Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin marathon?

• 01-10-2009 10:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭

Hello there-

had a whimsical brainfart today- why not run the Dublin Marathon?!

Several experienced cyclists I know recommended taking 2-4wks off the bike round about this time of year, so Im thinking I might do some running, and the marathon seems like a good goal to do some structured training for.. ?

Ive got no history or experience in running, and in fact the furthest ive ever run is maybe 2k.
    However, I started cycling almost 2 years ago, did the tour of ireland last year after 3 months of cycling, and did a lot of racing this year, in addition to cycling from mizen to malin non stop (590km) in a group

So question is- is 24 days 10hrs ( its on the 26th Oct) enough time to get a bit of running in and be in with a chance of a respectablish time?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Go and ask the Athletic forum but be sure you have your armour plating on:D

From my own experience of running 1 8km every year cycling fitness and legs do not like running.

Who are you? was it the westernlakes m2m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭stopped_clock

csb1989 wrote: »
    Hello there-

had a whimsical brainfart today- why not run the Dublin Marathon?!

Several experienced cyclists I know recommended taking 2-4wks off the bike round about this time of year, so Im thinking I might do some running, and the marathon seems like a good goal to do some structured training for.. ?

Ive got no history or experience in running, and in fact the furthest ive ever run is maybe 2k.
    However, I started cycling almost 2 years ago, did the tour of ireland last year after 3 months of cycling, and did a lot of racing this year, in addition to cycling from mizen to malin non stop (590km) in a group

So question is- is 24 days 10hrs ( its on the 26th Oct) enough time to get a bit of running in and be in with a chance of a respectablish time?

Cheers

Off the cuff, I'd say "no". Sorry.

I always find running difficult if I haven't done it for a while, even if I've been doing a lot of cycling. There was a time during the summer when I could cycle 100k easily, but couldn't run 1500m without struggling.

Aside from the different muscles used, running needs much more 'support structure' than cycling. You're talking about 3 weeks training and you should be tapering for the last 2. I'd worry you'd do yourself an injury, frankly.

That said, you do hear stories about people running marathons with next to no training and doing reasonably. You're obviously fit enough from racing etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

I think you should go for it. 3 1/2 weeks training, sure it would be no probs.

I've run 3 16 milers, and a 18 miler in the last 14 weeks as well as averaging 30 miles running per week, i'll do a 20 miler this weekend and another 16 the following weekend. I've run a 5 mile race, a 10 mile race, two 10k races and a half marathon in that time and I still feel under prepared.

..... But on the back of one 2k run ever, you'll be grand, ask in the athletics forum, I'm sure they'll agree ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

Definitely doable, but I dunno about a respectable time. Expect a few shinsplints if you run too far too soon (ie. 26 miles;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

The Irish Society of Chartered Physiotherapists wishes you well in your endeavour, and looks forward to a long and prosperous relationship.

Seriously, half marathon = piece of cake, marathon = world of hurt.

The distance deserves respect.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

No problem. Sure I'll probably win the f**kin thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

very funny !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭big mce

Funny man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

So long as your happy with 5/17 hours youll be fine.

TBH fitness is only one part, your tendons and ligaments need preparation time, the soles of your feet need some kinda forewarning even the action of swinging your arms for such a time and distance could become an issue.

Also afaik its full anyway so getting an entry number maybe an issue.

Def post up in the A/R/T forum and they'll tell you what they think, I do a bit of running as was thinking of giving it a go 2 months ago but decided that I didnt have enough training time...

+1 on what Luman said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 EvilHomer73

No bother to you it's only wimps that need at least 12 months running before they even contemplate an 18 week training programme to run a marathon.

Seriously I can run 10 miles without any difficulty and there is no way in hell I would even think about running the DCM this year.

If you want to do some running then by all means do just aim for a shorter race, coming from your fitness level go for a 5K to start with or a 10 if you are feeling brave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

The marines say no in this 6 month plan
    The purpose of this training schedule is to articulate a MINIMUM baseline of training that is advised for a beginning runner who aspires to run their first marathon in the fall. This schedule provides only basic mileage that will get you to the starting line with enough training to simply finish the marathon.

