Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This Is It, Michael Jackson - which of the Dublin Cinemas will be showing it

• 20-09-2009 10:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭

Michael Jackson fan here. Does anybody know where MJ's This Is It movie concert is gonna be shown in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 F4Fake

Cineworld appear to be showing it. Release date is October 28th.

http://www.cineworld.ie/films/2905

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭joe123

Will tickets be hard get for this? Will it be nationwide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

if you are worried about getting tickets you should just book them now! they are available to order now!

The Eye cinema in Galway is showing it and tickets are available online/via telephone/at the box office. It is recommended you book tickets ASAP as there has been a lot of interest already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Just booked tickets for Dundrum - the showing I booked is nearly booked out (opening day)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭che81

Vue are doing a 4am showing which will be a simultaneous premiere around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Just saw an ad for this on the telly... and it has a small disclaimer (and I'm not making this up):

"Contains infrequent scary images"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

basquille wrote: »
    Just saw an ad for this on the telly... and it has a small disclaimer (and I'm not making this up):

"Contains infrequent scary images"

I had a chuckle at that myself:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Miss No Name

Was at the 4am showing in Liffey Valley this morning. There was a great buzz about the place. Sony along with Today fm put on a great show. There was free popcorn and drinks, free drinks (alcohol) reception and a free This Is It tee shirt. There was lots of media and a great vibe.

The film itself was fantastic. I am a MJ fan and I came out an even bigger one. The film was a great run down of the set list of songs and preformances that was due to be the concert. It wasn't tugging on the heart strings at all, it never mentioned his death - which I thought was great. It just showed Michael practicing with his musicians and dancers and director. The show itself looked amazing, its such a shame he will never get to perform it. :( But the film really gives you a great idea of what it would have been like. It runs in accordance with the set list - showing different clips of Michaels dancing and singing shot on different days all put together. It also shows the making of the mini movies they filmed for the background screens, which would have been in 3D. One clip for Smooth Criminal they have Michael appearing in an old movie with Rita Hayworth and he ends up in a shot out with Humpry Bogart - very cool :D.

I would recommend anyone to go and see it. Its only out for two weeks and its a part of history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Going to see it tonight.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Was at the 4am showing in Liffey Valley this morning. There was a great buzz about the place. Sony along with Today fm put on a great show. There was free popcorn and drinks, free drinks (alcohol) reception and a free This Is It tee shirt. There was lots of media and a great vibe.

The film itself was fantastic. I am a MJ fan and I came out an even bigger one. The film was a great run down of the set list of songs and preformances that was due to be the concert. It wasn't tugging on the heart strings at all, it never mentioned his death - which I thought was great. It just showed Michael practicing with his musicians and dancers and director. The show itself looked amazing, its such a shame he will never get to perform it. :( But the film really gives you a great idea of what it would have been like. It runs in accordance with the set list - showing different clips of Michaels dancing and singing shot on different days all put together. It also shows the making of the mini movies they filmed for the background screens, which would have been in 3D. One clip for Smooth Criminal they have Michael appearing in an old movie with Rita Hayworth and he ends up in a shot out with Humpry Bogart - very cool :D.

I would recommend anyone to go and see it. Its only out for two weeks and its a part of history.

I was there last night too. Really enjoyed it.

"This is outlandish!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭2Bv¬2B

Work as a supervisor in the cinema in Waterford, watched it last night,

Great film, loved it.

Now i have to work 2-10.30 tonight dealing with the hundreds of people :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Worked at the 4am one last night.And got too see it.Great film..and free drink:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭joe123

Cant wait to see this. Will have to wait untill next week though. Hope tickets wont be hard to get. Bloody loved Michael Jackson. Had tickets for London aswell :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

joe123 wrote: »
    Cant wait to see this. Will have to wait untill next week though. Hope tickets wont be hard to get. Bloody loved Michael Jackson. Had tickets for London aswell :(

I don't think you'll have trouble getting tickets. Went to it at 8pm tonight and it wasnt sold out, was pretty full but not sold out by any means.

Judging by what was shown, the london shows would have been incredible. Unfortuntely it only offered a small glimpse into what those shows could have been.

This has been the best thing I've seen in cinemas in 2009. I think I'm going to go see it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭2Bv¬2B

Sheeps wrote: »
    This has been the best thing I've seen in cinemas in 2009. I think I'm going to go see it again.

The best thing? Really? There has been some pretty decent things out this year to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

can someone tell me what exactly is in the film

is it more docu slanted with voiceovers,interviews along with rehearsal footage or more straight up rehearsal footage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

More straight up rehearsal..Few tiny little interviews with the dancers..thats it

2Bv¬2B wrote: »
    The best thing? Really? There has been some pretty decent things out this year to be fair.
    Yeah, this is definitely the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Sepulchrave

Saw it last night. Never had a movie expierience like it. I loved it, but didnt get into it as much as I could have, simply because I knew Michael was gone and it just very sad, because it was just classic Michael, and the whole thing had so much potential. Would have been the concert expierience of the deacde.

