Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ambitions / Dreams

• 16-09-2009 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

Hey Ladies!

Following on from the mens thread about ambition, i was wondering what us ladies are ambitious about?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055679585

What do you dream about?

Have you achieved all your life goals?

Do you have any goals, are you happy with things just the way they are?

Me, I am really ambitious - sometimes i think overambitious - how on earth will i fit it all in :D

I want to get a degree
    I want to run a marathon
    I want to drive a brand-spanking new car out of the car showroom and not have to give it back after a 10km testdrive :)
    I want to write a novel
    I want to build a house
    I want to find a man who i adore and who adores me
    I want us to create healthy, beautiful and intelligent children
    I want to own a bookshop!!

I have loads more, and lots of travel related ones, but im currently on an around the world trip and ticking them off one by one!

Now, who's next?

God im tired even writing those - phew!

SM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

This is probably a bad thing, but I have never really been an ambitious person. I don't dream about the future and think, yeah, in ten years I'll have X career, be married to some amazing guy and have 2.5 children or whatever.

I don't wanna do anything particularly amazing or special. I don't have any idea what I want to do, to be honest and I'm quite happy that way. I live my life day by day, I think it's easier.

When I was younger, my mam said to me, "Life is a bit like writing a book. Line by line, chapter by chapter, until you reach the end. Don't try skip ahead because you will miss what's on todays page and it could be amazing".

The future doesn't matter to me at all. I think that's why I have no ambitions! As long as I am happy and those I care about, the same, nothing else matters to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Novella wrote: »
    This is probably a bad thing, but I have never really been an ambitious person.

It's not a bad thing at all. I think that if you genuinely have ambitions that's great. But a lot of people nowadays feel under pressure to have ambitions and end up spending their life constantly chasing something rather than really enjoying their present.

My ambition is to spend most of my life content, with intermittent periods of serious happiness. And my biggest wish is that all of life's bad times will come naturally rather than tragically. Ie. everyone I love will live to an old age and be outlived by their children.

I have other things that I'd like, but I'm going to take those as and if they come. If they don't I'll learn to get on without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

Novella wrote: »
    When I was younger, my mam said to me, "Life is a bit like writing a book. Line by line, chapter by chapter, until you reach the end. Don't try skip ahead because you will miss what's on todays page and it could be amazing".
    QUOTE]

What a brilliant quote! Im gonna use that, for sure.

I think ambitions are as unique as people are. My friends have various ambitions from just being happy to climbing all the worlds highest mountains! Some people are bothered by them, others are happy just being.

I think the reason I have so many ambitions is I always feel great when I achieve things, like the moment I felt ''hey, i can drive!'' so I suppose I want to keep that feeling going as often as I can.

If you're happy and content then you will the most sucessful person in the world in my eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Having ambitions/dreams is great. :)

It's important to have a plan B though, and also, while you're dead right to push as much as you can to fulfill what you want, it's a good idea to go with the flow at times too - much of life will be out of your control so do everything you can to make your dreams become a reality but balance that with just enjoying the ride that life is. :)

Nothing wrong with having a "que sera, sera" attitude to life too - whatever makes you happiest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 KarlMarx

I agree with the above post - having ambition is good, but it is equally be able to pick yourself up and motivate yourself when things don't happen as you would have envisioned. In my opinion, the mark of a truly well rounded person is one who can strive for triumph, yet deal with disaster as well. (Yes, that is a mangled version of the famous line in "If..." :))

To be honest, ambition has always been an intrinsic part of who I am, and I find it difficult to imagine not being driven by something or other. I think day to day practicality is obviously necessary, but that said, an idea of where you would like to be in the future can inspire you to do so many things that you might not otherwise have countenanced doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

All my ambitions and dreams are crushed by the fact that I am blind(well not totally but very bad vision) And because I am Colour-blind.