But fcukit, why not catch a flight to Kathmandu instead and do Everest, sans oxygen?

For pacing, go out and do a 1500m run, then use the McMillan Running Calculator to compute your target time for the marathon.

Don't be distracted by the nonsense on that site about preparation and training, you're better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

csb1989 do you think a runner with no experience in cycling could do the wicklow 200 with 24days off training. Just run easy for 24days, then back on your bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

No bother to you it's only wimps that need at least 12 months running before they even contemplate an 18 week training programme to run a marathon.
    lukester wrote: »
    The marines say no in this 6 month

Shut up --- I've not done 6 months and I'm fine (or the pre-requisite 12 pre-plan build up) --- toughen up people.

Worst case scenario is you hurt your legs beyond belief and end up crippled for the rest of your life in a hospital ward with Lumen visiting your daily reminding you how stupid you were.

On reflection I bet he'll do it, and in a relatively respectable time

Hey if this guy can do 43 surely we can all do one.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/magazine/8256589.stm

The most important thing here is not to listen to Scott, he's made of different stuff to the rest of us :)

Yeah, but so is csb1989.

What's the collective noun for Gumps? A Forrest of Gumps?

oh -- can you oultine your training plan from last year

It wouldn't take very long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

well, ya wont be running anywhere, registration is closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭csb1989

right read all the posts and realised I'd be in for some nay-saying, but maybe I should define my idea of a reasonable time- something beginning with a 5 would be great, a 4 awesome- this gives an average speed in the single digits, so a brisk walk..

The longest walk I ever did was 34km in 8-9hrs a year before I started cycling and when I didnt do any sport.. at all

Also, I went for a run this morning to see what the legs would feel like;

Warm-up was 1.2km walking, then did a 2.1km lap at a run that felt relatively comfortable (avgHR 152, my max is something like 190). Then walked another lap, and then ran the next two laps. Warm-down 1.2km walking. Total time 1h7mins for 10.8km

I was about 15-20s faster than the previous lap on each lap I ran, despite some pain in left quad on 2nd lap- kept going and it subsided..

I was running on a beach so the ground was pretty uneven at times and I felt that either side of my ankles, but only during the run- fine now

Online registration still seems to be open, so I presume its not yet full??

Oh ps. that macmillian thing based on my time for 2000m calculates a 4h30 marathon, but a pre-requisite of that calculation may be some experience in running..

So basically sub 6 hrs and Ill be happy enough- job done.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Right so you have 23 days to do it. You could run 1 mile today, then 2 the following, 3 the next, then 4.....you can see where this is going. You'll be up at 23 miles the day before the marathon. On the day its self the cheering of the crowds will help you through the last 3 miles.

I should be an athletics coach.

So basically sub 6 hrs and Ill be happy enough- job done.. :P

5:15 is possible for someone whos entire training plan consisted of one 10 mile run.

This I know for a fact :)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

5:15 is possible for someone whos entire training plan consisted of one 10 mile run.

Is that the voice of experience? You ran the marathon after only one training run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

The problem is that with the fitness you have from cycling, you have the cardiovascular capacity to completely fúck yourself up. Runners starting from nothing have a cushion, they will run out before they do themselves serious injury. The muscles are completely different. I tried running last year and did 10km in my second run... no problem from a heart rate etc. point of view but I could barely walk for a week afterwards.

Seriously though I don't think this is a good idea. Why not swim the channel instead, that is non impact.

:D;):D;):D;):D;)

It's not a good idea, you whole system has to adjust, including the skeletal frame which is the final thing to adjust. You could seriously do yourself some harm running 26.2 miles on a hard surface with zero training.

If you want to do a marathon, do one next year and get 12 months running behind you. as said before, the distance needs to be respected.

I haven't done one yet but I have been absolutely zonked after an 18 mile training run and I am still tired this week after the Dublin half on Saturday.

