Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW Servicing

• 05-10-2009 3:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭

Anyone see this? BMW have announced Value servicing!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

yes, we were all told about it about 10 days ago on a secret BMW forum far far away! :D

they are currently working on prices for M cars too, so should keep the BHP guys happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭reverandkenjami

kceire wrote: »
    yes, we were all told about it about 10 days ago on a secret BMW forum far far away! :D

they are currently working on prices for M cars too, so should keep the BHP guys happy!

Secret forum you say? ;) Inside knowledge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I think i'd still be happier bringing my own car to AC - does this now mean that BMW are cheaper than AC? Or are we witnessing the start of a servicing price war?:)

Anan1 wrote: »
    I think i'd still be happier bringing my own car to AC - does this now mean that BMW are cheaper than AC? Or are we witnessing the start of a servicing price war?:)

Why would you be happier with AC out of curiousity :confused: As far as i can see bmw are now cheaper!! Should be good for us drivers :D

Don't get me wrong, it is good news. But i'd still have more faith in the workmanship of a good independent than a main dealer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

600 notes for a full brake pad/disc jobbie

value my a$$!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

That doesn't look too bad really, have to check mine and see what it wants doing next..

Secret forum you say? ;) Inside knowledge?

yes but dont report me to trading standards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

600 notes for a full brake pad/disc jobbie

value my a$$!

I paid £250 front & Back pads in Belfast /Dublin wanted €280 front €250 back €800 service Belfast £500. no brainer really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Prices are nothing to write home about. I cant see anything major that these cars would need over any other make in terms of servicing. And the prices are from xxx so therefore not set at that

Hootanany wrote: »
    I paid £250 front & Back pads in Belfast /Dublin wanted €280 front €250 back €800 service Belfast £500. no brainer really

Same as groceries/electronics etc!
    EPM wrote: »
    And the prices are from xxx so therefore not set at that

It says its set at that price? But vary depending on engine:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

"Us Drivers"?...come on Ken we all know you sold your 330Ci, your not allowed pretend your still a BM driver :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Anyone see this? BMW have announced Value servicing!

Does this mean BMW is saying they weren't value before now?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,224 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Sticking a decent coffee machine in the corner of the salesroom doesn't make a good service.
    I've never been satisfied with the quality of work (or the price charged for it) from a main dealer. Indys such as AC have always gone the extra mile to ensure that I'm happy.
    On a separate issue, anytime I call to the likes of AC I don't have to stand around to talk to someone at the service or parts desks. It would be rare to go to a dealer and not have to wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Prices are valid for all privately owned BMW 3 Series E46 Saloon, Touring, Coupé (built from 2000 – 2005) and Convertible (built from 2000 – 2006) 4cyl. petrol and diesel engine

well that excludes an awful lot of BMWs:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

JHMEG wrote: »
    Does this mean BMW is saying they weren't value before now?

thats valid

people could sue the bollocks off bmw now for years of service that was 'not value'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

Absurdum wrote: »
    well that excludes an awful lot of BMWs:pac:

the value line covers all E46 1998-2005 3 series 4 and 6 cylinder petrol and diesel and all E39 1996-2003 5 series 6 cylinder petrol and diesel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

davy_b wrote: »
    the value line covers all E46 1998-2005 3 series 4 and 6 cylinder petrol and diesel and all E39 1996-2003 5 series 6 cylinder petrol and diesel

Basically so trying to drum up business from people who's cars are getting on a bit and probably wouldn't be going to a BMW dealer anyway:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I love this. BMW announce 'value servicing for used cars'. When asked about plans for value servicing new cars, I'll bet they say 'No, no, we plan to continue ripping off those customers'.

I have to admit that whether I had a new or used BMW I'd never bring it to a dealer unless it was a warranty fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Basically so trying to drum up business from people who's cars are getting on a bit and probably wouldn't be going to a BMW dealer anyway:pac:

€143 for an oil change is a bit rich. They'd want to be pouring liquid gold into the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Its exactly what it is - fail to see how its anything other than a positive thing. Its been in the UK for years under the 4 plus scheme.

New owners can opt for service inclusive anyway, which isn't an option for drivers of older cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I was just looking at the e39 front disc & pad replacement @ €315. That seems like a low rate of labour when you consider that a set of front pads is approx. €79 & discs €220 when you go to the BMW parts desk. The sensor is about €20 I think. It would nearly make me book the car in & save my back from doing the work!

Yes, yes I know that OEM or genuine BMW pads & discs are in fact dressed up Textar/Jurid items. I still think you are guaranteed a level of quality going OEM. I went in asking for jurid brake pads into my local motor fators once & i got the oddest of looks......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

dudara wrote: »
    €143 for an oil change is a bit rich. They'd want to be pouring liquid gold into the engine.

