Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Athlete of the Quarter - Derval O' Rourke

• 03-10-2009 3:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭

Bit of a shock but the results of the 'expert' panel have been counted and Derval O' Rourke has taken the July/August/September award.

1st - Derval O' Rourke
    2nd - Olive Loughnane
    3rd - David Gillick
    4th - Paul Hession
    5th - Ciara Mageean
    6th - Thomas Chamney

Some panel comments on the winner:

"People talk about bringing in Padraig Harrington, Roy Keane etc. to motivate teams the night before big matches. If I was a manager the only person I'd be getting in would be Derval. The combination of the talent and being able to produce it when it matters is the complete package."

"Managed to peak perfectly to a new national record to her fourth place in WC and being the only European to make the final"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Irishathlete_1

How did Loughnane not win this?

Yes, Derval's performance was excellent, but surely a medalist and such a consistent performer, year on year, should have taken this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Kiptanui

This is some joke!!

We have only had 4 people on the podium in the 26 years the world championships has been in existence!! Yet Olive Loughnane is not deemed athlete of the quarter. <SNIP>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

I guess the result has something to do with the ambivalence, in some quarters, as regards race walking being a proper branch of athletics. The fact that it is practised by comparatively few people, the reservations over the judging of legality, the generally low profile of the event etc.

Having tried it I have to say that I was wrecked after a couple of laps so I personally have great admiration for the top performers.

I doubt that Olive will be too upset over the result though and neither will Derval be turning somersaults. Not to be taken too seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Personally I think it would be harder to get 4th in the 100m hurdles than 2nd in race walking. But what do I know.

Walking has been part of the Olympic programme for decades so therefore its legitimacy as part of athletics is not in question. What is in doubt is the knowledge of the panel who just ignored a World Silver medalist.

I have no real knowledge of walking and it is not an event that I would have any interest in but to suggest it is a softer medal is rediculous. <SNIP>. Im sure the dedication required from Olive at least equals that required by Derval. Fair play to Derval on her heroic performance in Berlin, it was a joy to watch. However, Olive was our leading performer at the World Championships, just as she was at the Olympics.

<SNIP>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

You can dispute the decision without abusing the judges. Any more personal attacks and there will be bans

Kiptanui wrote: »
    Walking has been part of the Olympic programme for decades so therefore its legitimacy as part of athletics is not in question. What is in doubt is the knowledge of the panel who just ignored a World Silver medalist.

Didn't the IOC want to exclude racewalking from the programme following the controversies in Sydney? I wouldn't necessarily say that, because a sport or event has taken place for many years that it should have an automatic right to continue if it has become marginalised.

On your second point above I don't think the esteemed panel ignored Olive. They put her in second place ahead of Gillick. Presumably a few panel members disagree with you though about where two very good achievements rank in merit.

If these things were all so easily evaluated then we'd all get the same answer and life would be extremely boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭bourne99

I don't know what "Boards Athlete of the Quarter" is, and frankly I was surprised that my name wasn't on the list! But, what I do know is that Derval looked HOT at the worlds!!! You know it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Personally I think it would be harder to get 4th in the 100m hurdles than 2nd in race walking. But what do I know.

Personally I would think it's harder to get a medal at the world championships than finish 4th. Both are very technical events that require dedication and great skill.

As for "becoming marginalised" - by what definition? In Berlin, there were 42 athletes entered from 26 countries in the 100H and 49 athletes from 29 countries entered in the women's 20K walk.

On personality Derval will always be a winner, but Olive's result puts her in an elite category of Irish athletes and I would have expected that it to be recognised here too.

Can there be a repeat vote like Lisbon, 'cos some of us don't like this result? :D

dna_leri wrote: »
    As for "becoming marginalised" - by what definition? In Berlin, there were 42 athletes entered from 26 countries in the 100H and 49 athletes from 29 countries entered in the women's 20K walk.

Good stats (though I wonder if qualifying standards had anything to do with that).

I don't think even the walkers would deny that their discipline suffers from credibility issues and it is struggling to stay alive. Even in Ireland where it is has something of a heritage, participation is falling and standards - outside the top three or four, are low. From what I have seen this summer at national and local championships anyway.

(Completely off at a tangent, in the Channel Islands, racewalking has been extinct for many years in Jersey but, in Guernsey, Sarnia WC keep the sport going).