Within the training, which is usually an 18 week programme, there are fall back weeks and rest days which allow you body to recouperate from the intensive training. I have built up slowly but have needed to see the Physio several times anyway, with itb problems etc. Be very careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

My father-in-law runs lots, 25+ marathons completed. When I was considering taking up running a bit more actively, he banged on at length about how long it takes for the musculo-skeletal system to adapt. Running is very punishing on the body- it takes a long time to build up the necessary adaptation, yada yada.

I proved this to myself by running as far as I could based on my cardio-vascular fitness- my legs were very sore for a good while afterwards.

Maybe you'd get through it, but at what cost in terms of injury? If you're looking for an epic challenge, I'd be looking at something non-impact as Lumen suggests.

There's something wrong with boards, I keep logging intop the cycling forum but I keep getting directed to the A/R/T one... wotz with all this running talk... we'll have no trouble here!!!

hqdefault.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 LC7

I just did the Phoenix Park half-marathon 2 weeks ago - 1hr 51mins :) Coz i was so busy with work and college i could only really get out for a long run at the weekends. All the while I was cycling 5 miles every day to UCD, tbh while cycling improves your lungs and thighs especially, it doesnt prepare you at all for the abuse your legs take over a long run. Soles of feet, achilles and groins I found were the worst (in that order). I think you'd be mad to do it! But if you do I can guarantee you you wont walk properly for 2 weeks! Get good runners!! Let us know what you decide anyway.

I mentioned that I was thinking of doing it to my dad at the weekend, and he entered me straight away- now that its paid I guess I have to do it..

Looking to buy some good runners now but I reckon Ill probably end up walking half (or more :P ) of it

Report back this time 3weeks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Best advice I can give if your really going to do this is to drink at every water station and keep your heart rate around the 150 mark. If your getting new runners do it asap so they'll be some way worn in! You should try to get a couple of 20k plus runs in too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 1tony

you can do it no problem, pace yourself at 10/11 mins per mile (this is a light jog) if youve no running experience - you have the advantage that you'll be fresh, half the people overtrain and start off too fast and end up walking from 10 miles,
    i did the marathon once after 3 runs (6 mile / 12 miles / 18 miles) with about the same time left - its an experience you can dine out on but dont expect a good time or to feel too good afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 EvilHomer73

Personally I think you are mad to even consoder this. And as I said eralier I'm a relatively experienced runner. Most marathon training plans will have you starting to taper now not begin training.

You will have to run 20 times as far as you have ever run before.

Yow will take approx 90 strides per min so lets say for a 4.5hour marathon that will equate to nearly 25000 strides, do you think your joints, ligaments etc can take the strain of that?

Now lets say you actually do by some miracle finish without injuring yourself, it takes an experienced runner up to a month to recover from a marathon, are you willing to take that long?

Put simply if you value your fitness and body dont do it, the marathon deserves respect and will break anyone who doesn't appreciate that.

If you do decide to go ahead let me know and I will recommend a good physio when you finish....you will be seeing a lot of them.

+1 on the respect. Even Lance Armstrong, having underestimated the training required, struggled with his first marathon.

I've already contributed twice to this thread - you have been given the information as to why this is a very bad idea, on your own head be it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 1tony

I still say GO FOR IT - whats the worst that can happen, this is my 10th marathon and the most memorable was the hardest (described earlier)....
    almost everyone will suffer during the marathon,...evil is right in that it will take 4-6 weeks to recover but sure what else would you be doing this time of year??
    either way dont regret it

1tony wrote: »
    I still say GO FOR IT - whats the worst that can happen?

Well there is this, but the odds are hardly worth worrying about.

Ah sure, it'll be grand.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

.....bring a few hang sangwiches with ye.........

The worst that could happen would be that you will feck up your legs in some way that will require an extensive course of physiotherapy to sort out and possibly leave you unable to perform well on the bike (or run for that matter) for months afterwards.

Might not happen either, you could be fine. Do you feel lucky!

Overuse injuries are not fun I can assure you.

Well I didnt have a heart attack, but I did learn a bit of a lesson. People are certainly right in saying that completing a Marathon is not something to consider lightheartedly..

