Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ITB Airsoft Society

• 28-09-2009 8:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭

If you're interested in joining or would like more info please visit:

http://itbairsoft.com/

or visit our new twitter page at:

https://twitter.com/itbairsoft

or please email itbairsoft@live.ie

The society has many members signed up but is in need of a Chief Financial Officer. Other positions are also open for any who may be interested.

So please help out if you can :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Block G Raptor

KonFusion wrote: »
    If you're interested in joining or would like more info please visit:

http://itbairsoft.webs.com/

or visit our new twitter page at:

https://twitter.com/itbairsoft

or please email itbairsoft@live.ie

The society has many members signed up but is in need of a Chief Financial Officer. Other positions are also open for any who may be interested.

So please help out if you can :D

Airsoft Rocks
    Can I get an AK47
    does it hurt if you hold the gun to someones head and squeeze the trigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Airsoft Rocks
    Can I get an AK47
    does it hurt if you hold the gun to someones head and squeeze the trigger

very funny paul :p

(at least YOU were joking haha)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 LaughingJoker

I signed up for the airsoft society its sound cool!

How much to join? €5?

How many times will there be an outing roughly?

What sort of locations will we be going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 ITB Airsoft Soc

I signed up for the airsoft society its sound cool!

How much to join? €5?

How many times will there be an outing roughly?

What sort of locations will we be going?

Hey joker,

Thanks for signing up :)

Yes it's five euro for membership, as it is for every society at ITB as far as I know.

As to how many times there will be an outing and where we will be going, this depends on how much funding the society receives from the college, and how much funds we can raise ourselves. It also depends on the members.

Simple answer is that we will be going out as much as possible to as many sites as possible (and if it could be pulled off, maybe even a trip abroad) :D and socialising events will also be organised on and off campus too.

I'll be meeting with Vincent (The ITB clubs and societies officer) this thursday to discuss funding etc, and once that is over I'll be organising the AirSoc's first meeting on campus at some point for next week, so I can address questions such as yours and introduce the society members as to what the deal is :)

So keep an eye on your email for that. And if you know anyone who would like to join up, feel free to bring them along, or send me on their details to itbairsoft@live.ie

See ya soon!

Shane M.
    ITB Airsoft Society
    Chairman

http://itbairsoft.webs.com

cool thanks Shane ;)

Maybe get a free domain from Digiweb @ http://digiweb.ie/studentoffer/

Just use your student email when signin up

"itbairsoft.net" sounds nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭kenon

Thats a decent little offer.

The thumb where I thank posts appears to be gone :confused:

But thanks! :p

I was just going to pay webs for the domain, but feck it, free is always better (plus digiweb is across the road...so i can just shout if there's any problems :rolleyes:)

I'll get to work now.

Thanks,

SM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 bilgyguinnes

Hey guys im gonna join ill get the monies asap, ive been before a few times and im hooked :P

Never underestimate the Bang Kill!!!!

Hey guys im gonna join ill get the monies asap, ive been before a few times and im hooked :P

Good stuff!

If you could email me this info:

Name
    Student Number
    phone number

That'd be brill :D

email address is itbairsoft@live.ie in case you dont know.

Check out www.itbairsoft.webs.com for regular updates in the blog, and you can set up your own members page too, just click on the "members" tab :)

Never mind greg, didn't see it was you. Already have all your info :D

Nice boards name btw...sounds queezy ;)

Definitions of bilgy on the Web:
    • smelling like bilge water
    Definitions of bilge on the Web:
    • cause to leak; "the collision bilged the vessel"
    • water accumulated in the bilge of a ship
    • take in water at the bilge; "the tanker bilged"
    • where the sides of the vessel curve in to form the bottom
    haha!! :p

To all interested:

After meeting with the Clubs&Socs Officer today, the Airsoft Society has been granted funding by the college. :)

The college will be paying 15 euro per person per airsoft event that the society has. I haven't worked out the math yet but it's going to significantly cut costs for the members when we go on outings.

Regular updates can be found at www.itbairsoft.com/wordpress
    and on our twitter account www.twitter.com/itbairsoft

All the best!

I love Airsoft I do

There is an airsoft society meeting today in Room A57 in A Block at 12:30pm

There will then be another meeting on Friday in A57 in A Block at 12:30pm

Each meeting will last no more than an hour.

All are welcome :)

Website has been updated :). Home page now redirects to the beta/new site.

I also added a downloads section where members can download the constitution and other important files(if needed). Like is: click here

Can everyone also complete the membership survey form: click here

ALSO: There will be a society meeting next Wednesday. The time has not been decided. It's very important everyone goes to this.