But again I can only agree that the best walkers display huge endurance qualities and technical skill to which few can aspire. I'm not sure how I'd have cast my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭cickimc

Ya pretty shocked to see Dervel beating Olive there!

Silver medal in the world championships
    2nd in the world
    And that makes her 2nd in this poll!

If Olive was a runner she would have won it but its simpilly because she does racewalking she didn't win it

Not trying to take Dervel's great result away (which was outstanding) but Olive would last longer in Dervel's event then Dervel would last in a 20k walk in 30 degress heat!

If we could imagine these same results in the olympics Olive 2nd and Dervel 4th in their respective events nationally nobody would be too bothered with Dervel coming 4th because games are all about medals even with dervel racing out of her skin. Medals needs to be targeted and athletes rewarded for it

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Good stats (though I wonder if qualifying standards had anything to do with that).

I don't think even the walkers would deny that their discipline suffers from credibility issues and it is struggling to stay alive. Even in Ireland where it is has something of a heritage, participation is falling and standards - outside the top three or four, are low. From what I have seen this summer at national and local championships anyway.

(Completely off at a tangent, in the Channel Islands, racewalking has been extinct for many years in Jersey but, in Guernsey, Sarnia WC keep the sport going).

But again I can only agree that the best walkers display huge endurance qualities and technical skill to which few can aspire. I'm not sure how I'd have cast my vote.

Agreed the discipline is struggling and may need some rule improvements but that does not demean the event or the medal.

If Irish national champs is the barometer, then many events are struggling. There were 5 starters in the 100H and 4 in the womens 5K walk, 3 in the steeplechase etc.

Dont really agree with that about standered is low and its struggling.
    Quarter of the ahtletes at last years olympics on the irish team where walkers
    Two 4th placed athletes at the european cup (Also a junior womens team were all three are under age for next 2 years)
    Silver at the worlds
    Schools internaional 1st and 2nd in both boys and girls race.
    So to be honest the walkers is Irelands strongest event at the moment and maybe also for the future

cickimc wrote: »
    Dont really agree with that about standered is low and its struggling.
    Quarter of the ahtletes at last years olympics on the irish team where walkers
    Two 4th placed athletes at the european cup (Also a junior womens team were all three are under age for next 2 years)
    Silver at the worlds
    Schools internaional 1st and 2nd in both boys and girls race.
    So to be honest the walkers is Irelands strongest event at the moment and maybe also for the future

Fair enough, didn't know that. Long may it continue then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ss43

The walk is (in my opinion and I'm not alone) a stupid event. The concept of who can walk the fastest is, in my mind, silly. Why not run? It'd be more efficient. There is a point to all the other events. Maybe if the walking event was long enough that you needed to walk it to last long enough to finish it would have a point.

The fact that it's judged as not having both feet visibly (to the naked eye) in the air at the same time makes it even less credible. You can technically run the whole way but as long as it's subtle it's ok. I was told this by a former walker and current coach at a coaching course.

For those reasons, I'd rank Derval ahead of Olive. When I see successful Irish walkers I think it's a waste of talent as they could probably have been very good runners.

ss43 wrote: »
    The walk is (in my opinion and I'm not alone) a stupid event. The concept of who can walk the fastest is, in my mind, silly. Why not run? It'd be more efficient. There is a point to all the other events. Maybe if the walking event was long enough that you needed to walk it to last long enough to finish it would have a point.

The fact that it's judged as not having both feet visibly (to the naked eye) in the air at the same time makes it even less credible. You can technically run the whole way but as long as it's subtle it's ok. I was told this by a former walker and current coach at a coaching course.

For those reasons, I'd rank Derval ahead of Olive. When I see successful Irish walkers I think it's a waste of talent as they could probably have been very good runners.

WUM!!
    Why jump hurdles either, just run!!

WUM!!
    Why jump hurdles either, just run!!

If you look at the other athletics events it's not difficult to see where the event came from.

They show who can run the fastest, who has the best endurance, who can jump highest who can jump farthest, who's fastest with obstacles in the way, who can throw farthest. To me the walks and the triple jump seem a bit ridiculous. It could easily be argued that there's too many running events. Is the difference between 100m and 200m enough to warrant having two events for example?

If there were no formal competitions, people would race over various distances, sometimes with obstacles, people would see who could jump highest or farthest, people would see who could throw different objects furthest. How many would have walking races with the technique currently enforced?

