Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish expressions and slang.

Giving out yards!

Do a search on boards for Irish slang" theres more threads than in an old shirt here! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

"I cannot recall the quantity of cash in the brown envelope"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Novella wrote: »
    My granny always used to call me "a wee blackguard". There's another one I can't remember now! :(

Its blaggard not blackguard lol.
    Using any word to mean you were drunk and it making perfect sense:
    Eg1: Did you get drunk last night?
    Are you joking? I was totally gazebo'd!

Eg2: Are you planning on having a few drinks?
    Oh, I'm gonna go out and get totally car parked...

Eg3: You should have seen me last night; ****ing pjyamas'd...

Who do you know that actually talks like that???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Jim236 wrote: »

Um, it's actually blackguard.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,024 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Tisn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'm afraid you're wrong. :P It is actually "blackguard".

• Registered Users Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

The party in me free gaf last night was bleedin rapid. Jono was S-hooked and puked his ring up all over the new floor me ma got off Lino Ritchie. The sh1tebag even had a slash on me dog. She's goin to knock de b0llox out of me when she gets back from Sante Ponsa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭dunnomede?

A burl/berrel is a curl or ringlet which can be found in a girls hair

• Registered Users Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

"Get up the yard", is one I've not heard in a long time.
    Also " Me oul Flower".

• Registered Users Posts: 55,192 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ask me bollix is a great one.
    That's a load of me bollix, another great one
    I will in me bollix, also another great one

Generally anything with bollix in it is real Irish, or more so, real Dub!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

• We're only in the arse of the garden = We are low life, not entitled to anything, although we probably deserve recognition and reward.
    • There are no flies on the Lamb of God - I have performed brilliantly, exceeding my own and your expectations.
    • Hacked up or won in a hack canter - my horse won easily.
    • Get away with ya - you are exaggerating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

get out a da garden.
    Hows she cutting?
    Now your sucking diesel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Des wrote: »
    Um, it's actually blackguard.
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    Tisn't.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Blaggard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

It is, but I'd say he was highlighting our unique way of pronouncing it - I assume he was spelling it the way we say it.

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

Both blackguard and Blaggard are acceptable spellings.

"What's the Johnny Magory?"

"What's the Jackanory?"

"Story?"

"Ask me Gee"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

"Ask me Gee"

Axe me bollix.

http://www.irishslang.co.za/print.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

Me Granda walking by Dublin Castle showed me the statue of Justice that sits on the spot where you walk in... and he said an old expression when the brits were in charge that he heard of was:

"Justice, there she stands upon her station with her face to the crown and her arse to the nation!"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭dunnomede?

Dunno if this has been posted already apologies if it has.

I will in me swiss: I will in me swiss roll: I will in me hole

I will ya! (sarcasticly)

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

chin_grin wrote: »
    Axe me bollix.

"Ask me arse and call tomorrow for the change"

"Fcuk you and yer friends in America"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Both blackguard and Blaggard are acceptable spellings.

"What's the Johnny Magory?"

"What's the Jackanory?"

"Story?
    Is that not Cockney rhyming slang? I too heard 'blaggard' often, I assumed it was a mispronounciation of 'blackguard'.
    My mother had words no one else uses..like 'gomb' as in 'he's a big stupid gomb. Maybe it derived from 'gormless' to 'gorm' and my ma pronounced it 'gomb'...or maybe it came from 'gombeen'.

The divil blast ya!!

The curses of the devil on ya!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Edsgravy0

On yer bike!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 paperheart

Effin' and blindin'

Sh*ttin' bricks

Banjaxed

Yer one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭JoeSchmoe

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed