Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you be lonely after Cafe Fraiche?

• 17-09-2009 6:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭

Was in there once and the shaggers charged me something like 3 euros for a mediocre cup of coffee served in a cardboard cup.

it wasn't even a nice place to sit down for a chat either, chairs and tables and the general arrangement of everything was awful

The place was clearly aimed at iPhone-toting meeja students with a penchant for overpriced goods and services and there's not too many around in CIT thank god. even those lads are feeling the recession these days and need all their money for their contract with O2 and to buy a new MacBook air when the battery goes bad.

how much would it cost to rent that place out and set up a recession cafe there?

Will you be lonely after Cafe Fraiche 12 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    8% 1 vote
    Atari Jaguar
    91% 11 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Didn't know CIT had a course in meeja.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

Gauge wrote: »
    Didn't know CIT had a course in meeja.

they have quite a few actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Can ye stop this meeja sh*te, please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

ya i saw it was closed when i went into the student centre the other. I never went inot the place. As the OP said the prices were expensive and the stuff wasn't any better than the food in the main canteen which was way cheap. Def won't miss the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭philiporeilly

Personally I liked the food there but you are right about the prices. Something is definitely wrong when I hear several staff on 50k+ saying that we'll go there for a treat on a Friday.

I had several suggestions which I thought would improve the business but they obviously didnt know their market.

Suggestions I made at beginning:
    • Background Music to give atmosphere (not too loud)
    • Free Wifi (this was before college rolled it out)
    • Movie posters on wall to make it more student friendly
    • student pricing

The other problem that they ran into was the fact the CIT canteen has vastly improved its service over the last few years. This doesn't help when you're trying to justify higher prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭evil-monkey

Dankoozy wrote: »
    they have quite a few actually

That they do, but the problem with CIT isn't with, as you like to put it, "meeja" students, who for the most part are quite good at what they do. I'm an IT head but I've seen some good stuff from a number of multimedia students, both creative and technical.

The problem with CIT is with the "mad yokes" who write things like Tiocfaidh Ar La on the jax walls, pimp their cars up like a bunch of nancy boys, and generally last three months in their course before packing it in. Just look around the common room any lunch time. The filth they leave after them is disgusting, and every one of them will be in a tracksuit sporting a one at the sides and a four on top (coincidence?) What's the harm in a multimedia student owning a MacBook? At least they don't leave their **** lying around the place for someone else to clean up.

Can I ask OP what course you're doing that you've taken such a hatred to media heads, MacBooks and Cafe Fraiche?? Feeling a little disadvantaged today are we?? Or is it just that time of the month and you've nothing better to worry about other than where other people get their lunch??

looks like the feckers are after opening again. strange. I wonder if they are any cheaper now

Why would they be? As far as I could see, they were jointed pretty much 90% of the time last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭philiporeilly

As far as I'm aware they are back to finish the remaining time on their lease. Who knows what happens after that!

Can I ask OP what course you're doing that you've taken such a hatred to media heads, MacBooks and Cafe Fraiche?? Feeling a little disadvantaged today are we?? Or is it just that time of the month and you've nothing better to worry about other than where other people get their lunch??

i don't actually hate them but its fun to take the piss out of them. maybe when i finish the course i will go to some college in london and live that whole 'meeja head' lifestyle for a year but maybe just not spend quite as much on overpriced goods because that seems like such a waste :)

the mad yokes will be gone after christmas and hopefully free up a few parking spaces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭liberal

That they do, but the problem with CIT isn't with, as you like to put it, "meeja" students, who for the most part are quite good at what they do. I'm an IT head but I've seen some good stuff from a number of multimedia students, both creative and technical.

The problem with CIT is with the "mad yokes" who write things like Tiocfaidh Ar La on the jax walls, pimp their cars up like a bunch of nancy boys, and generally last three months in their course before packing it in. Just look around the common room any lunch time. The filth they leave after them is disgusting, and every one of them will be in a tracksuit sporting a one at the sides and a four on top (coincidence?) What's the harm in a multimedia student owning a MacBook? At least they don't leave their **** lying around the place for someone else to clean up.

So true......how about if they brought back fees for mad yokes only

maybe when i finish the course i will go to some college in london and live that whole 'meeja head' lifestyle for a year

Can I ask what course you are doing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Panni + chips €4.25? Sounds about as overpriced as the other canteen (and there chips are far nicer!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

The place was clearly aimed at iPhone-toting meeja students with a penchant for overpriced goods and services and there's not too many around in CIT thank god. even those lads are feeling the recession these days and need all their money for their contract with O2 and to buy a new MacBook air when the battery goes bad.

The flip are you on about?

Maybe it was aimed at those who wanted an alternative to queuing 20 minutes just to share the canteen with a bunch of Ugg boots and sweat pants wearing ponces.