Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any CompSoc members here?

• 25-09-2009 5:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭

Hey all, I signed up to CompSoc at Socs day and I'm looking forward to it since they mentioned that there'll be more of a focus on LANning this year. Any other Boards folk signed up and going to the events planned next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭oisinmc14

Compsoc FTW what time/days the events on at kinda zoned out when signing up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Claypigeon

Monday and Tuesday nights, think Monday is different stuff but Tuesday is usually Squareyes, again this is just what I heard from friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭X_X

Yeah I signed up and I think that they organise events in Square eyes every two weeks on a Tuesday and Mondays are usually when they meet up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

CompSoc member here. Rock Band on Monday evenings at 7 :-)

Woo Rock Band can't wait.... actually is there a mention of Halo there somewhere ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭oisinmc14

It seems that compsoc may be full xbox fanboys :(

Yup, Halo multiplayer if there's enough people on Mondays who are not playing Rock Band. It happens in the HUB in Aras na Mac Leinn.

This may sound stupid but where exactly is the HUB?... Obviously in Aras na Mac Leinn but where?.. lol

I hate console gaming, so gimmicky and lame when it comes to actual controls. As for Rock Band / Guitar Hero, woo yeah pretend to play a musical instrument :P Not gaming so much as wasting time that could be spent learning a real instrument x.x

I hope there's plenty of PC gamers though as I love playing TF2 and Starcraft. Would be great to meet similarly interested gents for LANs outside Soc time, too. Sadly Squareyes makes me rage for virtually every game as the mouse sensitivity makes micro/accurate aim impossible and I didn't see any options to alter it anywhere >:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

oisinmc14 wrote: »
    It seems that compsoc may be full xbox fanboys :(

Apparently so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭fuzzsc00ta

Compsoc's a great opportunity to get to know other people interested in tech. You also get free access to an SSH-accessible Ubuntu Linux server to mess about on.

There's loads of useful utilities, compilers and services on the server. These include LAMP to host your own website, an XMPP service to chat with other members or to build your own bots, version control software like SVN and Mercurial to manage code projects and lots more. There's some information on the wiki about these and a boards was recently set up so you can ask questions to the general membership.

If you're serious about getting a job in the industry after college you'll find your account on the server invaluable. It's also backed up nightly, with snapshots going back daily for one week. So when you nuke all your work (it happens!) at least there's recent backup to rely on.

Compsoc uses OpenLDAP to centrally manage user accounts, so your single username and password will work for the boards, the wiki, SSH and XMPP. The website desperately needs to be updated. If its something you'd like to do you could also hook it into LDAP.

To get an account on the server email committee@compsoc.nuigalway.ie from a nuigalway.ie email address with your full name and choice of username.

Aside from the admin side of things, the committee organise events such as game nights and beerings so you can regularly meet and get to know other members. There's also plans this year (so I'm told) for a trip abroad, tutorials, a robot building competition and an intervarsity LAN party.

Just remember that Compsoc is a non-profit, student society run by volunteers.
    You will only get out what you're willing to put in. There's a handful of people on the committee and on admin trying to keep the events and server going. Be proactive and ask how you can help.

Hey guys! Shane here, auditor of Compsoc. Ye guys might have seen me on Socs day extolling the virtues of the society :)

Just to clarify the event situation, our main event is Monday Mashups, and the first one is kicking off at 7pm this Monday, they're on every Monday, and we do some console gaming, LAN gaming, and tutorials.

Then, every second Tuesday, we meet up in SquarEyes, from 7 to 11 to play a bit of everything, console or PC. The first one is this Tuesday so see you then! The deal is €12 for the 4 hours and there's a free hot dog or shake for everyone.

If you're interested in the tech side of things, and all the stuff mentioned in the post above, come along Monday and we'll sign you up for a Compsoc account so you can use all of our services. Even if you're not into the gaming side of things, at Monday Mashups, you can meet loads of people to chat about tech with.

This weeks Monday Mashup should be great, so come along and meet some cool new people. See you all in the Hub Monday at 7.

Actually are there many girls in the society?.... I feel like I'm the only one... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭fuzzsc00ta

X_X wrote: »
    Actually are there many girls in the society?.... I feel like I'm the only one... :D

It's is an equal opportunity society ;-)

Yup, one of my friends is in CompSoc and she's a girl. And The HUB is in Aras Na MacLeinn, walk in through the front door and turn right. It's the café at the very end, under the stairs with glass doors. There's pool tables in there, you can't miss it! :)

Oh right that's the HUB... :D... and cool I don't feel so alone lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

comp soc first year here. been to two mondays.
    both were really great craic. mostly consisted of halo/rockband but if people are interested, laptop lan-ing would be cool. I'll be there tommorow anyway!:D
    there is definitely one other girl, a friend of mine, going. Her name's meg. NAO you can introduce yourself! haha. or of course...introduce yourself to me :rolleyes:

Yo guys look forward to meeting ye tonight at the LAN!

I'll be bringing my laptop and my external hard-drive so if you bring yours I'll be happy to copy LANnable versions of Starcraft/Warcraft 3 onto your laptop and we can get some old school RTS on the go, I have an ethernet cable for myself only so hopefully someone brings LAN equipment to these things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Rob!

Compsoc rocks! tonight should be gr8! :rolleyes:

Good fun last night watching my friend dominating people at H3 :P

Going tonight aswell looking forward to it

Ah that was your friend eh??... I was playing it and the log in name of Tooth was beating me like mad... Then it was Pringle... Then is was Surly...

I just think that he played all of the different profiles just so that he wouldn't get caught.. :D

Ah that was your friend eh??... I was playing it and the log in name of Tooth was beating me like mad... Then it was Pringle... Then is was Surly...

I just think that he played all of the different profiles just so that he wouldn't get caught.. :D

Nah he had the misfortune of playing as Pudding for 2 games and won 25-1x each time :P He's insanely good. My other friend played and won too but not sure what name he was under, probably Surly haha

Yeah one of those games was against me i think....

I didn't go last night... was it good?

Yeah one of those games was against me i think....

I didn't go last night... was it good?

Aye really good fun, played COD4 and COD5 with virtually everyone playing. Played tf2 en masse too but kind of boring since none of the new game modes/maps/weapons were there. Played a few small games of Half Life 2 and Crysis too which were the highlight for me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

TeeWorlds

The following Teeworlds servers are now running on lanparty.ie:<br>
    DM: lanparty.ie:8303
    TDM: lanparty.ie:8304
    CTF: lanparty.ie:8305

Claypigeon wrote: »
    Aye really good fun, played COD4 and COD5 with virtually everyone playing. Played tf2 en masse too but kind of boring since none of the new game modes/maps/weapons were there. Played a few small games of Half Life 2 and Crysis too which were the highlight for me :P

WOW well I'd better go the next time... COD4 and 5 are supposed to be really good.....

Uhuh they're great, was really funny hearing the different rooms full of people shouting at each other when either won/lost :P I prefer COD5 but in saying that I was so out of practice it was surreal, only played like 2 good matches out of 5-6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭RichCRX

I joined in first year and think i'm still a member...have never been though on the basis that damn all retro games are played which kinda sickens me:mad:

I'm an old skool gamer true and true so if ye play a bit more medal of honour for pc lan gaming and a bit more n64/gamecube/sega stuff i'd go:D

RETRO FTW!!!!don't mind your halo/rock band etc...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

RichCRX wrote: »

I'm an old skool gamer true and true

engrish fail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 cyberbemon

fuzzsc00ta wrote: »
    Compsoc's a great opportunity to get to know other people interested in tech. You also get free access to an SSH-accessible Ubuntu Linux server to mess about on.

There's loads of useful utilities, compilers and services on the server. These include LAMP to host your own website, an XMPP service to chat with other members or to build your own bots, version control software like SVN and Mercurial to manage code projects and lots more. There's some information on the wiki about these and a boards was recently set up so you can ask questions to the general membership.

If you're serious about getting a job in the industry after college you'll find your account on the server invaluable. It's also backed up nightly, with snapshots going back daily for one week. So when you nuke all your work (it happens!) at least there's recent backup to rely on.

Compsoc uses OpenLDAP to centrally manage user accounts, so your single username and password will work for the boards, the wiki, SSH and XMPP. The website desperately needs to be updated. If its something you'd like to do you could also hook it into LDAP.

To get an account on the server email committee@compsoc.nuigalway.ie from a nuigalway.ie email address with your full name and choice of username.

Aside from the admin side of things, the committee organise events such as game nights and beerings so you can regularly meet and get to know other members. There's also plans this year (so I'm told) for a trip abroad, tutorials, a robot building competition and an intervarsity LAN party.

Just remember that Compsoc is a non-profit, student society run by volunteers.
    You will only get out what you're willing to put in. There's a handful of people on the committee and on admin trying to keep the events and server going. Be proactive and ask how you can help.

no overclocking???!!:eek::eek:...oh c'mon!!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

i hate controllers...Mousey n keboard FTW!!!1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭toxick

Hey guys Colum here Vice-Auditor.

Next monday should be a bit more orginised since we never used the education buildiing befor and it was a bit cramp etc. So next week we will have the switch set up for laptop games, and the usual xboxes for halo and rock band.

No were not x-box fan boys (shane hates Microsoft) and i hate consoles, but the use of x-boxes are due to variety of games on them, and most people do play them, also we only have the rockband and guitar hero for the x-boxes.

Squareyes was a blast, but due to me it wasn't well organised on what games to play and to hold a mini tournament for the last hour, which was planned. However the Gaming Coordinator will be at the next squareyes event (Tue 13th afaik) and it will be more organised.

Next week for the monday mashup we have booked another room for a Linux tutorial who ever is interested in going and at the same time and will last longer the Mashup in another room. Further details will be emailed out.

toxick wrote: »
    Hey guys Colum here Vice-Auditor.