Any questions/comments/feedback feel free to share :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mofogar

Another feckin DEADLY club from ITB!! Get joining lads&ladies!! It's gonna be SOOOOOO much fun!!! Shane your a LEG END!! :D

Hello everyone,

The Airsoft Society will be having a meeting this Wednesday(11th of November) at 1pm in room A57.

The date of our first event/outing will be decided at this meeting, so it is very important that all members and anyone interested attend.

Various other topics will also be discussed.

If you are not a member and would like to join, please also feel free to attend and register as a member. You may also email itbairsoft@live.ie if you would like to join.

See you all on wednesday!

Click here for further details. Thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 mofogar

Hello everyone,

The Airsoft Society will be having a meeting this Wednesday(11th of November) at 1pm in room A57.

The date of our first event/outing will be decided at this meeting, so it is very important that all members and anyone interested attend.

Various other topics will also be discussed.

If you are not a member and would like to join, please also feel free to attend and register as a member. You may also email itbairsoft@live.ie if you would like to join.

See you all on wednesday!

Click here for further details. Thanks :)

I'll be there with bells on man!! not sure how many i'll get this week as i was only in for one lector yesterday&i'm only in for one lab today. But i'll be there bud!! 10 4 Rubber Duckie :D

mofogar wrote: »
    I'll be there with bells on man!! not sure how many i'll get this week as i was only in for one lector yesterday&i'm only in for one lab today. But i'll be there bud!! 10 4 Rubber Duckie :D

Good man!! :D

I've got a good few myself!

I'll be in from around 10am, no classes til 4pm, so if ur in early give me a shout.

Drove thru Ballyboughal on sat didn't see this HRTA place. is it off the beaten track ?

anyway's really looking forward to the first deployment. bought some gear at the weekend, camo's, jacket Ballaclava. now all's I need is a lend of that Armalyte...... It's down in the bogside where I want to be, Lying in the dark with a provo company. a comrade on my left and another on my right and a clip of amunition for my little armalyte....

Drove thru Ballyboughal on sat didn't see this HRTA place. is it off the beaten track ?

anyway's really looking forward to the first deployment. bought some gear at the weekend, camo's, jacket Ballaclava. now all's I need is a lend of that Armalyte...... It's down in the bogside where I want to be, Lying in the dark with a provo company. a comrade on my left and another on my right and a clip of amunition for my little armalyte....

yeah it's a fair bit off the beaten track.

And what an odd song...I've never heard it before in my life ;)

you crazy man :rolleyes:

The Airsoft Society will be having another short meeting this Wednesday(18th of November) at 1pm in room A57.

All members who have yet to pay their membership fee (5 euro, as it is for all societies) please have the money with you on the day and you will be issued a receipt.

There will also be further discussion of our first outing, which myself and the other board members are very, VERY excited about :D.

We'll also be discussing developments on sponsorship, as well as a short Q&A session, and a few other topics.

If you are not a member and would like to join, please also feel free to attend and register as a member. You may also email itbairsoft@live.ie (or click here)

Thanks. See you all then! :)

There will also be further discussion of our first outing, which myself and the other board members are very, VERY excited about :D.

Indeed we are its all I can do to stop wetting my pants with the anticipation

ewwwwww :P :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

Are ye guys entering a team into the Take AIM cup this weekend ?

wish i had known ab out airsoft when i was in itb !
    would have started the society back then ! :)

samhail wrote: »
    Are ye guys entering a team into the Take AIM cup this weekend ?

wish i had known ab out airsoft when i was in itb !
    would have started the society back then ! :)

Nah we wont be entering a Team as most of the experienced players in the society are already in a team that's taking part in the Take AIM Cup.

However we'll be competing at inter-varsity level, and probably against other teams once the society members have a bit more experience :)

Next Take AIM is ours ;)

Intervarcity Airsoft... legend !
    I would loved to have seen Father Paddys face when that soc was created...

"you want to do what ! ?"

Father Paddy? ha, we never had to speak to a Father Paddy :) Was actually easy enough to set up. Thankfully.

Paddy helped us with a good few of the socs when the college was just setup. this is going back to 2001 2002

Hey Everyone,

THE AIRSOFT SOCIETY WILL BE HAVING IT’S FIRST OUTING THURSDAY 10th DECEMBER :D:D

The bus will leave campus at 10am and return at 5:30pm approx

The Prices are as follows:

For those with their own equipment: 10 euro approx.*
    For those without their own equipment: 20 euro approx. **

The prices for the event have been greatly subsidised so I encourage everyone to attend as it’s a great opportunity!