It's about ~€110 for oil (Castrol Edge, asssuming you do not have access to large drums you need to buy two 4L packs, this is the recommended oil for an e39 525i & it takes 6.5L) & €9 for a filter.

I'm not trying to defend the BMW network or anything just pointing out a few things. I do my own servicing myself normally. Again I would nearly consider this if I cannot get a hold of better value in the oil.

I was just looking at the e39 front disc & pad replacement @ €315. That seems like a low rate of labour when you consider that a set of front pads is approx. €79 & discs €220 when you go to the BMW parts desk. The sensor is about €20 I think. It would nearly make me book the car in & save my back from doing the work!

Yes, yes I know that OEM or genuine BMW pads & discs are in fact dressed up Textar/Jurid items. I still think you are guaranteed a level of quality going OEM. I went in asking for jurid brake pads into my local motor fators once & i got the oddest of looks......

In comparison to the oil change prices, the brake disc/pad changes seem reasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭dragonsgates

There is a new BMW servicing centre outside of Celbridge (Ardclogh road), I just seen the ads in the local papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Just while going through the BMW website on servicing, I came across this link:

http://external.bmw.ie/sausage/templates/BMW06/downloads/ConditionBasedService.pdf

What's with the sausage?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Just while going through the BMW website on servicing, I came across this link:

http://external.bmw.ie/sausage/templates/BMW06/downloads/ConditionBasedService.pdf

What's with the sausage?!

Maybe it's to do with the Porkies they've been saying.........

dudara wrote: »

Does it not say pollen filter too? :confused:

Anyways, still better than most 'BMW specialists!'

I personally thought €140 wasn't bad at all - i'm on my own so :D

You can change it yourself quite easily. If you don't fancy getting underneath the car, then make a once-off investment into an oil extractor (circa €50 from eBay). Just buy a filter and 5 litres of oil.

Half an hours work and you're done. The top mounted oil filter makes them quite easy to change.

You can reset the service interval display using a combination of buttons etc on the front dash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭sparktest

dudara,
    could you explain or post link how to reset service interval using the buttons...

Thanks.

Sure - this link to BMW Land forum is for the E39 and E46.

Hope that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Does it not say pollen filter too? :confused:

Anyways, still better than most 'BMW specialists!'

I personally thought €140 wasn't bad at all - i'm on my own so :D

€140 is fairly competitive for a main dealer imo.

I don't see why main dealers get so much flak around here. They make an effort to reduce prices and compete, yet they still get criticsim. I go to a BMW dealer myself and I've found them excellent to deal with. A lot better than a certain indy who I went to before!

To be fair, much depends on the actual garage. I've only really had many dealings with two southside BMW service centres (one of whom has since lost/relinquished the franchise) and would hestiate to entrust either with a tricycle, but others may be better. That said, lower servicing prices are always good.

It's about ~€110 for oil (Castrol Edge, asssuming you do not have access to large drums you need to buy two 4L packs, this is the recommended oil for an e39 525i & it takes 6.5L) & €9 for a filter.

I'm not trying to defend the BMW network or anything just pointing out a few things. I do my own servicing myself normally. Again I would nearly consider this if I cannot get a hold of better value in the oil.

+1 not defending BMW but that's a very good price the oil alone is 110-120 euro unless your using the cheap crap that needs changing twice as often and doesn't protect as much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Well, at least BMW are making some effort, what are the rest doing....sfa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

+1 not defending BMW but that's a very good price the oil alone is 110-120 euro unless your using the cheap crap that needs changing twice as often and doesn't protect as much

Full ester racing oil doesnt cost 110 euro retail let alone what it is costing them for castrol edge by the drum. You can buy castrol edge 4 litres 5w 30 for 50 euro in halfords and buy a couple of litre bottles to make up the difference for under 80 euro, filter is a tenner. Even better get it at a motor factors for cheaper again. You are saving 50 euro by doing it yourself and you have the peace of mind that it is done right at the end of the day.

I would imagine the oil and filter is costing the garage a max of 50 euro all in and the oil change itself would be done in 20 minutes for anyone with half a brain and a ramp leaving around 90 euro labour for around a half an hours work. Just goes to show what they were making in the good aul days!

i paid 16e for a litre of Castrol Edge in my local motor factors as a top up on my E90 320d.

i need 6 bottles of the stuff for a service as there is a 5.5 litre capacity iirc (open to correction here, as im only going by what i was told)

6x16 = 96e (but a 4 litre bottle costs 50e)

so my oil bill is 50e + 16 + 16 = 82e alone.
    oil filter is 15e from the main dealer (i wouldnt use after market oil filter tbh)
    dont need plugs :D
    air filter is about 25e

so to do it myself is around 127e plus fuel filter.

i think the pricing is ok, considering you dont have to do anything, and you get the service stamp in the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

If anyone wants some Castrol Edge next time i'm in Portadown BMW, I can grab some. ₤9.99 a litre, less 15% VAT.

A quick google shows any oil which meets the BMW LL04 grade can be used, and not just Castrol Edge (who started that - was it someone at Castrol I wonder?!).

A list of oils here:
    http://www.opieoils.co.uk/c-686-bmw-longlife-04.aspx

Is there any BMW brand oil? My (not BMW) car takes even lighter oil, 0W20, which is cheaper OEM than it is from Castrol. FWIW it's currently just a tad over €6 a litre, which makes Castrol Edge 0W30 look very expensive indeed. I doubt the Castrol is superior either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

JHMEG wrote: »
    A quick google shows any oil which meets the BMW LL04 grade can be used, and not just Castrol Edge (who started that - was it someone at Castrol I wonder?!).

A list of oils here:
    http://www.opieoils.co.uk/c-686-bmw-longlife-04.aspx

Is there any BMW brand oil? My (not BMW) car takes even lighter oil, 0W20, which is cheaper OEM than it is from Castrol. FWIW it's currently just a tad over €6 a litre, which makes Castrol Edge 0W30 look very expensive indeed. I doubt the Castrol is superior either.
    I know that certain manufactures will recommend different oils, however, as stated by JHMEG, once the oil meets the grade requirement (5w 30 or whatever) The oil will be fine. The manufacturer of the oil should not make that much of a difference. Although the manufacturer will tell you different. I was told that if i didn't use the recommended VW oil for my diesel, it would cause excessive cam shaft wear. It turned out that semi-synthetic oil was what they were talking about.
    I wouldnt pay too much attention to the whole "castrol is the only oil to use" way of thinking.

Look lads tis as simple as this I have owned 2 cars that I serviced myself on time every time and I used the right stuff but when It came to selling them I had real trouble to get anyone to believe me it's damn near impossible sell a BMW without a service history with stamps and I HAVE had people walk away from the car because it had none I won't do it anymore it's grand on an old car but if it's under 10 years old it's worth it and I will continue to do it the new BMW service price is the a little cheaper than getting my local guy to do it with the recommended parts so I will be going to them fit the OEM parts and the stamp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Look lads tis as simple as this I have owned 2 cars that I serviced myself on time every time and I used the right stuff but when It came to selling them I had real trouble to get anyone to believe me it's damn near impossible sell a BMW without a service history with stamps and I HAVE had people walk away from the car because it had none I won't do it anymore it's grand on an old car but if it's under 10 years old it's worth it and I will continue to do it the new BMW service price is the a little cheaper than getting my local guy to do it with the recommended parts so I will be going to them fit the OEM parts and the stamp

But is the money you save on servicing more than the money you lose on resale? And at least if you do it yourself, you know you know it's done right.
    I do pads and oil change myself. Anything else (service intervals, tyres etc) it's head up north.

Quint wrote: »
    But is the money you save on servicing more than the money you lose on resale? And at least if you do it yourself, you know you know it's done right.
    I do pads and oil change myself. Anything else (service intervals, tyres etc) it's head up north.

thats the difference, you may not get the full value back but it might just be the difference between a buyer buying your fully stamped traceable car or walking off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 brentaz

Ive just had my 530 d serviced in that new atlas tyres and autoservice place in Drumcondra, the senior mechanic was the top man in joe duffys for years and now works there, cost 250.00 for the a full service,although it needs a few other jobs... but next months wage will have to cover that.
    He was telling about having the software remapped ...sounds good..but not sure.

It's not the loss of money it's the fact that noone wanted it without a service history in the end a friend of mine bought it because he knew me and knew I serviced , noone else would believe me , me personally I would never again buy a car without a service history , and going up nort for me isn't a realistic option it's a 4.5 hour drive and a day off work , it's not eorth it I wouldn't save anything , I agree BMW dealers rip people off I'm not disagreeing with this fact I'm saying that their new value line service is cheaper than an independant it's using the right parts for the car and it's done right and gives me a stamp which makes it sooooo much easier to sell

kceire wrote: »
    thats the difference, you may not get the full value back but it might just be the difference between a buyer buying your fully stamped traceable car or walking off.

When the warranty is out I don't think it's worth going to a main dealer. In addition if you keep receipts for all the parts used along with a written history of when they were used then prospective buyers are happy enough. Speaking from personal experience over the last 10 years.

Normally I would agree but ye are missing the point it's now cheaper to go to a main dealer with this value line service than to go to your local guy with the right parts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Not too sure about cars, but Joe Duffy were doing an "amazing low price" on bike tyres, it was still just over €100 cheaper to get them done in Newry.
    As for parts, I can get better brake pads online for a third of the price! It'll be a cold day in hell before I go back there for a service

Normally I would agree but ye are missing the point it's now cheaper to go to a main dealer with this value line service than to go to your local guy with the right parts
    My local guy is me :) And I don't charge myself for labour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭sham09

Does the offer cover the Z4 ...?