Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Herald

• 26-09-2009 9:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭

Read something annoying in the Herald yesterday. Page 13 has a photograph and then a headline "New bike rack halts crew on call-out."

The text then reads "A FIRE truck was delayed as it struggled to manoeuvre between a stand of the new Dublin bikes and a row of cars."

It's clear from the picture, however, that the problem is not the bike rack but the illegally parked cars. (Exchequer St has double yellows I think). It only mentions this at the end of the text and says that motorists made "heroic" efforts to get out of the way and that the cars were parked "badly".

Another example of anti-cyclist bias from Independent news and media. Annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Tawfee

you shouldn't go near the Herald anyways, it's a complete waste of rainforest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭ChipPanBuddha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Wow, that guy is an asshole. Quality journalist tho, describing cyclists with; "looking like a twat". Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

As I see it, there are two basic flaws with this scheme. The price of using the bikes goes up after the first 30 minutes, and rather steeply at that, which will inevitably lead to novice bike riders racing from one location to another to beat the 30 minutes curfew, therefore causing even more chaos on the roads, and pavements, than they usually do.

What kind of eejit can't make it across Dublin City Centre in 30 mins?!! Eccles Street to Herbert Place (the two farthest stations I believe) would take 25 mins and they're both well out from the city centre!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Ant

I used to think Jeremy Clarkson was mildly amusing in his rants (amusing enough to read on a lazy Sunday afternoon, anyhow) but he's a comic genius compared to the giants of mediocrity that write for the Herald and the Daily Mail.

If I was one of the cool kids on the Interweb, I'd post one of those big "fail" images for Michael O'Doherty's "analysis". (I wonder if he's related to Ian -they have a similar writing style and comprehension of the world around them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I love this bit :
    The laughable Spandex shorts. The embarrassing bicycle clips.
    Erm. Clips for what exactly, if they're wearing shorts?
    Twat of the highest order. Although in fairness it's in the 'Entertainment' section, so it must be a comedy short story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Dr.Millah

His take on the Chinese and Dutch race is a bit of a stereotype
    The fact that the two countries most closely associated with cycling -- China and the Netherlands -- are two of the most extreme incarnations of soul-less, work-obsessed totalitarianism on the one hand, and permanently stoned, perverted Godlessness on the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭NewDubliner

Tawfee wrote: »
    you shouldn't go near the Herald anyways, it's a complete waste of rainforest...
    It's owned by the same oligarchs that the 'Independent', the title 'Independent' denoting that it's independent of journalistic discipline or objectivity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

The fact that the two countries most closely associated with cycling -- China and the Netherlands -- are two of the most extreme incarnations of soul-less, work-obsessed totalitarianism on the one hand, and permanently stoned, perverted Godlessness on the other.

Jesus.
    I can't ever recall seeing a cyclist stop and wait at a red traffic light,

This is just a lie. The guy needs to open his eyes when he's driving to interview those VIPs. I stop at lights. So do all the cyclists I meet at lights. There are a lot who break the rules, but we are not all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

did he see no issue with taking the two polar opposites of society, and not see that a mutual appeal might suggest the bike is all encompassing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I think you read something like this as well as Ian O'Doherty's tripe and then you realise why INM's shareprice is in the sh1tter and they can't pay off their debts.

With the exception of Shane Ross, their reporters lack orginality and are generally a pale imitation of much better and more renowned journalists.

The Tribune is the notable exception, but even that occasionally veers towards the Beano territory currently occupied by the Herald and d'Indo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Michael O Doherty has to be the most unoriginal person in Irish society. When he is in business, he takes other magazines and stuffs them full of Irish "celebrities", passing them off as "VIP" and other crap. When he is on TV, he rips of Simon Cowell's harsh style of judging and now, when he tries to write, he just picked up the latest Jeremy Clarkson column and crossed out his name.

What a hack.

Also, this:

Michael O Doherty in an interview of loves and loathes:

loves:
    Sports cars My only weakness. Don't drink much, gave up smoking, and have never done drugs in my life. I make up for all those vices, however, with an addiction to fast cars. They have to be Italian, preferably in red, yellow or orange, and they have to provoke a mixture of envy and repulsion amongst those who simply don't get it. It's hard to explain the addiction, but I don't ask women to justify their love for overpriced shoes which they wear once a year, so don't ask me to explain this.

loathes:
    Cyclists They make a song and dance about how healthy it is, and how it reduces the carbon footprint created by sports car-driving Nazis. They want to be treated as equal citizens on the road, but also want to be free to break all the rules that car drivers have to adhere to. When did you last see a cyclist actually stop at a red light, and wait for it to go green? I thought so...