Racewalking originated in Britain as 'Pedestrianism'. Yet another example of a sport invented by the Brits which every other country learns and soon does better :)

It is clearly of an earlier age and is an anachcronism. Whilst applauding the qualities of those that excel at it I fear it will have disappeared within a generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

I agree with ss43, I think its a silly event.

The rules are broken all the time so essentially they are just running slowly.

Its a very contrived event and seems pointless.....the whole points of athletics for me is testing the limits of human performance. Travelling 10k in 40 minutes is'nt really doing that no matter how impressive it might be to "walk" that fast.

Why not have the runners run a 10k while carrying a television or run the 200m with a sled attached to your back...its just as arbitrary and contrived as walking as fast as you can.

Im not trying to wind anybody up either, its just my view of the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I agree with ss43, I think its a silly event.

The rules are broken all the time so essentially they are just running slowly.

Its a very contrived event and seems pointless.....the whole points of athletics for me is testing the limits of human performance. Travelling 10k in 40 minutes is'nt really doing that no matter how impressive it might be to "walk" that fast.

Why not have the runners run a 10k while carrying a television or run the 200m with a sled attached to your back...its just as arbitrary and contrived as walking as fast as you can.

Im not trying to wind anybody up either, its just my view of the event.
    I agree too, but also dont like the triple jump whats the point of that? why not a double jump or quad.

Ya we finally found an event that where good at so lets start putting it down! whats next are ye guys going to tell paul hession to quit because hes probley never going to win the olympics!

Fair enough walking looks silly and the rule about llifting is slightly contracdictive but it makes sense. It clearly says in the rules ''visable to the human eye'' so it doesn't say if ya run ur out if your lifting your out

Ya travelling somewhere 40mins isn't anything special neither is 26miles in 2 hours because everyone has a car and can do it in half the time in the 21st centuary. So ya running is out dated as an olympic event! we should have car racing. (thats not my view i'm just using it as a medium to say well if walking is pointless so is running and most of you will prob say there is a point to running is because your a runner ask car fans there going to say your wasting your time like some boardsies are saying here)

Maybe 1 million people run every day so its only right we have races to see who is the fastest of these people
    Now if billions of people walk everyday is it not right we have a race to see who is the fastest and the best!!!

As I said earlier its not an event that I was ever interested in but the fact remains that apart from Sonia it is the only event that we have produced a medal in since 1983 at the world championships. It is an event, whatever your opinion on it is. Olive Loughnane has been remarkably consistent over the past few seasons and was our top performer in Beijing also. She delivered a medal and that is what we crave at major championships. She is entitled to accolades such as athlete of the year because she was without doubt our best performer in Berlin. 2nd beats fourth!!
    I am a fan of sport and if an Irish person wins a medal for show-jumping or the 1500m I say hats off and would never make derisory comments about them or their event.

I'm sure neither athlete concerned is too interested in the opinions of people on a chat site, but I just think a little respect is due to people who consistently place in the top 10 in the world.

Note: The mod was quick to edit my posts earlier and but yet has no issue with our only global outdoor medallist in 6 years being ridiculed here. Ridiculing her event is belittling her. I stand over what I said, the panel let bias influance the facts when determining athlete of the quarter. They are all on here backing each other up so I won't try to fight it any longer.

The Mod reacted when posts were reported for personal abuse. That's against site rules.

This particular Mod has got - quite literally - no opinion on race-walking or the Athlete of the Quarter as I am not involved in the panel. What I do have to enforce are the site wide rules about having a civilised debate. That involves arguing the post NOT the poster.

Kiptanui has a 48 hour ban to ponder the difference having ignored my previous request to stop making personal attacks.

As I said earlier its not an event that I was ever interested in but the fact remains that apart from Sonia it is the only event that we have produced a medal in since 1983 at the world championships. It is an event, whatever your opinion on it is. Olive Loughnane has been remarkably consistent over the past few seasons and was our top performer in Beijing also. She delivered a medal and that is what we crave at major championships. She is entitled to accolades such as athlete of the year because she was without doubt our best performer in Berlin. 2nd beats fourth!!
    I am a fan of sport and if an Irish person wins a medal for show-jumping or the 1500m I say hats off and would never make derisory comments about them or their event.

I'm sure neither athlete concerned is too interested in the opinions of people on a chat site, but I just think a little respect is due to people who consistently place in the top 10 in the world.