So as long as I am happy, have done a bit of travelling and am not caring for someone else I will be content with myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

supermouse wrote: »
    I want to get a degree
    I want to run a marathon
    I want to drive a brand-spanking new car out of the car showroom and not have to give it back after a 10km testdrive :)
    I want to write a novel
    I want to build a house
    I want to find a man who i adore and who adores me
    I want us to create healthy, beautiful and intelligent children
    I want to own a bookshop!!

You are clearly awesome.

A bookshop to stock my book and my book alone eh :)

Nah, not awsome - far from it, a normal person with dreams,hopes and aspirations!

Of course the family and husband parts are less of an ambition and more of a wish. I still dream of my prince charming amongst all these frogs I have met lately. But im not silly, I know these things dont just fall on my lap nor do they happen for everybody.

I like my ambitions and dreams, they keep me positive. I havent lost touch with reality, i just aded my own herbs and spices to make it taste that bit better :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

I'm not a girl, but my ambition in life is to be remembered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

my ambition is to get residency in nz
    to live by the sea and continue my surfing lifestyle
    to paint pictures i am proud of
    continue skating and improve my skills, hopefully without mangling my limbs
    for my clinic to stay open - i care so much about the work we do, i'd be more gutted that a valuable service has been lost if it closed, than about losing my job.
    to continue my learning and voluntary work, and to work with the user groups i have the greatest interest in
    to always love my work, play, friends and locality.

supermouse wrote: »
    A bookshop to stock my book and my book alone eh :)
    )

When I read that I lol'd while eating cheerio's, now I have to clean my Keyboard and Monitor:( Oddly this makes me happy!!!:D Thanks for the Lulz:D

Sad because now after weeks of saying "I don't care if you go it's up to your dad" My Mam has said she doesn't want me going to Dubland because she will have noone to mind my sister. (Selfish Cow.) I am still going gonna have to have a big arguement about it though..........I can't wait they are gonna lose:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭This

own gymnastics club.... just a case of looking for grants etc.... im aiming for jan 2010...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

-Go back to college and this time get a degree
    -Finish some of my writing (have about 5 starts written for books but have not finished one!)
    -Get some drama qualifications - would love to be on stage for the rest of my life but if it doesn't work out I would settle for teaching it
    -Have a family
    -Get fit
    -Move back to America

There's waaaay more but they make me sad :(, so there's my happy ones!:)

am not caring for someone else I will be content with myself.

Be careful what you wish for!

I have all sorts of in the now ambitions, they come and go. Some I fulfill others I grow out of.
    In 40 years times, I know the only thing I will truly regret. Is if I can say that I cared for nobody in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I hope I haven't achieved all of my life's goals at this point!! That would be a bit depressing . . .

I wouldn't really say that I'm ambitious career-wise (don't tell my boss!).
    It's funny, my ambitions all center around being content and happy with myself and my environment and the people around me. Yes, there are a lot of places that I'd like to see, but I'll get to them eventually. I think one of the things that will make me happiest is waking up to a person and a home occupied with people who I love and who love me. Although I guess most people want that!

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Be careful what you wish for!

I have all sorts of in the now ambitions, they come and go. Some I fulfill others I grow out of.
    In 40 years times, I know the only thing I will truly regret. Is if I can say that I cared for nobody in my life.

By Caring, I mean literally taking care of. With regard my sister, while I do it, I don't enjoy it as much as you might think.

I am a 20 year old who has to do EVERYTHING for a 15 year old girl. It's uncomfortable for both of us, and my parents aren't willing to let me get out of it.

I didn't mean not care about people, I meant care FOR.

I have about 15 exams to pass over the next however many years - my main ambition at the moment is to pass those and get the pay increases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

My ambition in life is, I suppose, to keep myself as happy and busy as possible as much as possible! I don't have any real fixed, long-term ambitions. My goals are pretty flexible and change regularly. I suppose, five years from now, the main things I hope to achieve are:
    • Qualify as an accountant
    • Secure a good permanent job that challenges me and that I don't hate
    • Get married somewhere sunny :)
    • Get a mortgage and build the house of my dreams
    • Keep in touch with all my friends
    • Travel lots - in particular, I want to leave Europe for the first time
    • Get a lot fitter than I am now
    • Do my Senior Certificate in piano (haven't played for about six years so that'll be a tough one)
    • Not get knocked up!

