Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deignan in the Vuelta *Spoilers ahead*

• 17-09-2009 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭

DEIGNAN WINS STAGE OF VUELTA! this is huge folks...! Best result in Irish Cycling since back in the good ol' days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭velopeloton

Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

jaysus lads - spoilers.

savage result though. great form to bring to the worlds too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭redmenace1

Super stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Poor Tonto, I'd imagine he is turning red at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

FCUKIN AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    He was super today, 1st time I've ever watched an irish rider do something like this!!!

Huge jump up the GC to boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭crashoveroid

Great to hear but cheers for ruining it for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭rash

well done philip sean could have been a bit more excited on eurosport. great day to be off sick!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

ive had the week off, so ive been watching the vuelta, the break away groups are brilliant to watch, and today was the ebst yet, hopefully irish media will grab onto this and even promote the upcoming world championships
    well done to Deignan, great ride!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,669 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

class, (must find highlights program tonight online somewhere)

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

class, (must find highlights program tonight online somewhere)

late on eurosport i think,

if it aint free to air i aint seeing it ( but thanks anyway)

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Ah FFS, spoilers please, particularly in thread titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Sean was def sounding a little more high pitched after finish when talking about the Worlds and how if the 3 are all ok we could have a strong enough Trio for the circuit type.
    Philip Deignan deserves a break he has been so unlucky with lilness and injury over the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Highlights at 10:25 on Eurosport. But that could be give or take an hour.

Even though I saw it live, its bad form blurting it all over the forum.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Highlights at 10:25 on Eurosport. But that could be give or take an hour.

Even though I saw it live, its bad form blurting it all over the forum.

Hate to be a killjoy (esp as was able to watch it live(while on the turbo, just a little bit sad ))
    But +1 for spoilers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

Couldn't have happened to a nicer bloke..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

I am very tired of Sean Kelly not mentioning Irish riders during the three big tours. Last week Martin was climbing well with the big boys and no mention.

I guess he had to finally mention them today. Bit of a hypocrite really.

I wonder why he wont mention them . Quite strange really.

Legend of a cyclist but not as a commentator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

dedon wrote: »

Bit harsh i think, he may not have the best voice but his tatical knowledge is second to none.

Havent been watching much of the vuelta, but during the tour he seemed to always talk about roche.

Anyways well done philip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Bit harsh all right, he was talking about Roche plenty on the Tour stage he came second in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

He's a professional, who won't necessarily bleat on about a rider because he happens to be the same nationality as himself.

Besides, I've heard him discuss both Irish riders during this Vuelta.

I love his commentary, I can't imagine watching a Grand Tour now without it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

I think he is good in what he says but he very rarely mentions the Irish riders on climbs or anything. He has to mention them when they win (today) and come second ( Roche in Le Tour)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I am very tired of Sean Kelly not mentioning Irish riders during the three big tours. Last week Martin was climbing well with the big boys and no mention.

Kelly's job to to provide commentary and analysis. He's not there to be a cheerleader for Irish riders.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Dan Martin crashed in one of the early stages which was the only mention of him I heard but then again he hasn't been doing nearly as good as Deignan.

+ Don't forget to buy the Star tomorrow, I've been reading Deignans diary in it and it's very good. I'm cheesed off I missed todays stage :(

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Beached

Well done Phillip,
    icon14.gificon14.gif
    Two very enthuastic thumbs up.

A great day for Irish cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭daymobrew

The mods received 5 reports about the OP and the lack of spoiler tags.
    I have probably gone overboard and added a bunch of spoiler tags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

daymobrew wrote: »
    The mods received 5 reports about the OP and the lack of spoiler tags.
    I have probably gone overboard and added a bunch of spoiler tags.
    Glad you did as I put my hand up and say sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

This is probably the biggest result in Irish cycling since Paul Kimmage managed to finish a stage in the Tour de France whilst clean. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭irishpeloton

Amazing ride by him.

I don't know about anyone else but I certainly was cycling home from town this evening a little bit faster than I usually could! Inspirational!

Highlights on in 15 minutes on 410 (Eurosport on Sky).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

i cant see the point of this spoiler crap, every radio ,tv news report had it .

if you dont want to know who won till tonite ,lock yourself in the bathroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

jwshooter wrote: »

maybe people shouting at the TV 5 hours after the event think they can still affect the outcome :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I managed to get through the evening without hearing the result. On radio or tv.

maybe people shouting at the TV 5 hours after the event think they can still affect the outcome :):)
    And shouting at the tv in real time will??

I did the same throughout the US open. I don't read any tennis forums, but I botched one result because I get europort emails and their headlines always included the result instead of leaving it in the body of the email.