I’m hoping to pick up 10-15 bags of ammo so nobody should run short on the day, however do please bring your own if you can.

There are limited spaces available so please email itbairsoft@live.ie or text to make sure you get a place.(If you don't have my number then please email)

We look forward to seeing you all there!
    Thanks! :)

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

**For those without their own equipment, gun and face mask will be provided.
    *Prices may vary, as we may be granted more funding at the next Clubs&Societies Finance meeting on the 7th of December. So stay tuned for more updates.

Cool!

When can I give ye a deposit?

It is €20 for the full day?

Cool!

When can I give ye a deposit?

It is €20 for the full day?

There'll prob be a meeting on wednesday as usual, you'll be emailed to your student account the details.

(It'll prob be wednesday, 1pm, room A57, but if not the email will say so.)

I'll also be around campus all next week in airsoft kit, so if you see a guy in camo, give him money :D;)

And yeah it's 20 euro for the full day including bus fare, but I'm hoping to get it down to 15 as there is a student union finance committee on the 7th where I'm going to make a request for more funding.

Can't wait!!! :D:D

Myself and a few other society members will be around C block (the one with the canteen) all day tomorrow. We'll be wearing camo so we won't be that hard to miss ;)

We'll be there from 12 til 4, putting up posters and accepting deposits for the day out on the 10th.

So if you see us say hello :D

semi auto only indoors i hope.

samhail wrote: »
    semi auto only indoors i hope.

Indeed there will only be semi-auto allowed indoors :).

I'll be informing people of the rules on the day, however if you want an advance copy, or have any issues, please email me and let me know at itbairsoft@live.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭donfarrell

How'd the recruting go today?
    Get many more members?

donfarrell wrote: »
    How'd the recruting go today?
    Get many more members?

Quite a good few :D Posters turned out well too. It's just too bad I couldnt of had the guns on display. It probably would have attracted more people. Not to worry anyway.

Only a few spaces left on the bus now, so hopefully people will get me their deposits soon enough, or email me and let me know that that they are definitely going.

I'll probably be having a meeting next week. Time and place will be posted here and emailed to everyone's student email once I've decided on the time.

YAY cant wait to go, its gonna be epic :)

I'm dying for it too :D

Quite a good few :D Posters turned out well too. It's just too bad I couldnt of had the guns on display. It probably would have attracted more people. Not to worry anyway.

Only a few spaces left on the bus now, so hopefully people will get me their deposits soon enough, or email me and let me know that that they are definitely going.

I'll probably be having a meeting next week. Time and place will be posted here and emailed to everyone's student email once I've decided on the time.
    Hi Shane did you use the poster's I sent you . sorry i didn't get a chance to do time and date etc. I've got a bad dose of that illness that you don't believe in ...

It's all good man not to worry. I used them in the end anyway and they worked fine. You'll see em round campus when you come back. Got a good few new members too! :)

And oh no, you've got the dreaded monkey muffin aids? :(

Sorry to hear it man. Hope you get better soon, and stay the hell away from me til you do :D:D:P

Jus so you know, if your worried about missing labs and all that, email laura and tell her, because we got an email at the start of the year saying we're not to come in if we have swine flu, and that we wont lose marks etc etc. So make sure to email her.

Yeah lashed a mail off earlier

Good stuff...drink plenty of...ehh....stuff that pigs hate ;)

Lol I'd say pigs would drink anything, it'd be hard to find something they'd hate lol

Except maybe Lemsip *shiver* nobody likes that stuff.
    It just makes me sicker lol

I am definitely going!

Sent email anyway.

Yeah I'm also the user LaughingJoker.

Dont know why I have two accounts...:confused::confused:

Hello Everyone,

There will be a short society meeting on Wednesday in room A57 at 1pm.

Refer to your student email for details (everyone should get an email about it tomorrow at some stage).

Hello Everyone,

There will be a short society meeting on Wednesday in room A57 at 1pm.

Refer to your student email for details (everyone should get an email about it tomorrow at some stage).

Scratch that, room booking facility seems to be down? Blehh :(

Update to follow.

Yay only 2 days left :D
    Hope we do this very often

Yay only 2 days left :D
    Hope we do this very often

If this one goes well then definitely for the future I will be thinking of one event every 2 weeks, or maybe one event a month.

We'll just focus on tomorrows one for now though :D

See you tomorrow.

And for everyone else:

Bus will leave outside of A block at 10am

Also, I forgot to mention:

WEAR BOOTS :D:D

You'll need to wear something with ankle support as the site isn't exactly a stroll in the park and you'll be running around on rough, uneven terrain etc, so please, do your best.

See you all then :pac::pac::pac: