Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] Smallville - Season 9 [** SPOILERS **]

• 26-09-2009 12:47pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The show that just won't bloody die is back - with a reasonably decent premier and arc setup, that they'll no doubt squander in the coming months.

Clark's slowly coming close to the Superman role and the new costume - while a bit out of the Matrix - was a nice change from the red'n'blue farmboy look. Chloe didn't have enough to do here so it was down to Lois who didn't grate too much (except when Chloe asked her to stay for something really important and the ignorant cow still legged it).

Zod is hopefully going to be interesting. I've a feeling that it's going to be harder for me to take Callum Blue seriously after his stint on "Dead Like Me" though and he doesn't have the same gravitas as we got with Sam Witer as Doomsday.

The prophetic dreams could be interesting but assuming the future is malleable, I wonder how much they'll actually matter.

Oh and seeing Brian Austin Green as a guest star just annoyed me that Smallville is on Season 9 and the far superior "Terminator: The Sarah Conor Chronicles" didn't get to its third.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Personally I jsut thought it was a load of pants. It just seems like the writers each jot down some stupid and crap/cheesey storyline,but all the ideas into a hat and randomly draw them out. And presto you have a premiere and crappy season arc. Zod is some pansy ass annoying guy with a british accent,and he is like a human soldier with a load of people from krypton,even though Clark was basically touted as the last survivior of krypton,and an odd one or two more might be grand but know there are dozens.

He mentioned something about his blood being taken,so i assume they are clones of some sort from before krypton was destroyed. zod took over lex a few seasons ago so this must be a clone or a different zod otherwise it is shocking writing. and they all convientely don't have super powers,but will get them because future girl is one of the soldiers. I can already see the twist here,the voice in the orb giving instructions has something to do with Lex who they have to keep somehow in the story because Lex Luthor is not dead.

Then you have Oliver in a fight club thing. Yawn. No one can find him after he goes off the radar for weeks but Lois comes back and finds him in 5mins.

Anyone bother telling Lois Jimmy was dead? she didn't bothered if anyone did mention it. things like that annoy me no end.

This show should have ended a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭J-blk

tvnutz wrote: »
    He mentioned something about his blood being taken,so i assume they are clones of some sort from before krypton was destroyed. zod took over lex a few seasons ago so this must be a clone or a different zod otherwise it is shocking writing.

He was referred to as "lieutenant Zod" as well, instead of "general Zod" as we know him from the movies and back when Lex was his "vessel". So yeah, that and the blood thing makes it seem that Zod and his soldiers are clones (Zod himself cloned from a "younger" version than the one we've encountered before) - possibly mixed with human DNA or something to explain the lack of Kryptonian powers?

But yeah, it was crap - I still keep watching because after all these years, I want to see how it all ends, but it's become such a chore...

Hate the "suit" and WTF is up with Clark going all Zorro and leaving the "S" flamed into everything?

And did it seem like an odd cut when he jumped off the statue of liberty, trying to fly? So, did he smack into the ground or finally pull it off? It just seemed to cut back to him at the fortress with Jor-El telling him to quit being a whiny b**ch, so I guess he failed... again...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Jesus...this show is STILL on?, it should have died a few seasons back now.............

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

J-blk wrote: »
    But yeah, it was crap - I still keep watching because after all these years, I want to see how it all ends, but it's become such a chore...
    I think my expectations are so low, that I can stick with it. I still, as I said, want it to die though. I can't wrap my head around the fact it's one of the longest running US sci-fi shows of all time. Given the many excellent shows that never got past season two, it's quite infuriating.
    And did it seem like an odd cut when he jumped off the statue of liberty, trying to fly? So, did he smack into the ground or finally pull it off? It just seemed to cut back to him at the fortress with Jor-El telling him to quit being a whiny b**ch, .
    I thought it was some sort of sim? All in his head or what not.

ixoy wrote: »

Ye that's what I thought it was as well.