MJ's voice was the best it had been in years, Human Nature and his little rendition of Speechless really stood out to me. Smooth Criminal was just brilliant with the mini move.

By the time Man in the Mirror rolled around which is the final song, it got quite emotional to see him on stage performing it and his dancers down in front of the stage rooting him on, and then it just ended in a way I wont descibe here. I didnt want to leave then because I knew it would be different from now on as soon as I walked out, as while I was there, Michael was very much alive. When the credits rolled everyone just sat there in silence for a a short time before people actually left. Brilliant, yet sad, eerie.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

afraid I won't be able to make it through to the end with all the emotions still so fresh so going to wait (not long) for the blu-ray Xmas release

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭dimejinky99

Go see it in the cinema..even the annoying scaldies at the back were clapping at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

absolutely SAVAGE movie!! seriously! :D:) would go to see it again methinks! goes in my top5 movies anyway!!
    tis a real shame hes gone, the show would have been amazing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    absolutely SAVAGE movie!! seriously! :D:) would go to see it again methinks! goes in my top5 movies anyway!!
    tis a real shame hes gone, the show would have been amazing!!

Are the Savoy showing it in Savoy One?

Might as well go where the sound is the best and the screen's the biggest and the popcorn is .. :D

slave1 wrote: »
    afraid I won't be able to make it through to the end with all the emotions still so fresh so going to wait (not long) for the blu-ray Xmas release

You'll regret it I'd say. I'm going next Friday or Saturday.

This is about as close as your ever gonna get to seeing him live. You may as well get the full large audience experience. I'm gonna go to the 8.35 show in The Savoy as I'd say the buzz will be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭bishop brennan

Saw it today and was really only bringing my son who wanted to see it,but I came away with a different view of Jackson.
    Aside from all the scandal and rumours,on stage and in preparing for his show the guy was undoubtedly a genius.
    The London concerts would have been something else and I felt for all the people who were working on the concert as you could see it was their dream to get to be on stage with Jackson,and the show never happened.

Worth going to see it even if you aren't his biggest fan.

Nico22 wrote: »
    You'll regret it I'd say. I'm going next Friday or Saturday.

This is about as close as your ever gonna get to seeing him live. You may as well get the full large audience experience. I'm gonna go to the 8.35 show in The Savoy as I'd say the buzz will be good.

Im not sure what screen its on in savoy tbh but the omniplex has it on the bigger screen! sit near the front for maximum enjoyment! :D

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Im not sure what screen its on in savoy tbh but the omniplex has it on the bigger screen! sit near the front for maximum enjoyment! :D

Sit near the front? I'll up AT the screen dancing like a mad thing :D

Nico22 wrote: »
    Sit near the front? I'll up AT the screen dancing like a mad thing :D

lol :D enjoy so!

absolutley superb, although i have to be honest i left depressed as i had tickets to the show, and seeing this movie let me see what an amazing show it would have been! it was just spectacular! i'm going again definatley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Just back from seeing it. Brilliant movie, the show in London would have been just incredible, and he looked in excellent condition, very fit and his voice was still strong. Definitely going to go watch it again!

I've decided against all logic to refuse to accept he's gone, and is instead just in hiding to escape the media :)
    **trudges off the conspiracy theories forum
    To the idiots behind me who talked all the way through the movie then left as soon as "This is it" started, wtf lads? You missed EVERYTHING. Some people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

anyone else REALLY want to cheer and clap at the end of every song??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭bishop brennan

Roar wrote: »

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 MedGal

grames_bond

absolutley superb, although i have to be honest i left depressed as i had tickets to the show, and seeing this movie let me see what an amazing show it would have been! it was just spectacular! i'm going again definatley!

I too had tickets for London and have been gutted since his death. Thought "This is it" was amazing. What a voice, dancemoves and genuinely a great guy, nice and extremely passionate about his music and music in general.
    It would have been a great show :(

The dancers and singers are great too. I love the woman's voice that sings backing vocals, she sang at his memorial too.

Go see it guys, you really get to see Michael be himself and get a glimpse into what it could've been.

RIP MJ

No.

How do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Saw the film this evening and it was way better than I had expected. I hadnt considered going to the concerts as I thought he wouldnt have it but, if this film is anything to go by, they would have been amazing.

I was a bit sad at the end thinking about Michael's death and seing how he was received spontaneously by everyone at the rehearsals just before his death.

I also felt for all the dancers, musicians etc who had probably been looking to these concerts as possibly the highlights of their careers. I am unsure as to how much they will be paid considering no concerts actually took place and they could well have no rights to payments from the film.

