Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheika to step down as Leinster coach at end of season

• 06-10-2009 11:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭

Saw this on Breaking News website, no other source yet.
    Leinster coach Michael Cheika has confirmed that this year's defence of the Heineken Cup will be his last season in charge of the province.

The Australian has been in charge of the Irish province since 2005.

His reign culminated in Leinster's first Heineken Cup victory earlier this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

This has been known for quite a while at this stage. When he signed his previous contract he said that would be it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

He has achieved great things, and who can blame him for wanting to return to his loved ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Real FM

No news on the Leinster website so let's hope that source is wrong!

Really didn't like him when he took over a Leinster but he's gone on to do a great job and has to claim some responsibility for the strenght of our academy.

Real FM wrote: »
    No news on the Leinster website so let's hope that source is wrong!

Really didn't like him when he took over a Leinster but he's gone on to do a great job and has to claim some responsibility for the strenght of our academy.

It's not wrong, he's going. Unless he changes his mind obviously, which is unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I like him tbh, he's a straight talker and has improved Leinster hugely. He can return to Oz with a top CV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

Rumor has it that he may take up the head coach job if Australia get the next super 15 franchise. He is definitely going though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

Downtime wrote: »
    Rumor has it that he may take up the head coach job if Australia get the next super 15 franchise. He is definitely going though.

Yes, as he already said he's going but Melbourne is very unlikely a destination given the doom and gloom surrounding this fifth Aussie Super Rugby team.
    I honestly don't think they should do go for a fifth as there are two in big trouble (QLD and WA) that should be set right before any pipe dreams of more teams.
    But thats another story . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

bring back Matt Williams - perfect man to get the best out of the emerging talent

Anyone know what Ewan McKenzie is up to since he was sacked from Stade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Kurt McQuilkan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Michael Bradley might be available, I know we'd be sad to see him go, but wouldn't stand in his way... :p:D

Dammit. Let's hope the words Michael Bradley aren't uttered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ki

We will even contribute the non-existing half of our budget towards his salary.

At least we can say money well spent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

He leaves a great legacy. He had us playing great attacking rugby when he first arrived, and his vision in building the team around Contepomi's unpredictable genius proved a masterstroke. But ultimately, he'll be remembered for (eventually) making us into a much more hard-nosed team, which we never had a reputation for before. He made some great signings (Le Roux, Rocky, Wright), improved seemingly ordinary players to a high level (Dempsey, Jackman) and has been key in the making world class players out of our young wunderkids (Kearney, Fitz and Heaslip). Our first HEC and one Magners (so far!) is a fine return, and he has given us plenty of excitement along the way.

McQuilkan obviously deserves a huge amount of credit and is the obvius man for the top job next year.

smurphy29 wrote: »
    He leaves a great legacy. He had us playing great attacking rugby when he first arrived, and his vision in building the team around Contepomi's unpredictable genius proved a masterstroke. But ultimately, he'll be remembered for (eventually) making us into a much more hard-nosed team, which we never had a reputation for before. He made some great signings (Le Roux, Rocky, Wright), improved seemingly ordinary players to a high level (Dempsey, Jackman) and has been key in the making world class players out of our young wunderkids (Kearney, Fitz and Heaslip). Our first HEC and one Magners (so far!) is a fine return, and he has given us plenty of excitement along the way.

McQuilkan obviously deserves a huge amount of credit and is the obvius man for the top job next year.

100% agree with all above - Would love to see an Irish man get the job but I can't see anyone who'd be better. McQuilkan is the man to get it for me.

I don't think it myself but does anyone reckon Gaffney would have any interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

McQuilkin travels on his Irish passport I hear? :) No closer you can get to Irish without being born here IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

Bradley for Leinster, start the campaign now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

All hail SCW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Sandwich

Fingers crossed here for Eddie O'Sullivan getting the gig.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

phog wrote: »
    I back this campaign 100%. He's a man of huge experience, has managed at international level and consistently leads teams to European Quarter finals.

