Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike License

• 01-10-2009 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else think that people should show some proof of being a) sane and b) capable to ride a bike on the open road ?

I know its unrealistic that kids would need to get a license - but even for things like the Velib bike scheme, should people not have some basic training before being allowed out on them?

I ask because I saw a guy sail through a red light and out in front of a bus the other day - the guy never even looked up before going through, as if he was wearing an invincible suit or something because hs was on a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Lumen wrote: »
    No.

fair enough - good argument, point taken :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Crippens

I think some sort of training or awareness skills is necessary otherwise there is simply no barrier to any wally getting on a bike and sailing out onto multi-lane roads. Having an age limit and a licence requirement are barriers for drivers so why not "something" for cyclists. It could only help reduce the amount of poor cycling behaviour on the road.

RobAMerc wrote: »
    fair enough - good argument, point taken :D

There is an endless list of potentially dangerous activities which might be licensed, but are not, because they do not pose a substantial risk to other people.

For instance: skydiving, swimming, eating at McDonalds, having sex, cycling.

Though I do quite like the idea of compulsory basic training for sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Crippens wrote: »
    I think some sort of training or awareness skills is necessary otherwise there is simply no barrier to any wally getting on a bike and sailing out onto multi-lane roads. Having an age limit and a licence requirement are barriers for drivers so why not "something" for cyclists. It could only help reduce the amount of poor cycling behaviour on the road.

Because the testing and licensing of motorists has done such a good job of improving driver behaviour and competency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

having kids - you should be licensed before having them defo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

No.

I second this response. Nanny state gone mad.

There is an endless list of potentially dangerous activities which might be licensed, but are not, because they do not pose a substantial risk to other people.

For instance: skydiving, swimming, eating at McDonalds, having sex, cycling.

Because you are more often than not sharing the road with other traffic, you have the potential to be very dangerous to a lot of people.

However I do agree on training for sex - now the question is, would I want to marry the instructor or not :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

No for a license as I think it would be costly, unworkable and not achieve a whole lot.

I do believe that cycling and driving should be thought at schools (possibly to the transition year class).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

No......

Mr Charles Darwin will take care of the idiots.

Seriously, I'm not sure a licence will moderate the behaviour described - but some enforcement might - except in the overall scheme of things the Guards have got slightly better things to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭ogriofa

its funny, I wouldnt right it off completely! (I know, I'm surprising the sh1t out myself too!)

I have an advanced rider qualification for the motorbike. Saves me from a potential accident at least once a week.
    I have taken up cycling recently and these skills are directly translated to the bike.

Maybe a general road safety course? You can use these skills forever with any form of transport. They involve cop on & paying attention. The realist in me fears that this would fall on its arse though :o

Something instead of that less than useless aptitude test maybe?

Because you are more often than not sharing the road with other traffic, you have the potential to be very dangerous to a lot of people.

How, specifically?

I'm sure you could think of some hypothetical scenarios, but if this were actually the case then (given the amount of idiotic cycling) there would be daily reports of people being killed by cyclists. There are not.

ROK ON wrote: »
    No for a license as I think it would be costly, unworkable and not achieve a whole lot.

I do believe that cycling and driving should be thought at schools (possibly to the transition year class).

I certainly agree with this, I find Irish people have little or none of whats called 'Road Craft' - or basic understanding of how traffic works - some trianing at an early age will help everyone who uses the road - from pedestrians, cyclists and motorists.

My point about the license is its proof of completing some form of training - there would not be a test or anything like it.
    It would be particularly useful for those using the Vleb scheme as a precursor to signing up, as I imagine alot of the users of them would have no real interest in biking and therefore not have the skills necessary to stay alive and not be a general nuisance to the rest of us !

My point about the license is its proof of completing some form of training - there would not be a test or anything like it.
    It would be particularly useful for those using the Vleb scheme as a precursor to signing up, as I imagine alot of the users of them would have no real interest in biking and therefore not have the skills necessary to stay alive and not be a general nuisance to the rest of us !

Really is it? Can you tell me if the chairman of the RSA ever sat a test or got any training before getting his license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

It would be more trouble that it was worth. Difficult to enforce or administer, so no.

On-road training is a great idea though. Something like the Bikeability programme in the UK would be nice.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Does anyone else think that people should show some proof of being a) sane and b) capable of drinking alcohol in a pub?

I know its unrealistic that kids would need to get a license - but even for things like a glass of wine with dinner, should people not have some basic training before being allowed to uncork a bottle?

I ask because I saw a guy stagger out of a pub and fall flat on his face in front of a bus the other day - the guy never even looked up before going out on the road, as if he was wearing an invincible suit or something because he was locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

I so want to say something good here about women I've been with etc but know I would be slated for it!

what about compulsory trouser training ?

EVERY morning millions of us put on trousers . . . unaware they could land us in hospital.

The item of clothing causes almost 6,000 accidents a year, according to the Department of Trade and Industry.

A woman of 29 was burned while ironing trousers that she was still wearing.

A drunken 37-year- old man tripped and banged his head against a wall while trying to take his jeans off.

An impatient two-year-old, waiting for his nappy to be changed, was bruised when he tried to clamber off the sofa and was tripped by the trousers around his ankles.

And a man of 46, pulling on his jeans, dislocated ...

A woman of 29 was burned while ironing trousers that she was still wearing.

I know a triathlete that did this to a jump he was wearing. Got extremely bad burns on his stomach. HAHA, he should have sat an ironing test and got a license, no?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

How do you get a Kerryman to burn his face? Ring him up while he's ironing his trousers.

triathletes ................................. need we say more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

There are a lot of bad cyclists out there. I'm not sure licensing would stop this. It certainly hasn't stopped bad driving.

The fact that you can go drive for an hour around churchtown and be certified to drive on motorways, in poor conditions, with a car full of drunken friends trying to mess with the stereo, etc. shows that even when we do have licensing standards in this country, they are rarely adequate.

Although, I would like different classes of license, like in Gran Turismo. Being able to perform a skid stop from 60 km/hr and stopping in a small checkered box is surely something you would want to lord over POBs.

"A License, cuz I ain't no Fred, Bitch!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

el tonto wrote: »
    Does anyone else think that people should show some proof of being a) sane and b) capable of drinking alcohol in a pub?

By god, finally a proposal I can get behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

think this thread should be closed before it get too ridiculous!

There is a sort of 'training' for road use and laws surrounding it - i.e. the highway code (or whatever its called over here in Ireland) and it applies to drivers, cyclists, pedestrians (drunk or otherwise) horse riders etc etc. and thats it!

The more leglislation there is the less people can think on there own, look at experiments where all road signs get removed from vilages etc, it helps as it allows people to think on their own and decide. There will always be 'accidents' (or incidents etc) that involve injury or death, unless the health and saftly preventative laws get to the stage where its 'dont move, ever'!

now small rant over, I am off for my sex training course..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭p15574

ogriofa wrote: »
    I have an advanced rider qualification for the motorbike. Saves me from a potential accident at least once a week

Does that mean that if you hadn't done the course, you'd have an accident every week? No offence, but surely that's more of a comment on the way you used to ride before you took the course?

We all have frequent incidents where we have to take some sort of evasive action to avoid getting run over by an idiot in a car, but you don't need a PhD to spot it in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭godihatethehils

In Germany if you break the lights on your bike you get points on your driving licence.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

In Germany if you break the lights on your bike you get points on your driving licence.....

What if you dont have a driving license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

In France you can buy a beer in McDonalds.

In a paper cup?

And you know what they call a Quarter Pounder with Cheese in Paris?

Not sure....I'll find out. That would get a few of the boardsies off the hook alright.....

Vincent: All right. Well, you can walk into a movie theater in Amsterdam and buy a beer. And I don't mean just like in no paper cup, I'm talking about a glass of beer. And in Paris, you can buy a beer at McDonald's. And you know what they call a Quarter Pounder with Cheese in Paris?
    Jules: They don't call it a Quarter Pounder with Cheese?
    Vincent: Naw, man, they got the metric system, they wouldn't know what the **** a Quarter Pounder is.
    Jules: What do they call it?
    Vincent: They call it a "Royale with Cheese".

And you know what they call a Quarter Pounder with Cheese in Paris?

They don't call it a quarter pounder?

nah they call ita 113.398 grammer

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    The fact that you can go drive for an hour around churchtown and be certified to drive on motorways, in poor conditions, with a car full of drunken friends trying to mess with the stereo, etc. shows that even when we do have licensing standards in this country, they are rarely adequate.

And it allows you to drive in every Eurpoean country on the other side of the road.

nerd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭stuf

nerd or drug dealer...

back on topic, I did the cycling proficiency in primary school and it's stood me in good stead since. In some ways it was a license for our parents to trust us to ride on the road.

as for a bike license in general, it's a bit of a daft idea really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I believe the points hang around until at some point in the future you get a driving license- they then sit on it from the point you get the license for the two year period or whatever. AFAIK it is from when you get the license, not when you get the points, so you would be best off getting a license as soon as possible in this case so they will expire quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭ogriofa

p15574 wrote: »
    Does that mean that if you hadn't done the course, you'd have an accident every week?
    Really? Is that what you think I was trying to say?
    No offence, but surely that's more of a comment on the way you used to ride before you took the course?
    Nope. Before the training a) I didn't have an accident every week and b) my awareness was way down on what it is now (jedi-like)
    We all have frequent incidents where we have to take some sort of evasive action to avoid getting run over by an idiot in a car
    This is my point, I avoid 99% of these near "incidents" (touch wood), I've already changed lane, adjusted my speed (up or down) or gone somewhere else. I see these scenarios turn into potential incidents turn into horn beeping and fist shaking - all from a different lane.
    but you don't need a PhD to spot it in advance.
    I've tried to keep the smart-arsi-ness down to a minimum.

The point I was trying to make was that training is a good idea. If I had a kid on the road on a bicycle, I'd be sure to get him as road ready as possible.

How about an advanced cycling course, which you pay for, then you get the price of the course off your next bicycle related purchase?

That's a very nice idea.

Drivers can get insurance discounts after doing advanced driving courses.

Why don't cyclists get health insurance discounts after doing advanced cycling courses? Presumably the combination of live-forever fitness and don't-die-now safety would reduce insurance risks?

The market has not offered this solution. Maybe cycling isn't actually very dangerous.

Drivers can get insurance discounts after doing advanced driving courses.

Why don't cyclists get health insurance discounts after doing advanced cycling courses? Presumably the combination of live-forever fitness and don't-die-now safety would reduce insurance risks?

The market has not offered this solution. Maybe cycling isn't actually very dangerous.
    Interesting. If cycling really were very dangerous, it would be taken into account in Life Assurance premiums, the way smoking is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭onimpulse

Surely if cyclists need a licence then pedestrians do too? How many idiots have you seen drop off a curb without so much as turning their head to look for traffic. They aren't dangerous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭andun84

So who's funding it then? If it's not the person taking the test then why should anyone else pay for it?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bikeability
    It looks as if that comes out of the public purse in England.

andun84 wrote: »
    So who's funding it then? If it's not the person taking the test then why should anyone else pay for it?
    I'm an ideas man, I'll leave it to others to sort out the intricacies.

tomasrojo wrote: »
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bikeability
    It looks as if that comes out of the public purse in England.

That's the standard setting and administration of the scheme but it's not the funding of individual training. There are some enlightened councils in England who will get together with other public bodies and ngo's to provide some funding to help reduce, or in some cases pay all the costs, of providing the trianing however there is no widespread publicly funded cycle training for all.

I'm an ideas man, I'll leave it to others to sort out the intricacies.

Perhaps the Cycle to Work could be used. I think the link is obvious as the aim is to encourage new people to cycling and as such these people are probably likely to be riding with less skills than the more experienced rider and as such basic training could be very helpful and probably actually something they would actually want. The ceiling on the scheme could be raised by 100Euro available only to those taking training and the costs would be negligible to the employee as they would be subject to the same tax breaks and paid over a long time.

How's that for an idea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

The govt should create the 'Cycling Services Executive' with a 12 man board. Each one should be appointed by the minister for transport and say 4 from trade unions. They should be allowed expenses to use the govt jet to research schemes in countries with nice beaches like australia and be allowed to take their wife. There should also probably be 8 regional boards too and also a new civil service dept to liaise. The licence should be 100 euro and it is up to the individual to prove they don't have a bike otherwise they become automatically liable at birth and a bill is issued to the new mum when the pps number is issued. The licence must be renewed yearly for an additional 100 euro linked to inflation obviously. It's probably a good idea to put an import tax on bikes too but link it to the licence in case europe don't like it. Then the gardai can set up check points round blind bends to enforce the new licensing regime. There should probably be a junior minister for cycling too with a committee role and allowance and the use of a garda driver. Don't put a green minister into the role as they have bikes. Put harney in charge and she can charge a blow dry to the new cse everytime she has to put a helmet on for a photo shoot.