And the only reason I am still watching is the same reason as J-blk and probably a few others,I want to see how it ends. I have watched this far,it would be rather stupid to stop watching now,despite how rubbish it is.

Ah ok, a simulation does make sense - I'm obviously not paying too much attention these days when watching episodes of Smallville... Of course, why did it take Clark two whole years almost to finally ask the question why could Kara (and pretty much every other Kryptonian) fly and he can't? He's a bit slow, isn't he?

Anyway, not sure what to make of it now. Up to season 7, Smallville always had strong premieres and finales with increasingly more crap in between... In season 8, the premiere was utter sh**e, but it got surprisingly good a few episodes in, only to turn craptacular as soon as they brought Lana back for a guest stint... Season 9's premiere was probably one of the worst ever, so I wonder if it will follow the season 8 pattern. And is it really going to end this year or will we all be here moaning about season 10 next year? :eek:

Of course, why did it take Clark two whole years almost to finally ask the question why could Kara (and pretty much every other Kryptonian) fly and he can't? He's a bit slow, isn't he?
    Clark has always struck me as being a bit thick. That's probably why they never explained how he got a job at the Daily Planet because he's clearly unqualified and would just fumble his way through.
    Then again how did Lois get a job and become a star reporter with her attitude problems and general disdain for anything like professionalism?

Up to season 7, Smallville always had strong premieres and finales with increasingly more crap in between... In season 8, the premiere was utter sh**e, but it got surprisingly good a few episodes in, only to turn craptacular as soon as they brought Lana back for a guest stint...
    But it was Lana! All bloody hail! The show seemed to worship the ground she walked on whereas I just saw here as the whiney, passive-aggressive bitch who got as much mileage as she possible could out of her meteor-flattened parent's death. Why people kept praising her is something I'll never know.
    And is it really going to end this year or will we all be here moaning about season 10 next year? :eek:
    I hope so. Doesn't it make you depressed to think that a tenth season would make it the longest running US sci-fi show ever? That's just not right.

Doesn't it make you depressed to think that a tenth season would make it the longest running US sci-fi show ever? That's just not right.

That would be depressing indeed :). I had to look it up to see how many episodes Stargate SG-1 got and it was 214 + the two movies. If we consider the two movies as 2 episodes each of the series proper, than we get to 218. If Smallville gets a 22 episode season 10, then yes, the series alone would be 218 making it longer than SG-1 even... Aaaaargh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I love Smallville, I hope the show just keeps going and going :D

I hope Chloe is always in the show, she's my fav, as well as Oliver!

tinkerbell wrote: »
    I love Smallville, I hope the show just keeps going and going :D

I hope Chloe is always in the show, she's my fav, as well as Oliver!

What's that all about! Chloe and Oliver are great!

tinkerbell wrote: »
    What's that all about! Chloe and Oliver are great!

It was actually based on the smallville is great comment,don't care much for oliver anymore because he is just as whiny as Lana was,he needs to get back into Green arrow mode asap to be anyway half decent.

I agree with you on Chloe,she is the only decent character and the only actor on the show that can actually act,if she wasn't on it I might not even bother sticking with it to see how it ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,097 ✭✭✭Zardoz

I gave up after season 7 when they lost the 2 best actors on the show.
    The show has been on a steady decline since it moved to the CW,a channel aimed at horny moronic young women.
    The show had such good potential but it has degenerated into a soppy pile of drivel now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭youngblood

Long time follower of Smallville, personally I thought they could have ended it last season if they had wanted, Kal-El's greatest challenge, could have set him up flying in the end etc, but no, we have to endure another season.
    Wanna see how this ends and wraps up, but the producers have repeatedly said we'll never see clarke fly or don the suit (although we kinda have already-if you go back a few seasons-red kyptonite etc)
    Lex thing needs to be sorted soon, the Zod story is just a means to an end, please get rid of Lana permanetly, Chloe must die, so as long as all this finally gets done this season I'll be happy (although Chloe is probably the best character on the show-Clarke with his S symbol scorched everywhere WTF? He's not Zorro!)

Rant Over!

youngblood wrote: »
    Wanna see how this ends and wraps up, but the producers have repeatedly said we'll never see clarke fly

That was the previous show runners, Alfred Gough and Miles Millar who both quit at the end of season 7 along with Michael Rosenbaum (Lex) so at this stage, anything goes. And he does have to fly at this stage FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Long time follower of Smallville, personally I thought they could have ended it last season if they had wanted, Kal-El's greatest challenge, could have set him up flying in the end etc, but no, we have to endure another season.
    Wanna see how this ends and wraps up, but the producers have repeatedly said we'll never see clarke fly or don the suit (although we kinda have already-if you go back a few seasons-red kyptonite etc)
    Lex thing needs to be sorted soon, the Zod story is just a means to an end, please get rid of Lana permanetly, Chloe must die, so as long as all this finally gets done this season I'll be happy (although Chloe is probably the best character on the show-Clarke with his S symbol scorched everywhere WTF? He's not Zorro!)

Rant Over!

fcuk it...let's kill em all even Clark.

That was the previous show runners, Alfred Gough and Miles Millar who both quit at the end of season 7 along with Michael Rosenbaum (Lex) so at this stage, anything goes. And he does have to fly at this stage FFS.

Had forgotten even the creators/producers have given up Smallville. Pity thou, really liked it.

It was actually based on the smallville is great comment,don't care much for oliver anymore because he is just as whiny as Lana was,he needs to get back into Green arrow mode asap to be anyway half decent.

I agree with you on Chloe,she is the only decent character and the only actor on the show that can actually act,if she wasn't on it I might not even bother sticking with it to see how it ends.

I agree, I defo preferred Oliver when he was Green Arrow and fighting the baddies with those other people in Clark's army.

Chloe rocks! Oh last season I really thought that the way the show was going that they were gonna kill her character off or something and I was so so so so so so happy that they didn't. Actually I was really annoyed when her memory was wiped too and when her mad brainaic skills went, thank god Clark gave her her memory back!
    Chloe must die, so as long as all this finally gets done this season I'll be happy (although Chloe is probably the best character on the show-Clarke with his S symbol scorched everywhere WTF? He's not Zorro!)

You take that back right now!!! Chloe must not die!!!! She's the best character in the show!!!!!

I actually really liked the Chloe - Davis Bloome saga, sigh, why did he have to go all psycho at the end when she freed him from Doomsday :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I think they're trying to make Chloe annoying so they can kill her off. :D

Ok, episode 2, wasnt the worst. Certainly a filler but was prob necessary. I have to ask How Stupid is Lois at this stage
    He was standing just across the room, I could see his bloody face FFS!! Nice to see him back at the office,
    but havent we seen this all before!!!!!
    Now the story with Tess could get interesting but whats the deal with all the
    symbols and the guy in the Superman mark at the end
    can anyone explain that to me please. Enjoyed Brian Austin Green, not bad episode overall, but could improve!!
    Lois does have the best lines thou!

I thought Brian Austin Green did a pretty good job with some pretty woeful material - hope they do bring him back.

Not sure what the deal with all the symbols is, I'm still hating Clark's Zorro impersonation too.

Lois should have some pretty severe brain damage by this stage given the amount of times she has been knocked unconscious :).

Tess, Zod and his army, etc could be interesting but I'm pretty sure they'll find a way to screw that story up too...

Still annoying as hell though that in freaking season 9, we still have episodes that are little more than "freak of the week" :mad:...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,617 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Haven't watched this yet (I'll put it on the watch-when-I've-nothing-good-left pile), but the ratings last night for Smallville (and Dollhouse) were in the toilet. Will we even get a full season?

Mr E wrote: »
    Will we even get a full season?

