Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

freshers week attendance

• 20-09-2009 7:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Hi there I was wondering what am I realistically gonna miss out on if I don't go into college tomorrow? I'm going into first year and don't want to get started on the wrong foot but would have something else going on tomorrow so I'm not sure what to do. I don't have any course meetings tomorrow, so I would have just gone down to have a look at societies and that kind of stuff. Am I wrong or I'll be able to join them throughout the week anyway? Thanks in advance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭EGaffney

It's pretty much the same stuff every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

Youll be grand once you dont miss any of your course stuff.

Its nice to spend a bit of time looking at societies and hanging around getting free stuff and meeting new people, so do head in for a bit some day!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭flerb22

FREE STUFF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Futurism

Didn't bother going in. Anything good happen? What was the free stuff like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Dante

There was loads of pizza which was cool. There was also loads of non-alcoholic Bavaria going around which was retarded....I mean who drinks Bavaria for the taste?? Other free stuff worth mentioning were free packs of jonnies and tic-tacs! Got conned badly into joining a few clubs and societies....mainly THE MYSTERY BOX whatever the fúck that is and the DUMSS society! I also joined The Hist, Badminton, Tennis, Rugby and the sci-fi socities.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Maybe I should head in one day to this, although am jsut starting a postgrad, not starting first year...free things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

I watched it from my room but could not be arsed to go down...maybe tomorrow. Signing up to the music society is a pain in the arse outside Fresher's Week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Futurism wrote: »
    Didn't bother going in. Anything good happen? What was the free stuff like?

No more free stuff left. That's too bad.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

oh well ill probably want to sign up to that, perhaps friday if these things are still running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

It was so busy today. Couldn't move in the place and pizza was hard to get. I'm determined to get it tomorrow though.

Joined Choral Society, Vincent de Paul and Maths Soc cos they were giving out gingerbread men... Best gingerbread men ever.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Sorting my free bags in to three piles:

• Bin
    • Vouchers
    • Free Stuff

fonpokno wrote: »
    IJoined Choral Society, Vincent de Paul and Maths Soc cos they were giving out gingerbread men... Best gingerbread men ever.

Sellouts! They used to give out very tasty brownies.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

If the Financial Regulator was a good as regulating as they are giving out free stuff we would be in a much better position. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Jonathan wrote: »
    If the Financial Regulator was a good as regulating as they are giving out free stuff we would be in a much better position. ;)

Speaking of the financial regulator did anyone get that cool calculator/keyring!

Ye twas pretty **** I think im getting old I just couldnt be ar$ed with free stuff this year I just dumped mine..im only a second year!

where can I get this? I'm looking forward to trying to get free stuff now. ALthough I've only been in triity once and got lost last week walking in circles. I'll never find the stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Maybe I should head in one day to this, although am jsut starting a postgrad, not starting first year...free things!

Oooh! Me and my sparklies might see you around so! :pac:

I signed up for the Mature Student Society, Sign Language and going to do SubAqua aswell. ALl I got was a mug and a lollipop! :( Gonna go back tomorrow to sign up to SVDP and Badminton and source out the free stuff (although I have no idea where I'll get the time to do everything!). Was like chaos down there today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Larianne wrote: »

I signed up for the Mature Student Society, Sign Language and going to do SubAqua aswell. ALl I got was a mug and a lollipop! :( Gonna go back tomorrow to sign up to SVDP and Badminton and source out the free stuff (although I have no idea where I'll get the time to do everything!). Was like chaos down there today!!

You got a mug class! where did ya get that? i want free stuff now

Oh I may get to see miss sparkly larianne again, yippee, long time no see. :p

I would love a lollipop, hope it's the same things every day, societies etc

Bajingo wrote: »
    You got a mug class! where did ya get that? i want free stuff now

Yah have to be old and decrepit and join the Mature Soc to get one. :P Oh got free coffee and free lunch vouchers too.

I would love a lollipop, hope it's the same things every day, societies etc

Vincent De Paul have apple lollies and jelly ring thingies. NYOM.

Anyone get the free bag of stuff from the SU? They were all out of girls bags when I got there apparently...
    where can I get this? I'm looking forward to trying to get free stuff now. ALthough I've only been in triity once and got lost last week walking in circles. I'll never find the stuff!

You can't possibly miss the stands full of free stuff. The front square is jammers.