Note: The mod was quick to edit my posts earlier and but yet has no issue with our only global outdoor medallist in 6 years being ridiculed here. Ridiculing her event is belittling her. I stand over what I said, the panel let bias influance the facts when determining athlete of the quarter. They are all on here backing each other up so I won't try to fight it any longer.

Your dead right. We should be happy for an Irish athlete with a silver medal in a world championships espicially in athletics.
    And i agree why cant you have your views on the voting. Sounds like a bit of a dictatorship. Olive should have won athlete of the quarter and she should win athlete of the year!

*sigh*

He's allowed to have an opinion on the voting. He's welcome to voice his disagreement and I'm delighted he has put forward strong arguments in favour of his position.

What no-one is allowed to do is call other posters muppets or accuse them of bias (and several other things). That's why there was a ban.

Another thing against site rules is back seat modding, which is where people argue with a Mod decision on thread. Again doing that a second time will be a ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I think the people who are against this as a discipline are obviously have never tried the event or they would realise how taxing it actually is on the body i been a runner all my life and rarely felt pain like that.
    Despite this i still feel that someone who was expected to struggle to qualify from her heats and her semi s to be only European in the final and to get fourth setting a new NR along the way.
    Compare this to a person who was expected to be in the top 6 to top 10 at worst and was percieve to have an outside shot of a medal.
    Not belittling her achievement i think it was fantastic it was just the exceeding of expections to such a degree should be admired.
    Here is a comparison
    Bookie prices to win any medal
    O Loughnane 9/1
    D O'Rourke 50/1

Notice the difference?

ya sound I'm sort of sorry now was a little bit angry went a bit 2 far! soz

Strangely, considering the debate here, hip flexibility is one of the major characteristics of both hurdling and racewalking. So it's not as if they are completely unrelated. As I mentioned earlier on in the thread (and as Mr ecoli touches on above) the unexpected strains on the body through displacing the hips as required to maximise ones stride need to be experienced before dismissing the racewalking discipline.

The training and dedication to produce a top walker is not in question. Watching Olive, Heffernan and Griffin at the Nationals was eye-opening.

It's just that it has had its day. No one really wants to do it any more - certainly it is uncool for youngsters. No future in it I'm certain.

Ya we finally found an event that where good at so lets start putting it down! whats next are ye guys going to tell paul hession to quit because hes probley never going to win the olympics!

Fair enough walking looks silly and the rule about llifting is slightly contracdictive but it makes sense. It clearly says in the rules ''visable to the human eye'' so it doesn't say if ya run ur out if your lifting your out

Ya travelling somewhere 40mins isn't anything special neither is 26miles in 2 hours because everyone has a car and can do it in half the time in the 21st centuary. So ya running is out dated as an olympic event! we should have car racing. (thats not my view i'm just using it as a medium to say well if walking is pointless so is running and most of you will prob say there is a point to running is because your a runner ask car fans there going to say your wasting your time like some boardsies are saying here)

Maybe 1 million people run every day so its only right we have races to see who is the fastest of these people
    Now if billions of people walk everyday is it not right we have a race to see who is the fastest and the best!!!

Try imagine a time before any of these events had formal rules. They all have a logic to them - we'll run a 100m race, first person across the line wins. we'll throw a spear like object - farthest wins etc. Then you get to the walk. We'll walk a long distance (two distances, one less than half of the longest running race, one slightly longer) where you must land on a straight leg. It's also acceptable to run just not in a way that can be visible to the judges' eye. Do you think you'd say - oh yeah, that sounds like a deadly event, can't wait to try it!'

When people run it looks something like what happens in the running events at the Olympics. I've never seen someone walk to work with race-walking technique.

I'm not on the panel by the way. Because I think walking is a stupid event, I don't regard 2nd in the world at walking as as good an achievement as a finalist in other events. Obviously it still takes quite a bit of talent and hard work to get there. That's my opinion. You disagree. Fair enough - you're just wrong :P
    ecoli wrote: »
    I think the people who are against this as a discipline are obviously have never tried the event or they would realise how taxing it actually is on the body i been a runner all my life and rarely felt pain like that.

I've tried it for the laugh and on coaching courses. It's very hard on the shins when you're not used to it and presumably when done at a high level it's quite aerobically taxing. That doesn't change the fact that it's a silly contrived event. A 70k skipping race would be very hard. It'd still be stupid.