Dollhouse is looking increasingly unlikely but Smallville, who knows? It is on the CW after all...

M is for Metalio and M is for Meh - both featured in abundance in this episode. I felt I was watching a sub-par Iron Man here. Brian Austin Green was good but did they really have to remind me of Sarah Conor Chronicles even more by calling him a terminator? Grrr!

Clark moping after Lois now (instead of Lana) was just tiresome - Chloe calling him on it was one of the few good moments here. And just how thick is Lois? From her dreadful investigation with the keyring (a 10-year old could do better) to her inability to cop on that Clark saved her, I still can't figure out why anyone would consider her an important journalist.
    Mr E wrote: »
    Will we even get a full season?
    I'd be surprised if we don't - it's the CW and they don't need a huge audience. What it may (hopefully) mean is that it's the final season. Please put the show out of its misery.

Still terrible,the writing all round is just so so bad. The plot lines seems to be juust picked and random and don't get me started on the dialogue,it is just painfully bad on so many levels.

3/10-and that's probably very generous.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I know its terrible, and i know the stories are ridiculous, but i still like watching it. I kind of like the Clark/Lois banter. Not so much Clark's moping in the shadows after Lois, but their conversations. I think Lois finding out about him would help the show.

Although looking at the rating, im not sure anything would help it.
    Brian Austin Green was good but did they really have to remind me of Sarah Conor Chronicles even more by calling him a terminator? Grrr!
    **** you Fox, **** you right in the ass :mad:

Well we got our first Filler episode of the season
    Totally pointless and no story progression
    TIme to get rid of Oliver-boring!
    Bad
    D-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I've been watching since season one and I find its like a train crash to watch. You know its going to be awful but you just can't look away.

I did notice that seaon 9 has taken a slight darker turn. There's a lot more blood and violence in it compared to previous seasons.

I'm about to watch it now....wish me luck :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭TonyD79

I think my expectations are so low, that I can stick with it. I still, as I said, want it to die though. I can't wrap my head around the fact it's one of the longest running US sci-fi shows of all time. Given the many excellent shows that never got past season two, it's quite infuriating.

Its not sci-fi its comic book. And its ratings have taken a hit since its moved to Friday nights so the CW take that into account. Can see it getting a 10th season TBH. If they threw money at it like they did with Superman Returns then I think it would have got cancelled long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Actually not a terrible episode, imo. But maybe that's because I found the zombies to be funny.

The main story starts and, 28 minutes later, it's already over. Derivative sure but it was still fairly entertaining - the last two seasons have been that bit darker.
    Of course I turned my brain off lest I think about the stupidity of it all (you think people mightn't get the antidote in the shower so you put in the rain which they're sure to run out into. And many more moments). I thought there was a bit more chemistry between Lois and Clark, although I still don't really care.
    Oliver - cop on and more Chloe please.
    Still fairly enjoyable.

more Chloe please

More Zod!!

I love how Lois went from blood-mouthed zombie back to her pearly whites in about 5 seconds in the rain... :P. That's the good ol' "Smallville" attention to detail right there...

Pretty crap overall - and there was even a picture of Lana in the mix to really bring home the crapiness.

Ye it was shockingly bad! The concept itself wasn't so bad,Zod and his soldiers release a virus to try wipe out humans. But it was just really bad. I was cringing at the chomping noise zombie Lois was making with her teeth at the end,so bad.

Also,lets somehow make enough antidote and somehow get it into the water system of a city that has a population of several million. And just in case that doesn't work lets make it rain the antidote!! That was one of the stupidest things I have ever seen in a tv show.

The there was the typical 5 min scene in the middle where Lois and Clark have a talk,Lois tells him a secret and they play it tense as if he may reveal his secret which we know will not happen and I actually dozed off for a minute while that scene was on.