Looking back to about five years ago, I suppose the main things I'd hope to have achieved by now are:
    • Get a good degree - which I have, although in a completely different course than I'd have expected five years ago!
    • Get a job
    • Learn to drive, pass my driving test and get a car
    • Not get knocked up!
    and I've done all that, in addition to meeting the love of my life and getting engaged (which I'd never have expected this time five years ago!)

So all in all I'm pretty pleased with myself and with how my life is going. If I don't do everything I plan to in the next five years, I won't beat myself up over it, just so long as I can look back on the past few years and see that I've acheived something, that I've improved myself or my life in some ways. I'd hate to ever get stuck in a rut and be doing the same thing, day in day out, without ever getting anywhere. That's why I think it's good to give yourself little milestones, and to be proud when you manage to see them through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭starflake

• Get a degree
    • Get married to my OH
    • Have a nice home just me and him
    • Have some savings for a rainy day
    • Lead a content life and try to make others i love happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭victoriaa

I would love to live in the countryside one day. a small farm with some animals to take care of. glasses of wine, sitting in a hammock watching a beautiful sunset and the smiths playing in the background. heaven. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

I want to
    • be an author on a paper before I graduate
    • study for a PhD at a highly respected university, somewhere abroad
    • spend my life working in different universities in different countries, doing important and interesting research
    • do something worth being remembered for, even if it is within a little niche field

So eh, pretty career oriented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I want to:

become a published children's writer
    travel to every continent (if not every country) in the world
    always be open to learning and experiencing new things
    try to leave the world a better place than when I entered it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 narvikstar

ambitions and dreams eh?

Well as far as I can remember back I have wanted to get an Oscar...its very sad I know because I dont act, I did a bit when I was younger but that would be my ultimate...just to stand on stage and share a moment with all those incredible actors looking back at you :)

ok ok ok ....reality then...build a house in the country, marry the love of my life, raise chickens, have kids who have wild hair and love to play outdoors, have 2 dogs, build a tree house i can play in as well, to be happy, cook dinners, make lunches, eat dinner in candlelight, play the cello, tapdance, go to the antarctic, read stories in funny voices to my kids, teach, learn to garden well, have a white picket fence, go to monacco with my mother, travel to OZ someday, not to have a career but to have a life!!

ok i'm done:D

When I read that I lol'd while eating cheerio's, now I have to clean my Keyboard and Monitor:( Oddly this makes me happy!!!:D Thanks for the Lulz:D

You're welcome! Hope ya got it all cleaned up :D

Ah schuchs guys, LOVE reading yer ambitions!! Check our ambitious selves out! Made my day now so ye have!

Im surprised about how many people want to further their education - i think its brilliant.

I really hope everybody all suceed in your ambitions, and that you live gloriously long, happy healthy lives.

P.s. also love how many people want country life - culchie culture galore eh :D

By Caring, I mean literally taking care of. With regard my sister, while I do it, I don't enjoy it as much as you might think.

I am a 20 year old who has to do EVERYTHING for a 15 year old girl. It's uncomfortable for both of us, and my parents aren't willing to let me get out of it.

I didn't mean not care about people, I meant care FOR.

I'm not passing comment on your personal situation at all.
    Wanting a quality of life for yourself, is of course a perfectly reasonable desire.

I knew what you meant, I'm a carer too.
    How I care for the people I love, when they need me. That is the ultimate benchmark for how I judge myself in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I have lots of dreams but I don't know if I want to make them all come true. I want to have something left to look forward to when I'm old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭skywards

Well, as someone who works around horses, my ambition is to not get killed :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I've always been ambitious - my Dad says I'm the most ambitious person he knows - but I tend to take it to the extreme and there's been times when it's impacted on my health. The most important thing I've had to learn as I grow older is when to curb my ambition and stop putting undue and excess pressure on myself.