Why bring in some future-Quisling from the Colonies when you can have the loyalty of an IRFU company man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Great post.

While I loved the brand of 'slick' rugby that Cheika had us playing for so long, I always kind of resented our erratic and underachieving ways... even if we were a joy to watch at times. Right up until last years quarter final, and even before the semi-final, Cheika's 'plan' wasn't quite clear and I was practically calling for his head.

Turns out though that he knew exactly what he was doing. Not only did he introduce the element of surprise (shock actually) to Leinster's game, he knew exactly how to orchestrate our game plan. After last October's demolition of Wasps, there was very little there for our opposition to be afraid of. We got Quins out of the way with a 1 point victory. While our defence was convincing, nobody thought for one second that we stood a chance against Munster's frightening attacking capabilities. Particularly after their slaughter of the Welsh galacticos. By the time the semi-final rolled around, it turned out that our inability to score tries was just a myth. Almost like Cheika told the lads to switch it back on again, with D'Arcy, BOD and Fitzy firing on all cylinders. Then it was back to boot, bollock and bite again for Leicester who, while a great team, were flattered by the scoreline.

Now look at Leinster. Once again we're playing some average rugby yet winning. Then we step up to a big (or at least showcase) game like that against Munster last weekend, and we play a complete game again. If we can turn on that kind of performance at will then we're in with a very good chance of doing really well again this year.

We seem to finally have the ingredients right. It's a pity Cheika's leaving at the end of the season but let's hope he leaves his mark on the Leinster psyche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

NickNolte wrote: »
    Great post.

While I loved the brand of 'slick' rugby that Cheika had us playing for so long, I always kind of resented our erratic and underachieving ways... even if we were a joy to watch at times. Right up until last years quarter final, and even before the semi-final, Cheika's 'plan' wasn't quite clear and I was practically calling for his head.
    Turns out though that he knew exactly what he was doing. Not only did he introduce the element of surprise (shock actually) to Leinster's game, he knew exactly how to orchestrate our game plan. After last October's demolition of Wasps, there was very little there for our opposition to be afraid of. We got Quins out of the way with a 1 point victory. While our defence was convincing, nobody thought for one second that we stood a chance against Munster's frightening attacking capabilities. Particularly after their slaughter of the Welsh galacticos. By the time the semi-final rolled around, it turned out that our inability to score tries was just a myth. Almost like Cheika told the lads to switch it back on again, with D'Arcy, BOD and Fitzy firing on all cylinders. Then it was back to boot, bollock and bite again for Leicester who, while a great team, were flattered by the scoreline.

Now look at Leinster. Once again we're playing some average rugby yet winning. Then we step up to a big (or at least showcase) game like that against Munster last weekend, and we play a complete game again. If we can turn on that kind of performance at will then we're in with a very good chance of doing really well again this year.

We seem to finally have the ingredients right. It's a pity Cheika's leaving at the end of the season but let's hope he leaves his mark on the Leinster psyche.

A lot of Leinster fans were calling for his head last year and if are being honeat do they believe if Contepomi wasn't injured would Sexton ever have got a go in the SF or Final????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

do they believe if Contepomi wasn't injured would Sexton ever have got a go in the SF or Final????????????

No, almost certainly not. And it's quite possible that Sexton would have been once again marginalised this season and Contepomi replaced with a foreign stand-in. Contempomi's injury was an unfortunate stroke of luck. It really did put Sexton in a good position to showcase his confidence and talents. The fact that he kept such a cool head on one of the largest of stages (drop goal against Leicester from behind half way in the HEC final FFS???) catapulted him from a benchwarmer to a superstar overnight.

Did Cheika know Sexton was this good? I'm sure he knew the potential was there alright - a lot of us who watched him did. But if you had asked me if he'd perform as well as he did against Munster or Leicester, I couldn't have dreamed it.

I dare to say it but if Contepomi had started against Leicester and not Sexton, we may very well have lost. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭musky

True we got lucky with Sexy hitting form, but its not as if he didn't have the talent.

I am a firm believer that the higher level games bring the best out of the higher level players.

I saw sexton play an ail game against belvo last season and he was ordinary. Roughly six weeks later he was kicking munster out of the hcup.

Cometh the hour, cometh the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

A lot of Leinster fans were calling for his head last year and if are being honeat do they believe if Contepomi wasn't injured would Sexton ever have got a go in the SF or Final
    I was just about to post and say that!

With a game or two to go in the group stage last year I was one of the people calling for his head. I was FAR FAR from alone.

Reverse the score in the semi-final and there is a chance he would not have lasted the summer tbh..

Fair play to him, getting Rocky really turned things around..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

It is not unusual that players get their breaks due to an incumbents injury. Look at one of the biggest american football stars...Tom Brady would probably not have become the huge superstar he is if it wasn't for an injury to Drew Bledsoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

RuggieBear wrote: »
    It is not unusual that players get their breaks due to an incumbents injury. Look at one of the biggest american football stars...Tom Brady would probably not have become the huge superstar he is if it wasn't for an injury to Drew Bledsoe.

Good point, but it's not as if he was even the second choice. Didn't he play Nacewa at 10 a few times instead, despite him not having a very good boot at all?
    improved seemingly ordinary players to a high level (Dempsey, Jackman

Good call on Dempsey. I think he transformed him from being just "a safe pair of hands" (although that's still all a lot of people seem him as) to a real attacking player, using that pace that few people seems to realise he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Frightening thing for Leinster fans is that the job will probably go to Michael Bradley next(after all he does such a wonderful job with Connacht....and by that I mean he has embarassing pictures of someone that lets him keep his job).

Either Bradley or EOS(who will proceed to only ever play a team consisting of Dempsey,D'Arcy, BOD and Mal O'Kelly).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

There is no chance that Bradley will get this job. Development officer for Kilkenny maybe, but nothing else!

McGuirkan would be my choice. Might be a bit too specialist though - was initially brought in as a part time defensive coach wasnt he?

EOS wouldn't be too bad but I don't know if he'd bring something fresh to their game.

Certainly don't want Michael Bradley - I'm well aware he's seriously under resourced but Connacht's worsening record year after year can't be ignored. The IRFU aren't lowering their funding to connacht year after year are they?

Anyways don't want to turn this into another Bradley bashing thread - theres enough of those.

How about Jim Williams...just to piss off the Munster crowd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

Real FM wrote: »
    How about Jim Williams...just to piss off the Munster crowd!
    Kind of busy at the moment with his job as asst coach of the Wallabies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

RuggieBear wrote: »

This is a very good point. The Munster squad is actually great for this too. Guys sit on the bench stewing for X amount of time then then chance comes and they're fired up to take it. Flannery getting his chance when Frankie Sheahan got injured is a good example. Flannery was essentially a full on bencher at Munster but was Irelands starting hooker very quickly after he got his chance.

In a really good squad, benching shouldn't create resentment, just build up to proving yourself when you get the opportunity.

Leinster had 2 young examples last year - Sexton when Contepomi went and Cian Healy got WAY more gametime in the absence of van der Linde than he otherwise would have. Both stepped up to the plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

GDM wrote: »
    Frightening thing for Leinster fans is that the job will probably go to Michael Bradley next(after all he does such a wonderful job with Connacht....and by that I mean he has embarassing pictures of someone that lets him keep his job).

Not a bloody hope. leinster branch picks the coach, not the IRFU.

I would be truly amazed if Kurt McQuilkan wasn't already in place for the job with somebody coming in as his number 2/backs couch. The guy deserves a shot if he wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Depends on how LB view him and how he views himself - he could be perfectly happy as a defense coach at the mo, though i'd quite like to see him as head tbh. And in all fairness, if Munster didn't get stuck with Bradley when Kidney moved on, Leinster won't either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Sandwich wrote: »

I dont know who is worse !! :D:D:D:D:D

Reverse the score in the semi-final and there is a chance he would not have lasted the summer tbh..

Eh? What relevance does that have to anything? The score wasn't reversed and he did last the summer.

And why would it probably be Bradley? There's no way it's going to be him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

A lot of Leinster fans were calling for his head last year and if are being honeat do they believe if Contepomi wasn't injured would Sexton ever have got a go in the SF or Final????????????

Depends what you mean by chance. Sexton was regularly being used to come on at 60 minutes to close out the game. Contempomi was playing exceptionally well in the Munster game until he got injured so its not as if Leinster were handicapped by him. I personally wanted Sexton to start, but Conters was doing the job admirably. Sexton would have featured either way, though obviously not as much.

Also, there is zero chance of Bradley getting the job - its the HEC champs we're talking about, Bradley has done nothing to deserve it. The Leinster Branch would never put up with it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

danthefan wrote: »
    Eh? What relevance does that have to anything? The score wasn't reversed and he did last the summer.

And why would it probably be Bradley? There's no way it's going to be him.
    Michael Bradley is the Keyser Soze of Irish Rugby management, a spook story tame journos tell to fans at night. "Rat on your prop, and Michael Bradley will manage you." But no one ever believes.

Fittingly, I don't believe in him and I'm scared of him.

Robbo wrote: »
    Michael Bradley is the Keyser Soze of Irish Rugby management, a spook story tame journos tell to fans at night. "Rat on your prop, and Michael Bradley will manage you." But no one ever believes.

Fittingly, I don't believe in him and I'm scared of him.

He didn't end up at Munster or Ulster, he certainly won't end up at Leinster. I'm pretty sure Leinster make their own appointment, the IRFU can't foist him on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Sandwich wrote: »

Best Irish coach ever? Would be tragic alright. :rolleyes:

I doubt it'll be an Irish coach, because the only one of any note not employed in Ireland is O'Sullivan, and he's not a Leinsterman and there's all that baggage with the Irish scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I doubt it'll be an Irish coach, because the only one of any note not employed is O'Sullivan, and he's not a Leinsterman and there's all that baggage with the Irish scene.

Is Eddie O'Sullivan finished with the US team already?

eoin wrote: »
    Is Eddie O'Sullivan finished with the US team already?

I meant to say in Ireland. My bad.

Will edit now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

Give Big Jim Williams a contract now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I don't agree with the highlighted part. Contepomi was the cause of many defeats in the big matches. In the ML he won alot of games for Leinster though but not in the big matches because although he has the skills he's not a traditional outhalf in the ROG/Sexton mould.

Cheika was fortunate with the talent at Leinster and it actually took him a few years to realise that they needed to change the way they play to win games. So credit is due there. It seems that McQuilkin and Jonno Gibbs have been big influences for Leinster too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Is Jake White still looking for a job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Ian Foster coach of the Chiefs is evens to take over from cheika on paddy power!! Don't know what to make of it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

He'd know Jonno Gibbs pretty well.

Didn't the Canes boss just go to the Blues?

Not sure of which top class coaches are free in the world...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

Ian Foster coach of the Chiefs is evens to take over from cheika on paddy power!! Don't know what to make of it really.

He rarely stays in a job longer than 2 years so really don't know if I'd want him to be honest.

Also wouldn't want Jake White as I reckon that S.A team made him look a better coach than he is. The fact that they are playing far superior under PDV of all people says a lot in my eyes.

I would really like Nick Mallet however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

He rarely stays in a job longer than 2 years so really don't know if I'd want him to be honest.

Also wouldn't want Jake White as I reckon that S.A team made him look a better coach than he is. The fact that they are playing far superior under PDV of all people says a lot in my eyes.

I would really like Nick Mallet however

PDV is copying Whites gameplan. Its a simple gameplan suited to the players they have.