What did ye think of the blonde girl on guitar? I thought she was great.

No.

thanks for speaking on behalf of everyone....coz clearly everyone has the same opinion as you! :rolleyes:

ill be honest i did find it difficult not to applaud, the sheer emotion and performance deserved it!

My viewing was eventful.

Ended up having to go alone but didn't mind so off I went to The Savoy.

First disappointent was that they had moved it last minute from Screen 1 to Screen 3!! :( to accomodate the preview / premiere of Scrooge.

The worst screen in the Savoy and the rear seats are three miles from the tiny screen. You'd nearly need binoculars.

20 mins in and I'm loving it but some people behind me would not stop kicking my chair to the beat of the music and the people in front were talking / shouting to each other.

Enough was enough and I walked.

One hour later after a fix of Beshoff and I'm in Screen 1 Cineworld. Just as film about to start in come a family with kids shouting. You could see everyone's face drop around my row as they made their way towards us.

Quite noisy kids but I could live with that.

However, four germans behind would not stop chatting very loudly and also putting feet on seats.

After 20 minutes I just turned around during a quite bit and said 'Could you please keep it down, yeah?" I had interupted them talking and they both went "Us??" Totally oblivious that THEY could be heard :rolleyes:

So I pulled out my gun and shot them :D

No, just tried to grin and bear it and I really loved it. Really wished I 'd seen it in Savoy One with lots of MJ fans and got the real kick out of it.

If I was making it I would have included much more of the personal stuff that they have shot - or so I have read. Stuff like on the way to rehearsal each day.
    A narration would have been good to.

I felt also that the end should have been something wih him walking away from the camera. Leaving the building or something.

Even at the end there was no credits even saying something 'Two weeks later MJ was rushed to hospital .. RIP'.

What I seen I loved just feel it could have been even better.

My fav part was Smooth Criminal were he shot a few fake scenes with Bogart :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

How much longer is this showing for? I heard it was going to have a two week run in cinemas? I want to go sometime this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,819 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    How much longer is this showing for? I heard it was going to have a two week run in cinemas? I want to go sometime this week.

Finishes up Thursday night I believe, this is the last week of it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Am I the only person who was really dissapointed by this?

I was expecting some sort of dress rehearsal with some degree of cohesion, but all I got was a glorified, sloppy pirate recording, intertwined with crappy videos and overly dramatic fandom.

Am I the only person who was really dissapointed by this?

Doubt your the only one. Might be a few dozen or so who feel the same.

I loved it. Would have liked more but that's normal for a Michael Jackson fan.

I was blown away by how professional the guy was. He could so easily have done a Britney and mimed the shows and went through the motions.

However, it was clear that he was involved and controlled every small detail of the shows. Down to each bar of music and each drum beat.

It was obvious also that he was saving his voice for the shows and beat himself up each time he gave in and gave 100% on a vocal.

I loved the new video footage he shot for Smooth Criminal and am just sick that I will never see him preform. I feel f**ked robbed as am sure do others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I was blown away by how professional the guy was. He could so easily have done a Britney and mimed the shows and went through the motions.

However, it was clear that he was involved and controlled every small detail of the shows. Down to each bar of music and each drum beat.

Yeah, gotta give him a pat on the back for that.
    I guess I was just expecting something a little more 'professional'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I'm a huge MJ fan but I'm not going to this a I see it as a rushed, cheap exploitation of his death and have no desire to support this movie.

You'll be sorry. When you do see it on DVD or TV someday you'll wish you seen it on the Big Screen.

You mot likely correct that he was been exploited but you'll be pleasntly surprised at how much he was in control if you see it.

MJ loved his fans and when you see this you see he makes several references to them and how he is looking forward to the shows and them seeing the songs preformed again.

Try not to think about the t**ts around him and just focus on his preformances. If nothing else you will see the man at work and will love him all the more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭paulieeye

Go see it....you'll love it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

paulieeye wrote: »
    Go see it....you'll love it
    I agree,well worth going to see .On this evidence and had he lived it would have being a great live show although he was obiously tiring at the end .I also liked the blonde female guitarist in his band ,thought she was awesome .

Latchy wrote: »
    he was obiously tiring at the end

I didn't see any evidence of tiring at all. He looked tiptop to me. He was jumping around and almost breakdancing at 50. Also, we have no idea what order the songs were shown in. Sometimes he was wearing four different outfits in one song also.

I agree though it would have been a cracking show to see.
    The bulldozer on stage and all.
    Man, that would have been so cool.

Latchy wrote: »
    .I also liked the blonde female guitarist in his band ,thought she was awesome .

Yeah, if she plays here I'd go in a heartbeat.

http://www.orianthi.com/splash/