Vincent De Paul have apple lollies and jelly ring thingies. NYOM.
    Oh I'm feeling more charitable already. :pac:

abouyt the su and things, got my little rinity diary thing the other day which said condoms are cost price in teh su shop and free in teh su, why would I use the shop so :p

AND Vincent De Paul is free to join. So FREE apple lollies and ring thingies.

This is what charity is all about! :)
    Time to move to dublin now.

I'll be getting early tomorrow so!!

Did anyone get the free smoothies and yogurt at DU Players place thingy? It's on my list for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭antiselfdual

Dónal wrote: »
    Sellouts! They used to give out very tasty brownies.

We had very tasty brownie-like biscuits which I made, but they all ended up being eaten because we are an extremely popular society sitting behind a stand is hungry work.

Did anyone get the free smoothies and yogurt at DU Players place thingy? It's on my list for tomorrow.

I was wondering why that stand was so busy... I'll be in town early tomorrow so I'm joining stuff and escaping until my sports tour!

Actually Larianne aren't you one of the health sciences? We'll be on all the same tours I think!
    We had very tasty brownie-like biscuits which I made, but they all ended up being eaten because we are an extremely popular society sitting behind a stand is hungry work.

The brownies were TINY though. Gingerbread men is where it's at. Which guy at the stand were you?

I was wondering why that stand was so busy... I'll be in town early tomorrow so I'm joining stuff and escaping until my sports tour!

Actually Larianne aren't you one of the health sciences? We'll be on all the same tours I think!

Yeah, I was at that Orientation lecture today. I was one of the eh, 5 (!) physio people that stood up. Not much dental nursing people there either! I won't be going to the Sport Tour tomorrow as I already got it at Mature student week. I'm going in purely for free stuff - I'm on a mission! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭antiselfdual

The brownies were TINY though. Gingerbread men is where it's at. Which guy at the stand were you?

That's probably why I ate so many. Glasses.

Mature student week
    Was that last week?

Yeah, I was at that Orientation lecture today. I was one of the eh, 5 (!) physio people that stood up. Not much dental nursing people there either! I won't be going to the Sport Tour tomorrow as I already got it at Mature student week. I'm going in purely for free stuff - I'm on a mission! :)

Awww shame. You better come to the beers so!
    That's probably why I ate so many. Glasses.

Ahhh you were the guy who told us we could only take one or the other. No fun. :p

Jonathan wrote: »
    Was that last week?

Yep, glad I went. Got a bit of a head start to everyone else. I did my looking lost last week. :)

Awww shame. You better come to the beers so!

Well I'll be floating about tomorrow if you're around. No prob for a meet up.

Ooh Boards Beers, haven't done one of them in a LONG long time... ooh wait, no I did. Went to a mini Bio+Med last year. Whoops. (tis okay, the guys don't lurk in here!)

Ha I'll be in and out in as little time as possible tomorrow! Couldn't believe the busy-ness today. That front square gets awfully claustrophobic sometimes...

I'm spending as much money as I can now before I become completely poor so I think there'll be shopping involved between getting my hair cut in the morning and the sports tour in the afternoon...

Yeah, I walked in and text 'my new best friend I made last week' OMG it's Chaos here!

The one last BIG shop before it all disappears! :)

tcd beers!

Next thursday Tar!

Is it? in like a week and a bit? /looks

thanks, might turn up so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Caoimhe89

Just watch out for their Freshers' Pack... the Yazoo or whatever has been hanging around for about a week... not in a fridge...

Anyone silent discoing tonight? You should all go!

oooh never done one of those, sound fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭gnl

Anyone silent discoing tonight? You should all go!

I am! I was at the one on Results night. Twas good craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭RuehlTheWorld

Anybody know if the General Orientation meeting is actually important or worthwhile going to?

I know my way around the campus like.

Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭phlegms

Is there much going on in terms of events tomorrow?
    I have to get in tomorrow to see my tutor and get one of those student travel cards, but other than that I'll be at a loose end for the rest of the day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

Is there a Student Travel Card stand? Haven't been in yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭TheManWho

The Walsho wrote: »

You can get the forms at reception, just take a left when you go in the main archway. I didn't see any stands and I did a few laps around the societys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭sternn

Its in the arts block

The Walsho wrote: »

You can get a free travel card if you open an AIB student account in the Arts Block. (will need proof of address and photo ID). Just bring your own passport photo or get charged €3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

Thanks guys. I already have an AIB account though.