Next week for the monday mashup we have booked another room for a Linux tutorial who ever is interested in going and at the same time and will last longer the Mashup in another room. Further details will be emailed out.

Ubuntu, I assume?

The Linux tutorial will be in the the education building were we had the Monday mashup last week. The console's/LAN will be in a place called "The Space" it is upstairs of Aras Mc Leinn(sp?), there will be directions this time :)

Also for anyone who signed up to a CompSoc account with shane last monday, I would like to bring your attention to https://compsoc.nuigalway.ie/boards/ a discussion on what you want compsoc to do for you, and general chit chat about anything to do with computers.

Yo Colum, 'tis one of the Matts here from the college bar after the meeting on Monday nite :D Glad to hear you're bringing a switch this week, and hope you're as glad as we were when we got the text about Squareyes getting WC3/DotA at last :P Look forward to seeing you and the others on Monday, defo bringing the laptop this time around for a bit of wc3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Ubuntu, I assume?
    It's usually been terminal-based (a PuTTY job). Feel free to kick up a fuss :P

Ah okay, I've just used PuTTY for connecting to the college UNIX server :P

http://lanparty.ie/lans.php?id=93

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Your hardly going to be allowed drink anywhere but the bar?
    Alcohol? Yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭helios12

I'll throw my compsoc questions up here cos I have been too busy* to join yet.

Are Irish students being offered a discount on Windows 7?

Much overclocking going on with you lads/ladies?

Is Halo the main flavour of shooter?:rolleyes:

Who wants to map a network drive on whatever distro I'll be running this week?

*Lazy

Ubuntu, I assume?

It's all *nix, different coloured hammers.

helios12 wrote: »
    I'll throw my compsoc questions up here cos I have been too busy* to join yet.

Are Irish students being offered a discount on Windows 7?
    Yeah, par example http://www.micromail.com/studentsoftware/
    Much overclocking going on with you lads/ladies?
    Stability > marginal [unbalanced] performance improvement and increased heat and power consumption.
    PerformancePerWatt is the new sexy.
    Is Halo the main flavour of shooter?:rolleyes:
    Jeebus wept. Play Teeworlds
    Who wants to map a network drive on whatever distro I'll be running this week?
    http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/mounting-samba-share-11439/
    *Lazy
    *cough* ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭helios12

po0k wrote: »

Cheers, nice one but hardly fair :http://www.microsoft.com/student/en/us/software/windows-7.aspx
    Stability > marginal [unbalanced] performance improvement and increased heat and power consumption.
    PerformancePerWatt is the new sexy.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder ;)
    Jeebus wept. Play Teeworlds

ewwww

Hah cheers, I was mainly trying to see how many Linux zealots are about. Asking a question usually works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭VivGrise

hey guys,

i'm a student from U.L. up in Galway for teaching practice, and i was just wondering what the standard is for halo? like what level is everyone?! there isn't much of a halo scene in limerick tbh.

I've signed up for the lan event on 27th nov so should be fun! also where do you hold your lan events so i can come down next time, btw i have no clue of NUIG!!!

VivGrise wrote: »
    hey guys,

i'm a student from U.L. up in Galway for teaching practice, and i was just wondering what the standard is for halo? like what level is everyone?! there isn't much of a halo scene in limerick tbh.

I've signed up for the lan event on 27th nov so should be fun! also where do you hold your lan events so i can come down next time, btw i have no clue of NUIG!!!

Shane, Compsoc Auditor here. We have a meeting every Monday evening, 7-9pm in the education building, it's the one beside the Civil Eng building, across from the car park outside the Quad.

We usually set up as many Xboxes and projectors as we can get our mitts on. The standard for Halo is very casual, basically anyone who wants a game, plays, it's meant to be fun, not very competitive.

There's a LAN set up there too, so if you want to play on that, bring along your laptop and get stuck in!

Hope to see you next week!

VivGrise wrote: »
    hey guys,

Yo dude.

I can safely say that one of my best friends who's also in the CompSoc is very, very into his Halo and very, very competitive :P I think the same goes for maybe 2-3 others in the soc but most others are just in it for the laugh. I'm sure there will be more "hardcore" gamers at the big lan next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭VivGrise

sound, ya ill probably come down for a look on Monday with one of the lads from the college, and I might bring a few lads up from Limerick for the big Lan!

Yeh do, hope they're pc gamers as we're lacking them majorly :(

Hey all, Monday Mashup isn't on this week on account of the bank holiday, but if you're interested in Bot Wars, let me know by PM and we'll sort you out for a team, also since lanparty.ie has changed, we'll have our own signup sheet online for the LAN party, i'll post here when it's online

So what's the story with COD:MW2? Are many of you going to get it?

I have a new laptop and I'm rearing to play some decent games on it!

No chance of me getting MW2, dedicated servers are what make FPS plain better multiplayer wise on PC, they're just devolving it into a console game, ew :P