Because I think walking is a stupid event, I don't regard 2nd in the world at walking as as good an achievement as a finalist in other events.

why ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Try imagine a time before any of these events had formal rules. They all have a logic to them - we'll run a 100m race, first person across the line wins. we'll throw a spear like object - farthest wins etc. Then you get to the walk. We'll walk a long distance (two distances, one less than half of the longest running race, one slightly longer) where you must land on a straight leg. It's also acceptable to run just not in a way that can be visible to the judges' eye. Do you think you'd say - oh yeah, that sounds like a deadly event, can't wait to try it!'

Not a lot of logic to Rugby, but that doesnt stop us enjoying our national team's success.

As ENORMOUS a fan I am of Derval, there is no doubt about who this award should go to. 2nd beats 4th any day of the week. I fail to see how this can actually be a debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Man_bear_pig

ecoli wrote: »
    Despite this i still feel that someone who was expected to struggle to qualify from her heats and her semi s to be only European in the final and to get fourth setting a new NR along the way.
    Compare this to a person who was expected to be in the top 6 to top 10 at worst and was percieve to have an outside shot of a medal.
    Not belittling her achievement i think it was fantastic it was just the exceeding of expections to such a degree should be admired.
    Here is a comparison
    Bookie prices to win any medal
    O Loughnane 9/1
    D O'Rourke 50/1

Notice the difference?

Luke?

When people run it looks something like what happens in the running events at the Olympics. I've never seen someone walk to work with race-walking technique.

Ya so when people come past the finish of the marathon in 4 hours you see a gebraselassie in them. same long stride and fragile body! thats total bull. You pick someone on the street up whos walking and keep telling them to go faster at some point they are going to resemble a race walker and race walking thecnique isn't easy you aren't going to just naturally do it.

I'm not on the panel by the way. Because I think walking is a stupid event, I don't regard 2nd in the world at walking as as good an achievement as a finalist in other events. Obviously it still takes quite a bit of talent and hard work to get there. That's my opinion. You disagree. Fair enough - you're just wrong :P

Your really naive. I'm not saying that your wrong because of your toughts cause i know thats only your opinion. All the medals at the world are the same the girl who beat Olive in the walk got the same medal as Usain end of the story. Not everybody runs but most people walk so being the best of everybody is something to be proud of.
    Next time your at the nationals tell rob heff he is wasting his time if you think walking is pointless

04072511 wrote: »
    As ENORMOUS a fan I am of Derval, there is no doubt about who this award should go to. 2nd beats 4th any day of the week. I fail to see how this can actually be a debate.

Come on - in the same event, yes. In different events you've got to be considering the relative merit of the achievement. That's what the debate is about.

I'm the M55 national shot putt champion but I'm not gonna claim I'm up there alongside the top M55 runners, for example.

PS - I was the only entrant...:pac::pac:

4th wont show up on the record books . 2nd will

dna_leri wrote: »
    why ?
    It's not something I could ever see myself wanting to do and in terms of athletics I don't think it is as competitive as other events.
    04072511 wrote: »
    Not a lot of logic to Rugby, but that doesnt stop us enjoying our national team's success.
    I don't like rugby. Can't explain it's prominence.
    Ya so when people come past the finish of the marathon in 4 hours you see a gebraselassie in them. same long stride and fragile body! thats total bull. You pick someone on the street up whos walking and keep telling them to go faster at some point they are going to resemble a race walker and race walking thecnique isn't easy you aren't going to just naturally do it.

If you keep telling them to pick up the pace, they'll end up running!
    Your really naive. I'm not saying that your wrong because of your toughts cause i know thats only your opinion. All the medals at the world are the same the girl who beat Olive in the walk got the same medal as Usain end of the story. Not everybody runs but most people walk so being the best of everybody is something to be proud of.
    Next time your at the nationals tell rob heff he is wasting his time if you think walking is pointless

I won't tell Rob Hefferenan that as I don't know him and it wouldn't really be my place to go up to him and tell him his or any other event was stupid. If he asked for my opinion I would have no problem giving it to him. I don't go out of my way to diss the walk - just when it comes up naturally in conversation, during a race or whatever.