When I was in primary school my ambition was to go to a good secondary school but knowing that my parents couldn't afford the school I wanted I got a Scholarship, and then got a second one to another school for back-up.

I knew early on which degree and which University I wanted to go to so I made sure I achieved it with some points in the bag, again to keep my options open.

After years of being a high-achiever and various other difficult personal circumstances I had a break-down right before my finals but nothing and no-one was going to stop me doing them, so I did, got excellent grades and then had another break-down a few weeks later :o

I'd always told myself that in order to be succesful I had to have a PhD, so I started one, but 18 months in I knew that the goal to succeed had overtaken my desire to be there and I decided to quit. It was the hardest decision in my life but it was also the one that taught me that personal happiness is much more than fulfilling other meeting other people's expectations.

I always wanted to travel and so far I've spent summers working in labs/ doing marine research in Indonesia, Honduras and Hawai'i. I've travelled Africa from North to South and I've done a few stints to various other far-flung places.

When I came cak to Uni to re-start a Postgrad I joined the gym and quickly discovered I was good at lifting stuff and I found a whole new set of ambitions. My first ambition was to enter a powerlifting competition - I did and set two world records. Then I changed tack and started olympic weightliting. I did my first International competition representing Ireland a few months ago and my next ambition is to be the first Irish woman to clean&jerk 100kg.

My ultimate ambition though is simple: to be happy in my own skin. It sounds like such as easy thing but it was only a few years ago that I stopped doing things for other people and started doing them for me and I'm only just beginning to discover what I, as a person, really want in life.

Some nice land, my own business, a loving partner and some gorgeous kids wouldn't go astray either of course :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

To go back to college and get a new qualification.
    To get back driving again.
    To be a published author ( I'd love to own a bookshop too ).
    To rear my kids into happy producative adults.

I must admit I find it weird when people list "write a book" among their ambitions, so many people put it on their list along with running a marathon.

I'm not trying to offend anyone but writing a book and getting it published is not something anyone can do! There seems to be a perception that anyone can write a book good enough to be published (forget the Boobs Brunker and similar chick-s**t, they weren't published for their incredible writing talent).
    To me it's akin to putting "fly an Airbus A380" on the list, because that's not something anyone can do either.
    g'em wrote: »
    My ultimate ambition though is simple: to be happy in my own skin. It sounds like such as easy thing but it was only a few years ago that I stopped doing things for other people and started doing them for me and I'm only just beginning to discover what I, as a person, really want in life.

That's what I want too. To be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

For years i was told i was fat and that i would never be anything more. People used those words to hurt me and keep me down and i accepted it. I became more and more what everyone else thought i was. Until my bro was talking pictures of me for a website where i work and i saw them and it scared the living bejaysus outta me. For the first time i saw myself and i was like, "hold the **** on now girl, get a grip of yourself and your life" and i did. I joined weightwatchers and when i got weighed the first time i burst into tears right on the scales :eek and the woman who ran the meeting looked straight at me and said "that is the last time you will ever weigh that much". And my god it will be. I have lost 8 pounds in two weeks. Its not much but its a start.

All of my life its been about people taking things from me, my confidence, my self esteem and ability to be happy. Well i'm taking it back.

So my ambition is to take back my life and start living for me! I hate sounding like a broken record, but when i start to love myself everything else will fall into place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I must admit I find it weird when people list "write a book" among their ambitions, so many people put it on their list along with running a marathon.

I'm not trying to offend anyone but writing a book and getting it published is not something anyone can do! There seems to be a perception that anyone can write a book good enough to be published (forget the Boobs Brunker and similar chick-s**t, they weren't published for their incredible writing talent).
    To me it's akin to putting "fly an Airbus A380" on the list, because that's not something anyone can do either.