So, while he moans about cyclists yelling at guys in sportscars, he loves the fact that driving a sportscar makes people want to hate him. He's a hypocrite and any of his "articles" are just a string of cliches without an original thought anywhere in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

When did you last see a cyclist actually stop at a red light, and wait for it to go green? I thought so...

As clichéd as the "cyclists don't pay road tax" argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

This quote seems fitting

"You're the only twat (W@nker) if anyone is"........David Brent the office Christmas special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

Dr.Millah wrote: »
    His take on the Chinese and Dutch race is a bit of a stereotype

Stereotyping a race is called racism i think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

But I’ll tell you what I dream about. All I ever dream about is the stuff I’ve messed up. I have this recurring dream about a Leaving Cert History exam that I failed. I have a mortal fear of not getting 100% Of getting an F in publishing.

From - http://www.victoriamaryclarke.com/articles/O%20Doherty%20Michael%20.html

He also bought his Ferarri from the proceeds of selling his share im McGill to Vincent Browne! Kind of annoying that these ill-informed ranters are funding each other's lifestyles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭HPT

eightyfish wrote: »

Another example of anti-cyclist bias from Independent news and media. Annoying.

Jeez feeling victimised much?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

You must remember the market the herald is aiming for is stuck in traffic, while herald sales people in hi-viz orange haute couture try to sell them the rag.
    In the meantime cyclists are getting home in half the time.

I was in school with Michael- he was a twat then .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Liamo08

Why do all these idiots think that our main purpose for cycling is to "Try and save the world"? Can they not see that maybe people cycle to work cause its faster than driving in the city, or people who cycle as a sport cycle because they enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Not at all! Sure everyone knows we're all poor b*stards too mean to buy a proper car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭redmenace1

Hope he drives his fast car over a cliff.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭DePurpereWolf

gaffmaster wrote: »
    Stereotyping a race is called racism i think?
    Too bad Dutch and Chinese are not races, but nationalities.

Bad journalism needs to be ignored.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Too bad Dutch and Chinese are not races, but nationalities.

Bad journalism needs to be ignored.

Yes they are: Oxford dictionary- a group of people sharing the same culture, language, etc.; an ethnic group

Dutch: they like the colour oranje and they speak dutch (didn't want to put a stronger stereotype here ;) )
    Chinese: Nobody realy knows as they're a bit secrative but they speak mandarin.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

jerseyeire wrote: »
    but they speak mandarin.

Some do. There are dozens of languages spoken in China.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

There's some exceptions, but the paper is often anti-cycling and sometimes also anti-public transport.

Or at least anti public transport measures when they affect car use in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

rottenhat wrote: »
    Some do. There are dozens of languages spoken in China.
    The overwhelming majority of Chinese cyclists speak Mandarin.

redmenace1 wrote: »
    Hope he drives his fast car over a cliff.:mad:

Hope not - it would be a dreadful waste of a car
    blorg wrote: »
    The overwhelming majority of Chinese cyclists speak Mandarin.

How do you know - have you spoken to more than 50% of them:):)

Anyway, something for our sports-car loving 3rd rate publisher:-

http://store.ferrari.com/en/leisure-sport/bikes/ferrari-cx-70-bicycle.html

wonder what he thinks of his beloved Ferrari selling stuff with less than 4 wheels and no beautifully tuned engine to power it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

That Ferrari bike is disappointing - I was expecting some bizarre futuristic construction, and instead it's a very ordinary one in red with Ferrari written on it. For three thousand euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

That Ferrari bike is disappointing - I was expecting some bizarre futuristic construction, and instead it's a very ordinary one in red with Ferrari written on it. For three thousand euro.

+599, that is genuinely terrible. What were they thinking? A Ferrari bike should at least have Campag electronic shifting, which never made it to production, and therefore cannot rightfully exist.

But then Ferrari merchandise is godawful tat anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

The BMW Sauber bike in the non-beauty thread recently was horrendous-looking, but it was at least bizarre and futuristic looking - and didn't clearly advertise to all and sundry that you'd spent a fortune on something purely because of the name...