Regarding the medals being the same. Do you think that getting third in this year's women's national steeplechase was as much of an achievement as getting third in the 1500m (if whoever was third in the steeplechase reads this - this isn't meant to offend you). If the competition is greater in one event than another then the medals are of different value. I don't think the competition is as great in the walk as in most other events

Regarding the medals being the same. Do you think that getting third in this year's women's national steeplechase was as much of an achievement as getting third in the 1500m (if whoever was third in the steeplechase reads this - this isn't meant to offend you). If the competition is greater in one event than another then the medals are of different value. I don't think the competition is as great in the walk as in most other events[/quote]

Ya obviously thats national championships the standered isn't great.
    Maybe your right competition isn't great in the walk because doing a 10k will put most people off the event. So beating the two national champions in the walk would be easy. The walk is Irelands only event with two world class athletes in both men and womens disicpline

The reason why steeplechase will have less athletes then the 1500m is because its tougher being a useless athlete in the steeplechase you'll look a lot more idiotic then being a useless athlete in the 1500m. Now since the walk is an indurance event and takes years to get good at you will obviously be discouraged early which will leave the best their maybe not be 20 entrants like middle distance but the standered at the top in just as good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

bourne99 wrote: »
    I don't know what "Boards Athlete of the Quarter" is, and frankly I was surprised that my name wasn't on the list! But, what I do know is that Derval looked HOT at the worlds!!! You know it!

That Derval O'Rourke, she's so hot right now. :D

Ya obviously thats national championships the standered isn't great.
    Maybe your right competition isn't great in the walk because doing a 10k will put most people off the event. So beating the two national champions in the walk would be easy. The walk is Irelands only event with two world class athletes in both men and womens disicpline

The reason why steeplechase will have less athletes then the 1500m is because its tougher being a useless athlete in the steeplechase you'll look a lot more idiotic then being a useless athlete in the 1500m. Now since the walk is an indurance event and takes years to get good at you will obviously be discouraged early which will leave the best their maybe not be 20 entrants like middle distance but the standered at the top in just as good

Fair point that it's only the bad ones that get put off. I think though, that very few people would grow up thinking I want to be Olympic walk champion whereas a lot would grow up thinking I'd love to be 800/1500/5k/10k marathon champion. There isn't a culture of walk. This has to have a negative effect on competition. Even here in Ireland, where we have more success in it than in other events, it is still ridiculed and enjoys no status. If someone told me I could be Olympic champion in the walk, I wouldn't bother. It'd mean nothing to me. I can't see the point of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I'm surprised that Olive Loughnane didn't win too.

I'm even more surprised at the over-the-top reaction to the result of what is a poll done for a bit of fun. Olive didn't miss out on (and Derval didn't win) a large cash prize presented at a prestigous function. It's just a collection of internet geeks didn't vote her number 1!! It is not a disrace/sham/insult - just a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Tingle wrote: »
    "People talk about bringing in Padraig Harrington, Roy Keane etc. to motivate teams the night before big matches. If I was a manager the only person I'd be getting in would be Derval. The combination of the talent and being able to produce it when it matters is the complete package."

"Managed to peak perfectly to a new national record to her fourth place in WC and being the only European to make the final"

Roy Keane? Motivate? Don't you mean scare the living daylights and antagonise?:)

pwhite587 wrote: »
    I'm surprised that Olive Loughnane didn't win too.

I'm even more surprised at the over-the-top reaction to the result of what is a poll done for a bit of fun. Olive didn't miss out on (and Derval didn't win) a large cash prize presented at a prestigous function. It's just a collection of internet geeks didn't vote her number 1!! It is not a disrace/sham/insult - just a bit of fun.

In my opinion its not the prize that matters. Athletes aren't motivated by material reward such as awards, certainly not 'Boards' athlete of the quarter. However I feel that the least Olive Loughnane deserved was the recognition of the fact that she delivered our only medal at the World Championships. All logic suggests our only medalist was our leading performer. Also her post Berlin form was better than Derval's.

We have four medal winners at the world championships in 26 years and two of these people have succeeded in the womens 20k walk. These are the simple facts. Yet people seem more concerned with questioning the merit of the event than appreciating an amazing achievement. Olive got a medal, Derval didn't. She is Irelands leading athlete in 2009. She was our leading athlete in 2008 in Beijing. She was also fourth in the European cup this season.

Some people have quoted Paddy Power odds as a reason for their decision. I fail to see the logic? An outsider pulling a blinder is somehow perceived to be better that our leading performer producing yet another display of world class performance??

Some of those opposing her here are coming out with comments like 'if you disagree with me you're wrong' and sticking their tongue out!! I won't comment on that in detail for fear of another ban but come on?? Is that the level of childishness that this site has descended to? Grow up folks. If you don't like the event, thats fair enough. Why demean the achievement of our leading athlete? When the 2009 World Chapionships is reviewed in years to come, it will show that Ireland won one medal. Young athletes will aspire to such greatness and we should applaud Olive Loughnane's fantastic success and recognise it for what it is. But some people are tunnel visioned and myopic by nature.

