Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Butterflies

• 28-09-2009 7:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Anyone else get these? I call the stomach flippin, swirly sensation in your stomach..butterflies. There was an episode of Sex and the City when Carrie goes "some people are settling, some are settling down..me i wont settle for anything less than butterflies!"

I have a first date on friday and my god..my stomach is in overload. Attraction and chemistry for me isnt just about looks. You might see a good looking guy..but your body is feeling nothing.But have you ever met someone that you dont why or how it happens but every cell in your body is tingling and you're not really sure why? Its feckin brilliant! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

Im with my bf 2 yrs and i still get them whenever im gonna see him...its excitment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

With my OH almost 10 years, living together 7 years yesterday and married 5 years at christmas and I sill get that wonderful butterfly feeling.
    I am still as crazy about him as the day I met him. If he is away working for a few days I am ust so excited about seeing him and get ready the same way as I would have for a frist date...
    Dont think I could do without the good old butterflies. My hubby feels the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I feel sick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I love this feeling. I have them for someone right now. It's been a while since I've had them this strong so it's nice :D

lasair wrote: »
    Im with my bf 2 yrs and i still get them whenever im gonna see him...its excitment

1 year but ditto! Heart leaping and butterflies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

I gotta say no.. I'm with the husband 9 years, and I don't get butterflies. I love him, he loves me, I enjoy spending time with him and hate when we're apart (for long periods of time), but no butterflies on a day to day basis. If we are apart for a week or so, now, I'd still get them when I'm going home. That rarely happens!

I'm not a butterfly person. I get mesmerizing tingles.

I have only really felt like that once...and it is something I wonder about.
    How good things can be without that kind of intense chemical attraction, when everything else is right including the lust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I may have them about someone right now :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Colpriz

all you romantics..fair play ..we need more of this to spread around:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I may have them about someone right now :o
    Did "staring at your phone" get any results? Ah UC..tell us about who ya like?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I still get them with my gf and I'm not ashamed to say it, you really cant beat the ones you get during a first date though, that thing where everything goes really well through the night and there's flirting and tension and then you kiss and you just lose yourself in the moment and you get that magic feeling, I'll take one of those moments over a thousand drunk kisses any day of the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

anniehoo wrote: »
    Did "staring at your phone" get any results? Ah UC..tell us about who ya like?:D
    Not really
    .............................and no:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Not really
    .............................and no:o
    Awww... i know how you feel! Sorry pet!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Butterflies in relationships ahh now they were special. Butterflies for first date.....! butterflies for first kiss......! and yes butterflies for first......

I get them still every now and again. Its kinda a friday thing. Or sometimes the wife flicks the hair a certain way and i remember what i feel for her.... Butterflies

BUTTERFLIES
    Author: Mandy Marie Fogelman

Suddenly I get this feeling
    My mind draws a blank
    My hands are slightly shaking
    My heart begins to race

I feel like I'm losing control
    I'm nervous inside and out
    I have an unexplainable feeling
    I wish I could figure this out

These butterflies inside of me
    Keep fluttering all throughout
    I thought they were gone for good
    I didn't know they could come out

It must be the way
    You get to me like you do
    The way you make me feel
    The way I love you like I do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I get it whenever I am meeting someone new in real life. But never really when I am going on a date or whatever....not that I do that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I got butterflies in my tummy when I did my driving test. :pac:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

there's a hump back bridge in clondalkin when you drive over it gives you a weird feeling in your stomach, not unlike buterflies in your stomach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

a hump back bridge in clondalkin when you drive over it gives you a weird feeling in your stomach, not unlike buterflies in your stomach

+1 the bridge at broombringe into finglas use to be great for that. if you hit the pedels you can actually achieve orbit and butterflies all at once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Colpriz

I get it whenever I am meeting someone new in real life. But never really when I am going on a date or whatever....not that I do that much.

So where does real life begin and end or how much do you do in either existence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

there's a hump back bridge in clondalkin when you drive over it gives you a weird feeling in your stomach, not unlike buterflies in your stomach
    +1 the bridge at broombringe into finglas use to be great for that. if you hit the pedels you can actually achieve orbit and butterflies all at once.

Ye really need to get out of Dublin more:pac: There are ALOT of bridges like this all over the place. Around Drangan Co. Tipperary, I dare you drive around that area for an hour and try not to puke:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I still get butterflies from my husband - first met him 14 years ago but only went on our first date 2 years later...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I still get them, although mine usually manifest in goosebumps, I get them when he touches me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭winking weber

I get them with a guy I know whose gaze just has the most incredible effect on me. Sadly it appears he doesnt feel the same :(

Good luck Anniehoo. Its awesome and a very good sign for your first date :)