the 00's have been the worst decade of music EVER!
    Some unbelievably woeful stuff in the 00s all right but I still think the 90s (post '91) was worse. A lot of really good bands and musicians have come to the fore in the 00s thanks to the internet.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

drkpower wrote: »
    ....twice.

We must look like a right shower of tools, first back in 2001 (Nice I think), ye didn't vote correctly, have another go at it and then this year, is this going to happen again in the next decade? probably.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The decade Ireland lost its sovereignty. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Fake culture.

'celebs' 'talent shows' 'r'n'b'
    no great rock bands
    rapping about money instead of what what rap really represents.

kids the age of 20 under all thinking they are in Days of Our Lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

It'll be remembered as that annoying decade when everyone had to say "two thousand and..." when referring to the year. I can't wait for the new year when we can just say "twenty...". Roll on twenty ten!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Will number plates read 10 D 12345

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I have a horrible feeling that the defining experience of my generation will be the economic collapse...which i hate!

reckon the stuff other people have mentioned will be the memorable bits of the 00s. I can just picture Reeling in the Years in 10years time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

I consider the Millennium Bug a 90s thing as it was not really evident in the 00s. People worried about it in the 90s and when nothing happened it died in the 00s within a day.

Talent shows have been pretty much the same format from the 50s so maybe not that memorable when people start looking back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

BVB wrote: »
    Will number plates read 10 D 12345

Doubtful..

One might.. But generally they try to keep every car with a unique plate.
    It makes things a bit easier to keep track of.

[/caffeine deficient witless joke]
    [coffee]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

00's had incredible music, it's just a pity that the genre that you listen to happened to churn out some awful tripe, pop rnb etc etc. Some great rock bands peaked in this era.

The war on "terror" using terror. The "peace keepers" total disregard for life.

The time Irelands leaders ruined the country and still stayed in power.

The time it was ok to steal billions from people and get golden handshakes after stepping down.

A time when wreckless trading was only reserved for businesses that had no links to politicians. If you have a friend in the dail, it's ok to steal and commit crimes.

First black president in America.

The era them damned foreigners "dook ur jabs".

An era where politicians cared more about their personal interests and gain than the people that voted them in. Sure what's 450,000 unemployed people, it's fine... They focused more on keeping their jobs (securing a yes vote) than they did trying to fix the employment crisis... GG you scum.

A time of great change, yet I am still undecided if this change is for good or bad. I guess we will see in a few years.

I do love this picture though :)http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v624/Gilenrai/?action=view&current=ProtectorBush.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Doubtful..

One might.. But generally they try to keep every car with a unique plate.
    It makes things a bit easier to keep track of.

[/caffeine deficient witless joke]
    [coffee]

http://www.instantrimshot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Dudess wrote: »
    Some unbelievably woeful stuff in the 00s all right but I still think the 90s (post '91) was worse. A lot of really good bands and musicians have come to the fore in the 00s thanks to the internet.

I reckon the music of the 00s doesn't hold a candle to the 90s. Not a bit. Hasn't been a proper movement since early to mid 90's britpop, grunge, dance etc.

Noel Gallagher was saying he reckons it's because times have been affluent in the 00s. People need to be broke to create good music. Maybe the recession will kick start something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I lost my virginity during the 00's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I remember taking some drugs, that's about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭thatsa spicy

Ah the 00's.

The decade when everybody became blunted and ungrateful about how brilliant the world is.

I actually believe the last 2 decades will be seen to have been a golden age of great wealth and little to worry about for the western world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

War

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Sucking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

I actually believe the last 2 decades will be seen to have been a golden age of great wealth and little to worry about for the western world.

So the rise of terrorist attacks on the western world was/is nothing to fear?? Quite a few people have spent time worrying over the last 2 decades:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Jaysus, a lot of miserable people on here.

what about the world cup 2002, great olympics, people actually having loads of money for most of the decade, mulitple foreign holidays and big TV's.

best decade ever....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

phasers wrote: »
    Sucking
    Youre memories and activities are the same thing? :pac:

*runs*............*very fcuking fast*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

This Thread ! :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    War

♫ Huh! What is it good for! ♫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭crushproof

Ah the 00's.

The decade when everybody became blunted and ungrateful about how brilliant the world is.

That's it, i'd say it will be regarded as the most afflucent period in modern history. :cool:
    No chance are we ever going to see the highs the 2000's. Everyone splurged without a care and had a fecking great time :D
    You won't be seeing that kind of recklessness ever again. And with oil in short supply in the future there won't be as much travelling and fancy goods to buy!!

What a decade!!! (Apart from the reality tv sh/ite, reality pop music and the total dependance on google for everything...none of us kiddos would have survived college without it :pac:)

And yes, cars will be 10-D-12345

I lost my virginity during the 00's
    Sucking

<_<
    >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

They were a **** boyband to be fair, and it was the 90's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

The Noughties let me see:

2000:The Millenium, Brilliant to have lived through it, all the hype of Y2k!
    2000 was the year that Ireland's economy changed for the worse from a lower. cost export led economy to a higher cost credit dependent property driven one.
    All-Ireland No. 1 of the decade for Kerry after a replay with Galway.

2001: A general drab year for the world, liberals moaning a groaning constantly about newly elected President GWB. September 11th, a day that alongside Pearl Harbour will never ever be forgotten in the annals of History. The bombing of Afghanistan, and the rise of Neo-Conservatism.
    Galway defeat a lethargic Meath for the All-Ireland.

2002: The Euro is introduced and higher inflation follows, begining fo the "Rip-off Republic" as prices are rounded up. Another grey year as Ireland and much of Europe slid into an economic slump suffering from the after effects of 9/11. Military spending increases in the US and the economy quickly recovers with the help of new economic measures from the Republican led white house. Ireland votes in FF for a second term, Bertie Ahern can do no wrong as Ireland follows the US into unparalleled Economic strength and growth. FG suffers electoral disaster. The tragic murders of Holly Wells and Jessica Chapman stun Europe. Brazil win the FIFA world cup.
    Armagh win their first ever All-Ireland in a nail biter between them and Kerry.

2003: Ireland continues to ride the wave of cheap credit with ECB interest rates set low to suit Germany and France, this leads to banks lending money wrecklessly and high inflation in Ireland, Unions threaten to rock the boat, Bertie Ahern concedes meekly and "Partnership" is the order of the day with pay rises for all, exports and manufacturing continues to decline but nobody notices with all the new construction jobs and good times. Consumerism culture takes off. The Euro grows stronger than the Dollar a trend that remains to this day. The war in Iraq, hits the EU economies and interest rates are kept low further fuelling the property boom here.
    Tyrone win Armagh win their first ever All-Ireland in a hard encounter between them and Armagh, Ulster football dominant, Pat Spillane coins the term "Puke Football".

2004: Unions and Liberals in Ireland demand more and more, "Partnership" continues and benchmarking starts to gobble more public funds. Hospitals and local issues cause FF to suffer heavy electoral defeat in the local elections, as the people fire a shot across their bow after 7 years of governance. May 1st sees the EU enlarge to accommodate ten new eastern states, tens of thousands of new EU citizens flock to Ireland as our country and economy is among the best in the world with high wages and excellent quality of living. This in itself causes the property boom to accelerate even further with new housing demands and "buy to let" properties being snapped up like hotcakes. Wage demands throughout the public sector are met easily. Ireland's population increasing at the fastest rate in the EU. The War in Iraq continues with the insurgency gathering momentum. The liberals gather momentum and GWB becomes a hate figure. He silences his critics with an astounding Presidential victory over Kerry, Neo-Cons and Republicans are the only show in town stateside, their brilliant economy at the time easily winning it.
    All-Ireland No. 2 of the decade for Kerry as they defeat Mayo.

2005: We adopt Kilometres and move entirely to the Metric system. it is now mid decade and the Irish economy steams ahead, property investment overseas a new "fad" amongst the new upper-middle class. Flight prices very low, weekends to places like "Gdansk" become popular among the middle classes. Car prices skyrocket as Irish dealers rip off people. Cork is European Capital of Culture, a non-event really. The A380 comes to the worlds attention but it will be a few years before we can book a ticket on it just it. Hurricane Katrina levels New Orleans, Oil prices begin to rocket skywards. Pope John Paul II dies, Pope Benedict XVI succeeds him. London is rocked by Islamic Terrorism twice in one month, Islamophobia on the rise.
    Tyrone defeat Kerry in the All-Ireland final in a clash of titans in Croke Park.

2006: Ireland's economy beginning to show the first cracks in its foundations, talk of a "Slow down" begins to be rumoured. Growth rates slowing but forecast is for continuous growth. 90th Anniversary of the Easter rising. 2006 House elections in US sees the Democrats seize control as a wave of populism driven by issues such as the Iraq war and Hurricane Katrina fallout sees the House controlled by Nanci Pelosi and her liberal ideologies. GWB deeply unpopular and Anti-American sentiment reaches fever pitch especially on the Continent. Italy wins the Fifa World cup in a triller final with France long remembered for Zidanes head butt. Terror plot to blow up transatlantic flights causes untold misery for travellers throughout the world, Ireland hit hard as this causes fear and leads to a slight downturn in inward tourism.
    All-Ireland No. 3 of the decade for Kerry as they regain the All-Ireland in a drubbing of Mayo, Kerry football strength unparalleled.

2007: ECB Interest rates have increased by more than 50% from 2% to 3%, this has a knock on effect on the Irish economy and the slowdown continues and talk shifts to "a soft landing" as demand is expected to gently curve off. The Irish general election of 2007 is amongst the tightest ever, FG regains the lost ground of 2002 and then some. FF scrapes through but their coalition partners the PD's are annihilated and late dissolve. Mass uncertainty over taxation issues like stamp duty cause the property market to dip and the building boom with it, Ireland's economy is now in choppy waters but confidence is still strong, Oil prices begin to sky rocket and this has a knock on effect on our economy. Bulgaria and Romania join the EU but Ireland restricts access to its now diminishing labour market.
    The Subprime mortgage crisis emerges in the US and sets the stage for things to come, The Republicans are now paralysed and with the liberals in the House there is not much that can be done to find a solution to the crisis. Pessimism grows in Ireland, the Green Party launches new initiatives but generally are nowhere to be found on the Irish political scene.
    All-Ireland No. 4 for Kerry as they defend their title in all Munster affair as Cork suffering a severe hammering at the hands of the men in green and gold.

2008: Ireland emerges into the new year with things spiralling out of control, Bertie Ahern resigns after a corruption scandal, Brian Cowen takes charge in uncertain times. Ireland enters recession and for a point 1,000 jobs a day are being lost. Oil reaches an all time record of $147/barrel. Many EU migrant workers begin to flee Ireland as the economy collapses. Anglo Irish bank in death throes, banking crisis as it emerges that all Irish banks are broke and to avert a run on the banks the bank guarantee is launched. Lisbon treaty rejected in a referendum. Barrack Obama is elected as US President, Democrats now in full control of US politics.
    Tyrone defeat Kerry in a drab final, Questions are asked of Kerry's consistency having lost the 3 in-a-row

2009: Anglo Irish bank Nationalised, Ireland enters economic depression, Public finances deteriorate with a deficit of €400m/week. Fas Controversy, Irish Rugby team win the 6 Nations and Leinster win the Heineken cup, in a classic year for Irish rugby. Ireland comes close to qualifying for the FIFA World cup in 2010. Brian Cowen and FF become deeply unpopular in Ireland, NAMA legislation published, mass controversy, FF suffers electoral wipeout in the Local elections, dozens of local authorities now under FG & LAB control. Lisbon Treaty passed in 2nd referendum. Barrack Obama tries to introduce univeral healthcare in the US opening mass controversy, rapidly losing support there. The Green Party has a midterm review of the programme for government, growing speculation of an impending Government collapse.
    All-Ireland No. 5 for Kerry as they regain their title in all Munster affair, favourites Cork fail to perform on the day and Kerry do down as team of the decade.

This was the decade for me anyway!

<_<
    >_>
    Dude shut up my mam posts here

My mam was banned. I forget what her username was...it was like MC Arachnid or something like that

My dad was banned, his name was Man Time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Dudess wrote: »
    A lot of really good bands and musicians have come to the fore in the 00s thanks to the internet.
    True, but the sheer amount of sh1t bands that should never have been heard have saturated the internet, meaning good bands are nigh on impossible to find