That's what I want too. To be happy.

I know it is hard, I know just how hard it is, I have had short stories published and articles published over the years and poems but a books are a different kettle of fish all together.

The process is hard, I do in fact have 4 different manuscripts which are in various stages, a kids book, a fantasy novel, a collection of stories and a work of erotic fiction.

And then there is the long and arduous process of breaking into publishing which in this country is very much a closed shop unless you have connections or your Daddy is someone important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭victoriaa

today I woke up with a need ambition: need to smile much more often. and that means brushing my teeth four time a day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

narvikstar just reminded me of another -- I'd love to play the cello too. I took lessons for a few months a couple of years ago and loved it, but haven't been in a position to pick it up again.

Perhaps I just gave myself a resolution for 2010!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Jules wrote: »
    I have lost 8 pounds in two weeks. Its not much but its a start.
    Would ya get out of it - that's absolutely excellent. Well done you! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Jessibelle

I am going to go back to school and hopefully then fufill a lifelong ambition to work in the medical field. I tried half heartedly this year to get in (half hearted cause unfortunately some really nasty crap happened this year leading to a lot of missed deadlines and poor planning) and got a few interviews as a mature student so this year am throwing myself full trottle into the studies and application. If it doesn't happen this year, it will next year or the year after. It will happen though.
    I'm also going to do more flying lessons to ease off the desire until I can achieve my pilots licence. Thats definitely on the long finger but again will be done at some stage.
    I also want to get myself sorted once and for all. Aforementioned nastiness has had a hold on my life for too long at this stage and has affected too many things that were important to me. So I'm going to work through it and my ambition there would be to come out the other side, better and stronger, with some sembelance of self confidence, and to be able hold my head up high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Jessibelle

Jules wrote: »
    I have lost 8 pounds in two weeks. Its not much but its a start. !

Thats bloody brilliant!! :D Fair play Mrs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

ive got a crazy new idea. i think i might want to get a degree in nursing. been quite inspired by one nurse i know during this week (it's been a bloody dramatic week!) and i think that nursing is something i could do. i cautiously outline this as a dream to look into over the next year. hmmm.

I want to learn piano too and sing for a living at some part of my life (did it in 2006 and LOVED it!)

p.s. Well done Jules - 8lbs in 2 weeks is BRILLIANT ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Well done Jules! You're only awesome :)

I contributed to the thread in tGC, but I'll say here what I said there - my ambition is to write about what I love; and my dream is to change peoples' perceptions with what I write.

A gorgeous man and some gorgeous kids wouldn't go amiss either :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭EastWallGirl

Good thread.

I think having ambition or plans are vital. If you dont make plans and look into things you will never know if something better comes along. If you float along too much,you may miss an oppurtunity.

I am coming from this at the other side,so to speak. I said to the OH in about February this year,by the end of the year we will be living and working in Italy. I have now been a here a week,while (bless him) he sorts out the odds and in Dublin and then joins me.

In reading comments isnt intersting that most ofourgoalsand ambitions involvethe basics enough money to get by,a bit of intellectual stimulation,a good person by your side and a few kids.

And none of these should be wishes....as we all deserve them!

On that note my next ambition/plans are:

Improve my Italian
    Explore Italy with my OH (make it ours)
    Improve my teaching
    Focus on my spending habits (Rainy day money is very handy!)
    Go back to college
    Write the Mills and Boon that I know is inside me!
    Big vegetable garden
    Kids
    Get really good at crochet

Regarding the writing, I think it important that everyone has access to the creative process and for most writing is the most accessable, I do not think people approach it because it is easy. So what if they dont get published, it may open up entirely new opportunites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

My ambitions are just to be happy, to surround myself with good friends and enjoy my family.

To get a few nice hols every year. Lots of Rest and relaxation...

Oh and seeing as I am back studying again to pass all my exams with flying colours!!