Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One (or multiple) in my case, ways to stop a guy thinking you're normal.

• 14-09-2009 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

A new lad started in work there a week or 2 ago. We've been chattin and doing bits of work together. Hes grand and all, a bit cocky and i think he has a little soft spot for me :o .He asked me loads of personal questions etc including how old i was.I lied! I couldnt bring myself to say 3-0 (ive only just gone) so i said 29.:o

Anyway he sends a friend request there on facebook with a message attached. I tried to reply to the message but i kept getting an error warning and looked like it hadnt sent. So, me bein the idiot clicked again but edited the previous message (cos i thought it sounded funnier) ..same thing..2 more times. god am mortified. He not only got all 4 edited messages but he must of had access to my profile for the whole hour or whatever previous...with my date of birth. Why?Why? Why did i use the totally stupid part of my brain. Safe to say he thinks im a total weirdo who tells lies :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Hopefully he's one of those men who don't really think about things very much and pay attention to very little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

If he likes you he will see past all your little quirky bits!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

1st Rule to male v's female conversation

Womens real age = age quoted

-2 if under 20

-3 if under 30

-4 if under 40

+4 if under 50 ;)

Dont worry he wont think you weird just playing hard to get!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

He would have thought you were 30 in a years time anyway.

Put a message on his wall saying that you're actually growing younger - like Benjamin Button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Seriously, if he's interested in you, he's not gonna care about that extra year (and even if he wasn't smitten with you it woudn't really matter)

I was really hoping to inject a Ricky Gervais reference to "in my thirties" here but I'm unable to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭CoachBoone

anniehoo wrote: »
    Anyway he sends a friend request there on facebook with a message attached. I tried to reply to the message but i kept getting an error warning and looked like it hadnt sent. So, me bein the idiot clicked again but edited the previous message (cos i thought it sounded funnier) ..same thing..2 more times. god am mortified. He not only got all 4 edited messages but he must of had access to my profile for the whole hour or whatever previous...with my date of birth. Why?Why? Why did i use the totally stupid part of my brain. Safe to say he thinks im a total weirdo who tells lies :p

Ah Christ. One of those moments when you are blushing to yourself even though there is no one around to care... man, dont ya feel so stupid. :o

I wouldnt worry though, its highly likely he finds it particularly hard to work out your age from your date of birth, especially since its not ending in a 5 or an 0.

He is also not even considering the fact you sent him four slightly different messages, more likely to be saying "4 messages, lucky me".

AND in the off chance he is thinking your a weirdo, normal isnt exactly fun anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭winking weber

Heh heh, you've just brightened up my day :D Thats like something I'd do.

He probably thinks you're quirky enough alright. All you can do is forget about what happened and see where you go from here with him. Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Vinny-Chase

Don't worry about it! 1 year is nothing. If you lied substantially, you might think it would make a difference, but it won't!

If he likes you, he likes. Keep us updated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

i often seem forget what age i am. i was saying i was 25 when i was still 24 and now im 25 i have it in my head im 24. dont make a big deal of it, i doubt hed mention it (if he even noticed) & if he does just make a joke of forgetting what age you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Awh, I think that's really cute! If a guy sent me four versions of one message 'cause he'd edited it to be funnier, I'd think he was just lovely! Shows you were making a wee effort and I'd say it made him smile :)

As for the age thing, no biggie! One year is nothing and when I had turned twenty, I kept forgetting and telling people by accident that I was nineteen! He's not gonna think you're a liar because of this! If he does, he isn't worth it 'cause that really isn't a major deal.

Hope it all works out for you, OP :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Haru

One year is really nothing to worry about. As for sending 4 messages... it's a bit awkward but really cute ! ^^

Hope all goes well for you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Novella wrote: »
    Awh, I think that's really cute! If a guy sent me four versions of one message 'cause he'd edited it to be funnier, I'd think he was just lovely! Shows you were making a wee effort and I'd say it made him smile :)

As for the age thing, no biggie! One year is nothing and when I had turned twenty, I kept forgetting and telling people by accident that I was nineteen! He's not gonna think you're a liar because of this! If he does, he isn't worth it 'cause that really isn't a major deal.

Hope it all works out for you, OP :D

I still do that sometimes. Even though my Bday was in May I keep saying i am 19!!!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Well lads just goes to show doesnt matter how much of an eejit you make of yourself it all works out in the end!

After 2 weeks of flirting...and the numerous accidental facebook messages :D he asked me out today! Hot date next friday!

Gas altogether you just never know!;)

Well lads just goes to show doesnt matter how much of an eejit you make of yourself it all works out in the end!

After 2 weeks of flirting...and the numerous accidental facebook messages :D he asked me out today! Hot date next friday!

I'm so happy for you!!! Let us know how it goes! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Congrats and good luck :)
    Hope for us all I guess...

*goes back to staring at phone*

Ah thanks a mill guys! It took major guts for him to do it-we work together etc so although it was by email i called into him to give him my answer rather than mail him back..very grown up ha..but nerve wrackin!

We already had dinner together on tues (as work friends :p so not a date) and i was driving so a very sober but fun night. Thats a big deal for me to be honest as the saturday night drunken "scores" dont count anymore. Im bored of them if that makes sense? Its nice to have someone like you when you're in you're crappy work clothes and not dolled up to the nines with a few scoops in ya.

Will get back to yas and tell ye how it goes..theres a whole other week of work to get through first ;)

Congrats and good luck :)
    Hope for us all I guess...

I am going to smack you someday!!! :P

Woohoo!Contact :pac:

And that was me beng hopeful :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Ah the old getting older and forgetting your age..that's what happens when the years start to pile on!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

You could be a real freak and change your DOB on the site...

Most likely though, he didnt even notice. And besides, if you've only just turned 30 then you could have forgotten, I always get my age wrong these days!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

And besides, if you've only just turned 30 then you could have forgotten, I always get my age wrong these days!

I rarely get my age wrong, but normally this is because when anyone asks me my age, I first remind myself what year this is, and then mentally subtract my year of birth. That gets me either on, or one off. I then have to consciously figure out if it's before or after April, and as a result, then figure out what the effect would be on the subtraction if it were before or after.

Thus, after about five or ten seconds of frantic (often audible) thought and calculation, you will get the correct answer.

Usually. Sometimes my maths is off.

NTM (Interloper)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭winking weber

Aww. Thats a nice story :) Thanks for updating.

I'm not the only one then :o Sadly I think its a lost cause :(

Well! Yep im here on a friday night with crap news..date never happened :( God how things can change in a matter of days. What can ye do!

WHAT HAPPENED?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I'm sorry :(

Put it behind you.

If he asks you out again great. If not, it just was not meant to be (and you are obviously too good for him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

WHAT HAPPENED?!!!

Was someone planning on being Bridesmaid???:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭f3qh5g0z6vc7ob

why did date not go ahead?

(sorry Im new here just read this thread got really excited about the date!! sad i know)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭zoey

:( Hope your ok

Was someone planning on being Bridesmaid???:D

I don't have any sisters, ok!! Or friends :(

Hope you're ok, OP.

Why not? :(
    *goes into defensive mode,finds chainsaw*
    his address?

I dont know what happened to be honest. I think we've talked sooo much over the last 2 weeks its been analysed too much (by him). Ah..he majorly seems to have his guard up for some reason..havent figured out why yet. So..i dont think its something ive done really. I think he may be a bit too complicated to be honest...it shouldnt be this difficult gettin to a first date.

Its not over i dont think ..so i may be back :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

I think 30 is really young! Plus it's an even number-

What more could ya ask for?;)