The level of pain really is something else from anything I have EVER experienced on a bike- compounded by the completely unrelenting nature of running, the legs are thoroughly destroyed at the moment :eek:

It almost makes me wonder why anyone runs Marathons at all- does the pain go away for repeat offenders?!

Aside from the pain, it was truly a fantastic occasion- running in a group of seemingly limitless size and through cheering crowds that similarily seemed to know no bounds was quite an experience! :) Their cheers meant I even managed a little sprint with 300m to go :P
    Add to that the pleasant surprise that was the weather and it was quite a day ;)
    Wouldnt like to be one of the people who has to clean up after it though- the amount of litter was horrifying!

Final time was 4hrs10mins, pretty happy with that all things considered, although Im sure its a time no runner would boast of.. :p:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Wouldnt like to be one of the people who has to clean up after it though- the amount of litter was horrifying!

Final time was 4hrs10mins, pretty happy with that all things considered, although Im sure its a time no runner would boast of.. :p:o

My aunt lives on Roebuck rd. and I was over there today. Had to park a few blocks away (no bother, one day a year for marathoners) but luckily I had the bike with me from mountain biking. Anyway, cycling back to the car, the road was FULL of plastic bottles and cups. I was just glad I had a hardtail, those things were tricker than wet roots.

Even stranger, the cleanup crews were using leafblowers to clear the mess. I've never understood leaf blowers; they don't seem to do much else except create noise and make a small mess bigger.

Congrats on finishing it by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

Well I didnt have a heart attack, but I did learn a bit of a lesson. People are certainly right in saying that completing a Marathon is not something to consider lightheartedly..

The level of pain really is something else from anything I have EVER experienced on a bike- compounded by the completely unrelenting nature of running, the legs are thoroughly destroyed at the moment :eek:

It almost makes me wonder why anyone runs Marathons at all- does the pain go away for repeat offenders?!

Aside from the pain, it was truly a fantastic occasion- running in a group of seemingly limitless size and through cheering crowds that similarily seemed to know no bounds was quite an experience! :) Their cheers meant I even managed a little sprint with 300m to go :P
    Add to that the pleasant surprise that was the weather and it was quite a day ;)

Fair play - and 4hrs 10 is not anything to be ashamed of. Some people will tell you that it will hurt tomorrow. Don't listen to them that's rubbish :) it will REALLY hurt on Wednesday. Be careful especially the first time you come forwards down a stairs. If you're not gone to bed already then get the fluids in and some carbs if you can. If you didn't get any massage do as much stretching as you can bear tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

heffsarmy wrote: »
    csb1989 do you think a runner with no experience in cycling could do the wicklow 200 with 24days off training. Just run easy for 24days, then back on your bike.

Just seeing this now, actually I would have thought the answer was yes.

And OP, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Curleymob as I told ya last Sat you are a mad B**t**d. 4.10 is not to be sneezed at epecially on your training. Legs will be very sore Wed onwards. A few dips in Lough Carra might help. But remember this the pain would be less if you had started earlier and trained harder.

Well done csb1989!

Very respectable time under the circumstances. Hope you're not too badly damaged. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dura Ace

These are the times for cyclists (and the clubs that they are/were with) that I'm aware of that did the marathon yesterday. I'm sure there are a lot more though.

Paul Heneghan (Lucan CRC) 2:56:42
    Will Byrne (Sorrento) 3:12:25
    Ger Madden (Obelisk Wheelers) 3:34:18
    Aidan Duff (Bray Wheelers) 3:49:19
    Derry McVeigh (Emerald CC) 3:56:48
    David Lane (Orwell Wheelers) 3:58:45

Great times by all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

uberwolf wrote: »
    Just seeing this now, actually I would have thought the answer was yes.

And OP, fair play.

i talked to a runner last week who did a marathon the week before and only got their road bike a day or two before...so you are right, though it sounded like they suffered lots!

I think it would be easier for a runner to do a "marathon" cycling event like the W200 as cycling is weight supported. Not easy, but easier than the other way around. Less opportunity for injury.

Well done OP to get through it on that training, a very respectable time I would have thought.