I think a few hours grace for people who are working/different time zone isn't too much to ask for. People use the cycling forum for a lot more than race results, so asking them to (effectively) leave boards for the day is a bit much.

Spoiler tags,
    it ain't hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I don't care what people say within a thread as long as the thread title doesn't hint or offer any clue about who won. If the title says "Vuelta, Stage XX" or whatever then I don't go near it. But if it says "Johnny has won!!" then that gives me no chance to avoid knowing the result.

Those who were lucky enough to see it live got to live the moment as it happened. That's why I tape it and avoid all news reports, so I can do the same :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Raam wrote: »
    I don't care what people say within a thread as long as the thread title doesn't hint or offer any clue about who won. If the title says "Vuelta, Stage XX" or whatever then I don't go near it. But if it says "Johnny has won!!" then that gives me no chance to avoid knowing the result.

Those who were lucky enough to see it live got to live the moment as it happened. That's why I tape it and avoid all news reports, so I can do the same :)

yes, if you see my post on the race i did not mention a winner or result . there is a thread on the race i cant see the point on starting more with spoiling titles.

im not a mod so il say no more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

leaving the name of the stage winner in the title but adding *spoilers ahead*...

what can I say about that?

no, without getting banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

I've been avoiding boards.ie/sports websites/teletext all day after hearing earlier on that Deignan had made a huge jump up the Vuelta GC. Held out for the highlights in hope that he had maybe managed a stage win, and having just watched the race on Eurosport, I'm ecstatic. Just fantastic to see the Irish flag with a number 1 next to it, Deignan is a top rider. He's been putting a good performance in the GC in this years Vuelta, but to see him with a stage win and a top 10 place is better than anyone could ever have wished for. Chapeau!!!

And now.. suddenly we have a pretty in form team for the World Championships... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Deignan proved the class today that he always threatened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Managed to see it live but christ I would be p***** if I logged on and saw some of the thread titles:confused:

Well done Phil. My son came running into room wondering why the auld fella was screaming "Come on Philshín give it wellie" at the TV scream. Wonderful day for Irish cycling. Great finish even for the neutrals. As for Sean not getting too emotional, thats the way he has always been., professional, detached and clinical. All the attributes of a great champion. If it was his own son crossing the line he wouln't show any different emotions.

Looking forward to the Worlds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

As regards Kellys reaction on Eurosport, he was neutral bar a moment where he (for a bloody welcome change) interupted Dave Harmon with information on the gap back to the chasing group. I'm sure Kelly was certainly pleased with a great win and a great day for Irish cycling.

There was a time when we were at the top of this sport, and for the first time in too long, we've got something to really write home about.

So happy for Deignan. Just need to find a nice wallpaper for the PC now :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

sy wrote: »
    As for Sean not getting too emotional, thats the way he has always been., professional, detached and clinical. All the attributes of a great champion. If it was his own son crossing the line he wouln't show any different emotions.

Genealogy Forum Mod

sy wrote: »
    ...As for Sean not getting too emotional, thats the way he has always been., professional, detached and clinical.

He did say that Deignan's "positioning in the final was very good" which, to a young pro, would be worth a thousand pages of high praise from any other commentator I think.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

niceonetom wrote: »
    He did say that Deignan's "positioning in the final was very good" which, to a young pro, would be worth a thousand pages of high praise from any other commentator I think.
    Again I say plus one.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭rochefan

Even though I knew the result I could help but get very nervous for the last 2K, especially when it seemed he was doing such a long turn at the front. Kelly seems to be worried too.
    Great result. I'm go to world champs next week so we have a lot to cheer

rochefan wrote: »
    Even though I knew the result I could help but get very nervous for the last 2K

Yeah me too. It was a great finish. Those fortress walls are quite impressive.
    In the last km the lads were riding along side each other for a few seconds talking. Harmon seemed to think they were discussing whether or not they should sprint for the finish.

Philip D tweeted this when they were still in the low countries:

Was talking to Dan the other Irish rider who is joing me for 3wks of fun this avo, he told me there is a few cobbled sections next few days
    5:42 PM Aug 26th from web

Which I did not want to hear - I am not made for Cobbles !
    5:42 PM Aug 26th from web

Little did he know :D.

philip_deignan_WIN.jpg

thats all i have to say ( and no i'm not going too spoiler it)

more photos

http://www.grahamwatson.com/gw/imagedocs.nsf/updateframesetcall?openform&09vueltaSt18

off his website, talks about the win and the day here

http://www.philipdeignan.com/node/44

My weather

philip_deignan_WIN.jpg

thats all i have to say ( and no i'm not going too spoiler it)

That picture should be everyones signature for the next month!

Here's a full one...

2009_vuelta_a_espana_philip_deignan_cervelo_testteam_wins_stage18.jpg