I'd apologise for taking this off topic if this thread wasn't already gone that way but anyways... hello & welcome back after a 3 year break from boards :)

500_13242_1.jpg
    It is fecking comical. Even worse it is made by Colnago, you would hope they would not sully their name in the process (look at the name on the seat stays carefully.)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

I laughed at this part in the very first line:
    There are, according to musician Katie Melua, six million bicycles in Bejing.
    It's nine million you idiot!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

LOL.

Someone needs to explain to Michael O'Doherty the difference between a forum and a blog.

el tonto wrote: »
    LOL.

Someone needs to explain to Michael O'Doherty the difference between a forum and a blog.
    That's hilarious. After hours thread here.

+1 Cycling Forum

His original piece really was obnoxious and ignorant, how he can write something like that and then be surprised at the reaction from cyclists I don't know. Shows an amazing lack of self-awareness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

these three rules that traditional journalists have to abide by: Your comments stand up to some form of scrutiny; You express them in grammatically correct English; And you put your name at the end.

His initial article was an unamusing "think piece", and in the quote above he uses capitals incorrectly.

So Michael O'Doherty has failed two of the three. (He did put his name at the end though, so fair play to him. I wish I could get paid for putting my name to things.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

The guy sounds like a complete knob jockey. I think he spends too much time thinking about himself and believing all of it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

And of course there's the sheer hypocrisy that after flaming one group of people he gets indignant about being flamed himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

If he'd expressed those opinions to me in person I would have quite happily called him an obnoxious twat in person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

el tel wrote: »
    The guy sounds like a complete knob jockey. I think he spends too much time thinking about himself and believing all of it.

Snapped this in a Ferrari shop window in Rome-

94606.jpg

As For Mr. O'Doherty, if I find the time I intend to write him a long non-anonymous letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

tomasrojo wrote: »
    His initial article was an unamusing "think piece", and in the quote above he uses capitals incorrectly.

So Michael O'Doherty has failed two of the three. (He did put his name at the end though, so fair play to him. I wish I could get paid for putting my name to things.)

Brilliant! I was just about to pull him up on the capitals too. Why he would feel bound by a set of rules he just made up is beyond me as he claims they are for 'traditional journalists' - a club to which he will never be welcome. On yer bike O'Doherty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Dear Ponce,

If he found that the first piece caused him upset why write a second one???

Self-serving seems to spring to mind.

Wonder if he thinks he's a good writer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

In fairness - he works on TV3's Expose - who are we to question him...

"What's that all about"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

So why is it no one has ever come up to me and called me an absolute twat to my face?

Maybe people just didnt know what you looked like.....

2605_michaelODohert_325048t.jpg

emtroche wrote: »
    Maybe people just didnt know what you looked like.....

2605_michaelODohert_325048t.jpg

John Grisham's brother is Michael O'Doherty?

j_grisham.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

So it was Michael O'Doherty who wrote "The Rural Juror"?

(No-one else has seen 30 Rock? )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

Because unless it can adapt its content to cater for witless, charmless nerds [...] then the days of traditional newspapers and magazines are over.

Says a man who writes for The Herald.

(Language nerds might note that he started his sentence with 'because'- I presume this is one of his rules of journalism too?)
    The fact that it would so appear tended to make the commentator [newspaper letter writer] focus on their job at hand, as they knew that (a) they had to pass through an element of quality control before being published

Says a man who writes for The Herald.
    and (b) the fact that readers would see their name and address at the end the letter. This put pressure on the person not to make a total tit of themselves.

Pity it doesn't have the same effect on certain journalists.
    The internet, however, and specifically blogging, has removed this need.
    Which means that commentators have no worries about coming across as ignorant, bigoted, abusive or thick in front of the public.

Physician heal thyself.
    I made no bones that it was a personal opinion, and hardly expected everyone to agree with me, though I did go to the trouble of lobbing in a couple of widely accepted facts to back up my argument.

Anyone care to hazard a guess at what constitutes a 'widely accepted' fact? Should I break out my old Logic textbooks? Or would a dictionary suffice...

Let me know if I should go on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Retard can't even plagiarise properly:
    Traumadoc wrote: »
    I was in school with Michael- he was a twat then .
    I was in school with Michael, and he was a dickhead then .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Jesus, this guy is a more attention seeking whore than Jordan.

I'm just insulted I wasn't referenced in his article, there go my 5 minutes of fame.

Here's one for your google searches Michael: "Michael O'Doherty", "tosser" and "floppy haired knobs shouldn't drive exotic sports cars".

If I ever saw him in public (admittedly this would be hard, he has one of those faces that's easy to forget, more botox maybe?)...