Also,Zod annoys the crap out of me. Ok,perhaps this is some earlier version of Zod where he has not become the feared leader yet because to me he is just some snivling whimp with a really annoying accent. I gag a little everytime he says "knell" or "knell before Zod" *shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Yeah I wasn't so mad keen on this episode. At the start I thought it was a return to their "Freak of the Week" style of writing. I didn't care much for this episode and it's probably one I will be skipping on the boxset when it comes out. Probably the best bit was Zod decapitating yer man at the end.

Wow-how lucky were we!- another filler epsiode
    Another freak of the weak episode?
    No. A repeat freak of the week offender-not even a new one!
    Tess Evil-Clarke-Good
    Smallville-C'mon on!
    Fail

Epic fail!

Ye,very bad episode,even by Smallville's standards.

Gah!

Well this weeks episode was slightly more interesting than last weeks snore fest. Liked the Oliver storyline, Chloe-what a badass-went a bit overboard to try and prove a point but was probably more effective and interesting than a heart to heart.
    Lois was annoying though-but for anyone who hasnt played Beer Pong-i'd highly recommend it.
    More Zod needed

Pass-just about

I just want Erica Durance to strip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

I just want Erica Durance to strip off.

Google is your friend.

I enjoyed this ep. Nothing spectacular, but kept me entertained trying to guess what was going on until the end. And hopefully now that the whole green arrow sub plot thing is back on track hopefully next week will have more about the Kandorians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

just watched ep 6, have to say season 9 is looking good,

and clarke finally took the pluge, only took him what 4 years, honestly though what woman would say i love you like a friend to a billionare hunk, totally unbelievable:D,

don ramo wrote: »
    just watched ep 6, have to say season 9 is looking good,

and clarke finally took the pluge, only took him what 4 years, honestly though what woman would say i love you like a friend to a billionare hunk, totally unbelievable:D,

is that a joke? this episode was so horrible that I was cringing throughout the whole thing,I was actually browsing some web pages in the middle of it,it was so bad. I hear the producers are hoping for a season 10 but please for the love of anything good in this world,kill this show after this season.

Also,could they have picked a worse actor for Zod? What a pansey with such an annoying accent. My God!

I thought i had downloaded an episode of some US morning tv show!!!!!!

is that a joke? this episode was so horrible that I was cringing throughout the whole thing,I was actually browsing some web pages in the middle of it,it was so bad. I hear the producers are hoping for a season 10 but please for the love of anything good in this world,kill this show after this season.

Also,could they have picked a worse actor for Zod? What a pansey with such an annoying accent. My God!

Why are you still watching it in that case? Thought it was a good episode and the actor playing Zod Callum Blue is grand.
    Hopefully he doesnt chop off Jor Els head next week!!
    Wasnt he on the Tudors? With all the new characters they are introducing this season I would say season 10 is most likely a dead cert.

TonyD79 wrote: »
    Why are you still watching it in that case? Thought it was a good episode and the actor playing Zod Callum Blue is grand.
    Hopefully he doesnt chop off Jor Els head next week!!
    Wasnt he on the Tudors? With all the new characters they are introducing this season I would say season 10 is most likely a dead cert.

Because I have already watched 8 seasons of it,the first few which I enjoyed,I have invested that much time in it I have to see how it ends,and this probably will be the last season. If I hadn't seen all the previous seasons I definitaly wouldn't be watching anymore.

Not the whole "why are you watching then?" argument whenever somebody has something negative to say about a show...

Anyway, this episode really was craptacular... pretty much played out like a soap opera the whole way through. Like Tvnutz, the only reason I'm still watching is because after 8 years, I kinda want to see how it all ends but given how terrible it is right now, I think I may just watch the last episode of the season (it doesn't seem like I will have missed anything, as the episodes so far add absolutely nothing to the "big" picture...) - that is, unless it gets a season 10, at which point even the season finale of this season will be pretty pointless...

Please god.....NO SEASON 10!!!!!!!!!!!!!