If you are reading Olive, don't worry about the views of those who can't look beyond their own event or area of specific interest. The only award required this year was a medal from Berlin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Not surprised by the snobbishness displayed here.

Fair play on medaling Olive, in spite of your knockers.

There are people who see Soccer/GAA/Rugby as the be-all and end-all of sport who would have zero interest in Derval O'Rourke's achievement and wouldnt rank it anywhere close to achievements in their preferred sports. This is no different to what is going on here.

SS43

This is the last time i'm going to respond because its beggining to take away from Olive's achievment.

Your views on athletics are very one sided just because you've no interest in certin events you basically say there a pile of crap. You seem to think the only pros about athletics is looking cool wining maybe the 100m. To be honest athletics isn't particualy cool. Teenagers aren't intrested in athletics and maybe thats why constantly where punching above our weight at global events but young people dont want to be an athlete, training 5-7 days a week, not drinkin with their mates on a friday night, constantly tired but yet some do it. So neither athletics or racewalking isn't cool so to be honest there on a par and if your bragging on about how crap racewalking is with other athletics events you need to look at ahtletics in general in Ireland

Can we have a boards vote to see who gets athlete of the quarter???

If you are reading Olive, don't worry about the views of those who can't look beyond their own event or area of specific interest. The only award required this year was a medal from Berlin.

Mr Kiptanui, I doubt if Olive gives a monkey's what any of us thinks. I'm surprised you're so upset. A few people have given pretty cogent arguments as to why they may agree with the panel's decision. You have given - in no uncertain terms, your reasons for disagreeing.

All are entitled to their opinion in our great democracy and I suggest it is, at the end of the day, a pretty footling matter to be getting wound up over.

SS43

This is the last time i'm going to respond because its beggining to take away from Olive's achievment.

Your views on athletics are very one sided just because you've no interest in certin events you basically say there a pile of crap. You seem to think the only pros about athletics is looking cool wining maybe the 100m. To be honest athletics isn't particualy cool. Teenagers aren't intrested in athletics and maybe thats why constantly where punching above our weight at global events but young people dont want to be an athlete, training 5-7 days a week, not drinkin with their mates on a friday night, constantly tired but yet some do it. So neither athletics or racewalking isn't cool so to be honest there on a par and if your bragging on about how crap racewalking is with other athletics events you need to look at ahtletics in general in Ireland

Can we have a boards vote to see who gets athlete of the quarter???

I didn't say that because I'd no interest it was a pile of crap (or I didn't mean it to come across that way anyway). I think the walk is a pile of crap (your term) because I see no point in the event as it's an unnatural movement, one can win the race by running the whole way (in theory), it puts a silly limitation on people (technique rules).

I have no interest in the throwing events or long jump either but I can see their worth. I don't call them a pile of crap. I'm just not interested in them. I also don't have much interest in hurdles.

Athletics is about proving you're the best (best in the world or best you can be) at something. If there is reason behind the event it makes it a lot more worthwhile in my opinion. I cannot see reason to a walking race when 1) to move quickly with the same resources, one would run!; 2) the rules of walking races allow people to run in a subtle manner; 3) the technique enforced is removed from a natural walk.

I don't think racewalking and athletics are on a par in that athletics is respected a lot more than racewalking. I'd say most events have more participants, running does anyway and I would contend (although hard to prove) that the competition is higher in most other track and field events.

Kiptanui, sorry for making an attempt at humour :P

No a poster like that cannot demean Olive's achievement. He is no reflection on how her performance is viewed in Irish athetics. People should be aware of that fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭helpisontheway

I think some posters may be OVERREACTING a little bit!:rolleyes: World championship withdrawl symptoms or Irish Track withdrawl symtoms:confused::D
    People were invited to be part of the voting commitee so if you felt so strongly about the award[Which means very very little to be honest] you should have taken your chance then!
    Again Congratulations to Olive,Derval,David,Ciara,Paul,Thomas and all the Irish athletes who had fantastic performances throughout the season.As i always say to the athletes i coach its all about the performance and if that brings a medal[as it did for Olive but not for Derval] so be it.Its only an opinion by a small group of posters that Dervals performance was better,not that Olives medal wasnt a fantastic achievement.